DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 10/13/2023.
3. Claims 1-14 are pending, and all the claims are examined.
4. The IDS filed on 08/02/2024 is considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KATTIMANI et al (US 20230039601 A1).
KATTIMANI et al (“Kattimani”) is directed to methods and systems for remote configuration of software applications.
As per claim 1, Kattimani discloses a method (see flowchart/workflows in Figs. 3 and 4) , comprising:
by a framework executing in a process of an application on an electronic device, [0010] FIG. 1 depicts an example computing environment in which declarative constructs are validated and deployed to implement application functionality in a software application executing on a client device. [0022] Player application 112 generally represents an application that allows a user to invoke functions defined by a declarative construct and/or invoke functions at an application service 122 executing on application server 120 to perform various operations provided by an application), wherein the electronic device includes a display ([0019] declarative constructs can include information about a user interface to display to a user of a software application, [0058] also see various I/O devices 514 (e.g., keyboards, displays, mouse devices, pen input, etc.) in Fig. 5);
receiving, from the application, a declarative request ([0023] To provide application functionality to a user of client device 110, player application 112 can request a declarative construct for a step in a workflow implemented in the player application from an application service 122 executing at application server 120. … In one aspect, the request message may be generated by invoking a data write event to identify the workflow, or the step in the workflow, that player application 112 is requesting from application service 122);
in response to receiving the declarative request, determining, based on the declarative request ([0056] in response to receiving this request, the validated declarative construct may be transmitted to the player application, and the player application can parse the declarative construct and execute the workflow based on parsing the declarative construct, as discussed above.
one or more user-interface elements ([0028] For example, the one or more actions may include transmitting, to the application service, data entered into the user interface displayed by player application 112 and a request for a next step in a workflow as identified in the declarative construct in messaging between player application 112 and application service 122); and
a visual configuration of the one or more user-interface elements, wherein the visual configuration is not defined in the declarative request ([0026] In some aspects, the player application 112 may be configured with default appearance parameters (e.g., typeface, text color, button color, user interface component effects, etc.) to apply to the rendered user interface components if the declarative construct does not otherwise include information defining the appearance of the rendered user interface components. based on the visual configuration, rendering a user interface including the one or more user-interface elements ([0026] To render a user interface in player application 112, remote configuration service 114 generally instructs player application 112 to render user interface components according to a layout identified in the declarative construct. The layout identified in the declarative construct may define, for example, relative locations and sizes of user interface components to be displayed to a user of player application 112. Also see [0019]);
and
after rendering the user interface, causing the user interface to be displayed via the display ([0019] As discussed in further detail herein, declarative constructs can include information about a user interface to display to a user of a software application, how the software application reacts to various events within the software application, logic for processing user input, and the like. [0026], [0067], 0077, 0089, and 0104]).
As per claim 2, Kattimani further discloses that method of claim 1, further comprising: while the user interface is displayed via the display, detecting an input directed to a user- interface element of the user interface; [0027] In some aspects, the declarative construct received from application service 122 includes information defining actions performed when a user interacts with the user interface components identified in the declarative construct. To configure player application 112, remote configuration service 114 can generate and attach event listeners to user interface elements having associated actions defined in the declarative construct. These event listeners generally monitor the associated user interface elements for specified types of user interaction (e.g., clicking or pressing a button, typing data into a text entry field) and, upon detecting an occurrence of the specified types of user interaction, performs the associated action.
in response to detecting the input directed to the user-interface element of the user interface, performing an operation corresponding to the input ([0028] When player application 112 detects interaction with a user interface element for which the associated event listener is configured to cause a transition from a current workflow to target workflow, player application 112 can execute one or more actions to request a declarative construct associated with the target workflow); and
after detecting the input directed to the user-interface element of the user interface, sending, to the application, a message corresponding to the input ([0028] For example, the one or more actions may include transmitting, to the application service, data entered into the user interface displayed by player application 112 and a request for a next step in a workflow as identified in the declarative construct in messaging between player application 112 and application service 122).
As per claim 3, Kattimani further discloses that method of claim 1, wherein performing the operation includes sending a request to a server in communication with the electronic device, and wherein the message includes an indication of a result of sending the request to the server ([0023] In requesting the declarative construct for the step in the workflow, player application 112 can identify the workflow, or the step in the workflow, in a request message placed on a communications link between client device 110 and application server 120. For example, player application 112 can place a request message on the communications link by requesting data through one or more messages placed on a data layer 116 through which data event messaging is exchanged between player application 112 and application service 122. In one aspect, the request message may be generated by invoking a data write event to identify the workflow, or the step in the workflow, that player application 112 is requesting from application service 122).
As per claim 4, Kattimani further discloses that method of claim 1, wherein the framework is downloaded by the application from an operating system of the electronic device. ([0042] As illustrated, operations 300 begin at block 310, where a declarative construct is received at a remote configuration service (e.g., remote configuration service 114 of FIG. 1). The declarative construct generally includes a definition of a workflow in an application to be executed within a player application deployed on a client device (e.g., player application 112 of FIG. 1). As discussed, the declarative construct may be received as parseable data (e.g., an XML, or JSON payload) in which various parameters of the workflow to be executed in the player application are defined. Furthermore as described in claim 20, processor configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the system to: receive, from a remote configuration service, a declarative construct including a definition of a workflow in an application to be executed within a player application deployed on a client device; see claim 20).
As per claim 5, Kattimani further discloses that method of claim 1, wherein the declarative request includes an identification of one or more objects, and wherein the one or more user-interface elements correspond to the one or more objects ([0025] To configure the player application, remote configuration service 114 can parse the declarative construct to identify the operating parameters, such as user interface layouts, events bound to user interface elements, parameters of various functions in the application, and the like, with which player application 112 is to be configured).
As per claim 6, Kattimani further discloses that method of claim 5, wherein rendering the user interface including the one or more user-interface elements includes: in accordance with a determination that a first object of the one or more objects is a first object type, rendering a user-interface element of a first user-interface type; [0049] In cases where the declarative construct includes information defining a user interface associated with the workflow, executing the workflow in the player application generally includes rendering the user interface according to the information in the declarative construct. This information may include, for example, information identify the type and location of each user interface element to be rendered in the player application. and
in accordance with a determination that the first object of the one or more objects is a second object type different from the first object type, rendering a user-interface element of a second user-interface type different from the first user-interface type ([0027] In some aspects, the declarative construct received from application service 122 includes information defining actions performed when a user interacts with the user interface components identified in the declarative construct. To configure player application 112, remote configuration service 114 can generate and attach event listeners to user interface elements having associated actions defined in the declarative construct. These event listeners generally monitor the associated user interface elements for specified types of user interaction (e.g., clicking or pressing a button, typing data into a text entry field) and, upon detecting an occurrence of the specified types of user interaction, performs the associated action. [0049] In cases where the declarative construct includes information defining a user interface associated with the workflow, executing the workflow in the player application generally includes rendering the user interface according to the information in the declarative construct. This information may include, for example, information identify the type and location of each user interface element to be rendered in the player application).
As per claim 7, Kattimani further discloses that method of claim 5, wherein the declarative request includes a size, an order, an identification of a first icon, a description, a background, and/or a portion of a respective user interface to include a background, or any combination thereof corresponding to an object of the one or more objects ([0025] Remote configuration service 114 generally receives a declarative construct for the workflow or the step in the workflow implemented by the application and requested by player application 112 and uses the received declarative construct to configure the player application. o configure the player application, remote configuration service 114 can parse the declarative construct to identify the operating parameters, such as user interface layouts, events bound to user interface elements, parameters of various functions in the application, and the like, with which player application 112 is to be configured. It should be recognized that the declarative constructs provided to remote configuration service 114 may include user interface information alone, parameters defining how player application 112 is to operate alone, a combination of user interface information and parameters defining how player application 112 is to operate, and/or other information based on which player application 112 can operate).
As per claim 9, Kattimani further discloses that method of claim 5, wherein the declarative request includes a representation of a second icon ([0019 ]As discussed in further detail herein, declarative constructs can include information about a user interface to display to a user of a software application, how the software application reacts to various events within the software application, logic for processing user input, and the like. [0039] As illustrated, declarative construct 200 includes information defining a plurality of screens and a plurality of navigation conditions. Screen1, as illustrated, includes a user interface view, UI View 1, that in turn includes SubViews 1.1 and 1.2. SubView 1.1 includes a plurality of text boxes, and SubView 1.2 includes a submit button).
As per claim 11, Kattimani further discloses that the method of claim 1, wherein rendering the user interface including the one or more user-interface elements includes:
in accordance with a determination that the declarative request corresponds to a single object, rendering a user-interface element of a third user-interface type; and in accordance with a determination that the declarative request corresponds to a plurality of objects, rendering a user-interface element of a fourth user-interface type different from the third user-interface type. ([0043] In some aspects, the declarative construct identifies a user interface associated with the workflow to be rendered by the player application. Actions may be associated with user interface components included in the user interface. For example, information defining these actions may include mappings between types of events (e.g., user interface selection or focus events, data entry events, etc.) and actions to perform when these events occur (e.g., what functions are triggered when an event occurs). 0049] In cases where the declarative construct includes information defining a user interface associated with the workflow, executing the workflow in the player application generally includes rendering the user interface according to the information in the declarative construct. This information may include, for example, information identify the type and location of each user interface element to be rendered in the player application).
As per claim 12, Kattimani further discloses that the method of claim 1, wherein the user interface includes a respective user-interface element with:
in accordance with a determination that the declarative request satisfies a first set of one or more criteria with respect to one or more characteristics of the electronic device, a first visual appearance; and in accordance with a determination that the declarative request includes a requirement that does not satisfy the first set of one or more criteria with respect to the one or more characteristics of the electronic device, a second visual appearance different from the first visual appearance ([0026] To render a user interface in player application 112, remote configuration service 114 generally instructs player application 112 to render user interface components according to a layout identified in the declarative construct. The layout identified in the declarative construct may define, for example, relative locations and sizes of user interface components to be displayed to a user of player application 112. Additionally, other user interface information included in the declarative construct may define the appearance of these user interface components. In some aspects, the player application 112 may be configured with default appearance parameters (e.g., typeface, text color, button color, user interface component effects, etc.) to apply to the rendered user interface components if the declarative construct does not otherwise include information defining the appearance of the rendered user interface components. Otherwise, the remote configuration service 114 can instruct player application 112 to render the user interface components according to the appearance parameters provided in the declarative construct).
As per claim 13, Kattimani discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory 508, Fig. 5) of the electronic device (System 500 may correspond to client device 110 illustrated in FIG. 1). The limitations of this claim correspond to the limitations of claim 1. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected under similar citations given to the method claim 1.
As per claim 14, Kattimani discloses an electronic device (a client device 110, Fig. 1). The limitations of this claim correspond to the limitations of claim 1. Thus, claim 14 is also rejected under similar citations given to the method claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11039225 B2- the disclosed technology is generally directed to communications in an IoT environment. For example, such technology is usable for IoT data control. In one example of the technology, a declarative data request is received. The declarative data request is a request for data from multiple IoT devices. The declarative data request is translated into a plurality of individual requests. Destination IoT devices associated with the plurality of individual requests are identified. The plurality of individual requests to the destination IoT devices are sent. IoT data is received from the destination IoT devices based on the plurality of individual requests. The declarative data request is responded to based on the received IoT data.
US 20240235855 A1 discloses an endpoint node of a multiple node environment includes a storage and a processor. The storage stores a public key for an owner of the endpoint node. The processor receives a declarative request. The declarative request includes a signed certificate and a job to be performed in the endpoint node. In response to reception of the declarative request, the processor determines that the signed certificate is valid, and begins execution of the job associated with the declarative request. In response to a trigger event, the processor re-checks the signed certificate, and determines whether the signed certificate has been revoked. In response to the signed certificate being revoked, the processor performs an action indicated in a policy in the storage.
US 20110307405 A1 discloses a business object model, which reflects data that is used during a given business transaction, is utilized to generate interfaces. This business object model facilitates commercial transactions by providing consistent interfaces that are suitable for use across industries, across businesses, and across different departments within a business during a business transaction. In some operations, software creates, updates, or otherwise processes information related to an export declaration and/or an export declaration request business object.
US 20130297758 A1 - An approach for providing a request-oriented service architecture is described. A request from a user agent is forwarded to an originating resource manager specifying a feature and an action to be performed on the feature. A modified request is generated based on the request, the modified request including declaration information. Further, a transaction is generated based on the state of the feature and the modified request, and a current state of the feature is updated based on the transaction.
/TADESSE HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174