DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged (US Provisional Application 63/416,404 filed October 14th, 2022).
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended claims 1 and 3 – 5 beyond formalities.
Claims 6 – 20 are withdrawn.
The pending claims are 1 – 5 [Page 8 lines 1 – 6].
Applicant provides their summary of the previous Office Action [Page 8 lines 7 – 10].
Applicant provides their version of the interview conducted on December 9th, 2025 [Page 8 lines 11 – 16].
Applicant amended the Specification to address Examiner’s Specification Objection [Page 8 lines 17 – 20]. In the sole interest to expedite prosecution, the Objection is considered overcome by amendment even though clipping function has not been defined.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
First, the Applicant recites the references against the claims [Page 8 lines 8 – 10].
Second, the Applicant recites features of amended independent claim 1 [Page 8 line 21 – Page 9 line 12].
Third, the Applicant broadly contends the features of the amended claims are not taught / rendered obvious by Kim and Lim [Page 9 lines 13 – 20] and cites Specification Paragraph 114 as support which is mere verbatim repetition of an embodiment [Page 9 lines 21 – 26], and concludes the claims are allowable for at least the reasons given [Page 9 lines 27 – 29].
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
While the Applicant’s points may be understood, the Examiner in view of the amendments made to the claims cites an additional reference against the claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I (Claims 1 – 5) in the reply filed on September 18th, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 6 – 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions II – VI, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 18th, 2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 28th, 2023 and May 15th, 2024 were filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (mailed October 14th, 2025). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “different”, but there is no support or exemplar or requirement what has to be different between the affine models claimed (e.g. MVs / control points used, number of parameters, coefficients of model).
Regarding claim 4, in line 4 the phrase “partition coded” should read as - -partition is coded-- for clarity (similar to construct of claim 5).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 5, the claim has partitions in an AMVP mode, but claim 1 requires use of affine models / motion models / translational models which are not part of “regular AMVP”; thus claim 5 improperly depends from claim 1 with the conditions covered.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0039371 A1 referred to as “Kim” throughout), and further in view of Lim, et al. (US PG PUB 2022/0321890 A1 referred to as “Lim” throughout) [Cited in Applicant’s May 15th, 2024 IDS], and Chang, et al (US PG PUB 2022/0329822 A1 referred to as “Chang” throughout).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches geometric partitioning as a merge mode and signaling the geometric partitioning information with flags indicating using the mode including use as a merge mode candidate. Lim teaches particulars in processing the geometric partition mode with sub-block considerations and how to process the boundary / edge information in the geometric partition. Chang teaches considerations when using GPM regarding the signaling / use of affine (translational) motion models.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with the partitioning techniques and understandings of processing sub blocks and boundaries as taught by Lim; and the affine model considerations as taught by Chang. The combination teaches
receiving, from a coded video bitstream, coded information associated with a current block in a current picture, the coded information indicating that the current block is coded in a geometric partition mode (GPM) [Kim Figures 37 – 40 (subfigures included where GPM mode and syntax indicating using the mode) as well as Table 1 and Paragraphs 307 – 311 (see at least the “merge_gpm_partition_idx” signaled for a current block into partitions / subblocks where Paragraphs 314 – 321 is decoding such information signaled in a bitstream)], the current block being partitioned into at least a first partition and a second partition in the GPM by a partition edge [Kim Figures 38 – 40 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 307 – 311 where the partitions in Figure 38(b) at least render obvious the partition edge especially in view of Lim Figure 20 (see geometrically partitioned block into two regions along an edge) as well as Paragraphs 831 – 843 (geometric partitions of blocks for various prediction modes) and 905 – 913 (additional partitioning information where the boundary line renders obvious the “partition edge” claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art where Paragraphs 949 – 954 discuss triangular partitions / edges in geometric partitioning)];
determining that at least the first partition is coded in a subblock motion mode, the first partition comprising a plurality of subblocks [Kim Figures 12 – 13 and 38 – 40 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 113 and 173 – 176 (motion / prediction modes for subblocks), 206 – 211 and 241 (motion for each sub-block computed); Lim Figures 20 – 24 as well as Paragraphs 872 – 876, 905 – 913, and 923 (partitioned regions comprises multiple blocks / subblocks used for motion model / predictor determination)];
determining a plurality of motion vectors for the plurality of subblocks in the first partition of the current block [Kim Figures 9, 12 – 13 and 38 – 40 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 113, 148 – 150 (AMVP / merge list of motion vectors determined for a current block / subblock) and 173 – 176 (motion / prediction modes for subblocks – combinable with Paragraphs 148 – 150), 206 – 211 and 241 (motion for each sub-block computed where in Paragraph 211 the cost / motion model of the subblocks is considered being based on a plurality of motion vectors); Lim Figures 20 – 24 as well as Paragraphs 511 – 525 (MVs determination for subblocks / regions for the region being predicted), 872 – 876, 905 – 913, and 923 (partitioned regions comprises multiple blocks / subblocks used for motion model / predictor determination)];
the plurality of motion vectors for the plurality of sub blocks in the first partition being determined based on a first affine prediction mode that is different from a second affine prediction mode applied to the second partition when a geometric subblock flag in the coded video bitstream indicates the plurality of motion vectors for the plurality of sub blocks in the first partition is based on the first affine prediction mode that is different from the second affine prediction mode applied to the second partition [
Kim Paragraphs 241 – 243, 300 and 306 – 310 (affine mode for a block / subblock in geometric partitions – to combine with Chang); Chang Figures 8 – 10 (subfigures included and see geometric partitions with exemplary control points) as well as Paragraphs 115 – 119 (different affine model techniques where the selection of the affine model is obvious as from a finite number of elements in KSR Rationale (E)), 192 – 203 (affine and GPM with control point motion vectors (CPMVs) with selection considerations / different ways to select the CPMVs), and 204 – 212 (considerations when the affine models in the geometric partitions are different / use different MVs for the model / different indices for the CPMVs or signaling affine and translational models used in the two geometrically partitioned blocks)]; and
reconstructing the plurality of subblocks in the first partition of the current block according to the plurality of motion vectors respectively [Kim Figures 9, 12 – 13, 29 – 32 (affine models with motion vectors to reconstruct blocks) and 38 – 40 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 113 – 115 (reconstruction with affine motion models / modes), 148 – 150 (AMVP / merge list of motion vectors determined for a current block / subblock used in a decoder to reconstruct the block), 173 – 176 (motion / prediction modes for subblocks – combinable with Paragraphs 148 – 150), 206 – 211 and 240 - 243 (motion for each sub-block computed where in Paragraph 211 the cost / motion model of the subblocks is considered being based on a plurality of motion vectors and affine models), and 306 – 311 (reconstruction of blocks using GPM in which motion / residual information (motion vectors) is used for the reconstruction)].
The motivation to combine Lim with Kim is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of image encoding / decoding using geometric partitioning [Lim Paragraph 1 and 8] in order to improve compression algorithms effectiveness / efficiency [Lim Paragraphs 8 and 29 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Chang with Kim and Lim is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video encoding / decoding [Chang Paragraph 2] in order to improve coding for inter prediction coding tools including using geometrical partitions [Chang Paragraphs 5 and 78 – 79 where the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Lim, Kim, and Chang which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches geometric partitioning as a merge mode and signaling the geometric partitioning information with flags indicating using the mode including use as a merge mode candidate. Lim teaches particulars in processing the geometric partition mode with sub-block considerations and how to process the boundary / edge information in the geometric partition. Chang teaches considerations when using GPM regarding the signaling / use of affine (translational) motion models.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with the partitioning techniques and understandings of processing sub blocks and boundaries as taught by Lim; and the affine model considerations as taught by Chang. The combination teaches
wherein the subblock motion mode comprises [See claim 1 “subblock motion mode” for citations where Lim Figures 20 – 25 list various combinations of subblock motion mode information (e.g. merge candidates, intra mode, planar mode)] at least one of an affine prediction mode [Kim Paragraphs 300 and 306 – 310 (affine mode for a block / subblock in geometric partitions)], a subblock based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) [Kim Figures 7 and 38 – 40 (TMVP used to generate merge candidates for subblocks) as well as Paragraphs 141 – 142 (SbTMVP is a merge candidate prediction mode / tool), 244, 253, and 306 – 311 (merge candidates with GPM)], and a subblock based decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) [Kim Figures 20 – 24 and 38 – 40 as well as Paragraphs 206 – 210 (DMVR techniques to generate merge predictor candidates), 214 – 218, and 306 – 311 (merge candidates with GPM)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Kim, and Chang.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches geometric partitioning as a merge mode and signaling the geometric partitioning information with flags indicating using the mode including use as a merge mode candidate. Lim teaches particulars in processing the geometric partition mode with sub-block considerations and how to process the boundary / edge information in the geometric partition. Chang teaches considerations when using GPM regarding the signaling / use of affine (translational) motion models.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with the partitioning techniques and understandings of processing sub blocks and boundaries as taught by Lim; and the affine model considerations as taught by Chang. The combination teaches
wherein the determining that at least the first partition is coded in the subblock motion mode [See claim 1 for citations] further comprises:
decoding, the current block is coded in the GPM, a flag from the coded video bitstream, the flag indicating that both of the first partition and the second partition are in the subblock motion mode [Kim Figures 38 – 40 (subfigures included) and Table 2 as well as Paragraphs 241 – 245 (signaling subblocks being predicted with various techniques – see Figures 38 – 31 as well and combinable with Lim for using merge candidates / TMVP / affine motion models) 360 – 311 (coding a block in GPM); Lim Figures 20 – 24 as well as Paragraphs 845 – 863 (flags used to indicate use of merge mode candidates for partitions which are in the bitstream and decoded)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Kim, and Chang.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches geometric partitioning as a merge mode and signaling the geometric partitioning information with flags indicating using the mode including use as a merge mode candidate. Lim teaches particulars in processing the geometric partition mode with sub-block considerations and how to process the boundary / edge information in the geometric partition. Chang teaches considerations when using GPM regarding the signaling / use of affine (translational) motion models.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with the partitioning techniques and understandings of processing sub blocks and boundaries as taught by Lim; and the affine model considerations as taught by Chang. The combination teaches
wherein the determining that at least the first partition is coded in the subblock motion mode [See claim 1 for citations] further comprises:
determining that the first partition is coded in a merge mode [See claim 1 “subblock motion mode” for citations and additionally Lim Figures 20 – 25 list various combinations of subblock motion mode information (e.g. merge candidates, intra mode, planar mode)]; and
when the first partition coded in the merge mode, decoding a flag from the coded video bitstream, the flag indicating whether the first partition is in a regular merge mode or a subblock based merge mode [Kim Figures 38 – 40 (subfigures included) and Table 2 as well as Paragraphs 141 – 142 (SbTMVP is a merge candidate prediction mode / tool for a subblock merge mode), 241 – 245 (signaling subblocks being predicted with various techniques – see Figures 38 – 31 as well and combinable with Lim for using merge candidates / TMVP / affine motion models) 360 – 311 (coding a block in GPM); Lim Figures 20 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 804 – 809 (merge mode which may be considered regular or subblock techniques (e.g. use of AMVP or merge modes)), 845 – 863 (flags used to indicate use of merge mode candidates for partitions which are in the bitstream and decoded)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Kim, and Chang.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches geometric partitioning as a merge mode and signaling the geometric partitioning information with flags indicating using the mode including use as a merge mode candidate. Lim teaches particulars in processing the geometric partition mode with sub-block considerations and how to process the boundary / edge information in the geometric partition. Chang teaches considerations when using GPM regarding the signaling / use of affine (translational) motion models.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim with the partitioning techniques and understandings of processing sub blocks and boundaries as taught by Lim; and the affine model considerations as taught by Chang. The combination teaches
wherein the determining that at least the first partition is coded in the subblock motion mode [See claim 1 for citations] further comprises:
determining that the first partition is coded in an advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode [See claim 1 “subblock motion mode” for citations and additionally Lim Figures 20 – 25 list various combinations of subblock motion mode information (e.g. merge candidates, intra mode, planar mode) to combine with Kim Figures 28 – 30 and 38 – 40 as well as Paragraphs 240 -244 (AMVP signaled for a partition / subblock)]; and
when the first partition is coded in the AMVP mode, decoding a flag from the coded video bitstream, the flag indicating whether the first partition is in a regular AMVP mode or an affine AMVP mode [Kim Figures 38 – 40 (subfigures included) and Table 2 as well as Paragraphs 150 – 153 (AMVP is a merge candidate prediction mode / tool for a subblock merge mode), 240 – 245 (signaling subblocks being predicted with various techniques such as AMVP or affine modes (e.g. Paragraph 300) with AMVP – see Figures 38 – 31 as well and combinable with Lim for using merge candidates / TMVP / affine motion models) 360 – 311 (coding a block in GPM); Lim Figures 20 – 25 as well as Paragraphs 804 – 809 (merge mode which may be considered regular or subblock techniques (e.g. use of AMVP or merge modes or affine models)), 845 – 863 (flags used to indicate use of merge mode candidates for partitions which are in the bitstream and decoded)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Lim, Kim, and Chang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Deng, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0159245 A1 referred to as “Deng” throughout) in which Figures 24 – 29 and Paragraphs 374 – 401 render obvious partitioned blocks by GPM using AMVP and merge mode coding tools.
References which may raise ODP issues based on amendments made to the claims: Chen, et al. (US Patent #11,876,978 B2 referred to as “Chen” throughout); Li, et al. (US PG PUB 2022/0353500 A1 referred to as “Li” throughout); Chen, et al. (US PG PUB 2021/0160520 A1 referred to as “Chen 20” throughout).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487