DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-5 are all within at least one of the four categories.
The independent claim 1 recites:
performing data analysis based on the pressure values to determine displacement variations of the pressure monitoring points relative to initial spatial coordinates;
performing nonlinear fitting based on the displacement variations to determine a thoracic volume variation and an abdominal volume variation; and
determining breathing parameters based on the thoracic volume variation and the abdominal volume variation, wherein the breathing parameters comprise a total pulmonary ventilation volume, a thoracic breathing contribution ratio, an abdominal breathing contribution ratio, and a thoracic and abdominal phase difference.
The above claim limitations constitute an abstract idea that is part of the Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes group identified in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019. See footnotes 14 and 15.
“A mathematical relationship is a relationship between variables or numbers. A mathematical relationship may be expressed in words ….” October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility, II. A. i. “[T]here are instances where a formula or equation is written in text format that should also be considered as falling within this grouping.” Id. at II. A. ii. “[A] claim does not have to recite the word “calculating” in order to be considered a mathematical calculation.” Id. at II. A. iii. See for example, SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1163-65 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (performing a resampled statistical analysis to generate a resampled distribution).
The claimed steps of performing and determining can be practically performed in the human mind using mental steps or basic critical thinking, which are types of activities that have been found by the courts to represent abstract ideas.
Examples of ineligible claims that recite mental processes include:
a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A.;
claims to “comparing BRCA sequences and determining the existence of alterations,” where the claims cover any way of comparing BRCA sequences such that the comparison steps can practically be performed in the human mind, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics Corp.
a claim to collecting and comparing known information (claim 1), which are steps that can be practically performed in the human mind, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC.
See p. 7-8 of October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility.
With respect to the pending claims, for example, a physician can perform the claimed step of performing by mentally doing data analysis on collected data and further performing non-linear fitting based on the data analysis done. The physician can then determine breathing parameters based on the non-linear fitting. Thus, the claims can be readily interpreted as being a mere application of a mental process on a computer.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-5, the dependent claims are directed to either 1) steps that are also abstract or 2) additional data output that is well-understood, routine and previously known to the industry. For example, dependent claims recite steps (e.g. performing, multiplying, accumulating, subtracting, determining, plotting, acquiring, calculating, adding and dividing) that can be performed in the mind. Although the dependent claims are further limiting, they do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea. A narrow abstract idea is still an abstract idea and an abstract idea with additional well-known equipment/functions is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
This judicial exception (abstract idea) in claims 1-5 is not integrated into a practical application because:
The abstract idea amounts to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For example, the recitations regarding the generic computing components for performing, multiplying, accumulating, subtracting, determining, plotting, acquiring, calculating, adding and dividing merely invoke a computer as a tool.
The data-gathering step (acquiring) does not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity.
There is no improvement to a computer or other technology. “The McRO court indicated that it was the incorporation of the particular claimed rules in computer animation that "improved [the] existing technological process", unlike cases such as Alice where a computer was merely used as a tool to perform an existing process.” MPEP 2106.05(a) II. The claims recite a computer that is used as a tool for performing, multiplying, accumulating, subtracting, determining, plotting, acquiring, calculating, adding and dividing.
The claims do not apply the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. Rather, the abstract idea is utilized to determine a relationship among data to provide information about breathing.
The claims do not apply the abstract idea to a particular machine. “Integral use of a machine to achieve performance of a method may provide significantly more, in contrast to where the machine is merely an object on which the method operates, which does not provide significantly more.” MPEP 2106.05(b). II. “Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not provide significantly more.” MPEP 2106.05(b) III. The pending claims utilize a computer for performing, multiplying, accumulating, subtracting, determining, plotting, acquiring, calculating, adding and dividing. The claims do not apply the obtained data to a particular machine. Rather, the data is merely output in an post-solution step.
The additional elements are identified as follows: none.
Looking at the claim limitations as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claims 6-20 recite an abstract idea in the form of a mathematical concept and/or mental process.
“As set forth in MPEP § 2106.05(d)(I), an examiner should conclude that an element (or combination of elements) represents well-understood, routine, conventional activity only when the examiner can readily conclude that the element(s) is widely prevalent or in common use in the relevant industry.” Memorandum - Revising 101 Eligibility Procedure in view of Berkheimer v. HP, Inc. p. 3, para 1. See also PTAB decision in US Patent Application No. 15/354,254.
Examiner cannot find evidence that the combination of additional elements (a pressure detection system; a main control chip; an elastic vest; a plurality of piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor united disposed inside elastic vest”; a one-of-sixteen gating chip; a linear voltage transformation module; a screen display module; and STM32F407ZGT6 ) is well-understood, routine and conventional to support an analysis under step 2B according to Office guidelines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoskuldsson (US 20190274586 A1) in view of Zheng (CN 212261367 U; citations refer to machine translation).
With respect to claim 1, Hoskuldsson discloses a method for monitoring a breathing flow based on thoracic and abdominal movements (see abstract, method and system for determining respiratory effort based on thoracic and abdomen signals), comprising:
acquiring pressure values of pressure monitoring points of a patient (see paragraph 0063, sensor belts may be capable of measuring changes in the band stretching or the area of the body encircles by the belt when placed around a subject’s body where pressure values; and see paragraph 0073, pressure is measured and associated respiratory effort can be estimated by measuring thoracoabdominal movement), wherein the pressure monitoring points comprise a chest pressure monitoring point and an abdomen pressure monitoring point (see paragraph 0063, a first belt to measure is placed around the thorax which is the chest of a patient and a second belt to measure is placed around the abdomen to capture respiratory movements);
performing data analysis based on the pressure values to determine displacement variations of the pressure monitoring points relative to initial spatial coordinates (see paragraph 0065, respiratory movement signals are sent to processor #38 by leads and Respiratory Inductive Plethsymograph (RIP) measures respiratory related areal changes including displacement variations of the thorax and abdomen; and see paragraph 0077-0084, RIP modeling and calculating using collected data);
performing nonlinear fitting based on the displacement variations to determine a thoracic volume variation and an abdominal volume variation (see paragraph 0162-0163 and 0144-0145, fitting parameters to a model to determine change of movement thorax and abdomen); and
determining breathing parameters based on the thoracic volume variation and the abdominal volume variation (see paragraph 0251-0252, parameter estimation of model evaluated).
Hoskuldsson does not specifically disclose wherein the breathing parameters comprise a total pulmonary ventilation volume, a thoracic breathing contribution ratio, an abdominal breathing contribution ratio and a thoracic and abdominal phase difference.
Zheng teaches parameters including total pulmonary ventilation volume (see p. 2 paragraph 2, tidal volume), a thoracic breathing contribution ratio (see p. 2 paragraph 2, chest breathing contribution ratio), an abdominal breathing contribution ratio (see p. 2 paragraph 2, abdomen breathing contribution ratio) and a thoracic and abdominal phase difference (see p. 3 paragraph 12, phase difference of respiratory movement curve of chest and abdomen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson with the teachings of Zheng to have included various breathing parameters because it would have resulted in the predictable result of more accurately knowing the respiratory condition and respiratory mode of a human to effectively prevent the occurrence of respiratory disease (Zheng: see p. 2 paragraph 2).
With respect to claim 2, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Hoskuldsson further discloses wherein the performing data analysis based on the pressure values to determine displacement variations of the pressure monitoring points relative to initial spatial coordinates specifically comprises:
performing data analysis based on the pressure value of the chest pressure monitoring point to determine the displacement variation of the chest pressure monitoring point relative to the initial spatial coordinates (see paragraph 0065, respiratory movement signals are sent to processor #38 by leads and Respiratory Inductive Plethsymograph (RIP) measures respiratory related areal changes including displacement variations of the thorax and abdomen); and
performing data analysis based on the pressure value of the abdomen pressure monitoring point to determine the displacement variation of the abdomen pressure monitoring point relative to the initial spatial coordinates (see paragraph 0065, respiratory movement signals are sent to processor #38 by leads and Respiratory Inductive Plethsymograph (RIP) measures respiratory related areal changes including displacement variations of the thorax and abdomen).
With respect to claim 3, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Hoskuldsson further discloses
wherein the performing nonlinear fitting based on the displacement variations to determine a thoracic volume variation and an abdominal volume variation specifically comprises:
performing nonlinear fitting based on the displacement variations to obtain an area of each cross section of a trunk (see paragraph 0065, respiratory movement signals are sent to processor #38 by leads and Respiratory Inductive Plethsymograph (RIP) measures respiratory related areal changes including displacement variations of the thorax and abdomen where cross section area of the body part is utilized including the abdomen which is interpreted to be a trunk);
multiplying the area of each cross section of the trunk by a unit thickness of each cross section of the trunk to obtain a volume per unit layer thickness of the trunk (see paragraph 0155-0169, non-linear fitting where a cost function subject to constraints posed by parameter vector is utilized where each area is multiplied by a cross section);
accumulating the volume per unit layer thickness of the trunk to determine a thoracic volume at a set time and an abdominal volume at a set time (see paragraph 0155-0169, non-linear fitting where a cost function subject to constraints posed by parameter vector is utilized where each areal volume is acquired at a specified time point);
subtracting an initial thoracic volume from the thoracic volume at a set time to obtain the thoracic volume variation (see paragraph 0155-0169, non-linear fitting where a cost function subject to constraints posed by parameter vector is utilized where the initial volume of thoracic area is obtained and subtracted from the specified time point); and
subtracting an initial abdominal volume from the abdominal volume at a set time to obtain the abdominal volume variation (see paragraph 0155-0169, non-linear fitting where a cost function subject to constraints posed by parameter vector is utilized where the initial volume of abdomen area is obtained and subtracted from the specified time point ).
With respect to claim 4, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng further teaches
wherein the determining breathing parameters based on the thoracic volume variation and the abdominal volume variation specifically comprises:
determining total pulmonary ventilation volume (Zheng: see p. 2 paragraph 2, tidal volume determined), a thoracic breathing contribution ratio (Zheng: see p. 2 paragraph 2, chest breathing contribution ratio determined), an abdominal breathing contribution ratio (Zheng: see p. 2 paragraph 2, abdomen breathing contribution ratio determined) and a thoracic and abdominal phase difference (Zheng: see p. 3 paragraph 12, phase difference of respiratory movement curve of chest and abdomen determined);
plotting a thoracic volume variation curve and an abdominal volume variation curve based on the thoracic volume variation and the abdominal volume variation, respectively (Zheng: see Fig. 3);
acquiring an offset time between a peak of the thoracic volume variation curve and a peak of the abdominal volume variation curve (Zheng see p. 3 last paragraph and p. 4 first paragraph, time difference between two end of respiration); and
calculating the thoracic and abdominal phase difference based on a proportion of the offset time in a signal within a breathing cycle (Zheng see p. 3 last paragraph and p. 4 first paragraph, time difference between two end of respiration; and see p. 3 paragraph 12, phase difference of respiratory movement curve of chest and abdomen determined).
With respect to claim 5, all limitations of claim 4 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng further teaches
wherein the determining the total pulmonary ventilation volume, the thoracic breathing contribution ratio, and the abdominal breathing contribution ratio based on the thoracic volume variation and the abdominal volume variation specifically comprises:
adding up the thoracic volume variation and the abdominal volume variation to obtain the total pulmonary ventilation volume (Zheng see p. 6 section “Quantization of Respiratory Mode”);
dividing the thoracic volume variation by the total pulmonary ventilation volume to obtain the thoracic breathing contribution ratio (Zheng see p. 6 section “Quantization of Respiratory Mode”); and
dividing the abdominal volume variation by the total pulmonary ventilation volume to obtain the abdominal breathing contribution ratio (Zheng see p. 6 section “Quantization of Respiratory Mode”).
With respect to claim 6, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Hoskuldsson discloses a device for monitoring a breathing flow based on thoracic and abdominal movements (see abstract, method and system for determining respiratory effort based on thoracic and abdomen signals), using the method for monitoring a breathing flow based on thoracic and abdominal movements according to claim 1 and comprising:
a pressure detection system (see paragraph 0063, sensor belts may be capable of measuring changes in the band stretching or the area of the body encircles by the belt when placed around a subject’s body where pressure values; and see paragraph 0073, pressure is measured and associated respiratory effort can be estimated by measuring thoracoabdominal movement) and
a main control chip (see paragraph 0069, accompanying circuit),
wherein the pressure detection system comprises an elastic vest, and a plurality of piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units that are each disposed on an inner side of the elastic vest and configured to detect pressure values of pressure monitoring points of a patient (see paragraph 0063, sensor belts may be capable of measuring changes in the band stretching or the area of the body encircles by the belt when placed around a subject’s body where pressure values; and see paragraph 0073, pressure is measured and associated respiratory effort can be estimated by measuring thoracoabdominal movement); and
the main control chip is connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units (see paragraph 0069, accompanying circuit connected to RIP belts) and configured to determine breathing parameters of the patient based on the pressure values (see paragraph 0065, respiratory movement signals are sent to processor #38 by leads and Respiratory Inductive Plethsymograph (RIP) measures respiratory related areal changes including displacement variations of the thorax and abdomen.
Hoskuldsson does not specifically disclose wherein the breathing parameters comprise a total pulmonary ventilation volume, a thoracic breathing contribution ratio, an abdominal breathing contribution ratio and a thoracic and abdominal phase difference.
Zheng teaches parameters including total pulmonary ventilation volume (see p. 2 paragraph 2, tidal volume), a thoracic breathing contribution ratio (see p. 2 paragraph 2, chest breathing contribution ratio), an abdominal breathing contribution ratio (see p. 2 paragraph 2, abdomen breathing contribution ratio) and a thoracic and abdominal phase difference (see p. 3 paragraph 12, phase difference of respiratory movement curve of chest and abdomen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson with the teachings of Zheng to have included various breathing parameters because it would have resulted in the predictable result of more accurately knowing the respiratory condition and respiratory mode of a human to effectively prevent the occurrence of respiratory disease (Zheng: see p. 2 paragraph 2).
With respect to claim 7, all limitations of claim 6 apply in which Hoskuldsson further discloses
wherein the performing data analysis based on the pressure values to determine displacement variations of the pressure monitoring points relative to initial spatial coordinates specifically comprises:
performing data analysis based on the pressure value of the chest pressure monitoring point to determine the displacement variation of the chest pressure monitoring point relative to the initial spatial coordinates (see paragraph 0065, respiratory movement signals are sent to processor #38 by leads and Respiratory Inductive Plethsymograph (RIP) measures respiratory related areal changes including displacement variations of the thorax and abdomen; and
performing data analysis based on the pressure value of the abdomen pressure monitoring point to determine the displacement variation of the abdomen pressure monitoring point relative to the initial spatial coordinates (see paragraph 0065, respiratory movement signals are sent to processor #38 by leads and Respiratory Inductive Plethsymograph (RIP) measures respiratory related areal changes including displacement variations of the thorax and abdomen.
With respect to claim 8, all limitations of claim 6 apply in which Hoskuldsson further discloses
wherein the performing nonlinear fitting based on the displacement variations to determine a thoracic volume variation and an abdominal volume variation specifically comprises:
performing nonlinear fitting based on the displacement variations to obtain an area of each cross section of a trunk (see paragraph 0065, respiratory movement signals are sent to processor #38 by leads and Respiratory Inductive Plethsymograph (RIP) measures respiratory related areal changes including displacement variations of the thorax and abdomen where cross section area of the body part is utilized including the abdomen which is interpreted to be a trunk);
multiplying the area of each cross section of the trunk by a unit thickness of each cross section of the trunk to obtain a volume per unit layer thickness of the trunk (see paragraph 0155-0169, non-linear fitting where a cost function subject to constraints posed by parameter vector is utilized where each area is multiplied by a cross section);
accumulating the volume per unit layer thickness of the trunk to determine a thoracic volume at a set time and an abdominal volume at a set time (see paragraph 0155-0169, non-linear fitting where a cost function subject to constraints posed by parameter vector is utilized where each areal volume is acquired at a specified time point);
subtracting an initial thoracic volume from the thoracic volume at a set time to obtain the thoracic volume variation (see paragraph 0155-0169, non-linear fitting where a cost function subject to constraints posed by parameter vector is utilized where the initial volume of thoracic area is obtained and subtracted from the specified time point); and
subtracting an initial abdominal volume from the abdominal volume at a set time to obtain the abdominal volume variation (see paragraph 0155-0169, non-linear fitting where a cost function subject to constraints posed by parameter vector is utilized where the initial volume of abdomen area is obtained and subtracted from the specified time point).
With respect to claim 9, all limitations of claim 6 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng further teaches
wherein the determining breathing parameters based on the thoracic volume variation and the abdominal volume variation specifically comprises:
determining total pulmonary ventilation volume (Zheng: see p. 2 paragraph 2, tidal volume determined), a thoracic breathing contribution ratio (Zheng: see p. 2 paragraph 2, chest breathing contribution ratio determined), an abdominal breathing contribution ratio (Zheng: see p. 2 paragraph 2, abdomen breathing contribution ratio determined) and a thoracic and abdominal phase difference (Zheng: see p. 3 paragraph 12, phase difference of respiratory movement curve of chest and abdomen determined);
plotting a thoracic volume variation curve and an abdominal volume variation curve based on the thoracic volume variation and the abdominal volume variation, respectively (Zheng: see Fig. 3);
acquiring an offset time between a peak of the thoracic volume variation curve and a peak of the abdominal volume variation curve (Zheng see p. 3 last paragraph and p. 4 first paragraph, time difference between two end of respiration); and
calculating the thoracic and abdominal phase difference based on a proportion of the offset time in a signal within a breathing cycle (Zheng see p. 3 last paragraph and p. 4 first paragraph, time difference between two end of respiration; and see p. 3 paragraph 12, phase difference of respiratory movement curve of chest and abdomen determined).
With respect to claim 10, all limitations of claim 9 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng further teaches
wherein the determining the total pulmonary ventilation volume, the thoracic breathing contribution ratio, and the abdominal breathing contribution ratio based on the thoracic volume variation and the abdominal volume variation specifically comprises:
adding up the thoracic volume variation and the abdominal volume variation to obtain the total pulmonary ventilation volume (Zheng see p. 6 section “Quantization of Respiratory Mode”);
dividing the thoracic volume variation by the total pulmonary ventilation volume to obtain the thoracic breathing contribution ratio (Zheng see p. 6 section “Quantization of Respiratory Mode”); and
dividing the abdominal volume variation by the total pulmonary ventilation volume to obtain the abdominal breathing contribution ratio (Zheng see p. 6 section “Quantization of Respiratory Mode”).
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoskuldsson in view of Zheng as applied to claims 6-10 above respectively, and further in view of Pandia (US 20110066042 A1).
With respect to claim 11, all limitations of claim 6 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng do not specifically teach wherein the pressure detection system further comprises a one-out-of-sixteen gating chip and a linear voltage transformation module connected to the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip; the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip is further connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units; and the linear voltage transformation module is further connected to the main control chip.
Pandia teaches a one-out-of-sixteen gating chip and a linear voltage transformation module connected to the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip (see paragraph 0231, multiplexer integrated circuit with voltage module); the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip is further connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units (see paragraph 0231, circuits are connected to control interface #1230; and see paragraph 0205, physical sensor unit measures respiration and intrathoracic pressure changes; and see paragraph 0175, sensor is connected to control interface); and the linear voltage transformation module is further connected to the main control chip (see paragraph 0231, multiplexer integrated circuit with voltage module and main control interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson and Zheng with the teachings of Pandia to have included chips and voltage module because it would have resulted in the predictable result of maintain appropriate voltage under conditions of varying power use (Pandia: see [0232]) and connect to various parts of a device (Pandia: see [0231]).
With respect to claim 12, all limitations of claim 7 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng do not specifically teach wherein the pressure detection system further comprises a one-out-of-sixteen gating chip and a linear voltage transformation module connected to the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip; the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip is further connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units; and the linear voltage transformation module is further connected to the main control chip.
Pandia teaches a one-out-of-sixteen gating chip and a linear voltage transformation module connected to the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip (see paragraph 0231, multiplexer integrated circuit with voltage module); the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip is further connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units (see paragraph 0231, circuits are connected to control interface #1230; and see paragraph 0205, physical sensor unit measures respiration and intrathoracic pressure changes; and see paragraph 0175, sensor is connected to control interface); and the linear voltage transformation module is further connected to the main control chip (see paragraph 0231, multiplexer integrated circuit with voltage module and main control interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson and Zheng with the teachings of Pandia to have included chips and voltage module because it would have resulted in the predictable result of maintain appropriate voltage under conditions of varying power use (Pandia: see [0232]) and connect to various parts of a device (Pandia: see [0231]).
With respect to claim 13, all limitations of claim 8 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng do not specifically teach wherein the pressure detection system further comprises a one- out-of-sixteen gating chip and a linear voltage transformation module connected to the one-out- of-sixteen gating chip; the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip is further connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units; and the linear voltage transformation module is further connected to the main control chip.
Pandia teaches a one-out-of-sixteen gating chip and a linear voltage transformation module connected to the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip (see paragraph 0231, multiplexer integrated circuit with voltage module); the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip is further connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units (see paragraph 0231, circuits are connected to control interface #1230; and see paragraph 0205, physical sensor unit measures respiration and intrathoracic pressure changes; and see paragraph 0175, sensor is connected to control interface); and the linear voltage transformation module is further connected to the main control chip (see paragraph 0231, multiplexer integrated circuit with voltage module and main control interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson and Zheng with the teachings of Pandia to have included chips and voltage module because it would have resulted in the predictable result of maintain appropriate voltage under conditions of varying power use (Pandia: see [0232]) and connect to various parts of a device (Pandia: see [0231]).
With respect to claim 14, all limitations of claim 9 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng do not specifically teach wherein the pressure detection system further comprises a one- out-of-sixteen gating chip and a linear voltage transformation module connected to the one-out- of-sixteen gating chip; the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip is further connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units; and the linear voltage transformation module is further connected to the main control chip.
Pandia teaches a one-out-of-sixteen gating chip and a linear voltage transformation module connected to the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip (see paragraph 0231, multiplexer integrated circuit with voltage module); the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip is further connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units (see paragraph 0231, circuits are connected to control interface #1230; and see paragraph 0205, physical sensor unit measures respiration and intrathoracic pressure changes; and see paragraph 0175, sensor is connected to control interface); and the linear voltage transformation module is further connected to the main control chip (see paragraph 0231, multiplexer integrated circuit with voltage module and main control interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson and Zheng with the teachings of Pandia to have included chips and voltage module because it would have resulted in the predictable result of maintain appropriate voltage under conditions of varying power use (Pandia: see [0232]) and connect to various parts of a device (Pandia: see [0231]).
With respect to claim 15, all limitations of claim 10 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng do not specifically teach wherein the pressure detection system further comprises a one- out-of-sixteen gating chip and a linear voltage transformation module connected to the one-out- of-sixteen gating chip; the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip is further connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units; and the linear voltage transformation module is further connected to the main control chip.
Pandia teaches a one-out-of-sixteen gating chip and a linear voltage transformation module connected to the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip (see paragraph 0231, multiplexer integrated circuit with voltage module); the one-out-of-sixteen gating chip is further connected to the piezoresistive thin-film pressure sensor units (see paragraph 0231, circuits are connected to control interface #1230; and see paragraph 0205, physical sensor unit measures respiration and intrathoracic pressure changes; and see paragraph 0175, sensor is connected to control interface); and the linear voltage transformation module is further connected to the main control chip (see paragraph 0231, multiplexer integrated circuit with voltage module and main control interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson and Zheng with the teachings of Pandia to have included chips and voltage module because it would have resulted in the predictable result of maintain appropriate voltage under conditions of varying power use (Pandia: see [0232]) and connect to various parts of a device (Pandia: see [0231]).
With respect to claim 16, all limitations of claim 6 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng do not specifically teach a screen display module connected to the main control chip and configured to display the pressure values and the breathing parameters.
Pandia teaches a screen display module connected to a control chip and configured to display pressure values and breathing parameters (see paragraph 00825, display unit #30 that displays biomedical signal of interest; and see paragraph 0153 and 0163, respiration waveform and intra-thoracic pressure changes can be biomedical signals of interest).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson and Zheng with the teachings of Pandia to have added a display because it would have resulted in the predictable result of visualizing parameters of interest including respiration signals (Pandia: see [0173]) for medical body monitoring (Pandia: see [0016]).
With respect to claim 17, all limitations of claim 7 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng do not specifically teach a screen display module connected to the main control chip and configured to display the pressure values and the breathing parameters.
Pandia teaches a screen display module connected to a control chip and configured to display pressure values and breathing parameters (see paragraph 00825, display unit #30 that displays biomedical signal of interest; and see paragraph 0153 and 0163, respiration waveform and intra-thoracic pressure changes can be biomedical signals of interest).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson and Zheng with the teachings of Pandia to have added a display because it would have resulted in the predictable result of visualizing parameters of interest including respiration signals (Pandia: see [0173]) for medical body monitoring (Pandia: see [0016]).
With respect to claim 18, all limitations of claim 8 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng do not specifically teach a screen display module connected to the main control chip and configured to display the pressure values and the breathing parameters.
Pandia teaches a screen display module connected to a control chip and configured to display pressure values and breathing parameters (see paragraph 00825, display unit #30 that displays biomedical signal of interest; and see paragraph 0153 and 0163, respiration waveform and intra-thoracic pressure changes can be biomedical signals of interest).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson and Zheng with the teachings of Pandia to have added a display because it would have resulted in the predictable result of visualizing parameters of interest including respiration signals (Pandia: see [0173]) for medical body monitoring (Pandia: see [0016]).
With respect to claim 19, all limitations of claim 9 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng do not specifically teach a screen display module connected to the main control chip and configured to display the pressure values and the breathing parameters.
Pandia teaches a screen display module connected to a control chip and configured to display pressure values and breathing parameters (see paragraph 00825, display unit #30 that displays biomedical signal of interest; and see paragraph 0153 and 0163, respiration waveform and intra-thoracic pressure changes can be biomedical signals of interest).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson and Zheng with the teachings of Pandia to have added a display because it would have resulted in the predictable result of visualizing parameters of interest including respiration signals (Pandia: see [0173]) for medical body monitoring (Pandia: see [0016]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoskuldsson in view of Zheng as applied to claims 6-10 above respectively, and further in view of Cao (US 20230142080 A1).
With respect to claim 20, all limitations of claim 6 apply in which Hoskuldsson and Zheng do not specifically teach wherein a model of the main control chip is STM32F407ZGT6.
Cao teaches a model of a main control chip is STM32F407ZGT6 (see paragraph 0066, STM32F407 series chip with an advanced RISC machine (ARM) as a core is used as the main control module 17, and chips with moderate performance such as STM32F407ZGT6 can be selected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoskuldsson and Zheng with the teachings of Cao to have a control chip as STM32F407ZGT6 because it would have resulted in the predictable result of using a chip with moderate performance to improve execution speed of a control algorithm and code efficiency (Cao: see [0066]).
Conclusion
/N.N.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791