Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“grip portion” in claims 1, 2, 4, and 7-12;
“energizing portion” in claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, and 13;
“operation portion” in claims 3-6;
“deformation maintaining portion” in claims 4-6 and 9;
“maintaining state change portion” in claims 4-6 and 9;
“operation fixing portion” in claim 6;
“grip operation portion” in claims 7-9;
“release portion” in claims 8 and 9;
“hitting portion” in claim 10;
“first clamping portion” in claim 11;
“second clamping portion” in claim 11;
“cam portion” in claim 11;
“placement portion” in claim 12;
“energizing operation portion” in claim 13;
“handle portion” in claim 13.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Avneri et al. (JP 2015-510830 A – Cited by Applicant), hereinafter Avneri.
Regarding claim 8, Avneri discloses a wire feeding device [vascular cannulation device 10, see in Fig. 1A] for feeding a wire [guidewire 12, see in Fig. 3A] in a distal end direction, the wire feeding device comprising: a grip portion [gripper 204, see in Fig. 3A] configured to grip and release the wire and to move in the distal end direction and a proximal end direction [see in ¶ 0145]; an elastic body [spring 201, see in Fig. 3A] configured to bias the grip portion toward the distal end direction; an energizing portion [slider 202 and trigger 216, see in Fig. 3A] configured to deform the elastic body and increase a biasing force of the elastic body toward the distal end direction [see in ¶ 0143]; and a release portion [lever 214 and diaphragm 210, see in Figs. 3B-C] that releases a deformation state of the elastic body with the biasing force increased by the energizing portion, wherein the wire gripped by the grip portion is fed toward the distal end direction by moving the grip portion in the distal end direction by the biasing force of the elastic body whose deformation state is released by the release portion [see in ¶ 0143], and the wire feeding device further comprises a grip operation portion [handle 250, see in Figs. 3A-C] configured to operate a state of gripping of the wire by the grip portion.
Regarding claim 9, Avneri discloses the wire feeding device according to claim 8, wherein the release portion includes a deformation maintaining portion configured to maintain the deformation state of the elastic body that is in a predetermined state due to an increase in the biasing force by the energizing portion [see in ¶ 0119 – ¶ 0120, and ¶ 0145], and a maintaining state change portion configured to change a state to a state in which maintaining of the deformation state of the elastic body by the deformation maintaining portion is disabled, and the grip operation portion is configured to operate the grip portion gripping the wire to a state of grip release when the deformation state of the elastic body is maintained by the deformation maintaining portion [see in ¶ 0143].
Regarding claim 11, Avneri discloses the wire feeding device according to claim 1, wherein the grip portion includes a first clamping portion and a second clamping portion [two halves 234, see in Fig. 4] that clamp the wire, and a cam portion [slider 202, see in Figs. 3A-C] configured to adjust a distance between the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion [see in Figs. 4, 5A, 5B, and ¶ 0141].
Regarding claim 13, Avneri discloses the wire feeding device according to claim 1, further comprising an energizing operation portion [slider 202 and trigger 216, see in Fig. 3A] configured to be manually operated to increase the biasing force of the elastic body by the energizing portion [see in ¶ 0143], wherein the energizing operation portion includes a handle portion [handle 250, see in ¶ 0145] configured to be manually operated to a position offset from a placement position of the wire.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art of record are the following:
Avneri et al. (JP 2015-510830 A – Cited by Applicant);
Yamagiwa et al. (US 20220211398 A1 – Cited by Applicant), hereinafter Yamagiwa.
Avneri discloses a wire feeding device [vascular cannulation device 10, see in Fig. 1A] for feeding a wire [guidewire 12, see in Fig. 3A] in a distal end direction, the wire feeding device comprising: a grip portion [gripper 204, see in Fig. 3A] configured to grip and release the wire and to move in the distal end direction and a proximal end direction [see in ¶ 0145]; an elastic body [spring 201, see in Fig. 3A] configured to bias the grip portion toward the distal end direction; and an energizing portion [slider 202 and trigger 216, see in Fig. 3A] configured to deform the elastic body and increase a biasing force of the elastic body toward the distal end direction, wherein when deformation of the elastic body by the energizing portion is released, the wire gripped by the grip portion is fed in the distal end direction by the biasing force of the elastic body [see in ¶ 0143]. Avneri fails to disclose that the wire feeding device is configured to be operated in (i) a first mode in which the wire is continuously fed in the distal end direction according to a first predetermined operation and (ii) a second mode in which the wire is fed once in the distal end direction according to a second predetermined operation.
Yamagiwa discloses an embodiment where the wire is fed once in the distal end direction [the wire feeding device 51 according to the present embodiment, the guide wire GW may be fed by only an appropriate amount by applying impact force due to the energizing force accumulated in the push spring 62 on the guide wire GW. In this manner, an impact force on the guide wire GW, which allows the guide wire GW to penetrate an occluding object, may be more effectively applied, see in ¶ 0145]. However, Yamagiwa fails to disclose the wire feeding device comprising two operating modes, in which the other mode feeds the wire is continuously fed in the distal end direction according to a first predetermined operation.
The closest prior arts of record, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the details of the wire feeding device being configured to be operated in (i) a first mode in which the wire is continuously fed in the distal end direction according to a first predetermined operation and (ii) a second mode in which the wire is fed once in the distal end direction according to a second predetermined operation.
Claims 1-7, 10, and 12 are allowed.
Conclusion
/ERIC F WINAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/HY KHANH DOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3791