DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a Response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendment submitted 11/26/2025.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim(s) 16 and 37 in the previous Office Action for informalities is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18, 26, 37, 39, 42-44, and 45-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0001122 A1 to Prommersberger et al. (hereinafter “Prommersberger”) (previously made of record by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 16, Prommersberger discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-5C; and [0019]-[0051]) an adjunct (350) for use with a surgical stapler, wherein said adjunct comprises: a first layer (370, "porous layer") comprising a first material (see [0031]-[0033]) defining a continuous textured device-contacting surface configured to establish a frictional interface (see [0031]-[0033], the nature of the construction of the porous layer results in a non-smooth surface having texture which would frictionally interface with another surface) with a corresponding portion of the surgical stapler (see [0021]/[0029]/[0050]), wherein the first material of the first layer comprises a fibrous mesh material defining the continuous textured device-contacting surface (see [0031]-[0033]); and a second film layer (360, "non-porous layer") attached to the first layer (see Figs. 3A-D and [0021]/[0043]), wherein the second film layer comprises a second material that differs from the first material (see [0043]).
Prommersberger further discloses (claim 17) wherein the continuous textured device- contacting surface is planar (see Figs. 3A-D); (claim 18) wherein the continuous textured device contacting surface is configured to establish a frictional interface with a staple-forming undersurface of an anvil of the surgical stapler (see [0021]/[0029]/[0050]); (claim 26) wherein the continuous textured device- contacting surface is configured to establish a frictional interface with a deck surface of a surgical staple cartridge of the surgical stapler (see [0021]/[0029]/[0050]); (claim 37) wherein the first material of the first layer comprises a lattice material defining the continuous textured device-contacting surface (see [0031]-[0033]); (claim 39) further comprising a third layer, and wherein the third layer comprises polymeric material (see [0044]-[0049]); (claim 42) wherein the second material of the second film layer comprises a synthetic polymer (see [0043]); (claim 43) wherein the second material of the second film layer comprises polydioxanone (see claim 3 of Prommersberger); and (claim 44) further comprising a third film layer comprising a third material (see [0044]-[0049] and/or [0051]), wherein the second material of the second film layer comprises polydioxanone (see claim 3 of Prommersberger) and the third material of the third film layer comprises polydioxanone (see [0035]/[0049]).
Regarding claim 45, Prommersberger discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-5C; and [0019]-[0051]) a surgical staple cartridge (104, Fig. 4), comprising: a deck surface defining a plurality of cavities (see Fig. 4); a plurality of staples positioned in the staple cavities (see [0019]-[0021]); and the adjunct of Claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above), wherein the continuous textured device-contacting surface of the adjunct is positioned facing the deck surface (see [0021]/[0029]/[0050]).
Prommersberger further discloses (claim 46) further comprising an adhesive attaching the continuous textured device-contacting surface to the deck surface (see [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38 and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prommersberger.
Prommersberger discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above, however, with respect to claims 38 and 40-41, Prommersberger fails to specifically disclose wherein the first material of the first layer comprises polyglactin and wherein the polymeric material comprises an open cell foam or polyamine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the adjunct out of the claimed materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16-18, 26, 37-44, and 45-46 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771