DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “On UL intra-UE multiplexing and prioritization enhancements” (hereinafter referred to as Nokia) in view of Montojo et al. (US# 2009/0245421 hereinafter referred to as Montojo).
RE Claim 1, Nokia discloses a first node for wireless communications, comprising:
a first transmitter, transmitting a first Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) (See Nokia 3.1.1.5 – transmitting PUCCH), the first PUCCH being used to carry a first bit block and a second bit block (See Nokia 3.1.1.5 – multiplexing high priority UCI and low priority UCI on PUCCH), the first bit block comprising at least one control information bit, and the second bit block comprising at least one control information bit (See Nokia 3.1.1.5 – high priority UCI and low priority UCI each at least one bit);
wherein a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block is not greater than 2 (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – HARQ-ACK UCI can be 1 bit or a couple of bits); a sum of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block and a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is greater than 2 (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – scenario where the total number of bits for low-priority HARQ-ACK and high-priority HARQ-ACK are more than 2 bits); a priority index of a control information bit comprised in the first bit block is equal to a first priority index (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – i.e. low priority or high priority), a priority index of a control information bit comprised in the second bit block is equal to a second priority index (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – i.e. high priority or low priority), and the first priority index is not equal to the second priority index (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – high priority vs. low priority); and
the first bit block and the second bit block are used together to generate a first bit sequence (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – i.e. multiplexing HP and LP HARQ-ACK using, for example, Option 1: joint-encoding or Option 3: Combination of Option 1 and 2).
Nokia does not specifically disclose
a first receiver, receiving a first information block, the first information block being used to determine a first parameter value, the first parameter value being used to generate a first scrambling sequence, the first parameter value being a non-negative integer, the first scrambling sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits; and
the first bit sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits; the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit, a non-placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence is scrambled by a bit with a same index in the first scrambling sequence.
However, Montojo teaches of
a first receiver, receiving a first information block (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0067] – coded bit sequence (i.e. HARQ-ACK)), the first information block being used to determine a first parameter value, the first parameter value being used to generate a first scrambling sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0067] – determining scrambling sequence (i.e. C(i) – scrambling sequence) based on parameter value such as size of the ACK and modulation order), the first parameter value being a non-negative integer (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0067] – i.e. size of the ACK or modulation order), the first scrambling sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0067] – scrambling coded bit sequence resulting in scrambled coded bit sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits (i.e. C(i)); and
the first bit block and the second bit block are used together to generate a first bit sequence (See Montojo [0062] – bit sequence is generated by concatenation of multiple encoded HARQ-ACKs), the first bit sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – bit sequence is concatenation of multiple encoded HARQ-ACKs (blocks) resulting in coded bit sequence of sequentially indexed bits (i.e. [o1ACK o0ACK])); the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. adding escape sequence (place holder bit)), a non-placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence is scrambled by a bit with a same index in the first scrambling sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – coded bit sequence is scrambled resulting in scrambled coded bit sequence (i.e. b(i) -> b~(i), where b~(i) = (non-placeholder bit) b(i) + (bit with same index in first scrambling sequence) c(i) mod 2);).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Nokia, comprising a first receiver, receiving a first information block, the first information block being used to determine a first parameter value, the first parameter value being used to generate a first scrambling sequence, the first parameter value being a non-negative integer, the first scrambling sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits; and
the first bit sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits; the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit, a non-placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence is scrambled by a bit with a same index in the first scrambling sequence, as taught in Montojo. One is motivated as such in order to improve HARQ protection of data transmission and improve the reliability of data transmission/reception (See Montojo Background; Summary).
RE Claim 2, Nokia, modified by Montojo, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein a modulation order of a modulation scheme adopted by the first PUCCH is equal to a first modulation order (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. modulation order Qm), and the first modulation order is a positive integer greater than 1 (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. modulation order 2, 4, 6 etc…); a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block being less than the first modulation order (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. modulation order (i.e. 4) is greater than number of HARQ-ACK bits (i.e. 2)) is used to determine that the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – determining bit sequence with escape sequences based on modulation order).
RE Claim 3, Nokia, modified by Montojo, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the first bit sequence and the first scrambling sequence are used together to generate a first output sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b(i) x x x] -> (scrambled) [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1]; where b~(i) = b(i) + c(i) mod 2; c(i) = scrambling sequence), the first output sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. (scrambled) [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1]), and a number of bits comprised in the first output sequence is equal to a number of bits comprised in the first bit sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b(i) x x x] -> (scrambled) [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1]; same number of bits); a first index is an index of a placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b(i) x x x] – one of the placeholder bit indexes), a bit with index equal to the first index comprised in the first output sequence is a first bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – bit from output sequence equivalent in index), a second bit is a bit comprised in the first output sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – a second bit from output sequence), the second index is an index of the second bit in the first output sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – second index position of second bit from output sequence), the second index and the first index are two adjacent indexes (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – adjacent in index), and a bit value of the first bit is equal to a bit value of the second bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – last two bits ‘1’ and ‘1’ are equal in bit value).
RE Claim 8, Nokia discloses a second node for wireless communications, comprising:
a second receiver, receiving a first Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) (See Nokia 3.1.1.5 – receiving PUCCH), the first PUCCH being used to carry a first bit block and a second bit block (See Nokia 3.1.1.5 – multiplexing high priority UCI and low priority UCI on PUCCH), the first bit block comprising at least one control information bit, and the second bit block comprising at least one control information bit (See Nokia 3.1.1.5 – high priority UCI and low priority UCI each at least one bit);
wherein a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block is not greater than 2 (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – HARQ-ACK UCI can be 1 bit or a couple of bits); a sum of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block and a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is greater than 2 (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – scenario where the total number of bits for low-priority HARQ-ACK and high-priority HARQ-ACK are more than 2 bits); a priority index of a control information bit comprised in the first bit block is equal to a first priority index (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – i.e. low priority or high priority), a priority index of a control information bit comprised in the second bit block is equal to a second priority index (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – i.e. high priority or low priority), and the first priority index is not equal to the second priority index (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – high priority vs. low priority); and
the first bit block and the second bit block are used together to generate a first bit sequence (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – i.e. multiplexing HP and LP HARQ-ACK using, for example, Option 1: joint-encoding or Option 3: Combination of Option 1 and 2).
Nokia does not specifically disclose
a second transmitter, transmitting a first information block, the first information block being used to determine a first parameter value, the first parameter value being used to generate a first scrambling sequence, the first parameter value being a non-negative integer, the first scrambling sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits; and
the first bit sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits; the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit, a non-placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence is scrambled by a bit with a same index in the first scrambling sequence.
However, Montojo teaches of
a second transmitter, transmitting a first information block (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0067] – coded bit sequence (i.e. HARQ-ACK)), the first information block being used to determine a first parameter value, the first parameter value being used to generate a first scrambling sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0067] – determining scrambling sequence (i.e. C(i) – scrambling sequence) based on parameter value such as size of the ACK and modulation order), the first parameter value being a non-negative integer (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0067] – i.e. size of the ACK or modulation order), the first scrambling sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0067] – scrambling coded bit sequence resulting in scrambled coded bit sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits (i.e. C(i)); and
the first bit block and the second bit block are used together to generate a first bit sequence (See Montojo [0062] – bit sequence is generated by concatenation of multiple encoded HARQ-ACKs), the first bit sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – bit sequence is concatenation of multiple encoded HARQ-ACKs (blocks) resulting in coded bit sequence of sequentially indexed bits (i.e. [o1ACK o0ACK])); the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. adding escape sequence (place holder bit)), a non-placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence is scrambled by a bit with a same index in the first scrambling sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – coded bit sequence is scrambled resulting in scrambled coded bit sequence (i.e. b(i) -> b~(i), where b~(i) = (non-placeholder bit) b(i) + (bit with same index in first scrambling sequence) c(i) mod 2);).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Nokia, comprising a second transmitter, transmitting a first information block, the first information block being used to determine a first parameter value, the first parameter value being used to generate a first scrambling sequence, the first parameter value being a non-negative integer, the first scrambling sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits; and
the first bit sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits; the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit, a non-placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence is scrambled by a bit with a same index in the first scrambling sequence, as taught in Montojo. One is motivated as such in order to improve HARQ protection of data transmission and improve the reliability of data transmission/reception (See Montojo Background; Summary).
RE Claim 9, Nokia, modified by Montojo, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 8 above, wherein a modulation order of a modulation scheme adopted by the first PUCCH is equal to a first modulation order (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. modulation order Qm), and the first modulation order is a positive integer greater than 1 (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. modulation order 2, 4, 6 etc…); a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block being less than the first modulation order (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. modulation order (i.e. 4) is greater than number of HARQ-ACK bits (i.e. 2)) is used to determine that the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – determining bit sequence with escape sequences based on modulation order).
RE Claim 10, Nokia, modified by Montojo, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 8 above, wherein the first bit sequence and the first scrambling sequence are used together to generate a first output sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b(i) x x x] -> (scrambled) [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1]; where b~(i) = b(i) + c(i) mod 2; c(i) = scrambling sequence), the first output sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. (scrambled) [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1]), and a number of bits comprised in the first output sequence is equal to a number of bits comprised in the first bit sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b(i) x x x] -> (scrambled) [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1]; same number of bits); a first index is an index of a placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b(i) x x x] – one of the placeholder bit indexes), a bit with index equal to the first index comprised in the first output sequence is a first bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – bit from output sequence equivalent in index), a second bit is a bit comprised in the first output sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – a second bit from output sequence), the second index is an index of the second bit in the first output sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – second index position of second bit from output sequence), the second index and the first index are two adjacent indexes (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – adjacent in index), and a bit value of the first bit is equal to a bit value of the second bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – last two bits ‘1’ and ‘1’ are equal in bit value).
RE Claim 14, Nokia discloses method in a first node for wireless communications, comprising:
transmitting a first Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) (See Nokia 3.1.1.5 – transmitting PUCCH), the first PUCCH being used to carry a first bit block and a second bit block (See Nokia 3.1.1.5 – multiplexing high priority UCI and low priority UCI on PUCCH), the first bit block comprising at least one control information bit, and the second bit block comprising at least one control information bit (See Nokia 3.1.1.5 – high priority UCI and low priority UCI each at least one bit);
wherein a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block is not greater than 2 (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – HARQ-ACK UCI can be 1 bit or a couple of bits); a sum of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block and a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is greater than 2 (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – scenario where the total number of bits for low-priority HARQ-ACK and high-priority HARQ-ACK are more than 2 bits); a priority index of a control information bit comprised in the first bit block is equal to a first priority index (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – i.e. low priority or high priority), a priority index of a control information bit comprised in the second bit block is equal to a second priority index (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – i.e. high priority or low priority), and the first priority index is not equal to the second priority index (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – high priority vs. low priority); and
the first bit block and the second bit block are used together to generate a first bit sequence (See Nokia 3.1.1.7 – i.e. multiplexing HP and LP HARQ-ACK using, for example, Option 1: joint-encoding or Option 3: Combination of Option 1 and 2).
Nokia does not specifically disclose
receiving a first information block, the first information block being used to determine a first parameter value, the first parameter value being used to generate a first scrambling sequence, the first parameter value being a non-negative integer, the first scrambling sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits; and
the first bit sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits; the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit, a non-placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence is scrambled by a bit with a same index in the first scrambling sequence.
However, Montojo teaches of
receiving a first information block (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0067] – coded bit sequence (i.e. HARQ-ACK)), the first information block being used to determine a first parameter value, the first parameter value being used to generate a first scrambling sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0067] – determining scrambling sequence (i.e. C(i) – scrambling sequence) based on parameter value such as size of the ACK and modulation order), the first parameter value being a non-negative integer (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0067] – i.e. size of the ACK or modulation order), the first scrambling sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0067] – scrambling coded bit sequence resulting in scrambled coded bit sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits (i.e. C(i)); and
the first bit block and the second bit block are used together to generate a first bit sequence (See Montojo [0062] – bit sequence is generated by concatenation of multiple encoded HARQ-ACKs), the first bit sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – bit sequence is concatenation of multiple encoded HARQ-ACKs (blocks) resulting in coded bit sequence of sequentially indexed bits (i.e. [o1ACK o0ACK])); the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. adding escape sequence (place holder bit)), a non-placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence is scrambled by a bit with a same index in the first scrambling sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – coded bit sequence is scrambled resulting in scrambled coded bit sequence (i.e. b(i) -> b~(i), where b~(i) = (non-placeholder bit) b(i) + (bit with same index in first scrambling sequence) c(i) mod 2);).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Nokia, comprising a receiving a first information block, the first information block being used to determine a first parameter value, the first parameter value being used to generate a first scrambling sequence, the first parameter value being a non-negative integer, the first scrambling sequence comprising multiple sequentially indexed bits; and
the first bit sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits; the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit, a non-placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence is scrambled by a bit with a same index in the first scrambling sequence, as taught in Montojo. One is motivated as such in order to improve HARQ protection of data transmission and improve the reliability of data transmission/reception (See Montojo Background; Summary).
RE Claim 15, Nokia, modified by Montojo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 14 above, wherein a modulation order of a modulation scheme adopted by the first PUCCH is equal to a first modulation order (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. modulation order Qm), and the first modulation order is a positive integer greater than 1 (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. modulation order 2, 4, 6 etc…); a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block being less than the first modulation order (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – i.e. modulation order (i.e. 4) is greater than number of HARQ-ACK bits (i.e. 2)) is used to determine that the first bit sequence comprises at least one placeholder bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0061]-[0068] – determining bit sequence with escape sequences based on modulation order).
RE Claim 16, Nokia, modified by Montojo, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 14 above, wherein the first bit sequence and the first scrambling sequence are used together to generate a first output sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b(i) x x x] -> (scrambled) [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1]; where b~(i) = b(i) + c(i) mod 2; c(i) = scrambling sequence), the first output sequence comprises multiple sequentially indexed bits (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. (scrambled) [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1]), and a number of bits comprised in the first output sequence is equal to a number of bits comprised in the first bit sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b(i) x x x] -> (scrambled) [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1]; same number of bits); a first index is an index of a placeholder bit comprised in the first bit sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b(i) x x x] – one of the placeholder bit indexes), a bit with index equal to the first index comprised in the first output sequence is a first bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – bit from output sequence equivalent in index), a second bit is a bit comprised in the first output sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – a second bit from output sequence), the second index is an index of the second bit in the first output sequence (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – second index position of second bit from output sequence), the second index and the first index are two adjacent indexes (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – adjacent in index), and a bit value of the first bit is equal to a bit value of the second bit (See Montojo FIGs 4-6; [0042], [0056], [0061]-[0068] – e.g. [b~(i) b~(i) 1 1] – last two bits ‘1’ and ‘1’ are equal in bit value).
Claims 4-6, 11-12, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “On UL intra-UE multiplexing and prioritization enhancements” (hereinafter referred to as Nokia) in view of Montojo et al. (US# 2009/0245421 hereinafter referred to as Montojo) and Takahashi et al. (US# 2022/0279507 hereinafter referred to as Takahashi).
RE Claim 4, Nokia, modified by Montojo, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 1 above. Nokia, modified by Montojo, does not specifically disclose wherein the first receiver receives a second information block; wherein the second information block is used to determine X1 resource sets, X1 being a positive integer greater than 1; any of the X1 resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource, resources occupied by the first PUCCH belong to a target PUCCH resource, and the target PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource comprised in a target resource set; the target resource set is one of the X1 resource sets, and a target number value is used to determine the target resource set out of the X1 resource sets, the target number value being a positive integer; at least one of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block, or a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is used to determine the target number value.
However, Takahashi teaches of wherein the first receiver receives a second information block (See Takahashi [0050] – i.e. higher layer signaling);
wherein the second information block is used to determine X1 resource sets, X1 being a positive integer greater than 1 (See Takahashi [0050] – plurality of PUCCH resource sets configured by higher layer signaling);
any of the X1 resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource (See Takahashi FIG 2), resources occupied by the first PUCCH belong to a target PUCCH resource, and the target PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource comprised in a target resource set (See Takahashi FIGs 2-3; [0069]-[0070] – selecting PUCCH resource which is comprised in the determined PUCCH resource set);
the target resource set is one of the X1 resource sets (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063] – selecting resource set out of plurality of resource sets), and a target number value is used to determine the target resource set out of the X1 resource sets, the target number value being a positive integer (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selecting target resource set based on parameter such as UCI payload size);
at least one of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block, or a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is used to determine the target number value (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selecting target resource set based on parameter such as UCI payload size which can be sum of bits from multiple HARQ-ACKs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Nokia, modified by Montojo, wherein the first receiver receives a second information block; wherein the second information block is used to determine X1 resource sets, X1 being a positive integer greater than 1; any of the X1 resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource, resources occupied by the first PUCCH belong to a target PUCCH resource, and the target PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource comprised in a target resource set; the target resource set is one of the X1 resource sets, and a target number value is used to determine the target resource set out of the X1 resource sets, the target number value being a positive integer; at least one of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block, or a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is used to determine the target number value, as taught in Takahashi. One is motivated as such in order to appropriately perform communication even when a plurality of uplink transmissions collide with each other (See Takahashi [0006]-[0010]).
RE Claim 5, Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 4 above, wherein the first receiver receives first signaling (See Takahashi [0070] – i.e. receiving signaling such as DCI); wherein when the target resource set comprises more than one PUCCH resource (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selected target resource set comprises multiple PUCCH resources), the first signaling is used to determine the target PUCCH resource from the target resource set (See Takahashi [0069]-[0070] – determining, on the basis of, for example, DCI, the PUCCH resource in a determined PUCCH resource set).
RE Claim 6, Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 4 above, wherein the target number value is equal to a sum of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block and a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selecting target resource set based on parameter such as UCI payload size which can be sum of bits from multiple HARQ-ACKs);
the X1 resource sets respectively correspond to X1 value ranges, the target number value belongs to a target value range, the target value range is one of the X1 value ranges, and the target resource set is a resource set corresponding to the target value range among the X1 resource sets (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – i.e. based on total UCI payload size bit ranges, selecting certain PUCCH resource set);
the X1 value ranges are configurable or the X1 value ranges are pre-defined (See Takahashi [0050]-[0052], [0062]-[0067] – PUCCH resource sets, number of PUCCH resource sets, as well as UCI payload size-to-PUCCH resource set ranges, are configurable).
RE Claim 11, Nokia, modified by Montojo, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 8 above. Nokia, modified by Montojo, does not specifically disclose wherein the second transmitter transmits a second information block; wherein the second information block is used to determine X1 resource sets, X1 being a positive integer greater than 1; any of the X1 resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource, resources occupied by the first PUCCH belong to a target PUCCH resource, and the target PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource comprised in a target resource set; the target resource set is one of the X1 resource sets, and a target number value is used to determine the target resource set out of the X1 resource sets, the target number value being a positive integer; at least one of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block, or a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is used to determine the target number value.
However, Takahashi teaches of wherein the second transmitter transmits a second information block (See Takahashi [0050] – i.e. higher layer signaling);
wherein the second information block is used to determine X1 resource sets, X1 being a positive integer greater than 1 (See Takahashi [0050] – plurality of PUCCH resource sets configured by higher layer signaling);
any of the X1 resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource (See Takahashi FIG 2), resources occupied by the first PUCCH belong to a target PUCCH resource, and the target PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource comprised in a target resource set (See Takahashi FIGs 2-3; [0069]-[0070] – selecting PUCCH resource which is comprised in the determined PUCCH resource set);
the target resource set is one of the X1 resource sets (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063] – selecting resource set out of plurality of resource sets), and a target number value is used to determine the target resource set out of the X1 resource sets, the target number value being a positive integer (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selecting target resource set based on parameter such as UCI payload size);
at least one of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block, or a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is used to determine the target number value (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selecting target resource set based on parameter such as UCI payload size which can be sum of bits from multiple HARQ-ACKs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Nokia, modified by Montojo, wherein the second transmitter transmits a second information block; wherein the second information block is used to determine X1 resource sets, X1 being a positive integer greater than 1; any of the X1 resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource, resources occupied by the first PUCCH belong to a target PUCCH resource, and the target PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource comprised in a target resource set; the target resource set is one of the X1 resource sets, and a target number value is used to determine the target resource set out of the X1 resource sets, the target number value being a positive integer; at least one of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block, or a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is used to determine the target number value, as taught in Takahashi. One is motivated as such in order to appropriately perform communication even when a plurality of uplink transmissions collide with each other (See Takahashi [0006]-[0010]).
RE Claim 12, Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 11 above, wherein the second transmitter transmits a first signaling (See Takahashi [0070] – i.e. receiving signaling such as DCI); wherein when the target resource set comprises more than one PUCCH resource (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selected target resource set comprises multiple PUCCH resources), the first signaling is used to determine the target PUCCH resource from the target resource set (See Takahashi [0069]-[0070] – determining, on the basis of, for example, DCI, the PUCCH resource in a determined PUCCH resource set).
RE Claim 17, Nokia, modified by Montojo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 14 above. Nokia, modified by Montojo, does not specifically disclose receiving a second information block; wherein the second information block is used to determine X1 resource sets, X1 being a positive integer greater than 1; any of the X1 resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource, resources occupied by the first PUCCH belong to a target PUCCH resource, and the target PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource comprised in a target resource set; the target resource set is one of the X1 resource sets, and a target number value is used to determine the target resource set out of the X1 resource sets, the target number value being a positive integer; at least one of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block, or a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is used to determine the target number value.
However, Takahashi teaches of receiving a second information block (See Takahashi [0050] – i.e. higher layer signaling);
wherein the second information block is used to determine X1 resource sets, X1 being a positive integer greater than 1 (See Takahashi [0050] – plurality of PUCCH resource sets configured by higher layer signaling);
any of the X1 resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource (See Takahashi FIG 2), resources occupied by the first PUCCH belong to a target PUCCH resource, and the target PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource comprised in a target resource set (See Takahashi FIGs 2-3; [0069]-[0070] – selecting PUCCH resource which is comprised in the determined PUCCH resource set);
the target resource set is one of the X1 resource sets (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063] – selecting resource set out of plurality of resource sets), and a target number value is used to determine the target resource set out of the X1 resource sets, the target number value being a positive integer (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selecting target resource set based on parameter such as UCI payload size);
at least one of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block, or a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is used to determine the target number value (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selecting target resource set based on parameter such as UCI payload size which can be sum of bits from multiple HARQ-ACKs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Nokia, modified by Montojo, comprising receiving a second information block; wherein the second information block is used to determine X1 resource sets, X1 being a positive integer greater than 1; any of the X1 resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource, resources occupied by the first PUCCH belong to a target PUCCH resource, and the target PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource comprised in a target resource set; the target resource set is one of the X1 resource sets, and a target number value is used to determine the target resource set out of the X1 resource sets, the target number value being a positive integer; at least one of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block, or a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block is used to determine the target number value, as taught in Takahashi. One is motivated as such in order to appropriately perform communication even when a plurality of uplink transmissions collide with each other (See Takahashi [0006]-[0010]).
RE Claim 18, Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 17 above, comprising:
Receiving a first signaling (See Takahashi [0070] – i.e. receiving signaling such as DCI); wherein when the target resource set comprises more than one PUCCH resource (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selected target resource set comprises multiple PUCCH resources), the first signaling is used to determine the target PUCCH resource from the target resource set (See Takahashi [0069]-[0070] – determining, on the basis of, for example, DCI, the PUCCH resource in a determined PUCCH resource set).
RE Claim 19, Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the target number value is equal to a sum of a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the first bit block and a number of control information bit(s) comprised in the second bit block (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – selecting target resource set based on parameter such as UCI payload size which can be sum of bits from multiple HARQ-ACKs);
the X1 resource sets respectively correspond to X1 value ranges, the target number value belongs to a target value range, the target value range is one of the X1 value ranges, and the target resource set is a resource set corresponding to the target value range among the X1 resource sets (See Takahashi FIG 2; [0051], [0062]-[0063], [0104]-[0105] – i.e. based on total UCI payload size bit ranges, selecting certain PUCCH resource set);
the X1 value ranges are configurable or the X1 value ranges are pre-defined (See Takahashi [0050]-[0052], [0062]-[0067] – PUCCH resource sets, number of PUCCH resource sets, as well as UCI payload size-to-PUCCH resource set ranges, are configurable).
Claims 7, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “On UL intra-UE multiplexing and prioritization enhancements” (hereinafter referred to as Nokia) in view of Montojo et al. (US# 2009/0245421 hereinafter referred to as Montojo), Takahashi et al. (US# 2022/0279507 hereinafter referred to as Takahashi), and Lin (US# 2020/0245323).
RE Claim 7, Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, discloses a first node, as set forth in claim 4 above, wherein the second information block is used to determine a first coding rate, and the first coding rate is a non-negative number (See Nokia 3.1.1.3 – determining coding rate based on PUCCH resource configuration);
a number of Physical Resource Block(s) (PRB(s)) occupied by the first PUCCH in frequency domain is equal to a first number value (See Nokia 3.1.1.3 – determining number of RBs);
the first coding rate is used to determine the first number value, and a number of bit(s) comprised in the first bit sequence is directly proportional to the first number value (See Nokia 3.1.1.3 – code rate based in part on UCI payload size and configured maximum code rate; i.e. number of RBs is determined to be smallest number of RBs for which the code rate is below the maximum code rate, capped by the number of RBs configured for the selected PUCCH resource).
Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, does not specifically disclose a type of a Uplink Control Information (UCI) carried by the first PUCCH is used to determine the first coding rate.
However, Lin teaches of a type of a Uplink Control Information (UCI) carried by the first PUCCH is used to determine the first coding rate (See Lin [0029] – type of UCI determines maximum coding rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, wherein a type of a Uplink Control Information (UCI) carried by the first PUCCH is used to determine the first coding rate, as taught in Lin. One is motivated as such in order to more reliably transmit UCI (See Lin Background; Summary).
RE Claim 13, Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, discloses a second node, as set forth in claim 11 above, wherein the second information block is used to determine a first coding rate, and the first coding rate is a non-negative number (See Nokia 3.1.1.3 – determining coding rate based on PUCCH resource configuration);
a number of Physical Resource Block(s) (PRB(s)) occupied by the first PUCCH in frequency domain is equal to a first number value (See Nokia 3.1.1.3 – determining number of RBs);
the first coding rate is used to determine the first number value, and a number of bit(s) comprised in the first bit sequence is directly proportional to the first number value (See Nokia 3.1.1.3 – code rate based in part on UCI payload size and configured maximum code rate; i.e. number of RBs is determined to be smallest number of RBs for which the code rate is below the maximum code rate, capped by the number of RBs configured for the selected PUCCH resource).
Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, does not specifically disclose a type of a Uplink Control Information (UCI) carried by the first PUCCH is used to determine the first coding rate.
However, Lin teaches of a type of a Uplink Control Information (UCI) carried by the first PUCCH is used to determine the first coding rate (See Lin [0029] – type of UCI determines maximum coding rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, wherein a type of a Uplink Control Information (UCI) carried by the first PUCCH is used to determine the first coding rate, as taught in Lin. One is motivated as such in order to more reliably transmit UCI (See Lin Background; Summary).
RE Claim 20, Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the second information block is used to determine a first coding rate, and the first coding rate is a non-negative number (See Nokia 3.1.1.3 – determining coding rate based on PUCCH resource configuration);
a number of Physical Resource Block(s) (PRB(s)) occupied by the first PUCCH in frequency domain is equal to a first number value (See Nokia 3.1.1.3 – determining number of RBs);
the first coding rate is used to determine the first number value, and a number of bit(s) comprised in the first bit sequence is directly proportional to the first number value (See Nokia 3.1.1.3 – code rate based in part on UCI payload size and configured maximum code rate; i.e. number of RBs is determined to be smallest number of RBs for which the code rate is below the maximum code rate, capped by the number of RBs configured for the selected PUCCH resource).
Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, does not specifically disclose a type of a Uplink Control Information (UCI) carried by the first PUCCH is used to determine the first coding rate.
However, Lin teaches of a type of a Uplink Control Information (UCI) carried by the first PUCCH is used to determine the first coding rate (See Lin [0029] – type of UCI determines maximum coding rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Nokia, modified by Montojo and Takahashi, wherein a type of a Uplink Control Information (UCI) carried by the first PUCCH is used to determine the first coding rate, as taught in Lin. One is motivated as such in order to more reliably transmit UCI (See Lin Background; Summary).
Conclusion
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477