Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
Applicants are reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the language “The present disclosure relates to”, “according to the present disclosure” should be removed. The abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. Applicants are reminded that it is generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The compound shown as formula 3-1
is missing a bond and unclear on page 28.
D1-26 of formula H2-263 appears to be cut from page 49:
.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Formula 3-1
is missing a bond and unclear in claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 12 and 15 have chemical formula compounds that contains “…” ellipses, e.g. formula 1 in claim 1 as shown
.
Applicants have failed to define the ellipses “…….” in each of the formulas listed above as well as those formulas recited in claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 12 and 15 The claims as written are indefinite and unclear. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner suggests applicants delete all the ellipses recited in the claims.
Claims 9 and 13 recites “An organic electroluminescent device comprising … at least one emitting layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the at least one layer of the light-emitting layers comprises the plurality of host materials…” The claims as written are indefinite and unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation “the light-emitting layers” in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-14 depend on claim 1 and claim 16 depend on claim 15; therefore, the claims are also indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-7 and 9-16 of copending Application No. 18/925140 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims made at the same invention have not in fact been patented. Both the instant claims and copending application 18/925140 recite explicitly disclose a plurality of host materials comprising a first host material comprising at least one compound represented by the following formula 1 and a second host material comprising at least one compound represented by the following formula 2, wherein at least one of the first host material and the second host material comprises deuterium. Also, both the instant claims and copending application 18/925140 recite explicitly disclose an organic electroluminescent compound represented by the following formula 1’.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/925140 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending application have claims drawn to the plurality of host materials wherein the compound represented by formula 2, which are obvious variants of each other compounds.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 2022/0123223 A1).
Regarding claims 1-13, Kang et al. (see abstract, claims and examples) teach an organic electroluminescent device (abstract) comprising an anode, a cathode, and at least one emitting layer between the anode and cathode, wherein the emitting layer comprises a plurality of host material ( see examples and claim 7) . The plurality of host materials comprising a first host material comprising at least one compound represented as formula 1:
( see claim 1), more specifically compounds such as formula H1-115
( see claim 5) meeting the limitation of formula 1, formula 1-2 , formula 1-3 , and H1-58 as recited by the instant claims and a second host material comprising at least one compound represented by formula 2
( see claim 1), more specifically compounds such as H2-1
in claim 6 meeting the limitation of formulas 2, 2-1-3, 2-1-4 and H2-98 as instantly claimed wherein at least oen of the first and the second host material comprises deuterium ( see claim 1).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Kang et al. (see abstract, claims and examples) teach an organic electroluminescent compound (abstract) represented as formula 1:
( see claim 1), more specifically compounds such as formula H1-115
( see claim 5) meeting the limitation of formula 1’ , and H1-58 as recited by the instant claims.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Cho et al. (US 2023/0139032 A1; see abstract, claims, and examples) teach an organic electroluminescent device comprising a plurality of host materials as instantly claimed.
Conclusion
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737