DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment dated 16 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-16 as amended are pending, with claims 8-14 withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015-221873 A (“Metoki”).
As to claims 1, 15, and 16, Metoki teaches a composite material (para. 0001), which can be used for forming film (para. 0012). Metoki teaches that the composite material comprises a pi-conjugated conductive polymer and a polyanion, which is neutralized with an amine compound containing a functional group including carboxyl group (para. 0014).
Metoki teaches the use of poly(3-4-ethylenedioxythiophene) as a preferable conjugated polymer (para. 0035). While not exemplified, Metoki teaches the polyanion may be polystyrene sulfonate (para. 0040). While doping is not described, Metoki teaches that the monomers of the pi-conjugated conductive polymer may be polymerized in the presence of the polyanion (para. 0081),
which would be expected to dope the polyanion (such as polystyrenesulfonate) with the pi-conjugated conductive polymer (such as PEDOT).
Metoki teaches a compound having an amine group and other functional group including carboxyl, in particular amino acids; while not exemplified, Metoki teaches that these amino acids include phenylalanine (paras. 0097-0098). Metoki teaches the use of such compound provides stabilization to the polyanion-conjugated polymer composite material by neutralizing the polyanion. As such, the use of phenylalanine, in conjunction with a polyanion-conjugated polymer composite, such as PEDOT/PSS, is an obvious modification of Metoki including compounds suggested by Metoki.
Metoki does not discuss the presence of phenylalanine structures on the surface of the film, nor the globules or fibrils required by claims 15 and 16. However, Metoki teaches the formation of films using PEDOT and polyanion, as well as carboxyl amine compound, including phenylalanine, formed from an aqueous solution. Furthermore, Metoki teaches a molar ratio of the polyanion (such as polystyrenesulfonate) to the amine compound (such as phenylalanine) preferably in the range of 1:0.6-1-1:1.4 (para. 0161), and a ratio of pi-conjugated monomer to polyanion preferably in the range of 1:.03-1:60 (paras. 0075-0076). It is calculated that these ratios suggest a ratio of 13-55 wt % of phenylalanine in a composite film of PEDOT:PSS. While this is expressed in weight, not volume, it is reasonable to expect that this suggests a similar volume ratio, given the components are all organic resins. Given that Metoki suggests phenylalanine as carboxyl amine compound, and teaches amounts including in the same amounts as applicant, it is reasonable to expect the resulting film would include structures, including the recited globules and fibrils as required by claims 15 and 16.
As to claims 2 and 3, Metoki does not discuss the recited volume amount of phenylalanine. However, Metoki teaches a molar ratio of the polyanion (such as polystyrenesulfonate) to the amine compound (such as phenylalanine) preferably in the range of 1:0.6-1-1:1.4 (para. 0161), and a ratio of pi-conjugated monomer to polyanion preferably in the range of 1:.03-1:60 (paras. 0075-0076). It is calculated that these ratios suggest a ratio of 13-55 wt % of phenylalanine in a composite film of PEDOT:PSS. While this is expressed in weight, not volume, it is reasonable to expect that this suggests a similar volume ratio, given the components are all organic resins; as such, the preparation of a composite having the recited volume content of phenylalanine of claims 2 and 3 are obvious given the molar relations of the materials provided by Metoki.
As to claim 5, Metoki does not discuss improved optical transmissivity over a comparable PEDOT:PSS film. However, given that Metoki teaches films of the same composition, it would be expected to have greater transmissivity to incorporate phenylalanine. Note that Metoki teaches that the use of the amine compound increases stability of the film (para. 0012).
Claim(s) 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015-221873 A (“Metoki”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Alemu et al., “Highly conductive PEDOT:PSS electrode by simple film treatment with methanol for ITO-free polymer solar cells,” Energy Environ. Sci. 5, 9662-9671 (2012) (“Alemu”).
As to claim 4, Metoki does not teach conductivity in the recited range. However, it is known that PEDOT:PSS films may have their conductivity increased by treatment with methanol and annealing (abstract, section 2.1), showing that conductivity in excess of 500 S/cm can be obtained from such treatment (Fig. 1). It would thus be an obvious to modify the film of Metoki with a methanol and annealing treatment to increase the conductivity as taught by Alemu.
As to claims 6 and 7, Metoki does not suggest treatment of film with methanol and annealing as required by claims 6 and 7. However, it is known that PEDOT:PSS films may have their conductivity increased by treatment with methanol and annealing (abstract, section 2.1), showing that conductivity in excess of 500 S/cm can be obtained from such treatment (Fig. 1). It would thus be an obvious to modify the film of Metoki with a methanol and annealing treatment to increase the conductivity as taught by Alemu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Metoki teaches the inclusion of amine compound that has one or two side chains deformed from phenylalanine molecules. This is incorrect. While Metoki does not exemplify phenylalanine, it is clear that the amino carboxylic compound of Metoki is included itself, not just as a sidechain for a different molecule. The translation of para. 0098 makes it clear that phenylalanine can be a compound of Formula (3) of Metoki. As such, Metoki clearly teaches phenylalanine may be used in dispersion with the PEDOT/polyanion solution. While Metoki does not discuss surface structure, it is reasonable to presume that the same compound in the same amount would produce such structures at a surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KREGG T BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764