DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 12/30/2025.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-15, 18-19, 21-23 are pending of which claims 1, 14, 18 are the base independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 9-15, 18-19, 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 11-15, 18-19, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US 2020/0351032) in view of Xue et al (US 2011/0159709).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 18, Wu’032 discloses a method for determining a sidelink feedback resource, comprising:
determining, by a first user equipment (UE)(see fig.1, which shows a PSFCH transmitted by the second UE as first UE, see fig.7, PSFCH resource, thus determining S102, see fig.12, which shows UE including memory 121 storing computer program to be executed by the processor 122) based on a first physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and/or (due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)(see fig.1, which shows based A PSCCH/PSSCH S101) and a first mapping rule (see fig.7, which shows PSCCH resources and the PSFCH resources have a predefined or pre-configured mapping relationship, see para.0122, 0164), a first resource(see fig.1, which shows a PSFCH transmitted by the second UE as first UE, see fig.7, PSFCH resource as first resource); wherein
the first resource is one or (due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered)more resources(see fig.7, PSFCH resource(s), see para.0167-0168, which discusses mapping relationship between the PSCCH resources and the PSFCH resources is one-to-many, see para.0171, which discusses the RX UEs in the group may determine the corresponding PSFCH resource within the set of the plurality of PSFCH resources corresponding to the PSCCH resources of the plurality of sub-channels, see para.0174), the first mapping rule is used to indicate a mapping relationship between the first PSSCH and/(due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered)or PSCCH and the first resource(see fig.7, which shows PSCCH resources and the PSFCH resources have a predefined or pre-configured mapping relationship, see para.0122, 0164) , the first PSSCH and/or PSCCH is a PSSCH and/or PSCCH transmitted by a second UE to the first UE(see fig.1, S101, see para.0017, which discusses the PSCCH/PSSCH transmitted by the first UE as second UE to the second UE as first UE), and the first PSSCH and/or PSCCH and the first resource e(see fig.7, which shows PSCCH resources and the PSFCH resources have a predefined or pre-configured mapping relationship, see para.0122, 0164) are in a one-to-many mapping relationship(see para.0122, which discusses the mapping mode between the PSCCH resources and the PSFCH resources is configured as one-to-many mapping).
As discussed above, although Wu’032 discloses the first resource (see fig.7, PSFCH resource(s), see para.0167-0168, which discusses mapping relationship between the PSCCH resources and the PSFCH resources is one-to-many, see para.0171, which discusses the RX UEs in the group may determine the corresponding PSFCH resource within the set of the plurality of PSFCH resources corresponding to the PSCCH resources of the plurality of sub-channels, see para.0174), Wu’032 does not explicitly show the use of “used by the first UE to perform a channel access procedure” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “used by the first UE to perform a channel access procedure” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Xue’709.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Xue’709 teaches the use of the first resource is one or (due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered)more resources used by the first UE to perform a channel access procedure(see para.0046, which discusses a set of PSFCH resources (e.g., a PSFCH opportunity) over which the second UE may transmit the feedback to the first UE… the second UE as first UE may perform listen-before-talk (LBT), such as an LBT procedure or a channel access procedure, prior to getting access to the PSFCH opportunity as first resource).
In view of the above, having the system of Wu’032 and then given the well-established teaching of Xue’709, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu’032 to include “used by the first UE to perform a channel access procedure” as taught by Xue’709, since Xue’709 stated in para.0206+ that such a modification would provide techniques for improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability, among other benefits.
Regarding claim 2, 21, Wu’032 discloses wherein the first resource comprises at least one(due to at least one language, only one of them is being considered) of:
a candidate feedback resource;
a feedback resource;
a listen before talk (LBT) location;
a monitoring resource;
a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource;
a resource for a channel state information (CSI) report; or
a resource for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)(see fig.7, which shows the PSFCH resource(s), see para.0122, 0164).
Regarding claim 4, 22, Wu’032 discloses wherein the first mapping rule satisfies at least one(due to at least one language, only one of them is being considered) of following: the first mapping rule is obtained through predefinition, pre-configuration, or configuration; the first mapping rule is predefined, pre-configured, or configured within M physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) periods, wherein M is a value predefined in a protocol, pre-configured, or configured; a gap between an i-th first resource and a j-th first resource in the first mapping rule is greater than L, wherein i and j are positive integers greater than or equal to 1, and L is a value predefined, pre-configured, configured, or indicated(see fig.7, which shows the PSCCH resources and the PSFCH resources hava a predefined or pre-configured Mapping relationship, see para.0174).
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, although Wu’032 discloses the first resource (see fig.7, PSFCH resource(s), see para.0167-0168, which discusses mapping relationship between the PSCCH resources and the PSFCH resources is one-to-many, see para.0171, which discusses the RX UEs in the group may determine the corresponding PSFCH resource within the set of the plurality of PSFCH resources corresponding to the PSCCH resources of the plurality of sub-channels, see para.0174), Wu’032 does not explicitly show the use of “first transmission gap Gap1 between the first resource and the first PSSCH and/or PSCCH, indicated by downlink control information (DCI) or sidelink control information (SCI); wherein the first transmission gap Gap1 is a predefined, pre-configured, configured, or indicated value” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “first transmission gap Gap1 between the first resource and the first PSSCH and/or PSCCH, indicated by downlink control information (DCI) or sidelink control information (SCI); wherein the first transmission gap Gap1 is a predefined, pre-configured, configured, or indicated value” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Xue’709.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Xue’709 teaches the use of t first transmission gap Gap1 between the first resource and the first PSSCH and/or PSCCH(see fig.7, see para.0142, which discuses time gap 725 between a PSSCH 710 and a PSFCH 730), indicated by downlink control information (DCI) or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) sidelink control information (SCI)(see para.0143, which discusses the UE 115 may attempt to employ a CP extension into the time gap 725-b … the CP extension can be configured via a 1-bit indication in SCI); wherein the first transmission gap Gap1 is a predefined, pre-configured, configured, or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) indicated value(see fig.7, see para.0143, which discusses the UE 115 may determine whether the UE 115 is able to employ such CP extension (e.g., whether such CP extension is allowed) based on whether conditions (e.g., pre-defined conditions) for CP extension are satisfied… the CP extension or the threshold priority, or both, may be configured via a system information block (SIB) or a pre-configuration, thus predefined or pre-configured).
In view of the above, having the system of Wu’032 and then given the well-established teaching of Xue’709, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu’032 to include “first transmission gap Gap1 between the first resource and the first PSSCH and/or PSCCH, indicated by downlink control information (DCI) or sidelink control information (SCI); wherein the first transmission gap Gap1 is a predefined, pre-configured, configured, or indicated value” as taught by Xue’709, since Xue’709 stated in para.0206+ that such a modification would provide techniques for improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability, among other benefits.
Regarding claim 11 and 23, as discussed above, although Wu’032 discloses the first resource (see fig.7, PSFCH resource(s), see para.0167-0168, which discusses mapping relationship between the PSCCH resources and the PSFCH resources is one-to-many, see para.0171, which discusses the RX UEs in the group may determine the corresponding PSFCH resource within the set of the plurality of PSFCH resources corresponding to the PSCCH resources of the plurality of sub-channels, see para.0174), Wu’032 does not explicitly show the use of “performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of the first resource; in a case of successful access, occupying, by the first UE, the first resource to transmit feedback information; and in a case of failed access, performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of next first resource or locations of next multiple first resources” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of the first resource; in a case of successful access, occupying, by the first UE, the first resource to transmit feedback information; and in a case of failed access, performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of next first resource or locations of next multiple first resources” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Xue’709.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Xue’709 teaches the use of performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of the first resource(see para.0046, which discusses a set of PSFCH resources (e.g., a PSFCH opportunity) over which the second UE may transmit the feedback to the first UE… the second UE as first UE may perform listen-before-talk (LBT), such as an LBT procedure or a channel access procedure, prior to getting access to the PSFCH opportunity as first resource); in a case of successful access, occupying, by the first UE, the first resource to transmit feedback information(see para.0046, which discusses a set of PSFCH resources (e.g., a PSFCH opportunity) over which the second UE may transmit the feedback to the first UE) ; and in a case of failed access, performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of next first resource or locations of next multiple first resources(see para.0119, which discusses in which the PSFCH opportunity 315-a is the primary PSFCH opportunity, in which the PSFCH opportunity 315-a fails LBT, and in which the PSFCH opportunity 315-b and the PSFCH opportunity 315-c (which may both be secondary PSFCH opportunities) pass LBT, the second UE 115 may transmit feedback over one of the PSFCH opportunity 315-b or the PSFCH opportunity 315-c (e.g., randomly or based on a UE decision), thus the PSFCH opportunity 315-b and the PSFCH opportunity 315-c as next resource (which may both be secondary PSFCH opportunities) pass LBT ).
In view of the above, having the system of Wu’032 and then given the well-established teaching of Xue’709, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu’032 to include “performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of the first resource; in a case of successful access, occupying, by the first UE, the first resource to transmit feedback information; and in a case of failed access, performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of next first resource or locations of next multiple first resources” as taught by Xue’709, since Xue’709 stated in para.0206+ that such a modification would provide techniques for improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability, among other benefits.
Regarding claim 12, Wu’032 discloses wherein the feedback information comprises at least one(due to at least one language, only one of them is being considered) of following: an identifier (ID) of a receiving UE of the feedback information; an ID of the first UE; a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process ID; an acknowledgment (ACK) or negative acknowledgment (NACK); or discontinuous transmission (DTX) (see para.0074, which discuses new channel for feeding back the HARQ-ACK, that is, the Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH), see para.0094, which discusses PSFCH (ACK or NACK)).
Regarding claim 13, Wu’032 discloses wherein the method further comprises at least one(due one language, only one of them is being considered) of following: in a case that the feedback information is NACK (see para.0074, which discuses new channel for feeding back the HARQ-ACK, that is, the Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH), see para.0094, which discusses PSFCH (ACK or NACK), performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of next first resource or locations of next multiple first resources; in a case that the feedback information is ACK, stopping, by the first UE, performing the channel access procedure at a location of a subsequent first resource; or determining, by the first UE based on an indication from a second UE, a scheduling UE, or a network-side device, whether to perform the channel access procedure at the location of a subsequent first resource.
As discussed above, although Wu’032 discloses in a case that the feedback information is NACK (see para.0074, which discuses new channel for feeding back the HARQ-ACK, that is, the Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH), see para.0094, which discusses PSFCH (ACK or NACK), Wu’032 does not explicitly show the use of “performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of next first resource or locations of next multiple first resources; in a case that the feedback information is ACK, stopping, by the first UE, performing the channel access procedure at a location of a subsequent first resource; or determining, by the first UE based on an indication from a second UE, a scheduling UE, or a network-side device, whether to perform the channel access procedure at the location of a subsequent first resource” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of next first resource or locations of next multiple first resources; in a case that the feedback information is ACK, stopping, by the first UE, performing the channel access procedure at a location of a subsequent first resource; or determining, by the first UE based on an indication from a second UE, a scheduling UE, or a network-side device, whether to perform the channel access procedure at the location of a subsequent first resource” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Xue’709.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Xue’709 teaches the use of performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of next first resource or locations of next multiple first resources; in a case that the feedback information is ACK, stopping, by the first UE, performing the channel access procedure at a location of a subsequent first resource; or determining, by the first UE based on an indication from a second UE, a scheduling UE, or a network-side device, whether to perform the channel access procedure at the location of a subsequent first resource(see para.0119, which discusses in which the PSFCH opportunity 315-a is the primary PSFCH opportunity, in which the PSFCH opportunity 315-a fails LBT, and in which the PSFCH opportunity 315-b and the PSFCH opportunity 315-c (which may both be secondary PSFCH opportunities) pass LBT, the second UE 115 may transmit feedback over one of the PSFCH opportunity 315-b or the PSFCH opportunity 315-c (e.g., randomly or based on a UE decision), thus the PSFCH opportunity 315-b and the PSFCH opportunity 315-c as next resource (which may both be secondary PSFCH opportunities) pass LBT ).
In view of the above, having the system of Wu’032 and then given the well-established teaching of Xue’709, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu’032 to include “performing, by the first UE, the channel access procedure at a location of next first resource or locations of next multiple first resources; in a case that the feedback information is ACK, stopping, by the first UE, performing the channel access procedure at a location of a subsequent first resource; or determining, by the first UE based on an indication from a second UE, a scheduling UE, or a network-side device, whether to perform the channel access procedure at the location of a subsequent first resource” as taught by Xue’709, since Xue’709 stated in para.0206+ that such a modification would provide techniques for improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability, among other benefits.
Regarding claim 15, Wu’032 discloses further comprising indicating, by the second UE or the scheduling UE based on at least one of RRC signaling, a MAC CE, or SCI, a first mapping rule of the first UE(see para.0101, which discusses if the PSCCH/PSSCH resources are indicated to be reserved in advance by the SCI, see para.0141, which discusses indicated by the indication information of the PSFCH resources included in the SCI, see fig.7).
Regarding claim 19, Wu’032 discloses a UE, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the method for determining a sidelink feedback resource according to claim 14 are implemented are implemented(see fig.12, which shows UE including memory 121 storing computer program to be executed by the processor 122, see abs, see fig.7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Following prior arts are related to the present claimed invention:
Ye et al (US 2022/0311582) teaches, see para.0106-107, Code domain (OCC) may be applied to support multiple PSFCHs and more than one PSFCH time/frequency resource is associated with one PSSCH resource.
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474