CTNF 18/379,695 CTNF 102028 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: "Battery Unit with a Heat Dissipation Structure" . 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph 5, line 6, "PTL" should be "PLT" . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2, line 12, “therey” should be deleted . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2024/0387900 A1) in view of Jung et al. (US2023/0148313 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teaches a battery unit comprising a battery cell, (Fig 6, 110), a heat dissipation sheet (Fig. 6, 300a, 310), a resin heat dissipation member ([0074]), and a cooler (Fig. 6, 600) in this order so as to be in contact with each other (Fig 6), wherein the battery cell and the heat dissipation sheet are in contact with each other in an interface separable manner (Fig 6 and [0052], lines 1-8), and wherein the resin heat dissipation member is bonded to the heat dissipation sheet and the cooler ([0074], lines 3-5). Kim et al. states that you can further include a thermal conductive resin layer in between frame 300a and heat sink 600 [0074]. The frame would be the heat dissipation sheet and the heat sink would be the cooler. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try any configuration described by this reference, including the configuration of [0074]. However, Kim et al. doesn’t teach that the thermal conductive resin consists of a cured resin. Examples of cured resin include silicone resins, epoxy resins, and urethane resins according to [0023] of the instant specification. Jung et al. teaches of a battery cell (Fig 1, 110) and a cured resin heat dissipation member (Fig 1, 310), Jung et al. also teaches that the thermal conductive resin can be a cured resin, such as epoxy resin [0041]. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kim et al.’s teaching to make the thermal conductive resin layer out of epoxy resin. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, in the instant case suitable material for a cured resin heat dissipation member used in a battery, supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Jung et al . as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gallagher et al. (DE 102020121499 A1) (Original document and English translation attached for citations) . Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. teaches the battery unit according to claim 1, but does not specifically teach the heat dissipation sheet (300a and 310) being partially embedded in the cured resin heat dissipation member, and at least a part of a side surface of the heat dissipation sheet being restrained by the cured resin heat dissipation member. Gallagher et al. teaches a battery cell (Fig. 3, 20), a heat dissipation sheet (Fig. 3, 56), a cured resin heat dissipation member (Fig. 3, 58), and a cooler (Fig. 3, 54). Gallagher also discloses that the heat dissipation sheet (Fig. 3, 56) is partially embedded in the cured resin heat dissipation member (Fig. 3, 58), and at least a part of a side surface of the heat dissipation sheet is restrained by the cured resin heat dissipation member (Fig. 3, 58, 56). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kim et al. battery unit in order to embed the heat dissipation sheet into the cured resin heat dissipation member because this modification will make it so that heat dissipation sheet can be protected from some of the aggressive media in the battery, such as battery fluid, while at the same time ensuring good heat transfer between the heat dissipation sheet and the cooler. (Gallagher et al. [0022]) 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Jung et al . as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ota et al. (JP 2020/053148 A) (cited in IDS, English translation attached for citations) . Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. teaches the battery unit according to claim 1, but does not specifically teach that the battery unit comprises a wall portion on a surface of the cooler and on a part or all of an outer periphery of the cured resin heat dissipation member. Ota et al discloses a battery (Fig 6, 11), resin heat dissipation member (Fig 6, G, Ga), and a cooler (20). Ota et al. also discloses the following limitations: comprising a wall portion (Fig 6, F1, F2, F3, F4) on a surface of the cooler (Fig 6, 20) and on a part or all of an outer periphery of the cured resin heat dissipation member (Fig 6, Ga)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the Kim et al. battery unit by creating a recess or walled are for the resin to be contained. This is because the pushed-out thermally conductive material is accumulated in the recess and is less likely to move, and this can be prevented from flowing out to an unintended place. [Ota et al. 0008] 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Jung et al . as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murakami (JP 2021/004282 A). (Original document and English translation attached for citations) . Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. teaches the battery unit according to claim 1, but does not specifically teach that the thermal conductivity of the heat dissipation sheet is 0.8W/m-K or more, and wherein the Asker C hardness of the heat dissipation sheet is 0 or more. Murakami discloses a heat dissipation sheet used to lower temperature in electronic components [0003]. Murakami also discloses that the thermal conductivity of the heat dissipation sheet is 0.8W/m-K or more (Claim 2), and wherein the Asker C hardness of the heat dissipation sheet is 0 or more (Claim 4). Murakami gives an example of a heat dissipation sheet that has a thermal conductivity of 0.8W/m-K or more and an Asker C hardness of the heat dissipation sheet is 0 or more. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the heat dissipation sheet in the Kim et al. battery unit with a heat dissipation sheet having the properties stated in Murakami (thermal conductivity of 12 W / m · K or more and Asker C hardness is 45 or more and 90 or less). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, in the instant case suitable material for a heat dissipation sheet used in a battery, supports prima facie obviousness determination. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YVONNE WEI whose telephone number is (571)270-0870. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 7:30am-5pm, Friday 7:30am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Niki Bakhtiari can be reached at (571) 272-3433. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YVONNE WEI/Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/379,695 Page 2 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/379,695 Page 3 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/379,695 Page 4 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/379,695 Page 5 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/379,695 Page 6 Art Unit: 1722