DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
After applicant’s amendments filed on 12/05/2025, the claim objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant remarks, filed on 12/05/2025 regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 17, applicant’s remark states the primary references (e.g., Borud) are directed to very large, heavy, and predominantly outdoor machines weighing several times what the base vehicle of the disclosure would weigh. Additionally, applicant's modular vehicle operates indoors and outdoors.
However, the claims do not specify whether the modular vehicle operates indoor or outdoor, and weight range of the base vehicle or the attachments is not indicated. Moreover, Duffy teaches a modular robot with base vehicle that performs indoor activities such as vacuum cleaning and outdoor tasks such as yard mowing.(Duffy, paragraph 399, robotic system is configured to carry out one or more yard maintenance tasks; and/or the first characteristic corresponds to mowing and the second characteristic corresponds to one or more selected from the group consisting of vacuuming, sweeping, blowing, scrubbing, fertilizing, edging, string trimming, weeding, hedge trimming, and leaf collecting ).
On page 18, applicant’ remark asserts that none of the references teach or suggest a recessed upward-facing cavity configured to receive part of an attachment; a surrounding family of structural posts defining a standardized modular interface; or cooperative engagement between corresponding sets of posts combined with vertical seating/support inside a cavity.
However, Duffy discloses and demonstrates a drive unit comprising an opening/recess to attach different modules. Duffy further discloses the drive unit having connectors and ports that are similar to the attachment connection posts and base connection posts respectively, wherein the connectors and ports are used to connect the drive module to different modular attachments.( Duffy, paragraph 280, the port/connector(s) comprise fasteners to mechanically/physically attach the other modules to the drive unit, electric (power) connectors, electronic connectors, communication connectors and the like. Duffy, paragraph 15, The accessory module is removably attached to the drive unit. The accessory module comprises a plurality of accessories like backpack accessories, trailer accessories and floor or ground accessories to perform multiple household and yard maintenance tasks.)
On page 19, applicant’s remark asserts the cited references are directed to systems whose undercarriages or frames are tailored to one class of work tool or superstructure, and they do not disclose a common structural interface deliberately designed to accommodate such disparate industrial and recreational attachments on a single platform. And the references’ feature modular aspects do not disclose the specifically-formulated structural configuration required to enable the modular functionality of applicant's disclosure.
However, as discussed in the first action, Ross discloses an undercarriage capable of being reconfigured to different industrial work machines such machine with dump box, scissor lift, digger derrick, or personal lift. Recreational attachment is not disclosed in the claim; however, Ross teaches its machine can be used as a personal lift and personnel carrier, indicating its capability to be modified into recreation vehicle in a bigger scale. Moreover, Duffy discloses a similar modular vehicle that performs different tasks using plurality of attachments. (Duffy, paragraph 15, the robotic device comprises a drive unit, a control module and an accessory task module. The accessory module is removably attached to the drive unit. The accessory module comprises a plurality of accessories like backpack accessories, trailer accessories and floor or ground accessories to perform multiple household and yard maintenance tasks. Duffy, paragraph 280, the port/connector(s) comprise fasteners to mechanically/physically attach the other modules to the drive unit, electric (power) connectors, electronic connectors, communication connectors and the like. The accessory modules are typically attached to the drive unit in a fixed but releasable configuration by one or more fastening devices, including prongs, pins, clips, clamps, clasps, screws, flanges, cam locks and the like that engage a complementary portion on the other module such as a projection into a recess, a flange into a slot or groove, tongue and groove, etc. )
On page 20, applicant’ remark states none of the cited references addresses this attachment-independent stability and load distribution, much less in the context of a platform intended to carry many different attachment types.
However, as discussed above, Duffy discloses drive unit with four wheels and continuous tracks that maintain the stability of the base module and the attachments. The plurality of connectors and ports taught by Duffy balance the load of the attachments. (Duffy, paragraph 261, an exemplified drive unit comprises four wheels. Alternatively, the drive unit could comprise continuous tracks such as caterpillar track or tank treads. Duffy, paragraph 279, The trailer connector and the trailer hitch comprise complementary components that provide mechanical, electrical and/or electronic connection between the trailer accessory and the drive unit.)
On page 20, applicant’ remark further states that even if one reference disclosed partial modularity and another disclosed partial vehicle-mounted hardware, none teaches or suggests integrating: a centrally-located receiving cavity; downwardly inserted structural inserts; and surrounding post-to- post indexing engagement.
However, as discussed above, Duffy discloses a drive unit comprising opening/recess to attach different modules claim. Duffy further discloses a drive module with connectors and ports which are similar to attachment connection posts and base connection posts respectively that are used to connect the drive module to different modular attachments. Duffy also teaches the ports and connectors can be connected in a (male-ended) and jacks (female-ended) connection, which indicates an extended member from the modular attachment.( Duffy, paragraph 280, the port/connector(s) comprise fasteners to mechanically/physically attach the other modules to the drive unit, electric (power) connectors, electronic connectors, communication connectors and the like. Duffy, paragraph 15, The accessory module is removably attached to the drive unit. The accessory module comprises a plurality of accessories like backpack accessories, trailer accessories and floor or ground accessories to perform multiple household and yard maintenance tasks. Duffy, paragraph 280, the port/connector(s) comprise fasteners to mechanically/physically attach the other modules to the drive unit, electric (power) connectors, electronic connectors, communication connectors and the like)
On page 21, applicant’ remark further states the cited references do not teach or suggest a tracked base vehicle with a standardized top-facing cavity/post interface that is expressly designed to support both heavy-duty industrial modules and lighter-weight recreational modules as interchangeable options. Each reference is focused on a specific operating context, and none provides a structural or control framework that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill to re-engineer those systems into the multi-environment, multi-role platform now claimed…examiner's reconstruction would be a product of hindsight .
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Furthermore, as discussed above, Duffy discloses a drive unit comprising opening/recess to attach different modules to perform different tasks with interchangeable options. In addition, Duffy teaches the drive units can incorporate continuous tracks.. (Duffy, paragraph 15, the robotic device comprises a drive unit, a control module and an accessory task module. The accessory module is removably attached to the drive unit. The accessory module comprises a plurality of accessories like backpack accessories, trailer accessories and floor or ground accessories to perform multiple household and yard maintenance tasks. Duffy, paragraph 261, the drive unit could comprise continuous tracks such as caterpillar track or tank treads comprising a system of vehicle propulsion in which a continuous band of treads or track plates is driven by one or more wheels to move the robotic device).
On page 21, applicant asserts that dependent claims 2-11 should be allowed because they incorporate all limitations of claim 1.
However, claim 1 remain rejected as shown in this section of the office action, and the rejection for claims 2-11 is maintained.
On page 22, applicant asserts that claim 12 should be allowed because it incorporates the same structural feature of the base vehicle and modular attachment of claim 1.
However, as shown in this section of the office action, reasons for the withdrawal for claim 1 rejection have not been found persuasive. Therefore, independent claim 12’s rejection is maintained.
On page 22, applicant asserts that dependent claims 13-20 should be allowed because they depend on allowable claim 12.
However, claim 12 remains rejected as shown in this section of the office action, and the rejection for claims 13-20 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Borud (US 10730551 B2) (hereinafter Borud) in view of Ross (US 20140360811 A1) (hereinafter Ross) in further view of Duffy (US 20190248007 A1) (hereinafter Duffy).
Regarding claim 1, a vehicle (Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle ) comprising:
a base vehicle(Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle ) having a right continuous track(Borud, col.4 line 24, a right-side continuous track) and a left continuous track(Borud, col.4 line 23, left side continuous track) forming a track
pair, each of said track pair powered by a first and second independent motor from
an independent motor pair(Borud, col.1 line 65,the plurality of electric motors including a first electric motor operatively coupled to the left side endless track assembly to drive movement of the left side continuous track and a second electric motor operatively coupled to the right side endless track assembly to drive movement of the right side continuous track independent of the left side continuous track), said independent motor pair controlled by a controller(Borud, col.9 line 35, motor controller monitor and control the operation of electric motor );
While Borud teaches about a base vehicle with left and right continuous track that operate independently; and a controller to control the pair of motors, it fails to teach a modular vehicle system, a plurality of modular attachments capable of operably combining with said base vehicle; and a connection mechanism therebetween said base vehicle and each of said plurality of modular attachments. Said base vehicle further comprising a body defining a top-facing connection cavity disposed between said right continuous track and said left continuous track and opening upwardly from said body, and a plurality of base connection posts disposed at spaced- apart locations surrounding said connection cavity; each of said plurality of modular attachments comprising a frame having a plurality of attachment connection posts positioned to correspond with said base connection posts and at least one downwardly extending member configured to be received within said connection cavity when the modular attachment is operably combined with said base vehicle; said connection mechanism comprising cooperative engagement between said base connection posts and said attachment connection posts and support of said at least one downwardly extending member within said connection cavity so as to removably secure each modular attachment to said base vehicle while permitting said track pair to propel said modular attachment with said base vehicle as a combined unit.
However, Ross, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about tracked undercarriage adapted for modular reconfiguration discloses a modular vehicle system(Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment), a plurality of modular attachments capable of operably combining with said base vehicle(It has been assumed that the crawler undercarriage of Ross as being the base vehicle. Ross, paragraph 8, The disclosed technology will enable a single tracked undercarriage to be quickly reconfigured to a wide range of options including, but not limited to: dump box, scissor lift, digger derrick, personal lift, wire tensioner, personnel carrier, hydraulic crane, portable cement mixer and a service body ) and a connection mechanism therebetween said base vehicle and each of said plurality of modular attachments. (The brackets of Ross have similar function where they are used as a connecting apparatus for an attachment and a base vehicle. Ross, paragraph 22, The downwardly extending brackets 25 from the modular cab/engine/pump assembly are positioned atop the center channel brackets 24 and bolted together. This process effectively secures the modular components to the undercarriage)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Borud with crawler undercarriage of Ross that is capable of being reconfigured to different work vehicles. Borud discloses the independent motors, and a controller for controlling the motors, as well as a vehicle that can be operated by a remote control. Ross teaches the undercarriage for mounting different work attachments such as dump box and personal lift. In addition, Ross teaches a way of attaching different work modules on the crawler undercarriage. By incorporating a universal tracked undercarriage, it is possible to have a vehicle which can execute different tasks by switching the mounted attachment instead of having different vehicles for different tasks. Furthermore, the tracked undercarriage of Ross helps the vehicle to traverse through different conditions such as rocky roads, ditches, and inclines.
While the combination of Borud and Ross teaches about a base vehicle which can be reconfigured to different work vehicle, it fails to disclose modular vehicle with a base vehicle, wherein said base vehicle further comprising a body defining a top-facing connection cavity disposed between said right continuous track and said left continuous track and opening upwardly from said body, and a plurality of base connection posts disposed at spaced- apart locations surrounding said connection cavity; each of said plurality of modular attachments comprising a frame having a plurality of attachment connection posts positioned to correspond with said base connection posts and at least one downwardly extending member configured to be received within said connection cavity when the modular attachment is operably combined with said base vehicle; said connection mechanism comprising cooperative engagement between said base connection posts and said attachment connection posts and support of said at least one downwardly extending member within said connection cavity so as to removably secure each modular attachment to said base vehicle while permitting said track pair to propel said modular attachment with said base vehicle as a combined unit.
However, Duffy, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about modular robotic system teaches about a base vehicle further comprising a body defining a top-facing connection cavity disposed between said right continuous track and said left continuous track and opening upwardly from said body(Duffy discloses a drive unit that is similar to the base vehicle, that can receive modular attachments. Duffy further discloses and demonstrates a drive unit opening/recess to attach different modules. Additionally, the drive units can incorporate continuous tracks. Duffy, paragraph 286, the ground accessory may fit into a recess disposed below at least a portion of the chassis of the drive unit, such as centrally disposed between the wheels of the drive unit in an opening in the bottom of the drive unit, in a bottom connection, such as shown in FIGS. 21A and 21B. Another embodiment of a robot device comprising a bottom connection configuration is shown in perspective and plan views in FIG. 27, in which the recess is open to both the front and bottom of the drive unit. Duffy, paragraph 261, the drive unit could comprise continuous tracks such as caterpillar track or tank treads comprising a system of vehicle propulsion in which a continuous band of treads or track plates is driven by one or more wheels to move the robotic device. ), and a plurality of base connection posts disposed at spaced- apart locations surrounding said connection cavity(Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension. Duffy, paragraph 286, The drive unit is generally U-shaped, with the wheels set in housing in the arms of the U, and the drive motor in the base of the U); each of said plurality of modular attachments comprising a frame having a plurality of attachment connection posts positioned to correspond with said base connection posts and at least one downwardly extending member configured to be received within said connection cavity when the modular attachment is operably combined with said base vehicle(Duffy discloses connectors and ports which are similar to attachment connection posts and base connection posts respectively. Furthermore, Duffy teaches the ports and connectors can be connected in a (male-ended) and jacks (female-ended) connection, which indicates an extended member from the modular attachment. Duffy, paragraph 280, the port/connector(s) comprise fasteners to mechanically/physically attach the other modules to the drive unit, electric (power) connectors, electronic connectors, communication connectors and the like. The accessory modules are typically attached to the drive unit in a fixed but releasable configuration by one or more fastening devices, including prongs, pins, clips, clamps, clasps, screws, flanges, cam locks and the like that engage a complementary portion on the other module such as a projection into a recess, a flange into a slot or groove, tongue and groove, etc. Duffy, paragraph 281,These connectors are generally electro-mechanical devices used to join electrical terminations and create an electrical circuit. Typically, electrical connectors consist of plugs (male-ended) and jacks (female-ended), or they may be hermaphrodite.. Duffy, paragraph 286, the ground accessory may fit into a recess disposed below at least a portion of the chassis of the drive unit, such as centrally disposed between the wheels of the drive unit in an opening in the bottom of the drive unit, in a bottom connection, such as shown in FIGS. 21A and 21B); said connection mechanism comprising cooperative engagement between said base connection posts and said attachment connection posts and support of said at least one downwardly extending member within said connection cavity (Duffy discloses stacking task modules on top of the drive module, indicating the task module sitting on top of the drive module. Duffy, paragraph 260, the drive module provides a platform for a stack of task modules on the platform (modules 1, 2, and up to ‘n’ modules, where ‘n’ is an integer greater than one (1) or two (2)), with the control module at the top of the stack. Each stackable module is connected to the drive unit or a lower module in the stack via a top port with a top connector. Duffy, paragraph 280, the port/connector(s) comprise fasteners to mechanically/physically attach the other modules to the drive unit, electric (power) connectors, electronic connectors, communication connectors and the like. The accessory modules are typically attached to the drive unit in a fixed but releasable configuration by one or more fastening devices, including prongs, pins, clips, clamps, clasps, screws, flanges, cam locks and the like that engage a complementary portion on the other module such as a projection into a recess, a flange into a slot or groove, tongue and groove, etc.)so as to removably secure each modular attachment to said base vehicle while permitting said track pair to propel said modular attachment with said base vehicle as a combined unit(Duffy further discusses plurality of task modules that can be removably attached to the drive unit. Duffy, paragraph 15, The accessory module is removably attached to the drive unit. The accessory module comprises a plurality of accessories like backpack accessories, trailer accessories and floor or ground accessories to perform multiple household and yard maintenance tasks. Duffy, paragraph 260, the drive module provides a platform for a stack of task modules on the platform (modules 1, 2, and up to ‘n’ modules, where ‘n’ is an integer greater than one (1) or two (2)), with the control module at the top of the stack. Each stackable module is connected to the drive unit or a lower module in the stack via a top port with a top connector. Duffy, paragraph 261, the drive unit could comprise continuous tracks such as caterpillar track or tank treads comprising a system of vehicle propulsion in which a continuous band of treads or track plates is driven by one or more wheels to move the robotic device).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Borud and Ross with Duffy to incorporate a cavity/opening between continuous tracks to attach different work modules. By incorporating a cavity between the continuous tracks, it is possible quickly attach the different attachments without the need to reconfigure/ open the entire base vehicle, saving time and energy.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Borud, Ross, and Duffy teaches the system of claim 1(Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment ; Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension ), wherein said plurality of base connection posts comprise a first, a second, a third, and a fourth mounting location(The mounting location is assumed to be the attachment location for a particular work tool. As mentioned in the specification, an attachment can be connected to the base vehicle by towing hitch when the modular vehicle is reconfigured to be used as towing vehicle. Borud teaches towing capability of a vehicle by its different attachment connecting mechanism. Borud, col.6, line 32, Additional tie-downs, latches, hooks, or other members may be provided for attaching additional cargo or assisting with towing capacity) to receive an at least one of said plurality of modular attachments.( Borud, col.6, line 32, Additional tie-downs, latches, hooks, or other members may be provided for attaching additional cargo or assisting with towing capacity. Furthermore, Ross, paragraph 28, The center channel 18 can be readily modified with brackets, or other functional hardware, to facilitate the securing of a wide range of work tools to the center channel)
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Borud (US 10730551 B2) (hereinafter Borud) in view of Ross (US 20140360811 A1) (hereinafter Ross) in further view of Duffy (US 20190248007 A1) (hereinafter Duffy) in further view of Messersi (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=no8piBv1hSY)( Messersi).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Borud, Ross, and Duffy teaches the system of claim 2(Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment ; Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension ), wherein said base vehicle further comprises a control connection to said at least one of said plurality of modular attachments,(The control connection has been assumed to be the area where the attachment is secured, and where the attachment controlling lines are placed. Ross discloses the attachments as modular components. Ross, paragraph 22, The downwardly extending brackets 25 from the modular cab/engine/pump assembly are positioned atop the center channel brackets 24 and bolted together. This process effectively secures the modular components to the undercarriage. As previously noted, hydraulic lines and electrical control lines emanating from the operator's cab 34 and the engine/pump housing 36 can easily be laid into the center channel 18 and extend to the drive motors 26, 28 )
While the combination of Borud, Ross, and Duffy teaches about a base vehicle which can be reconfigured to different work vehicle by swapping different attachments, it fails to disclose a system with control connection wherein said control connection is capable of controlling a movement of said at least one of said plurality of modular attachments.
However, Messersi, which is in the same analogous art discloses a remote-controlled battery tracked dumper. A system wherein said control connection is capable of controlling a movement of said at least one of said plurality of modular attachments.( Messersi’s video shows the dump box attachment being controlled by a remote control. Messersi, timestamp 00:00:55,video shows dump box attachment being controlled by a remote control)
Fig. 1 Figure shows dump box attachment that can be controlled by a remote control
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Borud, Ross, and Duffy by incorporating Messersi’s controlling of attachments via remote control. Even though the video does not depict the attaching and detaching of the attachment, it would’ve been obvious to use the lifting cylinder and attachment capability of Ross with of Messersi’s controlling mechanism. By being able to control different attachments, it is possible to execute different tasks by simply swapping different attachments for specific tasks.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, and Messersi teaches the system of claim 3 (Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment ; Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension ) , wherein said body further surrounds said independent motor pair(As can be seen on fig. 13 of Borud, the motors are surrounded by a body. Borud, col.4 line 47 the vehicle further includes a drive assembly 300 (FIGS. 10-15), a frame assembly 140 (FIGS. 8 and 9), a body or tub) and an at least one battery having a connection thereto said base vehicle(Borud discloses batteries which are present in a storage device that power the electric motors. This demonstrates a connection between the battery and the motors. Borud, col.8 line 44, vehicle 100, in one embodiment may include one or more storage devices 366 which store electrical energy to power left side electric motor 306 and right-side electric motor 308. Exemplary storage devices include batteries 363 and supercapacitors).
Claims 5,7,8,9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Borud (US 10730551 B2) (hereinafter Borud) in view of Ross (US 20140360811 A1) (hereinafter Ross) in further view of Duffy (US 20190248007 A1) (hereinafter Duffy) in further view of Messersi (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=no8piBv1hSY)( Messersi) in further view of Spacepac (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_9hwN26rWg) (hereinafter Spacepac).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, and Messersi teaches the system of claim 4(Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment ; Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension ),
While the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy and Messersi teaches a modular vehicle that can be reconfigured to different work machines, it specifically fails to specify vehicle body wherein said body has an opening, said opening is configured to receive a lifting arm of said at least one of said plurality of modular attachments.
However, Spacepac, which is in the same analogous art shows a work machine that depicts a body wherein said body has an opening,(Spacepac, timestamp 00:00:23, video shows an opening in the body) said opening is configured to receive a lifting arm of said at least one of said plurality of modular attachments.( Spacepac, timestamp 00:00:23, a lifting arm can be seen placed in between the opening. Furthermore, Ross discloses a dump box hydraulic piston that can be placed on the crawler undercarriage’s center channel. Ross, paragraph 28, Should it be determined that a modular work tool other than one with a torsion box is required, for example dump box (not shown), the modular unit can be lifted by a crane onto the crawler undercarriage 10 and the dump box pivot point (not shown) and the hydraulic piston (not shown) can be quickly secured to the center channel 18)
Fig. 2 Figure shows the opening for the operation of the lifting arm
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy and Messersi by incorporating Spacepac’s body opening and Ross’s lifting arm receiving capability. Spacepac shows an opening of the body to receive lifting arm, but does not specifically disclose the receiving the attachment. However, Ross teaches the swapping capability with different attachments with lifting arm. An attachment with pre-installed lifting arm is advantageous to quickly and effectively install it on a base vehicle, meaning it is possible to rapidly switch between different attachments such as a dump box and flat bed.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, and Messersi teaches the system of claim 5, (Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment ; Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension ) wherein said at least one of said plurality of attachments comprises said lifting arm having a connection to a base of a container,( Spacepac, timestamp 00:00:23,video shows the lifting arm having a connection to a base of a container) said base configured having a surface substantially parallel with said track pair when said lifting arm is in a lowered position.( Spacepac, timestamp 00:00:37, video shows a container parallel to the wheels of the dumper when lifting arm is lowered.)
Fig. 3 Shows lifting arm having a connection to a base of a container
Fig. 4 shows base configured in parallel with wheel when said lifting arm is in a lowered position
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, and Messersi teaches the system of claim 7,( Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment ; Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension ) wherein said container further comprises a plurality of sides,( Spacepac, timestamp 00:00:13, the video depicts container with four sides) at least one of said plurality of sides is configured to open when said lifting arm is in a raised position.(Spacepac, timestamp 00:00:25, read side of container automatically opens when container is raised)
Fig. 5 shows container automatically opens when container is raised
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, and Messersi teaches the system of claim 5,( Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment ; Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension ) wherein said controller is capable of receiving a broadcast from a wireless remote control(Borud, col.4, line 65, Additionally, vehicle 100 may be autonomous and operated by remote control, as disclosed in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 14/968,487 filed Dec. 14, 2015, the entire disclosure of which is expressly incorporated by reference herein. Furthermore, Messersi shows a vehicle with dump box attachment capable of receiving a broadcast from wireless remote control. Messersi, timestamp 00:00:55, remote controllable dump box)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, and Messersi teaches the system of claim 5( Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment ; Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension ), wherein said controller is a computing device having a processor(Borud, col.9 line 54, vehicle controller 378 are microprocessor-based controllers and each may include a non-transitory computer readable medium), a memory(Borud, col.10 line 1, A non-transitory computer-readable medium, such as non-transitory computer readable medium 380, may include random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), erasable programmable read-only memory (e.g., EPROM, EEPROM, or Flash memory), or any other tangible medium capable of storing information), a non-transitory computer readable medium,(Borud, col.9 line 54, vehicle controller 378 are microprocessor-based controllers and each may include a non-transitory computer readable medium) a network connection(Borud, col.10 line 31, vehicle controller 378 may be networked together over a suitable communicates network), and an at least one sensor(Borud, col.11 line 21,Vehicle controller 378 receives multiple inputs from sensors and operator actuatable inputs of vehicle 100.)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Borud (US 10730551 B2) (hereinafter Borud) in view of Ross (US 20140360811 A1) (hereinafter Ross) in further view of Duffy (US 20190248007 A1) (hereinafter Duffy) in further view of Messersi (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=no8piBv1hSY)( Messersi) in further view of Spacepac (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_9hwN26rWg) (hereinafter Spacepac) in further view of MGC (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhlW4h-g7Is)(hereinafter MGC).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, and Messersi teaches the system of claim 5 (Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment ; Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension ) ,
While the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, Messersi, and Spacepac teaches a modular vehicle that can be reconfigured to different work machines, it specifically fails to specify attachments wherein said at least one of said plurality of attachments comprises said lifting arm having a connection to a span member connecting an elongated member pair having an upper end and a lower end, said lower end having a wedge configured to contact a ground when said lifting arm is in a raised position.
However, MGC, which is in the same analogous art shows a work vehicle that depicts an attachment wherein said at least one of said plurality of attachments comprises said lifting arm(timestamp 00:02:20,video shows hydraulic lifting arm) having a connection to a span member connecting an elongated member pair having an upper end and a lower end,( timestamp 00:02:20,flatbed similar to the elongated member) said lower end having a wedge configured to contact a ground when said lifting arm is in a raised position. (timestamp 00:02:12, a ramp similar to the wedge that can be extended to rest on the ground when the lifting arm is raised)
Fig. 6 Figure shows a raised flatbed with extendable ramp
Fig. 7 Figure shows a raised flatbed with the extendable ramp resting on the ground
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, Messersi, Spacepac by incorporating MGC’s flatbed with extendable ramp. MGC shows a lifting platform with a ramp that can be used to load heavy object on the flatbed. Similar to the claim, it has ramp which can rest on the ground when the arm is raised. Even though the video does not depict the attaching and detaching of the flatbed, as disclosed in the Ross reference, it would’ve been obvious to swap the dump box with the flatbed. Furthermore, as shown by Messersi’s remote control system, it is possible to incorporate the wireless control system to control the movement of the flatbed attachment. By using a flatbed with a ramp, it is possible to easily load heavy object directly onto the flatbed without the need of cranes or heavy loading equipment.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Borud (US 10730551 B2) (hereinafter Borud) in view of Ross (US 20140360811 A1) (hereinafter Ross) in further view of Duffy (US 20190248007 A1) (hereinafter Duffy) in further view of Messersi (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=no8piBv1hSY) ( Messersi) in further view of Spacepac(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_9hwN26rWg) (hereinafter Spacepac) in further view of Fujiwara (WO 2021090906 A1) (hereinafter Fujiwara)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, and Messersi teaches the system of claim 10,( Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment ; Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension )
While the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, Messersi, and Spacepac teaches a modular vehicle that can be reconfigured to different work machines, it specifically fails to specify a system further comprising: a task input interface for receiving an input specifying a plurality of tasks to be performed; a task scheduler module for storing said plurality of tasks in said memory of said controller, prioritizing and scheduling said plurality of tasks based on a sensor data from said sensor and an external information accessed through said network connection; an automated execution module configured to initiate a selection, a connection, and an execution of each of said plurality of tasks according to a prioritization schedule.
However, Fujiwara, which is in the same analogous art teaches about a system further comprising:
a task input interface(Fujiwara, paragraph 25, the processor 320 of the control device 300 is configured to generate a UI (user interface) screen to be presented to the user and display it on the display 370) for receiving an input specifying a plurality of tasks to be performed;(Fujiwara, paragraph 16, The control device 300 according to the embodiment generates a virtual world corresponding to a real world on the basis of the surrounding environment information of the work machines in the real world (S410), receives an input operation for giving an instruction of tasks to be executed to the work machines (S415))
a task scheduler module for storing said plurality of tasks in said memory of said controller,(Fujiwara, paragraph 104, the processor 320 sequentially adds skills subordinate to each skill to generate a task tree. Each generated task tree is stored in the storage unit 340.)
prioritizing and scheduling said plurality of tasks based on a sensor data from said
sensor and an external information accessed through said network connection;( Fujiwara, paragraph 137, The work machine (excavator) 100 and the second work machine (dump track) 160 perform motion planning for executing each operation task, and generate operation instructions for executing them. As a result, the work machines 100 and 160 execute each operation task of the instructed schedule. Since the control unit 200 performs motion planning of the work machines 100 and 160 with reference to the surrounding environment information detected by the environment sensors)
an automated execution module configured to initiate a selection, a connection, and an
execution of each of said plurality of tasks according to a prioritization schedule.(Fujiwara, paragraph 145, Then, the control unit 200 that has received the control signal performs motion planning of the work machines 100 and 160 based on the received control signal and the ambient environment information of the work machines 100 and 160, and each work machine 100 and 160. The operation command of is generated and executed by the work machines 100 and 160. As a result, the work machines 100 and 160 autonomously execute the task (discarding the soil in the area 1 in the area 2) instructed by the user. Fujiwara, paragraph 137, the work machines 100 and 160 execute each operation task of the instructed schedule ) Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Borud, Ross, Duffy, Messersi, Spacepac by incorporating Fujiwara task management system. By scheduling different tasks, it is possible for work machine to minimize travel time, and energy consumptions as well as reduce human intervention. Using different sensors, the machines can prioritize different tasks accordingly based on the environment conditions such as road and weather conditions.
Claims 12, 13, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Borud (US 10730551 B2) (hereinafter Borud) in view of Duffy (US 20190248007 A1) (hereinafter Duffy).
Regarding claim 12, a base vehicle(Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle ) comprising a right continuous track(Borud, col.4 line 24, a right-side continuous track) and a left continuous track,( Borud, col.4 line 23, left side continuous track) forming a track pair, each track pair independently powered by a first and second motor from an independent motor pair,( Borud, col.1 line 65,the plurality of electric motors including a first electric motor operatively coupled to the left side endless track assembly to drive movement of the left side continuous track and a second electric motor operatively coupled to the right side endless track assembly to drive movement of the right side continuous track independent of the left side continuous track) the operation of said motor pair being overseen by a controller;( Borud, col.9 line 35, motor controller monitor and control the operation of electric motor)
While Borud teaches about a base vehicle with left and right continuous track that operate independently; and a controller to control the pair of motors, it fails to teach a method for operating a modular vehicle system, comprising the steps of: providing a base vehicle providing a plurality of modular attachments in an at least one designated area; initiating a task request by specifying a desired task to be performed; selecting a first modular attachment from said plurality of modular attachments, the modular attachment capable of performing said desired task; utilizing said controller to navigate said base vehicle to approach said modular attachment; connecting said modular attachment to said base vehicle; and executing said specified task using said modular attachment under the control of said controller; said base vehicle further comprising a body defining a top-facing connection cavity disposed between said right continuous track and said left continuous track and opening upwardly from said body, and a plurality of base connection posts disposed at spaced-apart locations surrounding said connection cavity; each of said plurality of modular attachments comprising a frame having a plurality of attachment connection posts positioned to correspond with said base connection posts and at least one downwardly extending member configured to be received within said connection cavity when the modular attachment is operably combined with said base vehicle; connecting comprising: engaging said attachment connection posts with said base connection posts; and supporting said at least one downwardly extending member within said connection cavity so as to removably secure said modular attachment to said base vehicle while permitting said track pair to propel said modular attachment with said base vehicle as a combined unit;
However, Duffy, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about modular robotic system teaches about a method for operating a modular vehicle system, comprising the steps of: providing a base vehicle(Robot of Duffy similar to the base vehicle of the claim. Duffy, paragraph 71, The present disclosure provides for systems, apparatuses, and methods for operating a main robot comprising a universal connection interface configured to connect the main robot to a plurality of modular attachments to perform tasks of varying complexity), providing a plurality of modular attachments in an at least one designated area;( Duffy, paragraph 101, The main robot may navigate to a location in the store wherein a plurality of modular attachments are stored for the main robot to utilize to accomplish the series of tasks) initiating a task request by specifying a desired task to be performed;( Duffy, paragraph 216, The control module is configured to receive instructions. The received instructions may instruct the control module to operate the system in a manner not included in its standard programmed instructions, such as to move to a specific location and/or perform a requested task in response to the command) selecting a first modular attachment from said plurality of modular attachments,( Duffy, paragraph 105, determine a desired module to be utilized by the robot to perform a task, ) the modular attachment capable of performing said desired task;( Duffy, paragraph 105, attach the desired module to the robot [to perform a task]) utilizing said controller to navigate said base vehicle to approach said modular attachment;( Duffy, paragraph 157, Block 406 illustrates connection controller unit 304 telling controller 118 of main robot 102 to navigate main robot 102 to find the desired modular attachment from a plurality of modular attachments.) connecting said modular attachment to said base vehicle;(Duffy, paragraph 103, determine a desired module to be utilized by the robot to perform a task, and attach the desired module to the robot) and executing said specified task using said modular attachment under the control of said controller.( Duffy, paragraph 20, The instructions, when executed by a specialized processor, may cause the processor to operate a robot associated with a modular attachment used to perform a task. Duffy, paragraph 135, a robot 102, a controller 118, or any other controller, processor, robot, or modular attachment performing a task illustrated in the figures below comprises a controller executing computer readable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage apparatus, such as memory 120, as would be appreciated by one skilled in the art.) said base vehicle further comprising a body defining a top-facing connection cavity disposed between said right continuous track and said left continuous track and opening upwardly from said body(Duffy discloses a drive unit that is similar to the base vehicle, that can receive modular attachments. Duffy further discloses and demonstrates a drive unit opening/recess to attach different modules. Additionally, the drive units can incorporate continuous tracks. Duffy, paragraph 286, the ground accessory may fit into a recess disposed below at least a portion of the chassis of the drive unit, such as centrally disposed between the wheels of the drive unit in an opening in the bottom of the drive unit, in a bottom connection, such as shown in FIGS. 21A and 21B. Another embodiment of a robot device comprising a bottom connection configuration is shown in perspective and plan views in FIG. 27, in which the recess is open to both the front and bottom of the drive unit. Duffy, paragraph 261, the drive unit could comprise continuous tracks such as caterpillar track or tank treads comprising a system of vehicle propulsion in which a continuous band of treads or track plates is driven by one or more wheels to move the robotic device.), and a plurality of base connection posts disposed at spaced-apart locations surrounding said connection cavity(Duffy, paragraph 251, a robotic system may comprise a base device including a port for receiving at least one extension. Duffy, paragraph 286, The drive unit is generally U-shaped, with the wheels set in housing in the arms of the U, and the drive motor in the base of the U); each of said plurality of modular attachments comprising a frame having a plurality of attachment connection posts positioned to correspond with said base connection posts and at least one downwardly extending member configured to be received within said connection cavity when the modular attachment is operably combined with said base vehicle(Duffy discloses connectors and ports which are similar to attachment connection posts and base connection posts respectively. Furthermore, Duffy teaches the ports and connectors can be connected in a (male-ended) and jacks (female-ended) connection, which indicates an extended member from the modular attachment. Duffy, paragraph 280, the port/connector(s) comprise fasteners to mechanically/physically attach the other modules to the drive unit, electric (power) connectors, electronic connectors, communication connectors and the like. The accessory modules are typically attached to the drive unit in a fixed but releasable configuration by one or more fastening devices, including prongs, pins, clips, clamps, clasps, screws, flanges, cam locks and the like that engage a complementary portion on the other module such as a projection into a recess, a flange into a slot or groove, tongue and groove, etc. Duffy, paragraph 281,These connectors are generally electro-mechanical devices used to join electrical terminations and create an electrical circuit. Typically, electrical connectors consist of plugs (male-ended) and jacks (female-ended), or they may be hermaphrodite.. Duffy, paragraph 286, the ground accessory may fit into a recess disposed below at least a portion of the chassis of the drive unit, such as centrally disposed between the wheels of the drive unit in an opening in the bottom of the drive unit, in a bottom connection, such as shown in FIGS. 21A and 21B); connecting comprising: engaging said attachment connection posts with said base connection posts; and supporting said at least one downwardly extending member within said connection cavity (Duffy discloses stacking task modules on top of the drive module, indicating the task module sitting on top of the drive module. Duffy, paragraph 260, the drive module provides a platform for a stack of task modules on the platform (modules 1, 2, and up to ‘n’ modules, where ‘n’ is an integer greater than one (1) or two (2)), with the control module at the top of the stack. Each stackable module is connected to the drive unit or a lower module in the stack via a top port with a top connector. Duffy, paragraph 280, the port/connector(s) comprise fasteners to mechanically/physically attach the other modules to the drive unit, electric (power) connectors, electronic connectors, communication connectors and the like. The accessory modules are typically attached to the drive unit in a fixed but releasable configuration by one or more fastening devices, including prongs, pins, clips, clamps, clasps, screws, flanges, cam locks and the like that engage a complementary portion on the other module such as a projection into a recess, a flange into a slot or groove, tongue and groove, etc.)so as to removably secure said modular attachment to said base vehicle while permitting said track pair to propel said modular attachment with said base vehicle as a combined unit(Duffy further discusses plurality of task modules that can be removably attached to the drive unit. Duffy, paragraph 15, The accessory module is removably attached to the drive unit. The accessory module comprises a plurality of accessories like backpack accessories, trailer accessories and floor or ground accessories to perform multiple household and yard maintenance tasks. Duffy, paragraph 260, the drive module provides a platform for a stack of task modules on the platform (modules 1, 2, and up to ‘n’ modules, where ‘n’ is an integer greater than one (1) or two (2)), with the control module at the top of the stack. Each stackable module is connected to the drive unit or a lower module in the stack via a top port with a top connector. Duffy, paragraph 261, the drive unit could comprise continuous tracks such as caterpillar track or tank treads comprising a system of vehicle propulsion in which a continuous band of treads or track plates is driven by one or more wheels to move the robotic device);
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Borud with the Duffy’s autonomous robot(similar to the modular vehicle) with interchangeable attachment and a mechanism of executing different tasks autonomously. Duffy’s teaching of autonomous execution of desired task reduces human intervention, as its robot has the capability of performing autonomously. In addition, the versatility of the robot can allow it to perform multiple functions by simply swapping attachments. Furthermore, by incorporating a cavity between the continuous tracks, it is possible quicky attach the different attachments without the need to reconfigure/ open the entire base vehicle, saving time and energy.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Borud and Duffy teaches the method of claim 12, (Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Duffy, paragraph 71)further comprising a step of utilizing said controller to navigate a combination of said base vehicle and said modular attachment combination to said designated area(Duffy’s main robot navigation to a preferred attachment location before a task implies the robot and the attachment connecting before executing a given task. Furthermore, autonomous navigation of the robot to the attachment location indicates its capability of navigating to a given location. Duffy, paragraph 101,The main robot may first navigate and connect to a scrubber attachment using a universal connection interface prior to scrubbing the floor. The main robot, upon finishing the task of floor cleaning, may navigate back to the location of the plurality of modular attachments) and a step of disengaging said modular attachment.(Duffy teaches a detaching of the attachment which implies a disengaging occurring before an attachment is detached. Duffy, paragraph 101, the main robot, upon finishing the task of floor cleaning, may navigate back to the location of the plurality of modular attachments, detach the scrubber, and attach to a gripper arm modular attachment using the same universal connection interface.)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Borud and Duffy teaches the method of claim 12, (Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Duffy, paragraph 71) wherein said base vehicle further comprises (As can be seen on fig. 13 of Borud, the motors are surrounded by a body. Borud, col.4 line 47 the vehicle further includes a drive assembly 300 (FIGS. 10-15), a frame assembly 140 (FIGS. 8 and 9), a body or tub) an at least one battery having a connection thereto.( Borud discloses batteries which are present in a storage device that power the electric motors. This demonstrates battery to motor connection. Borud, col.8 line 44, vehicle 100, in one embodiment may include one or more storage devices 366 which store electrical energy to power left side electric motor 306 and right-side electric motor 308. Exemplary storage devices include batteries 363 and supercapacitors).
Regarding claim 19, Borud and Duffy teach the method of claim 12, (Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Duffy, paragraph 71) wherein said controller is a computing device having a processor,( Borud, col.9 line 54, vehicle controller 378 are microprocessor-based controllers and each may include a non-transitory computer readable medium) a memory,( Borud, col.10 line 1, A non-transitory computer-readable medium, such as non-transitory computer readable medium 380, may include random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), erasable programmable read-only memory (e.g., EPROM, EEPROM, or Flash memory), or any other tangible medium capable of storing information) a non-transitory computer readable medium,( Borud, col.9 line 54, vehicle controller 378 are microprocessor-based controllers and each may include a non-transitory computer readable medium) a network connection,( Borud, col.10 line 31, vehicle controller 378 may be networked together over a suitable communicates network) and an at least one sensor.( Borud, col.11 line 21,Vehicle controller 378 receives multiple inputs from sensors and operator actuatable inputs of vehicle 100)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Borud (US 10730551 B2) (hereinafter Borud) in view of Duffy (US 20190248007 A1) (hereinafter Duffy) in view of Ross (US 20140360811 A1) (hereinafter Ross).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Borud and Duffy teaches the method of claim 13,( Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Duffy, paragraph 71) wherein said plurality of base connection posts comprises a first, a second, a third, and a fourth mounting location(The mounting location is assumed to be the attachment location for a particular work tool. As mentioned in the specification, an attachment can be connected to the base vehicle by towing hitch when the modular vehicle is reconfigured to be used as towing vehicle. Borud teaches towing capability of a vehicle by its different attachment connecting mechanism. Borud, col.6, line 32, Additional tie-downs, latches, hooks, or other members may be provided for attaching additional cargo or assisting with towing capacity)
While the combination of Borud and Duffy teaches about a base vehicle which can be reconfigured to different work vehicle by swapping different attachments, as well as mounting location for towing, it fails to add more mounting location to receive an at least one of said plurality of modular accessories
However, Ross, which is in the same analogous art teaches about disclose a mounting location to receive an at least one of said plurality of modular accessories(Ross, paragraph 28, The center channel 18 can be readily modified with brackets, or other functional hardware, to facilitate the securing of a wide range of work tools to the center channel).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Borud and Duffy by incorporating Ross’s mounting location to receive modular accessories. By having a universal mounting location, it is possible to mount different work attachments easily, without the need of different vehicles to execute different tasks.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Borud (US 10730551 B2) (hereinafter Borud) in view of Duffy (US 20190248007 A1) (hereinafter Duffy) in further view of Ross (US 20140360811 A1) (hereinafter Ross) in further view of Spacepac (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_9hwN26rWg)(hereinafter Spacepac).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Borud, Duffy, and Ross teaches the method of claim 15,(Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Duffy, paragraph 71; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment)
While the combination of Borud, Duffy, and Ross teaches a modular vehicle that can be reconfigured to different work machines, it specifically fails to specify vehicle body wherein said body has an opening, said opening is configured to receive a lifting arm of an at least one of said plurality of modular attachments.
However, Spacepac, which is in the same analogous art shows a work machine that depicts a body wherein said body has an opening,( Spacepac, timestamp 00:00:23, video shows an opening in the body) said opening is configured to receive a lifting arm of an at least one of said plurality of modular attachments.( Spacepac, timestamp 00:00:23, a lifting arm can be seen placed in between the opening. Furthermore, Ross discloses a dump box hydraulic piston can be placed on the crawler undercarriage. Ross paragraph 28, Should it be determined that a modular work tool other than one with a torsion box is required, for example dump box (not shown), the modular unit can be lifted by a crane onto the crawler undercarriage 10 and the dump box pivot point (not shown) and the hydraulic piston (not shown) can be quickly secured to the center channel 18)
Fig. 8 Figure shows the opening for the operation of the lifting arm
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Borud, Duffy, and Ross by incorporating Spacepac’s body opening and Ross’s lifting arm receiving capability. Spacepac shows an opening of the body to receive lifting arm, but does not specifically disclose the receiving the attachment. However, Ross teaches the swapping capability with different attachments with lifting arm. An attachment with pre-installed lifting arm is advantageous to quickly and effectively install it on a base vehicle, meaning it is possible to rapidly switch between different attachments such as a dump box and flat bed.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Borud, Duffy, Ross, and Spacepac teaches the method of claim 16,( Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Duffy, paragraph 71; Ross, paragraph 2, crawler undercarriage configured for modular attachment) wherein said at least one of said plurality of attachments comprises said lifting arm having a connection to a base of a container,( Spacepac, timestamp 00:00:23,video shows the lifting arm having a connection to a base of a container) said base configured having a surface substantially parallel with said track pair when said lifting arm is in a lowered position.( Spacepac, timestamp 00:00:37, video shows a container parallel to the wheels of the dumper when lifting arm is lowered.)
Fig. 11 Shows lifting arm having a connection to a base of a container
Fig. 12 shows base configured in parallel with wheel when said lifting arm is in a lowered position
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Borud (US 10730551 B2) (hereinafter Borud) in view of Ross (US 20140360811 A1) (hereinafter Ross) in further view of Messersi(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=no8piBv1hSY)( Messersi) in further view of Spacepac(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_9hwN26rWg) (hereinafter Spacepac) in further view of MGC(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhlW4h-g7Is)(hereinafter MGC).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Borud, Duffy, and Ross teaches the method of claim 16, ,(Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Duffy, paragraph 71)
While the combination of Borud, Duffy, Ross, and Spacepac teaches a modular vehicle that can be reconfigured to different work machines, it specifically fails to specify attachments wherein said at least one of said plurality of attachments comprises said lifting arm having a connection to a span member connecting an elongated member pair having an upper end and a lower end, said lower end having a wedge configured to contact a ground when said lifting arm is in a raised position.
However, MGC, which is in the same analogous art shows a work vehicle that depicts an attachment wherein said at least one of said plurality of attachments comprises said lifting arm(timestamp 00:02:20,video shows hydraulic lifting arm) having a connection to a span member connecting an elongated member pair having an upper end and a lower end, ( timestamp 00:02:20,flatbed similar to the elongated member) said lower end having a wedge configured to contact a ground when said lifting arm is in a raised position(timestamp 00:02:12, a ramp similar to the wedge that can be extended to rest on the ground when the lifting arm is raised).
Fig. 9 Figure shows a raised flatbed with extendable ramp
Fig. 10 Figure shows a raised flatbed with the extendable ramp resting on the ground
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Borud, Duffy, Ross, and Spacepac by incorporating MGC’s flatbed with extendable ramp. MGC shows a lifting platform with a ramp that can be used to load heavy object on the flatbed. Similar to the claim, it has ramp which can rest on the ground when the arm is raised. Even though the video does not depict the attaching and detaching of the flatbed, as disclosed in the Ross reference, it would’ve been obvious to swap the dump box with the flatbed. Furthermore, as shown by Messersi’s remote control system, it is possible to incorporate the wireless control system to control the movement of the flatbed attachment. By using a flatbed with a ramp, it is possible to easily load heavy object directly onto the flatbed without the need of cranes or heavy loading equipment.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Borud (US 10730551 B2) (hereinafter Borud) in view of Duffy (US 20190248007 A1) (hereinafter Duffy) in further view of Ross (US 20140360811 A1) (hereinafter Ross) in further view of Spacepac (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_9hwN26rWg) (hereinafter Spacepac) in further view of Fujiwara (WO 2021090906 A1) (hereinafter Fujiwara).
Regarding claim 20, Borud, Duffy, Ross, and Spacepac teach the method of claim 19, , (Borud, col.4 line 19 a vehicle; Duffy, paragraph 71)
While the combination of Borud, Ross, Messersi, and Spacepac teaches a modular vehicle that can be reconfigured to different work machines, it specifically fails to specify a method further comprising: receiving an input at said controller via said network connection said input specifying a plurality of tasks to be performed; storing said plurality of tasks in said memory of said controller; utilizing said at least one sensor to assess an area relevant to said tasks plurality of tasks; employing said network connection to access an external data source for an additional task- related information; processing said input, a sensor data, and said additional task-related information to prioritize and schedule said plurality of tasks into a plurality of steps having a prioritization schedule; initiating a selection of and a connection to an at least one of said plurality of modular attachments; and executing said plurality of steps for said plurality of specified tasks in accordance with said prioritization schedule.
However, Fujiwara, which is in the same analogous art teaches about a method further comprising: receiving an input at said controller via said network connection ( Fujiwara, paragraph 25, The transmission / reception unit 150 can be connected to the control unit 200 by a wired connection or a wireless connection, and therefore, transmission / reception of those signals / information can be performed by a wired or wireless connection.) said input specifying a plurality of tasks to be performed;( Fujiwara, paragraph 1, The control device 300 according to the embodiment generates a virtual world corresponding to a real world on the basis of the surrounding environment information of the work machines in the real world (S410), receives an input operation for giving an instruction of tasks to be executed to the work machines (S415)) storing said plurality of tasks in said memory of said controller;( Fujiwara, paragraph 104, the processor 320 sequentially adds skills subordinate to each skill to generate a task tree. Each generated task tree is stored in the storage unit 340) utilizing said at least one sensor to assess an area relevant to said tasks plurality of tasks;( Fujiwara, paragraph 141, The processor 220 of the control unit 200 monitors the status of each object executing the task from the surrounding environment information detected by the environment sensors) employing said network connection to access an external data source for an additional task- related information;(The receiving of environment signal via internet indicated a data retrieval through a network. Fujiwara, paragraph 9, the communication protocol, frequency, and the like used for transmitting and receiving those signals and information can be appropriately selected according to the application and environment in which the work machines 100 and 160 are used. The transmission / reception unit 260 may be connected to a network such as the Internet.) processing said input,( Fujiwara, paragraph 1, The control device receives an input operation for giving an instruction of tasks to be executed to the work machines) a sensor data,( Fujiwara, paragraph 17, environment data collected by the environment sensors ) and said additional task-related information to prioritize and schedule said plurality of tasks into a plurality of steps having a prioritization schedule;(Fujiwara, paragraph 137, The work machine (excavator) 100 and the second work machine (dump track) 160 perform motion planning for executing each operation task, and generate operation instructions for executing them. As a result, the work machines 100 and 160 execute each operation task of the instructed schedule. Since the control unit 200 performs motion planning of the work machines 100 and 160 with reference to the surrounding environment information detected by the environment sensors.) initiating a selection of and a connection to an at least one of said plurality of modular attachments;( Duffy, paragraph 105, determine a desired module to be utilized by the robot to perform a task, Duffy, paragraph 103, determine a desired module to be utilized by the robot to perform a task, and attach the desired module to the robot ) and executing said plurality of steps for said plurality of specified tasks in accordance with said prioritization schedule.( Fujiwara, paragraph 137, the work machines 100 and 160 execute each operation task of the instructed schedule)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Borud, Duffy, Ross, Spacepac by incorporating Fujiwara task management system. By scheduling different tasks, it is possible for the work machine to minimize travel time, conserve energy consumption, as well as reduce human intervention. Using different sensors, the machines can prioritize different tasks accordingly based on the environment conditions such as road and weather conditions.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure
Edwards(US 20100106344 A1) discloses unmanned land vehicle having universal interfaces for attachments and autonomous operation capabilities.
Phillips(US 20160378110 A1) discloses a method of operating a remote vehicle configured to communicate with an operator control.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlRqx-kjnOg (a remote-controlled tracked undercarriage)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzC5ZvaLKBo (remote-controlled work vehicle )
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665