DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton (WO 2023/076429 A1) in view of Patton ’72 (US 2022/0302872 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 13-15, 17, and 20 Patton discloses a photovoltaic module crossbar/photovoltaic module/a method of forming a photovoltaic module crossbar, comprising (see Figs. 18A, 18B, Figs. 5A-5G and Abstract, pgs. 11-13, 17-20, 1860) :
a photovoltaic module frame (elements, 1801, see Fig. 18A, 18B)
a central portion/forming a central portion (Fig. 5A-5G, portion where tabs are present, tabs have angled or beveled edges which are also angled edges) ;
a first angled end portion/forming a first angled end portion (Fig. 5A-5G, tabs have angled or beveled edges which are also angled edges) extending from the central portion in a first direction and configured to incur deformations (bent tabs, spring tabs, press fit tabs) from a first component of a photovoltaic module frame (slots formed in frame, see Figs. 5A-5G) that interlock with deformations in the first component of the photovoltaic module frame;
and a second angled end portion/forming a second angled end portion (note each end of crossbar will have the tab connector, and therefore there is a second angled portion, identical to structure mapped above) extending from the central portion in a second direction and configured to incur deformations from a second component of the photovoltaic module frame that interlock with deformations in the second component of the photovoltaic module frame.
However, Patton does not disclose that the angled end portions are configured to incur permanent deformations from first and second components.
Patton does disclose that a variety of tabs on a crossbar can interconnect with the first and second hole aperture components in the frame (pg. 25, line 7-21) and further discloses that it is desirable to have the frame sections are all electrically grounded for safety (see pg. 13, lines 24-33).
Patton ’72 discloses a tab structure (see Fig. 49, components 80,81, 74) of a crossbeam that interconnects with an aperture of frame (See Fig. 49, 79) and that the racking tab may only partially spring back ([0117]) and further discloses that the action of interconnecting the tab and aperture can electrically ground the cross components and the frame ([0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify the frame apertures and the angled end portions of crossbar of Patton so that it had the structure as disclosed by Patton ’72 which results in a permanent deformation (does not fully spring back) after mated and further have the interconnection action ground the crossbar and frame as disclosed by Patton ’72 because Patton discloses that it is desirable to have a grounded structure and furthermore because a variety of tab and aperture structures can be used.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Patton discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Patton discloses wherein the deformations in the first angled end portion and the deformations in the second angled end portion attach the photovoltaic module crossbar to the photovoltaic module frame (see Figs. 18A, 18B, Figs. 5A-5G and Abstract, pgs. 11-13, 17-20, 1860).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Patton discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Patton discloses wherein the photovoltaic module frame includes
a rectangular portion (see Figs. 18A, 18B, pgs. 11-13).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Patton discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Patton discloses that the photovoltaic module is mounted in the pocket (see 506 and cross bar will be on back of module, pg. 17 and pg. 6) is adjacent to a backsheet (module formed of layers, therefore a backsheet will be present) of the photovoltaic module.
Regarding claim 4, 11, and 18, Patton discloses all of the claim imitations as set forth above.
However, Patton does not disclose that elements 1801 which form the frame have a rectangular tube.
In addition embodiments such as those shown in Fig. 5A Patton discloses that the frame can be formed of elements which have a rectangular tube.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the elements which form the frame of Patton by having a rectangular tube portion as disclosed by Patton because Patton teaches that having such elements is appropriate for forming a frame structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726