DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 1/26/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-19 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mayer (US. Publication No. 2024/0139996).
Regarding claim 7, Mayer discloses a method of forming a building structure (Figs. 1-5), comprising forming, using a three-dimensional (3D) printing system (Para [0021], a first wythe (1’) comprising a first plurality of stacked elongated beads (2) of an extrudable building material; forming, using the three-dimensional (3D) printing system, a second wythe (1’) that comprises a second plurality of stacked elongated beads (2) of the extrudable building material; and positioning a porous layer (5) between the first wythe and the second wythe (Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 8, Mayer discloses embedding the porous layer in one or more of the first and second wythes.
Regarding claim 9, Mayer discloses choosing a size of the porous layer based on the three-dimensional (3D) printing system.
Regarding claim 10, Mayer discloses embedding the porous layer in one or more of the first and second wythes, a size of the porous layer being determined using the three- dimensional (3D) printing system.
Regarding claim 11, Mayer discloses positioning the porous layer (5) comprises reinforcing the porous layer by coupling the first wythe and the second wythe using embedded reinforcement (7, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Mayer discloses comprising coupling the porous layer (5) to a support member (4) disposed adjacent to the end of a print path, the print path being used by the three- dimensional (3D) printing system to form the building structure.
Regarding claim 13, Mayer discloses the porous layer (5) comprises suspending a carbon fiber mesh from a support member (Para [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, Mayer discloses coupling the porous layer (5) to a support member (4) disposed adjacent to the end of a print path, the print path being used by the three-dimensional (3D) printing system to form the building structure and filling a space between the support member and one or more of the first and second wythes with a building material (Para [0039]).
Regarding claim 15, Mayer discloses positioning the porous layer (5) comprises suspending a carbon fiber mesh from a support member (Para [0049]) and filling a space between the support member and one or more of the first and second wythes with a building material (Para [0039]).
Regarding claim 16, Mayer discloses the first wythe (1’) and the second wythe (1’) comprises overlapping a first elongated bead of the first plurality of stacked elongated beads with a second elongated bead of the second plurality of stacked elongated beads (Para [0047]).
Regarding claim 17, Mayer discloses comprising positioning a different porous layer between the first wythe and second wythe when the first and second wythes reach a height of the porous layer (Para [0050]).
Regarding claim 18, Mayer discloses comprising positioning a different porous layer between the first wythe and second wythe when the first and second wythes reach a height of the porous layer further and coupling the different porous layer to the support member (Para [0050]).
Regarding claim 19, Mayer discloses comprising positioning a different porous layer between the first wythe and second wythe when the first and second wythes reach a height of the porous layer and overlapping an edge of the different porous layer with an edge of the porous layer (Para [0050]). The Examiner considers the different porous layers to be overlapped when tied together.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3633