CTFR 18/379,759 CTFR 92497 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to amendments Claims 1-3, 10-12 have been amended. The examiner notes that amendments to claim 1 do not change the scope of this claim. Applicant’s amendments dated 4/29/26 are sufficient to overcome the previous 112(b) rejections. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim(s) 3, 9, 11, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton, IV et al. [US 2019/0201020 A1, hereinafter “Shelton,” embodiment of Fig. 97] in view of Hazelton et al. [US 2020/0315735 A1, hereinafter “Hazelton”] . Re. claim 1 , Shelton discloses a method [ Fig. 97 ] for firings of staple cartridges, the sequential firings including a first firing that deploys first staples into a first tissue portion from a first staple cartridge [150304, Fig. 25], and a second firing [Par. 0009 describes sequential stapling in different zones], wherein the method comprises: monitoring a parameter [tissue impedance] indicative of a tissue response associated with the first firing [“Receiving sensor signals from the sensor circuits,” Step 25032, Fig. 97] from the first staple cartridge; assessing the tissue response based on the parameter [“Determining tissue impedance…based on the received sensor signals,” Step 25034]; and adjusting an operational parameter associated with the second firing based on the tissue response during the first firing of the first staple cartridge [“Proceed at standard closure rate,” step 25042, or “Proceed at a slower closure rate,” step 25044. Note that the adjustment is necessarily associated with a second firing, as it cannot adjust a firing previously implemented]. The method of Shelton differs from the claimed method in that Shelton fails to teach the second staple cartridge (used in a sequential firing to a second tissue portion). However, Hazelton discloses a method for sequential firings of staple cartridges, the sequential firings including a first firing that deploys first staples into a first tissue portion from a first staple cartridge, and a second firing that deploys second staples into a second tissue portion from a second staple cartridge [Par. 0052. The “first staple cartridge” has staples which are deployed in a first area, and when those staples are depleted, that cartridge is replaced by a “second staple cartridge” which “can be used to further perform the surgical procedure.” Note that by necessity the staples are inherently placed in a different area]. (Note that Hazelton further teaches wherein the method comprises: monitoring a parameter associated with the first firing of the first staple cartridge [“properties,” such as “state of compression of a material, a desiccation level of the material,” Par. 0088]; and adjusting an operational parameter associated with the second firing based on the tissue response during the first firing [Par. 0088]; but this is . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Shelton by using a second cartridge, and performing the second firing from the second staple cartridge, as taught by Hazelton, such that, in the step of adjusting an operational parameter associated with the second firing, the step is modified to adjusting an operational parameter associated with the second firing from the second staple cartridge , in order to allow the first cartridge to be replaced with a second one to provide “a new set of staples that can be used to further perform the surgical procedure,” [Hazleton Par. 0052]. Re. claim 2 , Shelton discloses the tissue response is a first tissue response [Z.tissue of inner zone, Fig. 97] assessed along a first segment [stapling of Zone 3, Fig. 90] of a staple forming distance of the first firing, and wherein the method further comprises implementing a first adjustment to an output of the motor based on the first tissue response along the first segment of the staple forming distance of the first firing [Force to close, Par. 0622-0623]. Re. claim 3 , Shelton discloses implementing a second adjustment to the output of the motor along a second segment [firing in Zone 2/intermediate zone] of the staple forming distance during the first firing, wherein the second segment is distal to the first segment [Fig. 90], and wherein the second adjustment is based on an effectiveness of the first adjustment [Pars. 0630]. Re. claim 11 , Shelton discloses monitoring the parameter comprises: determining a first value of the parameter at a proximal portion of a firing position along a staple forming distance of the first firing [z.sub.tissue of inner zone, Fig. 97]; and determining a second value of the parameter at a distal portion of a firing position along the staple forming distance of the first firing [z.sub.tissue of outer zone, Fig. 97]. Re. claim 12 , Shelton discloses a plurality of firing positions along a staple forming distance [Zones 1-3, Fig. 90] of the first firing comprises a proximal firing region [zone 3, Fig. 90] and a distal firing region [Zone 1, Fig. 90], wherein assessing the tissue response comprises determining a change in the tissue response between the proximal firing region and the distal firing region [Fig. 97, step 25038]. Re. claim 13 , Shelton discloses adjusting the operational parameter associated with the second firing is based on the change in the tissue response between the proximal firing region and the distal firing region [Fig. 97, steps 25038 to 25044] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton [embodiment of Fig. 64] in view of Hazelton . [Alternate application] Re. claim 1 , Shelton discloses a method for firings of staple cartridges, the sequential firings including a first firing that deploys first staples into a first tissue portion from a first staple cartridge [150304, Fig. 25], and a second firing [Par. 0009 describes sequential stapling in different zones], wherein the method comprises: monitoring a parameter indicative of a tissue response associated with the first firing from the first staple cartridge [“Time based monitoring of the plurality of sensors,” Par. 0515, which include strain gauges, Par. 0515]; assessing the tissue response based on the parameter [Par. 0515 describes how the sensor information, including the force measurement, determines tissue thickness, placement, and/or material properties]; and adjusting an operational parameter associated with the second firing based on the tissue response during the first firing from the first cartridge [“dynamically adjust the end effector…and/or tissue clamped between the anvil…and the staple cartridge,” Par. 0515. Note that the adjustment is necessarily associated with a second firing, as it cannot adjust a firing previously implemented]. The method of Shelton differs from the claimed method in that Shelton fails to teach the second staple cartridge (used in a sequential firing to a second tissue portion). However, Hazelton discloses a method for sequential firings of staple cartridges, the sequential firings including a first firing that deploys first staples into a first tissue portion from a first staple cartridge, and a second firing that deploys second staples into a second tissue portion from a second staple cartridge [Par. 0052. The “first staple cartridge” has staples which are deployed in a first area, and when those staples are depleted, that cartridge is replaced by a “second staple cartridge” which “can be used to further perform the surgical procedure.” Note that by necessity the staples are inherently placed in a different area]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Shelton by using a second cartridge, and the second firing being from the second cartridge, as taught by Hazelton, in order to allow the first cartridge to be replaced with a second one to provide “a new set of staples that can be used to further perform the surgical procedure,” [Hazleton Par. 0052]. Re. claim 4 , Shelton discloses assessing the tissue response based on the parameter comprises comparing a reading of a sensor to a predetermined threshold [Par. 0487]. Re. claim 5, Shelton discloses the parameter is a force exerted against the drive shaft [Par. 0355] . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton [either of the above embodiments] in view of Hazelton , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fitzsimmons et al. [US 20150305729 A1, hereinafter “Fitzsimmons”] . Re. claim 6, Shelton discloses the method set forth above but is silent re. adjusting the operational parameter comprises adjusting a predetermined threshold. However, Fitzsimmons teaches, in a method for filing staple cartridges, adjusting an operational parameter comprises adjusting a predetermined threshold [See Fig. 5, Par. 0012]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the modified Shelton by, in the step of adjusting the operational parameter, further adjust a predetermined threshold as taught by Fitzsimmons in order to determine the end of life of the device, adjusting the threshold based on continually aggregated data [Fitzsimmons Pars. 0011-0012] . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton [either of the above embodiments] in view of Hazelton , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shelton IV et al. [US 20170296173 A1, hereinafter “Shelton ‘173”] Re. claim 7, Shelton discloses the method set forth above but is silent re. adjusting the operational parameter being conditioned upon receiving an adjustment approval through a user interface. However, Shelton ‘173 teaches adjusting parameters being conditioned upon receiving an adjustment approval through a user interface [Par. 0427]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Shelton by requiring approval of adjustment of operational parameters through a user interface in order to improve the safety of the operation . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 8-9, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton [either of the above embodiments] in view of Hazelton , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zemlok [US 20150209035 A1] . Re. claim 8, Shelton discloses the method set forth above but is silent re. detecting an identifier of the second cartridge. Zemlok teaches, in a method of surgical stapling, 8. The method of Claim 1, wherein adjusting the operational parameter associated with the second firing comprises: detecting an identifier of a staple cartridge [Par. 0156]; determining a staple cartridge type of the staple cartridge based on the identifier [Par. 0154]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Shelton so that adjusting the operational parameter associated with the second firing comprises: detecting an identifier of the second staple cartridge; determining a staple cartridge type of the second staple cartridge based on the identifier as taught by Zemlok in order to allow the system to automatically provide appropriate force and other parameters for the detected staple type. Re. recommending a different staple cartridge type for the second firing based on the tissue response in the first firing, Shelton discloses the system making “suggestions to the surgeon during the course of the surgical procedure.” [Par. 0579] Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to modify the system to recommend a different staple cartridge type [of the detected size, length, etc., Zemlok Par. 0154] based on the response from the first firing if the system determines the results from the first firing would benefit from a different type of staple cartridge. Re. claim 9, the modified Shelton discloses the different staple cartridge type comprises a different staple-size than the second staple cartridge [Shelton as modified by Zemlok above. Given that the size is detected, selecting the appropriate size would have been obvious as set forth above in order to ensure that a proper size of staple is used. Re. claim 14, Shelton discloses the method set forth above but is silent re. adjusting the operational parameter associated with the second firing is further based on a temperature of a motor measured during the first firing. However, Zemlok teaches detecting a temperature of a motor measured during a first firing [Par. 0121]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Shelton such that adjusting the operational parameter associated with the second firing is further based on a temperature of a motor measured during the first firing in order to “ensure safe operation of the instrument” [Zemlok Par. 0121]. Re. claim 15, Shelton discloses the method set forth above but is silent re. adjusting the operational parameter associated with the second firing is further based on a voltage condition of a battery during the first firing. However, Zemlok teaches detecting a voltage condition of a battery during a first firing [Par. 0194]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Shelton such that adjusting the operational parameter associated with the second firing is further based on a voltage condition of a battery during the first firing because this allows the system to “indicate when a damaging limitation is reached or approached” [Zemlok Par. 0194] . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton [either of the above embodiments] in view of Hazelton , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harris et al. [US 20190200981 A1, hereinafter “Harris”] . Re. claim 10, Shelton discloses the method set forth above but is silent re. adjusting the operational parameter comprises modifying the operational parameter in response to an override input through a user interface. However, Harris teaches, in a method of operating a surgical stapler, adjusting an operational parameter further comprises modifying an operational parameter in response to an override input through a user interface [Par. 0731]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Shelton by configuring adjusting the operational parameter further comprises modifying the operational parameter in response to an override input through a user interface, as taught by Harris, in order to allow a user to better control the function of the stapler . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Shelton’s adjusting of a closure parameter cannot reasonably be mapped to the “parameter indicative of a tissue response associated with the first firing from the first staple cartridge.” The examiner respectfully disagrees, finding that the limitation “associated with [a respective] firing” is broad enough to include a clamping or closure parameter, because a clamping or closure is a part of the firing process. Although a firing need not occur for tissue to be clamped, tissue does need to be clamped for a firing to occur, so they are associated. It is suggested that more limiting language be used to limit the interpretation to parameter(s) directly indicative of (some specific) aspect of the firing step . The examiner has also edited the above language about applying Hazelton’s teachings to Shelton in order to further clarify the intent that Hazelton teaches replacing the first cartridge with a second cartridge and is not used to teach other aspects of the method. It is further suggested that Applicant add claim limitations regarding the nature of the first and second cartridges, i.e. that they are both present in the stapler at the same time, to overcome the above references. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIN MCGRATH whose telephone number is (571)270-0674. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 9 am to 3 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JACKIE HO can be reached at (571) 272-4696. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERIN MCGRATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/379,759 Page 2 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/379,759 Page 3 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/379,759 Page 4 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/379,759 Page 5 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/379,759 Page 6 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/379,759 Page 7 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/379,759 Page 8 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/379,759 Page 9 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/379,759 Page 10 Art Unit: 3771 Application/Control Number: 18/379,759 Page 11 Art Unit: 3771