DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Applicant Response to Official Action
The response filed on 9/16/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Acknowledgment
Claims 1-20 were canceled. They are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 21-23, 25, 28-34, and 36, amended on 9/16/2025, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21, 29, 33, and their dependent claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant. Examiner addresses the main arguments of the Applicant as below.
Regarding the claim objection, the amendment filed on 9/16/2025 addresses the issue. As a result, the claim objection is withdrawn.
Regarding the drawing objection, the amendment filed on 9/16/2025 addresses the issue. As a result, the drawing objection is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation, the amendment filed on 9/16/2025 addresses the issue. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection, the amendment filed on 9/16/2025 addresses the issue. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, the amendment filed on 9/16/2025 addresses the issue. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claims 33 recites "the drones". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, claim 33 and its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claims 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claims 33 recites "the speaker". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, claim 33 and its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trundle (US Patent Application Publication US 2017/0092109 A1), (“Trundle”), in view of Marlow et al. (US Patent 9,505,494 B1), (“Marlow”), in view of Bethke et al. (US Patent US 9,658,619 B1), (“Bethke”).
Regarding claim 21, Trundle discloses:
A drone security system ((a monitoring system) [Trundle: para 0119; Figs. 1-7]; (one or more drones) [Trundle: para 0004; Figs. 1-7]) for monitoring one or more areas of interest for unusual activity occurring within the one or more areas of interest (the monitoring application server 760 may send a control command to each of the drone devices 780 and 782 that causes the drone devices 780 and 782 to perform a coordinated and automated search for persons outside the property. Based on the control command received, each of the drone devices 780 and 782 begins navigating towards the property and captures images of the property while navigating. Each of the drone devices 780 and 782 may execute a predefined navigation pattern) [Trundle: para 0167], the drone security system comprising (a monitoring system) [Trundle: para 0119; Figs. 1-7]:
a communication hub (the monitoring application server) [Trundle: para 0058; Figs. 1-8];
a drone (one or more drones) [Trundle: para 0004; Figs. 1-7] having at least one camera (one or more cameras) [Trundle: para 0132] for performing live security surveillance of the one or more areas of interest (The deployed drone may begin to travel along a predetermined flight path to perform routine surveillance) [Trundle: para 0205] and where the drone is configured to be automatically dispatched (In some implementations, the drone devices 780 and 782 automatically navigate to a location of a property in response to receiving an alarm signal from the monitoring application server 760) [Trundle: Figs. 6A-7; para 0130] by the communication hub (In some implementations, the drone devices 780 and 782 automatically navigate to a location of a property in response to receiving an alarm signal from the monitoring application server 760) [Trundle: para 0130; Figs. 6A-7] in response to the detection of unusual activity occurring within the one or more areas of interest monitored by the drone security system ((In some implementations, the drone devices 780 and 782 automatically navigate to a location of a property in response to receiving an alarm signal from the monitoring application server 760) [Trundle: Figs. 6A-7; para 0130]; (alarm events that may include security breaches, floods, fires, or carbon monoxide poisoning. The properties may include a security panel that communicates alarm signal information to a monitoring application server, which transmits a signal to dispatch emergency responders in response to detecting the presence of an alarm event) [Trundle: Figs. 6A-7; para 0130]) and where the at least one camera is further directed towards the location (a drone 151 may be equipped with one or more video cameras 151a and a flashlight 151b. The video camera may capture 151c live video feeds that can be transmitted back to the application monitoring server 130 via a network 140 using one or more communications links 142) [Trundle: para 0037] of the unusual activity occurring within the one or more areas of interest monitored by the drone security system when dispatched in response to the detection of unusual activity ((In some implementations, the drone devices 780 and 782 automatically navigate to a location of a property in response to receiving an alarm signal from the monitoring application server 760) [Trundle: Figs. 6A-7; para 0130]; (a drone 151 may be equipped with one or more video cameras 151a and a flashlight 151b. The video camera may capture 151c live video feeds that can be transmitted back to the application monitoring server 130 via a network 140 using one or more communications links 142) [Trundle: para 0037]);where, if the at least one camera (one or more cameras) [Trundle: para 0132] directed toward the location of the unusual activity detects a heat signature (the sensor identifier that property 316 is experiencing a fire. The monitoring application server 330 may use the emergency type ( e.g., fire) to determine that one or more drones should be deployed to the location associated with the smoke sensor that is reporting the presence of smoke. In one implementation, the monitoring application server 330 may identify a set of one or more drones that should be deployed based on the drone's capabilities for assisting with a fire.) [Trundle: para 0085], the drone will follow the heat signature detected by the at least one camera and capture video images of the area where the heat signature is detected (the sensor identifier that property 316 is experiencing a fire. The monitoring application server 330 may use the emergency type ( e.g., fire) to determine that one or more drones should be deployed to the location associated with the smoke sensor that is reporting the presence of smoke. In one implementation, the monitoring application server 330 may identify a set of one or more drones that should be deployed based on the drone's capabilities for assisting with a fire) [Trundle: para 0085],where the drone records video of the unusual activity (The instructions to the monitor control unit 412a, 414b, 414c may instruct the monitor control unit such as monitor control unit 412a to perform one or more actions. The actions may include, for example, … , initiate recording on external cameras) [Trundle: para 0072] and transmits the video to (the system 700 provides end users with access to images captured by the camera 730 to aid in decision making. The system 700 may transmit the images captured by the camera 730 over a wireless WAN network to the user devices 740, 750) [Trundle: para 0165] the communication hub (the monitoring application server) [Trundle: para 0058; Figs. 1-8];where the communication hub (the monitoring application server) [Trundle: para 0058; Figs. 1-8] communicates drone location data to a smart device and makes the video available to the smart device ((The system 700 may transmit the images captured by the camera 730 over a wireless WAN network to the user devices 740, 750) [Trundle: para 0165]; (the user device 740 may be a cellular phone) [Trundle: para 0155; Figs. 1-8]) through which the smart device (the user device 740 may be a cellular phone) [Trundle: para 0155; Figs. 1-8] can then send commands to the drone ((the system 700 provides end users with access to images captured by the camera 730 to aid in decision making) [Trundle: para 0165]; (a user provides input to control the drone devices 780 and 782 to perform a specific navigation action) [Li: para. 0131; Fig. 7]) through the communication hub ((the monitoring application server) [Trundle: para 0058; Figs. 1-8]; (a user may access the customizable drone surveillance settings in order to toggle one or more specific customizable drone surveillance settings) [Trundle: para 0098; Figs. 1-8]);where the communication hub (the monitoring application server) [Trundle: para 0058; Figs. 1-8] can further provide alerts (the monitoring application server 760 may control the drone devices 780 and 782 to search for a person in the property and provide the critical alert very close to an identified person) [Trundle: para 0180; Figs. 1-8] to the smart device (the user device 740 may be a cellular phone) [Trundle: para 0155; Figs. 1-8] regarding one or more operations (operation of an alarm system) [Trundle: para 0119; Figs. 1-7] and conditions of the drone (drone cannot enter the airspace) [Trundle: para 0099; Figs. 1-7] and where the drone is further programmed to wait for a certain period of time in response to certain alerts for a response from the smart device before performing further operations ((await instructions as to the engagement policy that the drone should employ) [Trundle: para 0058]; (waits until the preferred time period to initiate) [Trundle: para 0179]); and where the drone returns to the communication hub in response to a power unit of the drone needing to be recharged (Once the battery power for the selected device falls below a threshold, the monitoring application server 760 may return the selected device to a charging station and select the drone device with the presently highest available battery power to resume the monitoring options being performed. The monitoring application server 760 may cycle through all of the drone devices 780 and 782 in an intelligent manner that best leverages the battery power available) [Trundle: para 0072].
Trundle does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the heat signature detected by the at least one camera.
However, in the same field of endeavor Marlow further discloses the deficient claim limitation as follows:
the heat signature detected by the at least one camera (UAV 302 detects that there is a life threatening emergency in the house or vehicle that it is monitoring using its onboard sensors, the UAV 302 may detect whether there are people inside the vehicle or house by using thermal images. Thermal images can capture heat signatures inside a house or vehicle which can be resolved by the process 310 of UAV 302 to detect that a person is currently inside the house or vehicle) [Marlow: col. 16, line 29-36].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Trundle with Marlow to program the system to implement of Marlow’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Trundle with Marlow will enable the system to provide additional information from the UAV to appropriate agency, such as insurance, to make appropriate actions. [Marlow: col. 2, line 56-58].
In the same field of endeavor, Bethke further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
the heat signature detected by the at least one camera (For example, an entity can quickly create the first application by identifying waypoints of interest on a nuclear cooling tower. The entity can obtain a second application that enables the determination of radiation, or heat, from the nuclear cooling tower (e.g., from an electronic application store), and include the second application on the UAV 202 as a control source. Therefore, the UAV 202 can follow the first application to travel to identified waypoints, and at each waypoint, the second application can perform functionality to determine whether the nuclear cooling tower is leaking radiation or heat. In this way, specific functionality can be fragmented from the simple creation of flight plans, allowing an entity to easily modify an intended use of the UAV 202) [Bethke: col. 18, line 16-29].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Trundle and Marlow with Bethke to program the system to implement of Bethke’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Trundle and Marlow with Bethke will enable the system ensure that execution of the modular flight commands will result in a safe operation of the UAV [Bethke: col. 1, line 57-59].
Regarding claim 22, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 21. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the drone further communicates (a drone 151 may be equipped with one or more video cameras 151a and a flashlight 151b. The video camera may capture 151c live video feeds that can be transmitted back to the application monitoring server 130 via a network 140 using one or more communications links 142) [Trundle: para 0037] the unusual activity location to the communication hub (the sensor identifier that property 316 is experiencing a fire. The monitoring application server 330 may use the emergency type (e.g., fire) to determine that one or more drones should be deployed to the location associated with the smoke sensor that is reporting the presence of smoke. In one implementation, the monitoring application server 330 may identify a set of one or more drones that should be deployed based on the drone's capabilities for assisting with a fire) [Trundle: para 0085].
Regarding claim 23, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 21. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the drone has at least one microphone (the drone devices 780 and 782 may include one or more cameras, one or more motion sensors, one or more microphones, one or more biometric data collection tools, one or more temperature sensors, one or more humidity sensors, one or more air flow sensors, and/or any other types of sensors that may be useful in capturing monitoring data related to the property location) [Figs. 6A-7; para 0132] and where the drone records audio of the unusual activity and transmits the audio to the communication hub ((a drone 151 may be equipped with one or more video cameras 151a and a flashlight 151b. The video camera may capture 151c live video feeds that can be transmitted back to the application monitoring server 130 via a network 140 using one or more communications links 142) [Trundle: para 0037] – Note: Video feeds include recorded audio); (the drone devices 780 and 782 may be used to provide a critical alert to a user in the property or attempt to wake a sleeping person as appropriate) [Trundle: para 0180]; (For instance, the deployed drone 251 may output an audio message 251d using an output speaker 251c) [Trundle: para 0059]).
Regarding claim 24, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 23. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the drone transmits a live feed of the audio and video communication hub ((a drone 151 may be equipped with one or more video cameras 151a and a flashlight 151b. The video camera may capture 151c live video feeds that can be transmitted back to the application monitoring server 130 via a network 140 using one or more communications links 142) [Trundle: para 0037] – Note: Video feeds include recorded audio); (the drone devices 780 and 782 may be used to provide a critical alert to a user in the property or attempt to wake a sleeping person as appropriate) [Trundle: para 0180] ; (For instance, the deployed drone 251 may output an audio message 251d using an output speaker 251c) [Trundle: para 0059])) to the smart device (The one or more user devices 740, 750 are devices that host and display user interfaces. For instance, the user device 740 is a mobile device that hosts one or more native applications (e.g., the native surveillance application 742). The user device 740 may be a cellular phone or a noncellular locally networked device with a display. The user device 740 may include a cell phone, a smart device, a tablet PC, a personal digital assistant ("PDA"), or any other portable device configured to communicate over a network and display information) [Trundle: para 0115].
Regarding claim 25, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 21. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the communication hub is part of the drone base (The drone augmented surveillance system 300 includes multiple monitor control units 312a, 314a, 316a, a drone base station 320, a monitoring application server 330, and a network 340) [Trundle: para 0073; Please see more details in Figs. 1-8].
Regarding claim 26, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 21. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the smart device is configured to control the drone ((the drone devices 780 and 782 may be capable of moving throughout a location based on
Regarding claim 27, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 21. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the drone transmits at least a video recorded by the least one camera from the location of the unusual activity to a location associated with a traditional alarm system ((a drone 151 may be equipped with one or more video cameras 151a and a flashlight 151b. The video camera may capture 151c live video feeds that can be transmitted back to the application monitoring server 130 via a network 140 using one or more communications links 142) [Trundle: para 0037]; (the monitoring application server 760 may control the drone devices 780 and 782 to search for a person in the property and provide the critical alert very close to an identified person) [Trundle: para 0180; Figs. 1-8]).
Regarding claim 28, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 21. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the drone continues to record video (a drone 151 may be equipped with one or more video cameras 151a and a flashlight 151b. The video camera may capture 151c live video feeds that can be transmitted back to the application monitoring server 130 via a network 140 using one or more communications links 142) [Trundle: para 0037] until the smart devices commands the drone to return to the communication hub (a user provides input to control the drone devices 780 and 782 to perform a specific navigation action (e.g., fly to the property location and spin around while capturing video and then return to a monitoring station)) [Trundle: para 0131; Figs. 1-8]).
Regarding claim 29, Trundle discloses:
A drone security system ((a monitoring system) [Trundle: para 0119; Fig. 1-7]; (one or more drones) [Trundle: para 0004; Fig. 1-7]) for monitoring an area (the monitoring application server 760 may send a control command to each of the drone devices 780 and 782 that causes the drone devices 780 and 782 to perform a coordinated and automated search for persons outside the property. Based on the control command received, each of the drone devices 780 and 782 begins navigating towards the property and captures images of the property while navigating. Each of the drone devices 780 and 782 may execute a predefined navigation pattern) [Trundle: para 0167], the drone security system comprising ((a monitoring system) [Trundle: para 0119; Fig. 1-7]; (one or more drones) [Trundle: para 0004; Fig. 1-7]):a drone for flying within the area to perform surveillance over the area for unusual events (the monitoring application server 760 may send a control command to each of the drone devices 780 and 782 that causes the drone devices 780 and 782 to perform a coordinated and automated search for persons outside the property. Based on the control command received, each of the drone devices 780 and 782 begins navigating towards the property and captures images of the property while navigating. Each of the drone devices 780 and 782 may execute a predefined navigation pattern) [Trundle: para 0167], where the drone comprises (one or more drones) [Trundle: para 0004; Figs. 1-7]:a memory (a read-only memory and/or a random access memory) [Trundle: para 0206];a navigation unit (GPS) [Trundle: para 0061];a radio module ((radio) [Trundle: para 0118]; (radio module) [Trundle: para 0120]); a motor control unit (the controller) [Trundle: para 0119]; at least two cameras (one or more cameras) [Trundle: para 0132]; a power unit adapted to connect to a charging port (Once the battery power for the selected device falls below a threshold, the monitoring application server 760 may return the selected device to a charging station) [Trundle: para 0072; Figs. 1-7]; and controller unit coupled to a processor (the controller 712 may include a processor or other control circuitry configured to execute instructions of a program that controls operation of an alarm system) [Trundle: para 0119; Figs. 1-7], the power unit (charging) [Trundle: para 0072], the radio module (radio module) [Trundle: para 0120], the navigation unit (GPS) [Trundle: para 0061] and the at least two cameras (one or more cameras) [Trundle: para 0132], where the controller unit (the controller) [Trundle: para 0119] receives a predetermined flight path (the deployed drones 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156 may be configured to travel in predetermined flight paths) [Trundle: para 0037] to perform surveillance via the radio module (the deployed drones 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156 may be configured to travel in predetermined flight paths) [Trundle: para 0037], executes the predetermined flight path at a predetermined time to perform the surveillance (The deployed drone may begin to travel along a predetermined flight path to perform routine surveillance) [Trundle: para 0205] and directs one of the at least two cameras (The instructions to the monitor control unit 412a, 414b, 414c may instruct the monitor control unit such as monitor control unit 412a to perform one or more actions. The actions may include, for example, … , initiate recording on external cameras) [Trundle: para 0072] to certain checkpoints along the predetermined flight path as the drone approach each of the certain checkpoints (the drone devices 780 and 782 may include one or more cameras, … and/or any other types of sensors that may be useful in capturing monitoring data related to the property location) [Trundle: Figs. 6A-7; para 0132], where the drone changes its flight path in response to (the drone devices 780 and 782 exchange location information and navigate to areas that have not been explored by one of the other devices) [Trundle: para 0167] the camera detecting a heat signature and where the camera captures a video image of the detected heat signature (the sensor identifier that property 316 is experiencing a fire. The monitoring application server 330 may use the emergency type (e.g., fire) to determine that one or more drones should be deployed to the location associated with the smoke sensor that is reporting the presence of smoke. In one implementation, the monitoring application server 330 may identify a set of one or more drones that should be deployed based on the drone's capabilities for assisting with a fire.) [Trundle: para 0085] and transmits the video image captured by the camera (the system 700 provides end users with access to images captured by the camera 730 to aid in decision making. The system 700 may transmit the images captured by the camera 730 over a wireless WAN network to the user devices 740, 750) [Trundle: para 0165] to a smart device (The one or more user devices 740, 750 are devices that host and display user interfaces. For instance, the user device 740 is a mobile device that hosts one or more native applications (e.g., the native surveillance application 742). The user device 740 may be a cellular phone or a noncellular locally networked device with a display. The user device 740 may include a cell phone, a smart device, a tablet PC, a personal digital assistant ("PDA"), or any other portable device configured to communicate over a network and display information) [Trundle: para 0115]; where the radio module (radio module) [Trundle: para 0120] sends an alert (the drone devices 780 and 782 may be used to provide a critical alert to a user in the property or attempt to wake a sleeping person as appropriate) [Trundle: para 0180] to the smart device (The user device 740 may be a cellular phone) [Trundle: para 0115] if an event at a location occurs while following the predetermined flight path (([the monitoring application server 760 may send a control command to each of the drone devices 780 and 782 that causes the drone devices 780 and 782 to perform a coordinated and automated search for persons outside the property. Based on the control command received, each of the drone devices 780 and 782 begins navigating towards the property and captures images of the property while navigating. Each of the drone devices 780 and 782 may execute a predefined navigation pattern) [Trundle: para 0167]; (In the event that the person appears to be sleeping in the property, the drone devices 780 and 782 may attempt to wake the person by providing loud input very near the person and/or by making contact with the person. In this regard, the drone devices 780 and 782 may be useful in waking a sleeping person when a fire or carbon monoxide alarm has been detected and the person needs to leave the property) [Trundle: para 0180]).
Trundle does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the camera detecting a heat signature and where the camera captures a video image of the detected heat signature.
However, in the same field of endeavor Marlow further discloses the deficient claim limitation as follows:
the detected heat signature (UAV 302 detects that there is a life threatening emergency in the house or vehicle that it is monitoring using its onboard sensors, the UAV 302 may detect whether there are people inside the vehicle or house by using thermal images. Thermal images can capture heat signatures inside a house or vehicle which can be resolved by the process 310 of UAV 302 to detect that a person is currently inside the house or vehicle) [Marlow: col. 16, line 29-36].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Trundle with Marlow to program the system to implement of Marlow’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Trundle with Marlow will enable the system to provide additional information from the UAV to appropriate agency, such as insurance, to make appropriate actions. [Marlow: col. 2, line 56-58].
In the same field of endeavor, Bethke further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
the heat signature detected by the at least one camera (A UAV implementing the
inspection can be harmed if the UAV approaches a crack in the cooling tower, and radiation or extreme heat is emitted therefrom. The particular application can provide information to the contingency handler describing that if the contingency handler determines (e.g., using one or more heat sensors) that a temperature, or radiation level, is past a threshold, the contingency handler is to assume control of the UAV to navigate the UAV away from the heat source. In this way, regardless of whether the particular application is in control of the UAV (e.g., another application might be in control, for instance an application associated with traveling to waypoints which as a higher priority), the contingency handler can always assume control and handle the contingency) [Bethke: col. 14, line 34-48].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Trundle and Marlow with Bethke to program the system to implement of Bethke’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Trundle and Marlow with Bethke will enable the system ensure that execution of the modular flight commands will result in a safe operation of the UAV [Bethke: col. 1, line 57-59].
Regarding claim 30, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 29. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the event results in the drone waiting at the location for commands ((await instructions as to the engagement policy that the drone should employ) [Trundle: para 0058]; (waits until the preferred time period to initiate) [Trundle: para 0179]) from the smart device ((the drone devices 780 and 782 may be capable of moving throughout a location based on automated control technology and/or user input control provided by either the user or by application server 760) [Trundle: para 0129; Figs. 1-8]; (the user device 740 may be a cellular phone) [Trundle: para 0155; Figs. 1-8]) for a predetermined time period (waits until the preferred time period to initiate) [Trundle: para 0179].
Regarding claim 31, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 29. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the drone further includes a microphone (the drone devices 780 and 782 may include one or more cameras, one or more motion sensors, one or more microphones, one or more biometric data collection tools, one or more temperature sensors, one or more humidity sensors, one or more air flow sensors, and/or any other types of sensors that may be useful in capturing monitoring data related to the property location) [Trundle: Figs. 6A-7; para 0132], where the controller unit is coupled to the microphone ((the drone devices 780 and 782 may be capable of moving throughout a location based on automated control technology and/or user input control provided by either the user or by application server 760) [Trundle: para 0129; Figs. 1-8]; (the user device 740 may be a cellular phone) [Trundle: para 0155; Figs. 1-8]), and where the microphone captures an audio recording and transmits it to the smart device (the drone devices 780 and 782 may include one or more cameras, one or more motion sensors, one or more microphones, one or more biometric data collection tools, one or more temperature sensors, one or more humidity sensors, one or more air flow sensors, and/or any other types of sensors that may be useful in capturing monitoring data related to the property location) [Trundle: Figs. 6A-7; para 0132]; (a drone 151 may be equipped with one or more video cameras 151a and a flashlight 151b. The video camera may capture 151c live video feeds that can be transmitted back to the application monitoring server 130 via a network 140 using one or more communications links 142) [Trundle: para 0037] – Note: Video feeds include recorded audio); (the drone devices 780 and 782 may be used to provide a critical alert to a user in the property or attempt to wake a sleeping person as appropriate) [Trundle: para 0180]; (For instance, the deployed drone 251 may output an audio message 251d using an output speaker 251c) [Trundle: para 0059]; (the user device 740 may be a cellular phone) [Trundle: para 0155; Figs. 1-8]).
In the same field of endeavor Marlow further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
where the microphone captures an audio recording and transmits it (For example, the UAV 302 may facilitate a videoconference with a remotely located insurance agent and the insurance policyholder. The UAV 302 may conduct such a conference by using microphone 326 to record the policyholder's voice, use speakers 332 to output the insurance agent's voice, use camera 350 to record the policyholder's video and display the insurance agent to the policyholder on the display screen 330. The UAV 302 may also alert other people in its vicinity of its arrival by using sirens 328.) [Marlow: col. 15, line 28-37].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Trundle with Marlow to program the system to implement of Marlow’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Trundle with Marlow will enable the system to provide additional information from the UAV to appropriate agency, such as insurance, to make appropriate actions. [Marlow: col. 2, line 56-58].
Regarding claim 32, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 29. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the drone returns to the charging port in response to the power unit needing to be recharged (Once the battery power for the selected device falls below a threshold, the monitoring application server 760 may return the selected device to a charging station and select the drone device with the presently highest available battery power to resume the monitoring options being performed. The monitoring application server 760 may cycle through all of the drone devices 780 and 782 in an intelligent manner that best leverages the battery power available) [Trundle: para 0072].
Regarding claim 33, Trundle discloses:
A drone security system ((a monitoring system) [Trundle: para 0119; Figs. 1-7]; (one or more drones) [Trundle: para 0004; Figs. 1-7]) for monitoring an area (the monitoring application server 760 may send a control command to each of the drone devices 780 and 782 that causes the drone devices 780 and 782 to perform a coordinated and automated search for persons outside the property. Based on the control command received, each of the drone devices 780 and 782 begins navigating towards the property and captures images of the property while navigating. Each of the drone devices 780 and 782 may execute a predefined navigation pattern) [Trundle: para 0167], the drone security system comprising ((a monitoring system) [Trundle: para 0119; Figs. 1-7]; (one or more drones) [Trundle: para 0004; Figs. 1-7]):
a communication hub (the monitoring application server) [Trundle: para 0058; Figs. 1-8];a drone for flying within the area to perform surveillance over the area for unusual events (the monitoring application server 760 may send a control command to each of the drone devices 780 and 782 that causes the drone devices 780 and 782 to perform a coordinated and automated search for persons outside the property. Based on the control command received, each of the drone devices 780 and 782 begins navigating towards the property and captures images of the property while navigating. Each of the drone devices 780 and 782 may execute a predefined navigation pattern) [Trundle: para 0167], where the drone comprises (one or more drones) [Trundle: para 0004; Figs. 1-7]:a memory (a read-only memory and/or a random access memory) [Trundle: para 0206];a navigation unit (GPS) [Trundle: para 0061];a radio module ((radio) [Trundle: para 0118]; (radio module) [Trundle: para 0120]); a motor control unit (the controller) [Trundle: para 0119]; at least two cameras (one or more cameras) [Trundle: para 0132]; a power unit adapted to connect the drone to a charging port (Once the battery power for the selected device falls below a threshold, the monitoring application server 760 may return the selected device to a charging station) [Trundle: para 0072; Figs. 1-7]; a microphone (one or more microphones) [Trundle: para 0132]; and controller unit coupled to a processor (the controller 712 may include a processor or other control circuitry configured to execute instructions of a program that controls operation of an alarm system) [Trundle: para 0119; Figs. 1-7], the speaker (an output speaker) [Trundle: para 0059], the microphone (one or more microphones) [Trundle: para 0132], the at least two cameras (one or more cameras) [Trundle: para 0132], the power unit (charging) [Trundle: para 0072], the radio module (radio module) [Trundle: para 0120], the navigation unit (GPS) [Trundle: para 0061], where the controller unit (the controller) [Trundle: para 0119] receives a predetermined flight path (the deployed drones 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156 may be configured to travel in predetermined flight paths) [Trundle: para 0037] to perform surveillance via the radio module (the deployed drones 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156 may be configured to travel in predetermined flight paths) [Trundle: para 0037], executes the predetermined flight path at a predetermined time to perform the surveillance (The deployed drone may begin to travel along a predetermined flight path to perform routine surveillance) [Trundle: para 0205], where the drone changes its flight path in response to (the drone devices 780 and 782 exchange location information and navigate to areas that have not been explored by one of the other devices) [Trundle: para 0167] one of the at least two cameras (one or more cameras) [Trundle: para 0132] detecting a heat signature to follow the heat signature detected by the one of the at least two cameras (the sensor identifier that property 316 is experiencing a fire. The monitoring application server 330 may use the emergency type (e.g., fire) to determine that one or more drones should be deployed to the location associated with the smoke sensor that is reporting the presence of smoke. In one implementation, the monitoring application server 330 may identify a set of one or more drones that should be deployed based on the drone's capabilities for assisting with a fire) [Trundle: para 0085] and where one of the at least two cameras captures a video image of the detected heat signature (the sensor identifier that property 316 is experiencing a fire. The monitoring application server 330 may use the emergency type (e.g., fire) to determine that one or more drones should be deployed to the location associated with the smoke sensor that is reporting the presence of smoke. In one implementation, the monitoring application server 330 may identify a set of one or more drones that should be deployed based on the drone's capabilities for assisting with a fire) [Trundle: para 0085] and transmits the video image captured by the one of the at least two camera (the system 700 provides end users with access to images captured by the camera 730 to aid in decision making. The system 700 may transmit the images captured by the camera 730 over a wireless WAN network to the user devices 740, 750) [Trundle: para 0165] to the communication hub (the monitoring application server) [Trundle: para 0058; Figs. 1-8]; and where the radio module (radio module) [Trundle: para 0120] sends an alert to ((the drone devices 780 and 782 may be used to provide a critical alert) [Trundle: para 0180]; (alert users and/or responders) [Trundle: para 0096; Figs. 1-8]) the communication hub (the monitoring application server) [Trundle: para 0058; Figs. 1-8] if an event at a location occurs while following the predetermined flight path ([the monitoring application server 760 may send a control command to each of the drone devices 780 and 782 that causes the drone devices 780 and 782 to perform a coordinated and automated search for persons outside the property. Based on the control command received, each of the drone devices 780 and 782 begins navigating towards the property and captures images of the property while navigating. Each of the drone devices 780 and 782 may execute a predefined navigation pattern) [Trundle: para 0167]; (In the event that the person appears to be sleeping in the property, the drone devices 780 and 782 may attempt to wake the person by providing loud input very near the person and/or by making contact with the person. In this regard, the drone devices 780 and 782 may be useful in waking a sleeping person when a fire or carbon monoxide alarm has been detected and the person needs to leave the property) [Trundle: para 0180]) and where, in response to sending the alert to the communication hub ((the sensor identifier that property 316 is experiencing a fire ) [Trundle: para 0180]; (the drone devices 780 and 782 may be used to provide a critical alert) [Trundle: para 0180], the drone waits at the location for commands (await instructions as to the engagement policy that the drone should employ) [Trundle: para 0058] from the communication hub for a predetermined time period (waits until the preferred time period to initiate) [Trundle: para 0179]; where the communication hub sends an alert to a user device (alert users) [Trundle: para 0096; Figs. 1-8]) if an event is detected by the drone while following the predetermined flight path (the sensor identifier that property 316 is experiencing a fire. The monitoring application server 330 may use the emergency type ( e.g., fire) to determine that one or more drones should be deployed to the location associated with the smoke sensor that is reporting the presence of smoke) [Trundle: para 0180]; where the user devices sends commands to the communication hub (user input control provided by either the user or by application server 760) [Li: para. 0129; Fig. 7] to control the drones response to the event (a user provides input to control the drone devices 780 and 782 to perform a specific navigation action) [Li: para. 0131; Fig. 7]; where when the drone is executing the predetermined flight path at a predetermined time to perform the surveillance (the deployed drones 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156 may be configured to travel in predetermined flight paths) [Trundle: para 0037]; (The deployed drone may begin to travel along a predetermined flight path to perform routine surveillance) [Trundle: para 0205], one of the at least two cameras is directed towards a check point along the predetermined path as the drone approaches that check point ((Based on the control command received, each of the drone devices 780 and 782 begins navigating towards the property and captures towards the property while navigating. Each of the drone devices 780 and 782 may execute a predefined navigation pattern) [Trundle: para 0167]; (The instructions to the monitor control unit 412a, 414b, 414c may instruct the monitor control unit such as monitor control unit 412a to perform one or more actions. The actions may include, for example, … , initiate recording on external cameras) [Trundle: para 0072]); andwhere if at any time the power unit needs to be recharged, the drone returns to the charging port (Once the battery power for the selected device falls below a threshold, the monitoring application server 760 may return the selected device to a charging station and select the drone device with the presently highest available battery power to resume the monitoring options being performed. The monitoring application server 760 may cycle through all of the drone devices 780 and 782 in an intelligent manner that best leverages the battery power available) [Trundle: para 0072].
Trundle does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the camera detecting a heat signature and where the camera captures a video image of the detected heat signature.
However, in the same field of endeavor Marlow further discloses the deficient claim limitation as follows:
the detected heat signature (UAV 302 detects that there is a life threatening emergency in the house or vehicle that it is monitoring using its onboard sensors, the UAV 302 may detect whether there are people inside the vehicle or house by using thermal images. Thermal images can capture heat signatures inside a house or vehicle which can be resolved by the process 310 of UAV 302 to detect that a person is currently inside the house or vehicle) [Marlow: col. 16, line 29-36].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Trundle with Marlow to program the system to implement of Marlow’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Trundle with Marlow will enable the system to provide additional information from the UAV to appropriate agency, such as insurance, to make appropriate actions. [Marlow: col. 2, line 56-58].
In the same field of endeavor, Bethke further discloses the claim limitation as follows:
the heat signature detected by the at least one camera (A UAV implementing the
inspection can be harmed if the UAV approaches a crack in the cooling tower, and radiation or extreme heat is emitted therefrom. The particular application can provide information to the contingency handler describing that if the contingency handler determines (e.g., using one or more heat sensors) that a temperature, or radiation level, is past a threshold, the contingency handler is to assume control of the UAV to navigate the UAV away from the heat source. In this way, regardless of whether the particular application is in control of the UAV (e.g., another application might be in control, for instance an application associated with traveling to waypoints which as a higher priority), the contingency handler can always assume control and handle the contingency) [Bethke: col. 14, line 34-48].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Trundle and Marlow with Bethke to program the system to implement of Bethke’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Trundle and Marlow with Bethke will enable the system ensure that execution of the modular flight commands will result in a safe operation of the UAV [Bethke: col. 1, line 57-59].
Regarding claim 34, Trundle meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 33. Trundle further meets the claim limitations as follow.
where the microphone captures an audio recording and transmits it to the smart device (the drone devices 780 and 782 may include one or more cameras, one or more motion sensors, one or more microphones, one or more biometric data collecti