DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 16-35 are pending.
Claims 25-35 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-15 are cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 25-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yates et al. (US 20150196348 A1, 2015-07-16) (hereinafter “Yates”) in view of Essenmacher (US 20160129864 A1, 2016-05-12) and Gibson et al. (US 20180166990 A1, 2018-06-14) (hereinafter “Gibson”).
Regarding claim 16, Yates teaches surgical instrument comprising: a motor; a regulator; a converter circuit; and a control circuit coupled to the regulator and the converter circuit. See, e.g., [0087]-[0090] ]; Fig. 17 and associated text.
Yates does not expressly teach wherein the control circuit is to: couple either the regulator or the converter circuit based on a pre-determined voltage or current load applied to the motor.
[E] Essenmacher teaches use of LDO and boost/buck converters to drive a motor. See, e.g., [0091]-[0092]; Fig. 9. [G] Gibson teaches switching between buck, boost, or buck-boost converters depending on voltage and current characteristics. See, e.g., Fig. 5 and associated text.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Essenmacher and Gibson with the invention taught by Darraba such that the invention further comprises wherein the control circuit is to: couple either the regulator or the converter circuit based on a pre-determined voltage or current load applied to the motor ([E], [G]) (as recited in claim 16); wherein the converter circuit is a boost converter circuit ([E], [G]) (as recited in claim 17); wherein the boost converter circuit is coupled based on a voltage load at the motor exceeding the pre-determined voltage load ([E], [G]) (as recited in claim 18); wherein the control circuit is to: determine a voltage sag at the motor; and couple the boost converter circuit to the motor ([E], [G]) (as recited in claim 19); wherein the converter circuit is a buck converter circuit ([E], [G]) (as recited in claim 20); wherein the buck converter circuit is coupled based on a current exceeding the pre-determined current load ([E], [G]) (as recited in claim 21); wherein the control circuit is to disconnect control electronics from a power source ([E], [G]) (as recited in claim 22); wherein the regulator is a low dropout (LDO) regulator, and wherein the control circuit is to couple the motor to the LDO regulator based on the voltage load of the motor being below the pre-determined voltage load([E], [G]) (as recited in claim 23); further comprising at least one more converter circuit, wherein the converter circuit and the at least one more converter circuit are configured to power the motor for different load conditions ([E], [G]) (as recited in claim 24) in order to more efficiently power the motor.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered to be pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hsu (US 20050017701 A1, 2005-01-27) teaches switching between LOD regulator and buck converter. See, e.g., [0017].
Darraba (US 20150088384 A1, 2015-03-26) teaches switching between boost and buck converters. See, e.g., [0007], [0043].
Wei (US 20100156175 A1, 2010-06-24) teaches enabling and disabling boost converters. See, e.g., [0003].
Conclusion
Scott Luan, Ph.D.
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792