Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker et al (US 11358156; hereinafter Tucker) in view of Qiu (US D916404).
As regarding claim 1, Tucker discloses the claimed invention for a parabolic cyclone chamber for separating, from a stream of gas, particles suspended in the stream of gas while the stream of gas is in motion towards a vacuum source, the parabolic cyclone chamber comprising: a bottom having an opening (about 38 of fig. 7); an upper surface; a curved sidewall connecting the bottom to the upper surface, the curved sidewall having an inflection point; an entry path in a top portion of the cyclone chamber; an exit path extending through the upper surface of the cyclone chamber; and a diverter wall sloping downward from the upper surface of the cyclone chamber toward and below the entry path; wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has a diameter at the bottom of the cyclone chamber “A”; a diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber “B”; and a diameter at the inflection point “ID”; wherein the diameter at the inflection point "ID" is below the diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B";wherein the diameter at the inflection point "ID" is less than the diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" (annotated fig. 1).
Tucker does not disclose wherein the curved sidewall is curved below the inflection point. Qiu teaches wherein the curved sidewall is curved below the inflection point (figs. 3-4). Both Tucker and Qiu are directed to cyclonic separator. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the curved sidewall is curved below the inflection point as taught by Qiu in order to enhance cyclonic separator performance.
As regarding claims 2 and 6, Tucker as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Tucker as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein ratio of the diameter of the bottom of the cyclone chamber "A" to the diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" is in the range of about 1:1.9 to about 1:2.7. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein ratio of the diameter of the bottom of the cyclone chamber "A" to the diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" is in the range of about 1:1.9 to about 1:2.7 in order to enhance cyclonic separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen diameter or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen diameters are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claims 3 and 11, Tucker as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Tucker as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the ratio of the diameter of the bottom of the cyclone chamber "A" to the diameter at the inflection point of cyclone chamber "ID" is in the range of about 1:1.7 to about 1:2.5. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the ratio of the diameter of the bottom of the cyclone chamber "A" to the diameter at the inflection point of cyclone chamber "ID" is in the range of about 1:1.7 to about 1:2.5 in order to enhance cyclonic separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen diameter or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen diameters are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claims 4 and 10, Tucker as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Tucker as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein ratio of the diameter at the inflection point of cyclone chamber "ID" to the diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" is in the range of about 1:0.9 to about 1:1.3. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein ratio of the diameter at the inflection point of cyclone chamber "ID" to the diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" is in the range of about 1:0.9 to about 1:1.3 in order to enhance cyclonic separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen diameter or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen diameters are critical and unexpected results.
Claim 5 is also rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 1 above. However, Tucker does not disclose wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has a height "H" measured from the bottom of the cyclone chamber to the upper surface in the range of about 7 inches to about 12 inches; wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has a diameter at the bottom of the cyclone chamber "A" in the range of about 2 inches to about 4 inches; wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has a diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" in the range of about 5 inches to about 9 inches; wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has a diameter at the inflection point "ID" in the range of about 4.5 inches to about 8.5 inches; and wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has an inflection point height "IH" measured from the bottom of the cyclone chamber to the inflection point in the range of about 5 inches to about 9 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has a height "H" measured from the bottom of the cyclone chamber to the upper surface in the range of about 7 inches to about 12 inches; wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has a diameter at the bottom of the cyclone chamber "A" in the range of about 2 inches to about 4 inches; wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has a diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" in the range of about 5 inches to about 9 inches; wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has a diameter at the inflection point "ID" in the range of about 4.5 inches to about 8.5 inches; and wherein the parabolic cyclone chamber has an inflection point height "IH" measured from the bottom of the cyclone chamber to the inflection point in the range of about 5 inches to about 9 inches in order to enhance cyclonic separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen diameter, height or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen diameters or heights are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 7, Tucker as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Tucker as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the ratio of diameter at the inflection point of cyclone chamber "ID" to inflection point height of cyclone chamber "IH" is in the range of about 1:0.9 to about 1:1.3. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the ratio of diameter at the inflection point of cyclone chamber "ID" to inflection point height of cyclone chamber "IH" is in the range of about 1:0.9 to about 1:1.3 in order to enhance cyclonic separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen diameter, height or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen diameters or heights are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 8, Tucker as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Tucker as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the ratio of inflection point height of cyclone chamber "IH" to diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" is in the range of about 1:0.8 to about 1:1.2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the ratio of inflection point height of cyclone chamber "IH" to diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" is in the range of about 1:0.8 to about 1:1.2 in order to enhance cyclonic separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen diameter, height or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen diameters or heights are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 9, Tucker as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Tucker as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the ratio of inflection point height of cyclone chamber "IH" to height of the cyclone chamber "H" is in the range of about 1:0.8 to about 1:1.2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the ratio of inflection point height of cyclone chamber "IH" to height of the cyclone chamber "H" is in the range of about 1:0.8 to about 1:1.2 in order to enhance cyclonic separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen height or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen heights are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 12, Tucker as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Tucker as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the ratio of diameter of the bottom of the cyclone chamber "A" to height of the cyclone chamber "H" is in the range of about 1:2.5 to about 1:3.7. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the ratio of diameter of the bottom of the cyclone chamber "A" to height of the cyclone chamber "H" is in the range of about 1:2.5 to about 1:3.7 in order to enhance cyclonic separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen diameter, height or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen diameters, heights are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 13, Tucker as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Tucker as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the ratio of diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" height of the cyclone chamber "H" is in the range of about 1:1.1 to about 1:1.5. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the ratio of diameter at the widest portion of cyclone chamber "B" height of the cyclone chamber "H" is in the range of about 1:1.1 to about 1:1.5 in order to enhance cyclonic separator performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen diameter, height or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen diameters, heights are critical and unexpected results.
Claims 14-20 are also rejected for the same reasons outlined in claims 1-2, 5 and 7-12 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773