DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 2/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haertling et al (US 3741627).
Regarding Claim 9, Haertling teaches an optical system component (abstract; figs. 1-3), comprising
a single crystal (fig. 3, 22; col. 3, line 54-57, Structure 22 may thus be formed from any conventional ferroelectric crystals) having a top side, a bottom side, and two opposing middle sides (fig 3, 22, 36, 38, 44);
electrodes on the two opposing middle sides of the single crystal (fig. 3, 36, 38);
electrical contacts to provide voltage to the electrodes (fig. 3, 40, 42, fig. 1, 24; col. 4, line 9-20, structure 22 may be provided with electrodes 36 and 38 along two of the parallel edges thereof. When an electric field is produced between these electrodes by voltage applied to terminals 40 and 42 by voltage source 24); and
a compression stress source to apply stress to the top side of the single crystal (fig. 3, 20, 44; fig. 2, 20, 26; col. 3, line 48---col. 4, line 8, The ferroelectric and piezoelectric structure 22 is generally formed of a material which has a sufficiently large piezoelectric and/or electrostrictive strain to produce the desired strain in the ferroelectric ceramic plate 26; When the piezoelectric structure 22 expands or contracts in one dimension (the thickness or longitudinal direction) it generally contracts or expands respectively, in dimensions in a plane perpendicular thereto (planar or transverse directions) (--there is a compression stress source to cause piezoelectric structure 22 to contract). With ferroelectric member 20 appropriately mounted and attached to structure 22, member 20 may be subjected to desired stresses. In this electrooptic device, it is desirable that member 20 be subjected to a uniaxial stress in a plane parallel to the major surfaces of the ferroelectric ceramic plate 26).
Regarding Claim 11, Haertling teaches the component of claim 9, wherein the compression stress source comprises a bias stress stage, a bias stress connector rod, a ceramic sphere, and a crystal placement setting (fig. 1, 24; fig. 3, 34, 20; fig. 2, 20, 26; col. 3, line 48-66, The ferroelectric and piezoelectric structure 22 is generally formed of a material which has a sufficiently large piezoelectric and/or electrostrictive strain to produce the desired strain in the ferroelectric ceramic plate 26; Structure 22 is subjected to a voltage from voltage source 24 of appropriate amplitude and polarity between some dimensions of structure 22 which will cause the piezoelectric to contract or expand in that dimension).
Regarding Claim 12, Haertling teaches the component of claim 9, wherein the optical system component does not include a polarizer (fig. 1, 16; fig. 3, 22; ---no polarizer involved).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haertling et al (US 3741627) in the view of Liu et al, “Ferroelectric crystals with giant electro-optic property enabling ultracompact Q-switches”, Science 376, 22 April 2022, p1–7.
Regarding Claim 1, Haertling teaches a method of light modulation (abstract; figs. 1-3), comprising
placing a single crystal in a device housing (fig. 1, 16, 20, 22),
wherein the single crystal (fig. 3, 22; col. 3, line 54-57, Structure 22 may thus be formed from any conventional ferroelectric crystals) has a top side, a bottom side, and two opposing middle sides (fig 3, 22, 36, 38, 44);
placing electrodes on the two opposing middle sides of the single crystal (fig. 3, 36, 38);
attaching electrical contacts to provide voltage to the electrodes and form an electric field (fig. 3, 40, 42, fig. 1, 24; col. 4, line 9-20, structure 22 may be provided with electrodes 36 and 38 along two of the parallel edges thereof. When an electric field is produced between these electrodes by voltage applied to terminals 40 and 42 by voltage source 24);
attaching a compression stress source to the top side of the single crystal (fig. 3, 20, 44; fig. 2, 20, 26; col. 3, line 48---col. 4, line 8, The ferroelectric and piezoelectric structure 22 is generally formed of a material which has a sufficiently large piezoelectric and/or electrostrictive strain to produce the desired strain in the ferroelectric ceramic plate 26; When the piezoelectric structure 22 expands or contracts in one dimension (the thickness or longitudinal direction) it generally contracts or expands respectively, in dimensions in a plane perpendicular thereto (planar or transverse directions) (--there is a compression stress source to cause piezoelectric structure 22 to contract). With ferroelectric member 20 appropriately mounted and attached to structure 22, member 20 may be subjected to desired stresses. In this electrooptic device, it is desirable that member 20 be subjected to a uniaxial stress in a plane parallel to the major surfaces of the ferroelectric ceramic plate 26),
applying the electric field to the single crystal; applying a compression stress to the crystal, or applying both (col. 4, line 9-20, structure 22 may be provided with electrodes 36 and 38 along two of the parallel edges thereof. When an electric field is produced between these electrodes by voltage applied to terminals 40 and 42 by voltage source 24; col. 3, line 48-66, The ferroelectric and piezoelectric structure 22 is generally formed of a material which has a sufficiently large piezoelectric and/or electrostrictive strain to produce the desired strain in the ferroelectric ceramic plate 26; Structure 22 is subjected to a voltage from voltage source 24 of appropriate amplitude and polarity between some dimensions of structure 22 which will cause the piezoelectric to contract or expand in that dimension).
But Haertling does not specifically disclose that dynamically switching a reversible phase transformation between an opaque state and a transparent state of the single crystal.
However, Liu teaches a electro-optic modulator (abstract), wherein dynamically switching a reversible phase transformation between an opaque state and a transparent state of the single crystal (page 1, col. 3, line 20-40, Pb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 - Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- PbTiO3(PIN-PMN-PT) relaxor ferroelectric crystals to boost transparency in mutually orthogonal directions through removal of undesired domain walls; We used such poled PIN-PMN-PT crystals to construct an ultracompact free-space EO Q-switch; fig. 4 (B), Q-switch-control signal, pulse output (in Q switch transparent); and page 5, col. 2, line 35-55, the Q-switch is in high-loss mode under the hold-off state; leading to zero laser output power; A pulsed laser… is generated… through application of a control signal on the PIN-PMN-32PT Q-switch; ---the Q-switch is dynamically switching a reversible phase transformation between an opaque state and a transparent state of the single crystal to produce a laser output pulse train, see fig. 4(H)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light modulation of Haertling by the electro-optic modulator of Liu for the purpose of a electro-optic modulator which demonstrated its feasibility and effectiveness in miniaturization and driving voltage reduction (page 1, col. 3, line 20-40).
Regarding Claim 2, Haertling - Liu combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the crystal comprises Pb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 - Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- PbTiO3 (page 1, col. 3, line 20-40, Pb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 - Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- PbTiO3(PIN-PMN-PT) relaxor ferroelectric crystals to boost transparency in mutually orthogonal directions through removal of undesired domain walls; We used such poled PIN-PMN-PT crystals to construct an ultracompact free-space EO Q-switch, as disclosed in Liu).
.
Regarding Claim 3, Haertling - Liu combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the compression stress source comprises a bias stress stage, a bias stress connector rod, a ceramic sphere, and a crystal placement setting (fig. 1, 24; fig. 3, 34, 20; fig. 2, 20, 26; col. 3, line 48-66, The ferroelectric and piezoelectric structure 22 is generally formed of a material which has a sufficiently large piezoelectric and/or electrostrictive strain to produce the desired strain in the ferroelectric ceramic plate 26; Structure 22 is subjected to a voltage from voltage source 24 of appropriate amplitude and polarity between some dimensions of structure 22 which will cause the piezoelectric to contract or expand in that dimension, as disclosed in Haertling).
Regarding Claim 4, Haertling - Liu combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the optical system component does not include a polarizer fig. 1, 16; fig. 3, 22; ---no polarizer involved, as disclosed in Haertling).
Regarding Claim 10, Haertling discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the component of claim 9, wherein the crystal comprises Pb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 - Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- PbTiO3.
However, Liu teaches a electro-optic modulator (abstract), wherein the crystal comprises Pb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 - Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- PbTiO3 (page 1, col. 3, line 20-40, Pb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 - Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- PbTiO3(PIN-PMN-PT) relaxor ferroelectric crystals to boost transparency in mutually orthogonal directions through removal of undesired domain walls; We used such poled PIN-PMN-PT crystals to construct an ultracompact free-space EO Q-switch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light modulation of Haertling by the electro-optic modulator of Liu for the purpose of a electro-optic modulator which demonstrated its feasibility and effectiveness in miniaturization and driving voltage reduction (page 1, col. 3, line 20-40).
Regarding Claim 13, Haertling - Liu combination teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein the single crystal comprises a <100> direction and a <011> direction (fig. 1 (A), [011], [100], as disclosed in Liu),
wherein said applying the electric field to the single crystal applying a compression stress to the crystal, or applying both comprises at least one of:
applying the compression stress along the <100> direction; and
applying the electric field through the <011> direction (page 2, col. 2, line 4-10, As the electric field is applied along the [011] direction, as disclosed in Liu).
Regarding Claim 14, Haertling - Liu combination teaches the component according to claim 9,
wherein the single crystal comprises a <011> direction (fig. 1 (A), [011], as disclosed in Liu);
wherein said electrodes are situated to provide the voltage through the <011> direction (fig. 3, 40/36, 42/38, as disclosed in Haertling; page 2, col. 2, line 4-10, As the electric field is applied along the [011] direction, as disclosed in Liu).
Regarding Claim 15, Haertling - Liu combination teaches the component according to claim 9,
wherein the single crystal comprises a <100> direction (fig. 1 (A), [100], as disclosed in Liu),
wherein said compression stress source is situated to apply the stress along the <100> direction of the single crystal (fig. 1 (A), [011], [100]; page 2, col. 2, line 4-10, As the electric field is applied along the [011] direction, as disclosed in Liu; fig. 3, 22, 20, 40/36, 42/38; -- electric field is applied along the 36—38 direction, compression stress field is applied along 20—22 surface, as disclosed in Haertling).
Regarding Claim 16, Haertling - Liu combination teaches the component of claim 9, wherein the crystal comprises [011]-electrically poled Pb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 - Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- PbTiO3 (page 1, col. 3, line 20-40, Pb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 - Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- PbTiO3(PIN-PMN-PT) relaxor ferroelectric crystals to boost transparency in mutually orthogonal directions through removal of undesired domain walls; We used such poled PIN-PMN-PT crystals to construct an ultracompact free-space EO Q-switch, as disclosed in Liu).
Regarding Claim 17, Haertling - Liu combination teaches the component of claim 9, wherein the crystal comprises a doping near a morphotropic phase boundary (page 2, col. 2, line 4-21, One of the most important features of relaxor ferroelectric crystals such as PIN-PMN-PT is the ease of polarization rotation under an external electric field along the nonpolar direction, which is associated with the flattened free energy landscape near the morphotropic phase boundary and the presence of nanoscale local structure heterogeneity, as disclosed in Liu).
Regarding Claim 18, Haertling - Liu combination teaches the component of claim 17, wherein the crystal comprises xPb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 –(1-x-y) Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- yPbTiO3 (PIN-PMN-PT) with x ~ 0.24 and y ~0.30 (page 1, col. 3, line 20-40, Pb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 - Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- PbTiO3(PIN-PMN-PT) relaxor ferroelectric crystals to boost transparency in mutually orthogonal directions through removal of undesired domain walls; We used such poled PIN-PMN-PT crystals to construct an ultracompact free-space EO Q-switch, as disclosed in Liu; ---the x, y values can be chosen as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 2/24/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
(A), Haertling et al or Liu et al., alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the inventive method as defined in claim 1 “dynamically switching a reversible phase transformation between an opaque state and a transparent state of the single crystal”.
(B), Haertling et al or Liu et al., alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the inventive optical system component as defined in claim 9 “a compression stress source to apply stress to the top side of the single crystal”. Haertling et al., at column 4, lines 14-23, discloses that "If ferroelectric member 20 is fastened or fixedly secured against a major surface of structure 22, as shown, using an adhesive or the like bonding layer 44 over an entire major surface of member 20, ferroelectric ceramic plate 26 will be subjected to a uniaxial tensile strain in the same direction as the electric field. This strain produces a strain bias in member 20 and produces the desired anisotropy in the plane of the ceramic plate 26." Tensile strain is the measure of deformation (i.e., elongation) in a material caused by pulling forces, whereas compressive stress is a pushing force per unit area that causes a material to shorten. However, because tensile strain is not the same as compressive stress, a source (not shown in Hae1iling et al.) of tensile strain is not a source of compressive stress, as recited in claim 9.
In response to applicant's argument(s):
(A), Liu teaches in page 1, col. 3, line 20-40, that “Pb((In1/2 Nb1/2 )O3 - Pb((Mg1/3 Nb2/3)O3- PbTiO3(PIN-PMN-PT) relaxor ferroelectric crystals to boost transparency in mutually orthogonal directions through removal of undesired domain walls; We used such poled PIN-PMN-PT crystals to construct an ultracompact free-space EO Q-switch”; and in fig. 4 (B), Q-switch-control signal, pulse output (in Q switch transparent); and in page 5, col. 2, line 35-55, that “the Q-switch is in high-loss mode under the hold-off state; leading to zero laser output power; A pulsed laser… is generated… through application of a control signal on the PIN-PMN-32PT Q-switch”; ---that is, the Q-switch is dynamically switching a reversible phase transformation between an opaque state and a transparent state of the single crystal to produce a laser output pulse train, see fig. 4(H).
(B), Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). Furthermore, “[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In the Remarks, applicant is cherry picking examples to support his position but ignoring other examples that meet the claimed limitations. Applicants cite Haertling teaching at column 4, lines 14-23. However, Haertling also teaches in fig. 3, 20, 44; fig. 2, 20, 26; and col. 3, line 48---col. 4, line 8, that “The ferroelectric and piezoelectric structure 22 is generally formed of a material which has a sufficiently large piezoelectric and/or electrostrictive strain to produce the desired strain in the ferroelectric ceramic plate 26; When the piezoelectric structure 22 expands or contracts in one dimension (the thickness or longitudinal direction) it generally contracts or expands respectively, in dimensions in a plane perpendicular thereto (planar or transverse directions). With ferroelectric member 20 appropriately mounted and attached to structure 22, member 20 may be subjected to desired stresses. In this electrooptic device, it is desirable that member 20 be subjected to a uniaxial stress in a plane parallel to the major surfaces of the ferroelectric ceramic plate 26 ---there is a compression stress source to cause piezoelectric structure 22 to contract.
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872