DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office action. In response to Examiner’s communication of 5/19/25, Applicant, on 11/16/2025, presented arguments for consideration. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application and have been rejected below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are acknowledged.
The 35 USC 101 rejections of claims 1-20 regarding abstract ideas are maintained in light of Applicant’s explanations.
The 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-20 are applied in light of Applicant’s explanations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Here, under considerations of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention, Examiner finds that the Applicant invented a method and system for evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint. Examiner formulates an abstract idea analysis, following the framework described in the MPEP, as follows:
Step 1: The claims are directed to a statutory category, namely a "method" (claims 14-20) and "system" (claims 1-14).
Step 2A - Prong 1: The claims are found to recite limitations that set forth the abstract idea(s), namely, regarding claim 1:
obtain farm information describing one or more farm characteristics of a farm wherein the farm includes at least a first field and a second field that are different fields of the farm, and wherein the first field produces a first product and the second field produces a second product;
obtain first field information describing one or more first field characteristics of the first field;
obtain second field information describing one or more second field characteristics of the second field;
obtain first product information describing one or more first product characteristics of the first product;
obtain second product information describing one or more second product characteristics of the second product;
utilize, by a carbon algorithm, at least one of (1) the one or more farm characteristics, (2) the one or more first field characteristics, and (3) the one or more first product characteristics to determine a first carbon emission value for the first field;
utilize, by the carbon algorithm, at least one of (1) the one or more farm characteristics, (2) the one or more first field characteristics, and (3) the one or more first product characteristics to determine a first carbon sequestration value for the first field;
utilize, by the carbon algorithm, the first carbon emission value and the first carbon sequestration value to generate a first carbon footprint value for the first field, wherein the first carbon footprint value indicates the carbon impact for producing the first product at the first field;
utilize, by the carbon algorithm, at least one of (1) the one or more farm characteristics, (2) the one or more second field characteristics, and (3) the one or more second product characteristics to determine a second carbon emission value for the second field;
utilize, by the carbon algorithm, at least one of (1) the one or more farm characteristics, (2) the one or more second field characteristics, and (3) the one or more second product characteristics to determine a second carbon sequestration value for the second field;
utilize, by the carbon algorithm, the second carbon emission value and the second carbon sequestration value to generate a second carbon footprint value for the second field, wherein the second carbon footprint value indicates the carbon impact for producing the second product at the second field;
suggesting… one or more actions that when implemented improve the first carbon footprint value for the first field or the second carbon footprint value for the second field.
Independent claims 8 and 14 recite substantially similar claim language.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-13, and 15-20 recite the same or similar abstract idea(s) as independent claims 1, 8, and 14 with merely a further narrowing of the abstract idea(s) to particular data characterization and/or additional data analyses performed as part of the abstract idea.
The limitations in claims 1-20 above falling well-within the groupings of subject matter identified by the courts as being abstract concepts, specifically the claims are found to correspond to the category of:
Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations; as the claims recite defining a revenue distribution function that include mathematical formulas, functions, and/or calculations including evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint through formulas and expressions.
"Certain methods of organizing human activity- fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)" as the limitations identified above are directed to evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint and thus is a method of organizing human activity including at least commercial or business interactions or relations and/or a management of user personal behavior; and/or
"Mental processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)" as the limitations identified above include mere data observations, evaluations, judgements, and/or opinions, e.g. including user observation and evaluation of a product based on a determined carbon footprint, which is capable of being performed mentally and/or using pen and paper.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Claims 1-20 are found to clearly be directed to the abstract idea identified above because the claims, as a whole, fail to integrate the claimed judicial exception into a practical application, specifically the claims recite the additional elements of:
" suggesting, on a computer display " (claim 1, 14), however the aforementioned elements directed to the receiving of user input/selection of data to view via a dashboard and displaying corresponding data via the dashboard merely amount to generic GUI elements of a general purpose computer used to "apply" the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)) and/or is merely an attempt at limiting the abstract idea of analysis and review/visualization of evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint to a particular field of use/technological environment of a GUI dashboard (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and therefore the GUI dashboard input and display of data fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application;
" An evaluation platform, comprising: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory, the processor, when executing instructions stored in the memory, configured to: / An evaluation platform, comprising: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory, the processor, when executing program instructions, configured to: " (claims 1, 8, and 14) however the aforementioned elements merely amount to generic components of a general purpose computer used to "apply" the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.0S(f)) and thus fails to integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application, furthermore the high-level recitation of receiving data from a generic "evaluation platform" is at most an attempt to limit the abstract to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.0S(h), e.g.: "For instance, a data gathering step that is limited to a particular data source (such as the Internet) or a particular type of data (such as power grid data or XML tags) could be considered to be both insignificant extra-solution activity and a field of use limitation. See, e.g., Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (limiting use of abstract idea to the Internet); Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1354, 119 USPQ2d at 1742 (limiting application of abstract idea to power grid data); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie lndem. Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d 1928, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (limiting use of abstract idea to use with XML tags).") and/or merely insignificant extra-solution activity (MPE 2106.05(g)) and thus further fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application;
" wherein receiving the selection of the one or more products is based on a quick response (QR) code associated with each of the one or more products," (claim 13), however the receiving of data from these various sources is merely insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering, and/or merely an attempt at limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use and thus fails to integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application (e.g. MPEP 2106.0S(h): "Examiners should keep in mind that this consideration overlaps with other considerations, particularly insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05{g)). For instance, a data gathering step that is limited to a particular data source (such as the Internet) or a particular type of data (such as power grid data or XML tags) could be considered to be both insignificant extra-solution activity and a field of use limitation. See, e.g., Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (limiting use of abstract idea to the Internet); Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1354, 119 USPQ2d at 1742 (limiting application of abstract idea to power grid data); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie lndem. Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d 1928, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2017} (limiting use of abstract idea to use with XML tags).");
Step 2B: Claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 merely amount to a general purpose computer that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment (MPEP 2106.0S(f)), including merely limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use of evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint by an "evaluation platform" and a GUI "computer display", as explained above, and/or performs insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering or output, (MPEP 2106.0S(g)), as identified above, which is further found under step 2B to be merely well-understood, routine, and conventional activities as evidenced by MPEP 2106.0S(d)(II) (describing conventional activities that include transmitting and receiving data over a network, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information from memory, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, and a web browser's back and forward button functionality). Therefore, similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea directed to evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint.
Claims 1-20 are accordingly rejected under 35 USC§ 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea(s)) without significantly more.
Note: The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. As such, the presentment of any claim otherwise styled as a machine or manufacture, for example, would be subject to the same analysis.
For further authority and guidance, see:
MPEP § 2106
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0138703 to Asntekar et al. (hereafter referred to as Asntekar) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0100358 to Klavins (hereafter referred to as Klavins) and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0351978 to Bellowe (hereafter referred to as Bellowe).
As per claim 1, Asntekar teaches:
An evaluation platform, comprising: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory, the processor, when executing instructions stored in the memory, configured to: (Paragraph Number [0047] teaches the CO2E sequestration server 130 may include a presentation processor 141 that is coupled to a parcel database 151. The presentation processor 141 comprises a user interface (UX) component 142, a search engine component 143, and a user database 144. Paragraph Number [0048] teaches the CO2E sequestration server 130 may further comprise an agricultural metrics processor 152, a crop simulation processor 153, a CO2E detection processor 155, and a remote sense processor 156, all of which are coupled to the parcel database 151. The CO2E sequestration server 130 may further comprise a CO2E management processor 154 that is coupled to the CO2E detection processor 155, the remote sense processor 157, and the crop simulation processor 153).
obtain farm information describing one or more farm characteristics of a farm (Paragraph Number [0069] teaches deciphering the history and potential of a parcel is critical to understanding the parcel's ultimate regenerative potential and economic value; however, this type of information is typically not available outside of hard-to-come-by operator data, and without access to this data, those interested in assigning CO2E sequestration potential and value to a parcel are typically limited to public soil maps and state-level productivity rankings, which are inadequate for representing actual field conditions. In addition, one skilled in the art will appreciate that most states don't have a consistent productivity score that allows for comparison of parcels across states, and that state productivity scores are based on historical information of weather and soil. In contrast, the metrics and valuations provided for by the present invention are 1) consistent and 2) based upon topography, soil, and crop simulations that are validated by remote sensing in test fields).
wherein the farm includes at least a first field and a second field that are different fields of the farm, (Paragraph Number [0069] teaches deciphering the history and potential of a parcel is critical to understanding the parcel's ultimate regenerative potential and economic value; however, this type of information is typically not available outside of hard-to-come-by operator data, and without access to this data, those interested in assigning CO2E sequestration potential and value to a parcel are typically limited to public soil maps and state-level productivity rankings, which are inadequate for representing actual field conditions. In addition, one skilled in the art will appreciate that most states don't have a consistent productivity score that allows for comparison of parcels across states, and that state productivity scores are based on historical information of weather and soil. In contrast, the metrics and valuations provided for by the present invention are 1) consistent and 2) based upon topography, soil, and crop simulations that are validated by remote sensing in test fields).
obtain first field information describing one or more first field characteristics of the first field (Paragraph Number [0069] teaches deciphering the history and potential of a parcel is critical to understanding the parcel's ultimate regenerative potential and economic value; however, this type of information is typically not available outside of hard-to-come-by operator data, and without access to this data, those interested in assigning CO2E sequestration potential and value to a parcel are typically limited to public soil maps and state-level productivity rankings, which are inadequate for representing actual field conditions. In addition, one skilled in the art will appreciate that most states don't have a consistent productivity score that allows for comparison of parcels across states, and that state productivity scores are based on historical information of weather and soil. In contrast, the metrics and valuations provided for by the present invention are 1) consistent and 2) based upon topography, soil, and crop simulations that are validated by remote sensing in test fields).
obtain second field information describing one or more second field characteristics of the second field (Paragraph Number [0069] teaches deciphering the history and potential of a parcel is critical to understanding the parcel's ultimate regenerative potential and economic value; however, this type of information is typically not available outside of hard-to-come-by operator data, and without access to this data, those interested in assigning CO2E sequestration potential and value to a parcel are typically limited to public soil maps and state-level productivity rankings, which are inadequate for representing actual field conditions. In addition, one skilled in the art will appreciate that most states don't have a consistent productivity score that allows for comparison of parcels across states, and that state productivity scores are based on historical information of weather and soil. In contrast, the metrics and valuations provided for by the present invention are 1) consistent and 2) based upon topography, soil, and crop simulations that are validated by remote sensing in test fields).
obtain second field information describing one or more second field characteristics of the second field (Paragraph Number [0069] teaches deciphering the history and potential of a parcel is critical to understanding the parcel's ultimate regenerative potential and economic value; however, this type of information is typically not available outside of hard-to-come-by operator data, and without access to this data, those interested in assigning CO2E sequestration potential and value to a parcel are typically limited to public soil maps and state-level productivity rankings, which are inadequate for representing actual field conditions. In addition, one skilled in the art will appreciate that most states don't have a consistent productivity score that allows for comparison of parcels across states, and that state productivity scores are based on historical information of weather and soil. In contrast, the metrics and valuations provided for by the present invention are 1) consistent and 2) based upon topography, soil, and crop simulations that are validated by remote sensing in test fields).
utilize, by a carbon algorithm, at least one of (1) the one or more farm characteristics, (2) the one or more first field characteristics, and (3) the one or more first product characteristics to determine a first carbon emission value for the first field (Paragraph Number [0034] teaches the various human activities that emit, or release, greenhouse gases into the air. For example, driving a car burns fossil fuels which releases CO2 as a byproduct. In agricultural parcels, emissions occur directly from the soil as a result of soil management, from performing necessary farming activities (e.g., driving tractors, which burn fossil fuels, releasing CO2), and from manufacturing nitrogen fertilizer (which also burns fossil fuels, releasing CO2). Paragraph Number [0080] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 determines CO2E sequestration for each of the parcels by calculating greenhouse gas emissions under the baseline management scenario from emissions corresponding to one of the plurality of regenerative practices scenarios (e.g., best practices or better practices scenarios) and converting these emissions into units of CO2E. Paragraph Number [0104] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 retrieves outputs corresponding to carbon dioxide flux from the soil (one component of the greenhouse gas emissions for each parcel) from the parcel database 151 (See Example in Paragraph Numbers [0111]-[0116])).
utilize, by the carbon algorithm, at least one of (1) the one or more farm characteristics, (2) the one or more first field characteristics, and (3) the one or more first product characteristics to determine a first carbon sequestration value for the first field (Paragraph Number [0035] teaches the amount of additional carbon is retained in the soil. In some cases, the amount of carbon in the soil increases over time and such is referred to as the amount of carbon that is being sequestered. If the amount of carbon in the soil is decreasing over time (i.e., being released into the atmosphere as CO2), then such is referred to as a greenhouse gas emission. In any given calculation for a field, carbon is either being sequestered or emitted. Paragraph Number [0080] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 determines CO2E sequestration for each of the parcels by calculating greenhouse gas emissions under the baseline management scenario from emissions corresponding to one of the plurality of regenerative practices scenarios (e.g., best practices or better practices scenarios) and converting these emissions into units of CO2E. Accordingly, the value of CO2E sequestration reflects the amount of CO2E that can be sequestered in the soil by implementing one or more regenerative management practices over baseline management practices. The CO2E sequestration values are stored in the parcel database 318 along with their corresponding management practices scenarios).
utilize, by the carbon algorithm, the first carbon emission value and the first carbon sequestration value to generate a first carbon footprint value for the first field, wherein the first carbon footprint value indicates the carbon impact for producing the first product at the first field (Paragraph Number [0037] teaches a single number expressed in CO2e that represents the aggregation of both greenhouse gas emissions and carbon sequestration occurring in a single field (or prescribed region, etc.). Since both greenhouse gas emissions and carbon sequestration may be converted to CO2e, a field's net total greenhouse gas emissions (i.e., greenhouse gas emissions minus carbon sequestration) is referred to as it's carbon footprint. Paragraph Number [0116] teaches the annual carbon dioxide emissions under the baseline management practices scenario determined at block 614 are subtracted from the annual carbon dioxide emissions under the best management practices scenario to yield each parcel's regenerative carbon footprint potential value, which is stored in the parcel database 151. Flow then proceeds to block 630. Paragraph Number [0148] teaches each parcel's regenerative carbon footprint determined at block 904 are assigned to a percentile bin relative to all other regenerative carbon footprint values corresponding to remaining parcels in the prescribed region. In one embodiment, the percentile bins range from 0 (i.e., implying no regenerative potential) to 100 (i.e., implying more regenerative potential than all other parcels in the prescribed region) in increments of one percent. Other embodiments contemplate binning in increments of five percent and 10 percent).
utilize, by the carbon algorithm, at least one of (1) the one or more farm characteristics, (2) the one or more second field characteristics, and (3) the one or more second product characteristics to determine a second carbon emission value for the second field (Paragraph Number [0034] teaches the various human activities that emit, or release, greenhouse gases into the air. For example, driving a car burns fossil fuels which releases CO2 as a byproduct. In agricultural parcels, emissions occur directly from the soil as a result of soil management, from performing necessary farming activities (e.g., driving tractors, which burn fossil fuels, releasing CO2), and from manufacturing nitrogen fertilizer (which also burns fossil fuels, releasing CO2). Paragraph Number [0080] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 determines CO2E sequestration for each of the parcels by calculating greenhouse gas emissions under the baseline management scenario from emissions corresponding to one of the plurality of regenerative practices scenarios (e.g., best practices or better practices scenarios) and converting these emissions into units of CO2E. Paragraph Number [0104] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 retrieves outputs corresponding to carbon dioxide flux from the soil (one component of the greenhouse gas emissions for each parcel) from the parcel database 151 (See Example in Paragraph Numbers [0111]-[0116])).
utilize, by the carbon algorithm, at least one of (1) the one or more farm characteristics, (2) the one or more second field characteristics, and (3) the one or more second product characteristics to determine a second carbon sequestration value for the second field (Paragraph Number [0035] teaches the amount of additional carbon is retained in the soil. In some cases, the amount of carbon in the soil increases over time and such is referred to as the amount of carbon that is being sequestered. If the amount of carbon in the soil is decreasing over time (i.e., being released into the atmosphere as CO2), then such is referred to as a greenhouse gas emission. In any given calculation for a field, carbon is either being sequestered or emitted. Paragraph Number [0080] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 determines CO2E sequestration for each of the parcels by calculating greenhouse gas emissions under the baseline management scenario from emissions corresponding to one of the plurality of regenerative practices scenarios (e.g., best practices or better practices scenarios) and converting these emissions into units of CO2E. Accordingly, the value of CO2E sequestration reflects the amount of CO2E that can be sequestered in the soil by implementing one or more regenerative management practices over baseline management practices. The CO2E sequestration values are stored in the parcel database 318 along with their corresponding management practices scenarios).
utilize, by the carbon algorithm, the second carbon emission value and the second carbon sequestration value to generate a second carbon footprint value for the second field, wherein the second carbon footprint value indicates the carbon impact for producing the second product at the second field (Paragraph Number [0037] teaches a single number expressed in CO2e that represents the aggregation of both greenhouse gas emissions and carbon sequestration occurring in a single field (or prescribed region, etc.). Since both greenhouse gas emissions and carbon sequestration may be converted to CO2e, a field's net total greenhouse gas emissions (i.e., greenhouse gas emissions minus carbon sequestration) is referred to as it's carbon footprint. Paragraph Number [0116] teaches the annual carbon dioxide emissions under the baseline management practices scenario determined at block 614 are subtracted from the annual carbon dioxide emissions under the best management practices scenario to yield each parcel's regenerative carbon footprint potential value, which is stored in the parcel database 151. Flow then proceeds to block 630. Paragraph Number [0148] teaches each parcel's regenerative carbon footprint determined at block 904 are assigned to a percentile bin relative to all other regenerative carbon footprint values corresponding to remaining parcels in the prescribed region. In one embodiment, the percentile bins range from 0 (i.e., implying no regenerative potential) to 100 (i.e., implying more regenerative potential than all other parcels in the prescribed region) in increments of one percent. Other embodiments contemplate binning in increments of five percent and 10 percent).
Asntekar teaches evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint, but does not explicitly teach specific products that are produced at a farm which is taught by the following citations from Klavins:
and wherein the first field produces a first product and the second field produces a second product (Paragraph Number [0095] teaches the user definable grid has further application in improving harvesting agricultural products. The system allows for maintaining the Agricultural Pedigree for grower's field's product by grid designation of the user defined grid. This information can also yield a selective harvesting of the field based upon distinctions in the Agricultural Pedigree via grid designation. Paragraph Number [0107] teaches a first farmer, also accessing device 2 via the open communications network, has such agricultural product in her field, and so she attempts to offer to fill a portion of the shipper's need. The device 2, locates the agricultural pedigree for that product for that farmer, and further applies the sustainability rating filter set by the shipper and the MRL filter set by the country of destination, and concludes that this farmer's agricultural product will meet the criteria set, and proceeds to facilitate the making of the sale between the farmer and the shipper. Paragraph Number [0118] teaches a grower desires to harvest his seed-based agricultural product in a manner that allows him to harvest that portion of his agricultural product which is ready for harvesting, but to leave in the field that portion which must mature further before harvesting. Utilizing the device 2, the grower maintains an agricultural pedigree for the agricultural product grown on his farm. In this example, the device 2 includes the capability for the grower to define one or more of his own grid designation units, which user definable grid designation unit may be his entire farm or one or more sub portions, such as one or more fields, within his farm. By combining the agricultural pedigree of the device 2 with the user definable grid, designation unit, the grower can use any combination of historical data, real time data, predictive modeling and combinations thereof to ascertain which section within the grid designation unit contains agricultural product ready for harvesting).
obtain first product information describing one or more first product characteristics of the first product (Paragraph Number [0095] teaches the user definable grid has further application in improving harvesting agricultural products. The system allows for maintaining the Agricultural Pedigree for grower's field's product by grid designation of the user defined grid. This information can also yield a selective harvesting of the field based upon distinctions in the Agricultural Pedigree via grid designation. Paragraph Number [0107] teaches a first farmer, also accessing device 2 via the open communications network, has such agricultural product in her field, and so she attempts to offer to fill a portion of the shipper's need. The device 2, locates the agricultural pedigree for that product for that farmer, and further applies the sustainability rating filter set by the shipper and the MRL filter set by the country of destination, and concludes that this farmer's agricultural product will meet the criteria set, and proceeds to facilitate the making of the sale between the farmer and the shipper. Paragraph Number [0118] teaches a grower desires to harvest his seed-based agricultural product in a manner that allows him to harvest that portion of his agricultural product which is ready for harvesting, but to leave in the field that portion which must mature further before harvesting. Utilizing the device 2, the grower maintains an agricultural pedigree for the agricultural product grown on his farm. In this example, the device 2 includes the capability for the grower to define one or more of his own grid designation units, which user definable grid designation unit may be his entire farm or one or more sub portions, such as one or more fields, within his farm. By combining the agricultural pedigree of the device 2 with the user definable grid, designation unit, the grower can use any combination of historical data, real time data, predictive modeling and combinations thereof to ascertain which section within the grid designation unit contains agricultural product ready for harvesting).
obtain second product information describing one or more second product characteristics of the second product (Paragraph Number [0095] teaches the user definable grid has further application in improving harvesting agricultural products. The system allows for maintaining the Agricultural Pedigree for grower's field's product by grid designation of the user defined grid. This information can also yield a selective harvesting of the field based upon distinctions in the Agricultural Pedigree via grid designation. Paragraph Number [0107] teaches a first farmer, also accessing device 2 via the open communications network, has such agricultural product in her field, and so she attempts to offer to fill a portion of the shipper's need. The device 2, locates the agricultural pedigree for that product for that farmer, and further applies the sustainability rating filter set by the shipper and the MRL filter set by the country of destination, and concludes that this farmer's agricultural product will meet the criteria set, and proceeds to facilitate the making of the sale between the farmer and the shipper. Paragraph Number [0118] teaches a grower desires to harvest his seed-based agricultural product in a manner that allows him to harvest that portion of his agricultural product which is ready for harvesting, but to leave in the field that portion which must mature further before harvesting. Utilizing the device 2, the grower maintains an agricultural pedigree for the agricultural product grown on his farm. In this example, the device 2 includes the capability for the grower to define one or more of his own grid designation units, which user definable grid designation unit may be his entire farm or one or more sub portions, such as one or more fields, within his farm. By combining the agricultural pedigree of the device 2 with the user definable grid, designation unit, the grower can use any combination of historical data, real time data, predictive modeling and combinations thereof to ascertain which section within the grid designation unit contains agricultural product ready for harvesting).
Both Asntekar and Klavins are directed to carbon emission detection and reduction. Asntekar discloses evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint. Klavins improves upon Asntekar by disclosing specific products that are produced at a farm. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include specific products that are produced at a farm, to efficiently determine how specific carbon emissions and sequestrations are related to a particular product allowing a person to make a more environmentally minded selection. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint in Asntekar to further utilize specific products that are produced at a farm as disclosed in Klavins, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Asntekar teaches evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint, but does not explicitly teach suggesting one or more actions that improve a first carbon footprint value which is taught by the following citations from Bellowe:
suggesting, on a computer display, one or more actions that when implemented improve the first carbon footprint value for the first field or the second carbon footprint value for the second field. (Paragraph Number [0131] teaches the user profile 1801 can store information about the user, such as user's carbon footprint activity 1802 and/or user's interaction 1805 with the application GUI 1803 including the user's response to recommendations to change behavior impacting the carbon footprint and/or user’s responses to rewards and/or incentives. In at least one embodiment, the user carbon footprint activity 1804 can be tracked and recorded in the user profile. In at least one embodiment, reports and/or incentives can be provided to the user for engaging in ecologically friendly activities 1808).
Both the combination of Asntekar and Klavins and Bellowe are directed to carbon emission detection and reduction. The combination of Asntekar and Klavins discloses evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint. Bellowe improves upon the combination of Asntekar and Klavins by disclosing suggesting one or more actions that improve a first carbon footprint value. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include suggesting one or more actions that improve a first carbon footprint value, to efficiently allow a person to make a more environmentally minded decision on which actions should be taken at the production level to reduce a carbon footprint. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint in the combination of Asntekar and Klavins to further utilize suggesting one or more actions that improve a first carbon footprint value as disclosed in Bellowe, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 8, Asntekar teaches:
An evaluation platform, comprising: a memory; a processor coupled to the memory, the processor, when executing program instructions, configured to: (Paragraph Number [0047] teaches the CO2E sequestration server 130 may include a presentation processor 141 that is coupled to a parcel database 151. The presentation processor 141 comprises a user interface (UX) component 142, a search engine component 143, and a user database 144. Paragraph Number [0048] teaches the CO2E sequestration server 130 may further comprise an agricultural metrics processor 152, a crop simulation processor 153, a CO2E detection processor 155, and a remote sense processor 156, all of which are coupled to the parcel database 151. The CO2E sequestration server 130 may further comprise a CO2E management processor 154 that is coupled to the CO2E detection processor 155, the remote sense processor 157, and the crop simulation processor 153).
determine, for each product, if a generated carbon value exists (Paragraph Number [0034] teaches the various human activities that emit, or release, greenhouse gases into the air. For example, driving a car burns fossil fuels which releases CO2 as a byproduct. In agricultural parcels, emissions occur directly from the soil as a result of soil management, from performing necessary farming activities (e.g., driving tractors, which burn fossil fuels, releasing CO2), and from manufacturing nitrogen fertilizer (which also burns fossil fuels, releasing CO2). Paragraph Number [0080] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 determines CO2E sequestration for each of the parcels by calculating greenhouse gas emissions under the baseline management scenario from emissions corresponding to one of the plurality of regenerative practices scenarios (e.g., best practices or better practices scenarios) and converting these emissions into units of CO2E. Paragraph Number [0104] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 retrieves outputs corresponding to carbon dioxide flux from the soil (one component of the greenhouse gas emissions for each parcel) from the parcel database 151 (See Example in Paragraph Numbers [0111]-[0116])).
in response to determining that the generated carbon value exists for a particular selected product, utilizing an algorithm to generate a first customer score for the particular selected product (Paragraph Number [0035] teaches the amount of additional carbon is retained in the soil. In some cases, the amount of carbon in the soil increases over time and such is referred to as the amount of carbon that is being sequestered. If the amount of carbon in the soil is decreasing over time (i.e., being released into the atmosphere as CO2), then such is referred to as a greenhouse gas emission. In any given calculation for a field, carbon is either being sequestered or emitted. Paragraph Number [0080] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 determines CO2E sequestration for each of the parcels by calculating greenhouse gas emissions under the baseline management scenario from emissions corresponding to one of the plurality of regenerative practices scenarios (e.g., best practices or better practices scenarios) and converting these emissions into units of CO2E. Accordingly, the value of CO2E sequestration reflects the amount of CO2E that can be sequestered in the soil by implementing one or more regenerative management practices over baseline management practices. The CO2E sequestration values are stored in the parcel database 318 along with their corresponding management practices scenarios).
wherein the first customer score is based on the carbon value and one or more other values, for the selected product, that corresponds to the customer specific information (Paragraph Number [0037] teaches a single number expressed in CO2e that represents the aggregation of both greenhouse gas emissions and carbon sequestration occurring in a single field (or prescribed region, etc.). Since both greenhouse gas emissions and carbon sequestration may be converted to CO2e, a field's net total greenhouse gas emissions (i.e., greenhouse gas emissions minus carbon sequestration) is referred to as it's carbon footprint. Paragraph Number [0116] teaches the annual carbon dioxide emissions under the baseline management practices scenario determined at block 614 are subtracted from the annual carbon dioxide emissions under the best management practices scenario to yield each parcel's regenerative carbon footprint potential value, which is stored in the parcel database 151. Flow then proceeds to block 630. Paragraph Number [0148] teaches each parcel's regenerative carbon footprint determined at block 904 are assigned to a percentile bin relative to all other regenerative carbon footprint values corresponding to remaining parcels in the prescribed region. In one embodiment, the percentile bins range from 0 (i.e., implying no regenerative potential) to 100 (i.e., implying more regenerative potential than all other parcels in the prescribed region) in increments of one percent. Other embodiments contemplate binning in increments of five percent and 10 percent).
or in response to determine that the corresponding generated carbon value does not exist for the particular selected product (Paragraph Number [0034] teaches the various human activities that emit, or release, greenhouse gases into the air. For example, driving a car burns fossil fuels which releases CO2 as a byproduct. In agricultural parcels, emissions occur directly from the soil as a result of soil management, from performing necessary farming activities (e.g., driving tractors, which burn fossil fuels, releasing CO2), and from manufacturing nitrogen fertilizer (which also burns fossil fuels, releasing CO2). Paragraph Number [0080] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 determines CO2E sequestration for each of the parcels by calculating greenhouse gas emissions under the baseline management scenario from emissions corresponding to one of the plurality of regenerative practices scenarios (e.g., best practices or better practices scenarios) and converting these emissions into units of CO2E. Paragraph Number [0104] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 retrieves outputs corresponding to carbon dioxide flux from the soil (one component of the greenhouse gas emissions for each parcel) from the parcel database 151 (See Example in Paragraph Numbers [0111]-[0116])).
utilizing the algorithm to generate a second customer score for the particular selected product (Paragraph Number [0035] teaches the amount of additional carbon is retained in the soil. In some cases, the amount of carbon in the soil increases over time and such is referred to as the amount of carbon that is being sequestered. If the amount of carbon in the soil is decreasing over time (i.e., being released into the atmosphere as CO2), then such is referred to as a greenhouse gas emission. In any given calculation for a field, carbon is either being sequestered or emitted. Paragraph Number [0080] teaches the CO2E determination processor 155 determines CO2E sequestration for each of the parcels by calculating greenhouse gas emissions under the baseline management scenario from emissions corresponding to one of the plurality of regenerative practices scenarios (e.g., best practices or better practices scenarios) and converting these emissions into units of CO2E. Accordingly, the value of CO2E sequestration reflects the amount of CO2E that can be sequestered in the soil by implementing one or more regenerative management practices over baseline management practices. The CO2E sequestration values are stored in the parcel database 318 along with their corresponding management practices scenarios).
Asntekar teaches evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint, but does not explicitly teach specific products that are produced at a farm which is taught by the following citations from Klavins:
receive a selection of one or more products for sale at a merchant (Paragraph Number [0095] teaches the user definable grid has further application in improving harvesting agricultural products. The system allows for maintaining the Agricultural Pedigree for grower's field's product by grid designation of the user defined grid. This information can also yield a selective harvesting of the field based upon distinctions in the Agricultural Pedigree via grid designation. Paragraph Number [0107] teaches a first farmer, also accessing device 2 via the open communications network, has such agricultural product in her field, and so she attempts to offer to fill a portion of the shipper's need. The device 2, locates the agricultural pedigree for that product for that farmer, and further applies the sustainability rating filter set by the shipper and the MRL filter set by the country of destination, and concludes that this farmer's agricultural product will meet the criteria set, and proceeds to facilitate the making of the sale between the farmer and the shipper. Paragraph Number [0118] teaches a grower desires to harvest his seed-based agricultural product in a manner that allows him to harvest that portion of his agricultural product which is ready for harvesting, but to leave in the field that portion which must mature further before harvesting. Utilizing the device 2, the grower maintains an agricultural pedigree for the agricultural product grown on his farm. In this example, the device 2 includes the capability for the grower to define one or more of his own grid designation units, which user definable grid designation unit may be his entire farm or one or more sub portions, such as one or more fields, within his farm. By combining the agricultural pedigree of the device 2 with the user definable grid, designation unit, the grower can use any combination of historical data, real time data, predictive modeling and combinations thereof to ascertain which section within the grid designation unit contains agricultural product ready for harvesting).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these Asntekar teaches evaluating a product based on a determined carbon footprint, but does not explicitly teach suggesting one or more actions that improve a first carbon footprint value which is taught by the f