DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 12/7/25 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the (helical) channel formed in the exterior circumference must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings show a channel, but not that the channel is formed in the exterior circumference, implying a groove or recessed area into the circumference. Instead, the channel could be claimed as on the exterior circumference or just claim as a channel. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30-31, 40-42, 47-48 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brittingham, US Patent No. 7,610,710.
Regarding claim 30, Brittingham discloses a firearm accessory adapter comprising: a body (9) having a front end (muzzle direction/right side of figures 3, 5 and 6 for example) opposite a rear end (firearm/left side of figures 3, 5 and 6 for example) and a longitudinal axis extending from the front end to the rear end; a plurality of ridges (18) extending from an exterior circumference of the body, each ridge having a front face and a rear face (figure 5 shows interrupted threads 18 with front and rear facing surfaces); and a channel formed in the exterior circumference of the body (in as much as the applicant discloses a channel being formed in the exterior circumference, figures 3 and 5 broadly, yet reasonably, have a channel that is on the exterior circumference. The channel following the path of the treads and including the shoulder rear of the threads), the channel having a substantially continuous rear sidewall (forward facing surface of the shoulder in front of 5 as annotated below) and a front sidewall defined by the rear faces of the plurality of ridges (rear faces of 18 as annotated below for example), the front sidewall having a plurality of openings between the plurality of ridges (6); wherein the channel is configured to receive one or more interior ridges (13 as in figures 4 and 6) of a firearm accessory through one or more of the plurality of openings in the front sidewall, and is further configured such that rotation of the firearm accessory relative to the firearm accessory adapter draws the received one or more interior ridges toward the rear end and forces the one or more interior ridges into contact with the substantially continuous rear sidewall (3:56-4:6).
ANNOTATED FIGURE
Regarding claim 31, further discloses the channel is further configured to draw the one or more interior ridges into a locked configuration with less than 180 degrees of rotation of the firearm accessory relative to the firearm accessory adapter (the interrupted thread configuration only requires 90 degrees of rotation to lock the two components when properly installed)
Regarding claim 40, Brittingham further discloses internal threads (threads of 9 which receive threads on barrel 14 in figure 3) proximate the rear end.
Regarding claim 41, Brittingham further discloses the rear end of the body of the firearm accessory adapter is adjacent to a firing end of a barrel of a firearm (orientation shown in figure 3), and a second rear end the firearm accessory is adjacent to the front end of the body of the firearm accessory adapter (figure 6 broadly shows the rear end of the accessory/accessory mount 1 adjacent the forward end of the accessory adapter).
Regarding claim 42, Brittingham further discloses wherein the channel is helical (channel defined by threads 17 and 18 are helical).
Regarding claim 47, Brittingham discloses an adapter (9) for use with a firearm, comprising: a body having a front end, a rear end, and an exterior surface (figures 3, 5 and 6 for example), the front end configured to be received into a firearm accessory and the rear end configured to receive a firearm barrel (shown in figure 3 reasonably); a helical channel in the exterior surface (in as much as the applicant disclose a helical channel in the exterior surface, the interrupted threads 17/18 and rear wall annotated above form a channel that meets the limitation), the helical channel having a substantially continuous rear sidewall (annotated above); and a plurality of exterior ridges (17 and 18 protrusions of the interrupted threads) defining a discontinuous front sidewall of the helical channel (forward facing surface of the interrupted threads is interrupted/discontinuous), wherein at least one opening (6) between the plurality of exterior ridges is configured to receive, upon relative translational movement of the firearm accessory and the adapter, an interior ridge (13) of the firearm accessory, and further wherein relative rotational movement between the firearm accessory and the adapter causes the helical channel to draw the received interior ridge toward the rear end of the adapter and forces a rear face of the interior ridge against the substantially continuous rear sidewall (3:56-4:6).
Regarding claim 48, Brittingham further discloses the helical channel is configured to draw the firearm accessory into a locked configuration with less than 180 degrees of relative rotation of the firearm accessory and the adapter (the interrupted thread configuration only requires 90 degrees of rotation to lock the two components when properly installed)
Regarding claim 50, Brittingham further discloses the at least one opening comprises a plurality of openings (2 openings 6 disclosed), and the plurality of openings are configured to receive, upon relative translational movement of the firearm accessory and the adapter, a plurality of interior ridges (13) (3:45-4:6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brittingham in view of Brittingham, US Patent Publication No. 2010/0139145, hereafter Brittingham Pub.
Regarding claims 32 and 49, Brittingham discloses a seating surface 11 which mates with a surface 15 of the accessory mounting element 1; however, Brittingham does not specifically disclose the mating surfaces are tapered. Nonetheless, Brittingham Pub teaches analogous art and specifically teaches seating surfaces 12 and 11 which are positioned similarly to surfaces 11 and 15 and surfaces 12 and 11 being tapered.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the mating surfaces of Brittingham to be tapered similar to that as taught by Brittingham Pub with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure the suppressor and adapters are properly centered as taught by Brittingham Pub in [0027] which would ensure safe and reliable performance.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brittingham as modified by Brittingham Pub in view of Graham, US Patent Publication No. 2010/02229712.
Regarding claim 33, Brittingham and Brittingham Pub discloses an interface between the tapered surface of the adapter and the opposing tapered surface of the firearm accessory (as detailed in the rejection of claim 32); however, the combination does not specifically disclose the interface forms a gas seal. Nonetheless, Graham teaches a similar structure with mating tapered surfaces which interface with one another and form a gas seal at 100.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify or recognize the interface of Brittingham to form a gas seal similar to that as taught by Graham with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure the gases are contained in the suppressor attachment such that the suppressor is able to fully function as intended and in order to prevent debris from entering the threaded quick connection and affecting the ability to disconnect the components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DERRICK R MORGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641