DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed March 17, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
The drawing objections set forth in the Office action mailed January 6, 2026 have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment.
Drawings
Eleven (11) replacement sheets of drawings were filed on March 17, 2026 and have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US 2022/0137477 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4, 11; an optoelectronic device comprising:
an electrical transmission line (see Figures 6 and 7), comprising a first conductor (60L, 67C, 67L, 67D) and a second conductor (60U, 67A, 67U, 67B), formed on a first surface of an electrical circuit substrate (50; see Figures 1, 6, and 7) and extending between a first end and a second end, the second end being separated from the first end with respect to a longitudinal axis (see Figures 6 and 7);
a waveguide (Mach-Zehnder optical waveguide having input waveguide end 14, output waveguide end 15, and two waveguide arms forming phase shifters 20 there-between in a standard Mach-Zehnder configuration; see Figure 4 and paragraphs 4 and 37) and formed on a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) (optical modulator chip 10) and extending between a first waveguide location (input waveguide 14 location) and a second waveguide location (output waveguide 15 location), the first waveguide location being separated from the second waveguide location with respect to the longitudinal axis (see Figure 4), the PIC (10) comprising a second surface facing toward the first surface (see Figure 1-3) of the electrical circuit substrate (50);
a first plurality of electrically conductive structures (72C, 72D, 73C, 73D, 74C, 74D, 75C, 75D, 76C, 76D, 77C, 77L, 77D) formed on a surface of the first conductor (60L, 67C, 67L, 67D) and a second plurality of electrically conductive structures (72A, 72B, 73A, 73B, 74A, 74B, 75A, 75B, 76A, 76B, 77A, 77U, 77B) formed on a surface of the second conductor (60U, 67A, 67U, 67B) the first plurality of electrically conductive structures and second plurality of electrically conductive structures extending away from the first surface of the electrical circuit substrate and toward the second surface of the PIC (see Figures 1-3), each electrically conductive structure of the second plurality of electrically conductive structures corresponding to a respective electrically conductive structure of the first plurality of electrically conductive structures (see Figures 6-7); and
a plurality of conversion segments (42A-42D, 43A-43D, 44A-44D, 45A-45D, 46A-46D, 47A-47D, 47U, 47L) formed on the second surface of the PIC (10; see Figures 1-4), each conversion segment comprising a first conversion structure electrically coupled to a respective one of the first plurality of electrically conductive structures and a second conversion structure electrically coupled to the corresponding one of the second plurality of electrically conductive structures, the first conversion structure and second conversion structure being configured for optoelectronic interaction with the waveguide (see Figures 1-4, 6 and 7; see paragraphs 46-47 and 51);
wherein: the electrical circuit substrate (50) comprises a printed circuit board;
wherein: the first plurality of electrically conductive structures is spaced periodically with respect to the longitudinal axis along the surface of the first conductor between the first end and the second end (see Figures 6 and 7; at least 42A-42D, 43A-43D, 44A-44D, 45A-45D, 46A-46D are spaced regularly along the longitudinal axis);
the first plurality of electrically conductive structures is spaced irregularly with respect to the longitudinal axis along the surface of the first conductor between the first end and the second end (see Figures 6 and 7; at least 47A-47D, 47U, and 47L are spaced irregularly with respect to 42A-42D, 43A-43D, 44A-44D, 45A-45D, 46A-46D along the longitudinal axis);
wherein: the optoelectronic device (100) is a traveling wave optical-electrical device configured to modulate, based on properties of light propagating through the waveguide, an electrical signal propagating through the electrical transmission line (see paragraphs 2, 5, 7 and 8);
wherein: the optoelectronic device (100) is a traveling wave electrical-optical device configured to modulate, based on an electrical signal propagating through the electrical transmission line, properties of light propagating through the waveguide (see paragraphs 2, 5, 7 and 8);
wherein the first conversion structure and second conversion structure are electrodes (42A-42D, 43A-43D, 44A-44D, 45A-45D, 46A-46D, 47A-47D, 47U, 47L).
Regarding claim 17; Yoo et al. discloses a method comprising forming all of the elements discussed above with respect to claim 1, thereby disclosing the method of claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-14, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betts (US 6,310,700 B1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0003948 A1); Tanaka et al. (US 2020/0150340 A1); and Nejadmalayeri (US 2019/0018262 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7-14; Betts discloses an optoelectronic device (see Figures 1 and 2) comprising:
an electrical transmission line (300) comprising a first conductor (300A) and a second conductor (300B) having a first surface and extending between a first end and a second end, the second end being separated from the first end with respect to a longitudinal axis (see Figures 1 and 2);
a waveguide (optical waveguide 200) formed on a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) (100) and extending between a first waveguide location and a second waveguide location (see Figures 1 and 2), the first waveguide location being separated from the second waveguide location with respect to the longitudinal axis (see Figures 1 and 2), the PIC comprising second surface (second surface; see annotated Figure 1 below) facing toward the electrical transmission line (300);
a first plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A) formed on a surface of the first conductor (300A) and a second plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A) formed on a surface of the second conductor (300B), the first plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A) and the second plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A) extending away from the surface of the electrical transmission line (300) and toward the PIC (100), each electrically conductive structure (350A) of the second plurality of electrically conductive structures corresponding to a respective electrically conductive structure (350A) of the first plurality of electrically conductive structures; and
a plurality of conversion segments (350B) formed on the second surface of the PIC (100), each conversion segment (350B) comprising a first conversion structure (350B) electrically coupled to a respective one of the first plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A coupled to 300A) and a second conversion structure (350B) electrically coupled to the corresponding one of the second plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A coupled to 300B), the first conversion structure and second conversion structure being configured for optoelectronic interaction with the waveguide (200);
wherein: the first plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A coupled to 300A) is spaced periodically with respect to the longitudinal axis along the surface of the first conductor (300A) between the first end and the second end;
wherein: the optoelectronic device (see Figures 1 and 2) is a traveling wave optical-electrical device configured to modulate (electro-optic modulator; see the title and entire disclosure), based on properties of light propagating through the waveguide (200), an electrical signal propagating through the electrical transmission line (300);
wherein: the optoelectronic device is a traveling wave electrical-optical device configured (see Figures 1 and 2) to modulate (electro-optic modulator; see the title and entire disclosure), based on an electrical signal propagating through the electrical transmission line (300), properties of light propagating through the waveguide (200).
further comprising a termination (R1; see Figure 2) electrically coupled to the first conductor (300A) and second conductor (300B) at the second end;
further comprising (see annotated Figure 2 below):
a first electrical trace (1st electrical trace), the first electrical trace having a narrower width along a lateral axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis than a width of the first conductor (300A), the first electrical trace being electrically coupled to the first conductor at the first end (see Figure 2); and
a second electrical trace (2nd electrical trace), the second electrical trace having a narrower width along the lateral axis than a width of the second conductor (300B), the second electrical trace being electrically coupled to the second conductor at the first end (see Figure 2);
wherein: the first conversion structure (350B) and second conversion structure (350B) are electrodes;
wherein: each electrically conductive structure (350A) extends from the surface of the first conductor (300A) to its respective first conversion structure (350B), or from the surface of the second conductor (300B) to its respective second conversion structure (350B), a distance of no more than 200 micrometers (10 microns or greater, which includes values between 10 and 200 microns, wherein a micron is understood to be a micrometer; see column 7, lines 56-59);
wherein: the distance is no more than 100 micrometers (10 microns or greater, which includes values between 10 and 100 microns, wherein a micron is understood to be a micrometer; see column 7, lines 56-59); and/or
wherein the distance is between 40 and 80 micrometers (10 microns or greater, which includes values ranging from 40 to 80 microns, wherein a micron is understood to be a micrometer; see column 7, lines 56-59).
Betts does not disclose that first and second conductors (300A and 300B) of the electrical transmission line (300), the termination (R1), the first electrical trace and the second electrical trace (see Figure 2 annotated above) are formed on a first surface of an electrical circuit substrate, wherein the electrical circuit substrate comprises a printed circuit board. The electrical transmission line (300) of Betts drives the optical modulator (10) in the invention of Betts.
Zhou teaches that electrical driving circuits (drivers 245) may be formed on a separate substrate and flip-chip bonded to optical modulators (254; see Figures 2 and paragraph 47). Tanaka teaches that an electronic circuit chip (7) may be flip chip mounted to a photonic integrated circuit (4) to drive an optical modulator (1; see Figure 1 and paragraph 76). Nejadmalayeri teaches that electrical drivers may be formed on an electrical chip and optical modulating elements may be formed on an optical chip and that electrical chip and the optical modulator elements may be connected using copper pillars and/or flip-chip bonding (see paragraphs 56 and 158; see Figures 11-13)
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the first and second conductors (300A and 300B) of the electrical transmission line (300), the termination (R1), the first electrical trace and the second electrical trace (see Figure 2 annotated above) on a first surface of an electrical circuit substrate, wherein the electrical circuit substrate comprises a printed circuit board, and to form the optical modulator of Betts on the PIC, separately, then to bond the electrical circuit substrate and the PIC such that the first surface of the electrical circuit substrate faces the second surface of the PIC to arrive at the device of Betts while allowing for the electrical circuit elements to be formed separately, since this is a known alternative method for providing electrical driving circuits to optical modulators as evidenced by the prior art, and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 17, 19, and 20; Betts discloses a method of manufacturing an optoelectronic device (see Figures 1 and 2), comprising:
forming a first surface of an electrical transmission line (300) comprising a first conductor (300A) and a second conductor (300B) extending between a first end and a second end, the second end being separated from the first end with respect to a longitudinal axis;
forming a waveguide (200) on a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) (100), the waveguide (200) extending between a first waveguide location and a second waveguide location, the first waveguide location being separated from the second waveguide location with respect to the longitudinal axis, the PIC comprising a second surface facing toward the first surface of the electrical transmission line (300);
forming a first plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A) on a surface of the first conductor (300A);
forming a second plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A) on a surface of the second conductor (300B), each electrically conductive structure (350A) of the second plurality of electrically conductive structures corresponding to a respective electrically conductive structure (350A) of the first plurality of electrically conductive structures, the first plurality of electrically conductive structures and the second plurality of electrically conductive structures extending away from a surface of the electrical transmission line (300) toward the second surface of the PIC;
forming a plurality of conversion segments (350B) on the second surface of the PIC (100), each conversion segment comprising a first conversion structure (350B coupled to 300A by 350A) and a second conversion structure (350B coupled to 300B by 350A and opposite the corresponding first conversion structure), the first conversion structure and second conversion structure being configured for optoelectronic interaction with the waveguide (200);
electrically connecting the first plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A coupled to 300A) to the first conversion structures (350B coupled to 300A by 350A) of the plurality of conversion segments (350B); and
electrically connecting the second plurality of electrically conductive structures (350A coupled to 300B) to the second conversion structures (350B coupled to 300B by 350A) of the plurality of conversion segments (350B);
further comprising: forming a termination (R1; see Figure 2) electrically coupled to the first conductor (300A) and second conductor (300B) at the second end.
further comprising (see annotated Figure 2 below):
forming a first electrical trace (1st electrical trace), the first electrical trace having a narrower width along a lateral axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis than a width of the first conductor (300A), the first electrical trace being electrically coupled to the first conductor at the first end; and
forming a second electrical trace (second electrical trace), the second electrical trace having a narrower width along the lateral axis than a width of the second conductor (300B), the second electrical trace being electrically coupled to the second conductor at the first end.
Betts does not disclose that first and second conductors (300A and 300B) of the electrical transmission line (300), the termination (R1), the first electrical trace and the second electrical trace (see Figure 2 annotated above) are formed on a first surface of an electrical circuit substrate, wherein the electrical circuit substrate comprises a printed circuit board. The electrical transmission line (300) of Betts drives the optical modulator (10) in the invention of Betts.
Zhou teaches that electrical driving circuits (drivers 245) may be formed on a separate substrate and flip-chip bonded to optical modulators (254; see Figures 2 and paragraph 47). Tanaka teaches that an electronic circuit chip (7) may be flip chip mounted to a photonic integrated circuit (4) to drive an optical modulator (1; see Figure 1 and paragraph 76). Nejadmalayeri teaches that electrical drivers may be formed on an electrical chip and optical modulating elements may be formed on an optical chip and that electrical chip and the optical modulator elements may be connected using copper pillars and/or flip-chip bonding (see paragraphs 56 and 158; see Figures 11-13)
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the first and second conductors (300A and 300B) of the electrical transmission line (300), the termination (R1), the first electrical trace and the second electrical trace (see Figure 2 annotated above) on a first surface of an electrical circuit substrate, wherein the electrical circuit substrate comprises a printed circuit board, and to form the optical modulator of Betts on the PIC, separately, then to bond the electrical circuit substrate and the PIC such that the first surface of the electrical circuit substrate faces the second surface of the PIC to arrive at the device of Betts while allowing for the electrical circuit elements to be formed separately, since this is a known alternative method for providing electrical driving circuits to optical modulators as evidenced by the prior art, and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 4-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betts (US 6,310,700 B1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0003948 A1); Tanaka et al. (US 2020/0150340 A1); and Nejadmalayeri (US 2019/0018262 A1), and in further view of Motoya et al. (US 2012/0230627 A1).
Regarding claims 4-6 and 18; Betts discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein:
the first plurality of electrically conductive structures is spaced irregularly with respect to the longitudinal axis along the surface of the first conductor between the first end and the second end;
the first conductor and second conductor each comprise one or more delay segments, thereby each defining a respective electrically conductive path from the first end to the second end that includes, for each delay segment, at least a portion of the path that is at least partially transverse to the longitudinal axis;
each delay segment of the first conductor comprises a portion of the first conductor in between a respective two adjacent electrically conductive structures of the first plurality of electrically conductive structures.
Motoya et al. teaches that in an optoelectronic device, traveling-wave type conductor (electrode) arrangements may include irregular spacing with respect to the longitudinal axis along a surface of a first conductor (control electrode 3) and delay lines (41, 42) between electrode sections (31, 32, 33, 34; see Figures 2 and 4) to define respective electrically conductive path from the first end to the second end, including each delay segment (41, 42, …), at least at a portion of the path transverse to the longitudinal axis (see Figure 2), each delay segment (41, 42) of the first conductor (3) comprising a portion (41, 42) of the first conductor between a respective two adjacent electrically conductive structures (31, 32, 33, 34) for the purpose of providing matching the velocity of the control signals travelling through the electric delay line with the velocity of the light waves travelling through the optical waveguide to avoid degradation of the optical signal (see paragraphs 47, 48, 61, and 75 of Motoya et al.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the electrical transmission line in the invention of Betts wherein: the first plurality of electrically conductive structures is spaced irregularly with respect to the longitudinal axis along the surface of the first conductor between the first end and the second end; the first conductor and second conductor each comprise one or more delay segments, thereby each defining a respective electrically conductive path from the first end to the second end that includes, for each delay segment, at least a portion of the path that is at least partially transverse to the longitudinal axis; and each delay segment of the first conductor comprises a portion of the first conductor in between a respective two adjacent electrically conductive structures of the first plurality of electrically conductive structures for the purpose of matching the velocity of the electric control signals to the velocity of the optical signals within the waveguide to avoid signal degradation.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betts (US 6,310,700 B1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0003948 A1); Tanaka et al. (US 2020/0150340 A1); and Nejadmalayeri (US 2019/0018262 A1), and in further view of Ram et al. (US 11,506,951 B1), hereafter Ram.
Regarding claim 15; Betts discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 1, but fails to disclose that the electrical circuit substrate further includes a decoupling capacitor electrically coupled to the first conductor. Ram teaches that decoupling capacitors are known to be provide in modulator devices to allow for different DC bias points (see column 10, lines 20-25). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a decoupling capacitor electrically coupled to the first conductor for the purpose of allowing for different DC bias points in the modulator device of Betts.
Regarding claim 16; Betts discloses the optoelectronic device of claim 1, but fails to disclose an inductor formed on the electrical circuit substrate and electrically coupled to the electrical transmission line. Ram teaches that inductors may be provided to prevent time-varying signals from being coupled back into bias sources in modulator devices (see column 10, lines 25-33). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide an inductor formed on the electrical circuit substrate and electrically coupled to the electrical transmission line for the purpose of preventing time-varying signals from being coupled back into the bias sources of the modulator device of Betts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874