DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant(s) regard as their invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the support surface" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting claim 1 to recite “a support surface”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the vacuum tank" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is considering claim 4 to be dependent upon claim 3.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the discharge pump" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting claim 9 to recite “a discharge pump”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Locascio et al., USPA 2003/0019509 (Locascio).
Regarding claim 1, Locascio discloses a moveable washing system for reclaiming and processing fluid (abstract, figs. 1-22) comprising:
A first holding compartment (REF 214, figs. 15, 22, see “containment mat”, ¶ 0073-0074) for holding fluid;
A second holding compartment (REF 103, fig. 22, see “tributary tank”, ¶ 0060, 0090-0091, Claim 14) in fluid communication with the first holding compartment;
A third holding compartment (see “reservoir”, ¶ 0064) in fluid communication with the second holding compartment (¶ 0064, 0090-0091, Claims 28-30); and
A frame (REF 10, 11, fig. 1, ¶ 0040) to support the movable washing system, and wherein the movable washing system is movable (via wheels on REF 10, 11, fig. 1) across a support surface.
Regarding claim 2, Locascio discloses a system further comprising an inlet conduit (inlet of REF 354, fig. 22, ¶ 0090) to receive fluid.
Regarding claim 5, Locascio discloses a system further comprising a tank baffling device (REF 219, fig. 13, ¶ 0073) within the first holding compartment.
Regarding claim 7, Locascio discloses a system wherein the first holding compartment is connected to the second holding compartment via a first transfer channel (conduit from REF 354 to REF 103, fig. 22).
Regarding claim 8, Locascio discloses a system wherein the first transfer channel includes a filter (see “sump filter”, REF 354, fig. 22, ¶ 0090) to filter fluid flowing between the first and second holding compartments.
Regarding claim 12, Locascio discloses a system wherein the third holding compartment is attached to a high-pressure pump (REF 52, fig. 5, ¶ 0064) to discharge cleaning fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locascio in view of Parr, USPA 2008/0257837 (Parr).
Regarding claim 3, Locascio does not explicitly disclose the use of a vacuum tank connected to the inlet conduit. However, Parr discloses a waste water treatment system (abstract, REF 11, fig. 2, ¶ 0004) comprising a vacuum pump/chamber assembly (REF 9, 19, fig. 2) connected to an inlet conduit (REF 12).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Locascio to include the vacuum pump/chamber assembly as described in Parr since it has been shown that the use of vacuum is equally effective in transferring fluid from one container to another.
Regarding claim 4, Parr further discloses using a vacuum device (REF 19, fig. 2, ¶ 0021) for generating a vacuum within the vacuum tank.
Regarding claim 6, Parr further discloses the vacuum tank (REF 19) includes a sensor (REF 14, fig. 2, ¶ 0021) to control a fluid level within the vacuum tank (¶ 0024).
Claims 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locascio in view of McCurdy, USPA 2014/0263079 (McCurdy).
Regarding claim 9, Locascio does not explicitly disclose the use of a discharge pump to remove unwanted material from the second holding compartment. However, Parr recognizes the need to remove build-up of unwanted components from a treatment tank (via REF 13, ¶ 0021). Furthermore, it can be envisioned that any facility drawing the unwanted components from the treatment tank would use a pumping assembly if the material itself is not fluidic enough to flow via gravity alone. Lastly, McCurdy recognizes the equivalence of using a discharge pump and a gravity fed sump for discharging unwanted components from a treatment tank (¶ 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to generally provide a discharge pump in the second holding compartment since it has been shown that a gravity fed sump and discharge pump are art recognized equivalents for their use in the water treatment art, and the use of any of these known equivalents to discharge unwanted components from a treatment tank would be within the level or ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding claim 13, Locascio (in view of McCurdy) disclose a chattel (abstract, figs. 1-2), moveable automobile washing system (abstract) comprising a frame (REF 216, 221, 222, 228, 230, fig. 15), a vacuum air pump system (REF 356, fig. 21, ¶ 0090) attached to the frame (REF 330, fig. 21), a discharge pump as relied upon in the rejection of claim 9 set forth above, the vacuum pump system capable of collecting used fluid from the wash system (¶ 0090), a plurality of processing tanks attached to the tanks (REF 103, figs. 8, 22) and the frame (REF 214, figs. 15, 21-22), each tank capable of processing the fluid in the wash fluid, i.e. purifying (via REF 103) and collecting (via REF 214), wherein the system allows the collection of wastewater from the lowest point of a wash area (i.e. sump of REF 214) without the need to dig into the surface of an existing wash area.
Claims 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locascio in view of Hoel, US 5958240 (Hoel).
Regarding claims 10-11, while Locascio discloses the use of microfilters for removing contaminants from a recycle stream, Locascio does not explicitly disclose the use of an inclined plate clarifier. However, Hoel discloses that it is common to utilize inclined plate clarifiers for wastewater recycling systems (abstract, C1/L24-27, L58-63).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Locasio to utilize the inclined plate clarifier as described in Hoel in order to remove pollutants from water and provide recycled water for downstream purposes.
Conclusion
DIRK R. BASS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/DIRK R BASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779