DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) of claim 6 is withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 6.
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims received on 9/3/2025 have been entered, and that no new matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1: Applicant argues on page 11 in the filing on 9/3/2025 that Barzilay does not teach the amended portions of claim 1.
Response to Argument 1: Argument 1 is moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The scope of the amendment has changed and new art has been applied.
Argument 2: Applicant argues on page 17 that Lewis does not teach “the claimed first content information selected from published task information about collaborative tasks in the first region of the current interface and comprising information of a first task among the collaborative tasks” and “determining a first user based on collaborative relationship between the first user and an owner of the information of the first task among the collaborative tasks displayed in the first region of the current interface” in claim 1.
Response to Argument 2: Respectfully, the combination of Morton, Lewis, Gorny, and Wu teach the above. Lewis teaches a message including content that a video can be viewed. Selecting the message causes an interface to be displayed. The content of the message, the video, is displayed in the user interface. This content includes task information (that the video needs to be viewed), and the task can be collaborative (can be viewed with others, commented on, etc.) [Lewis Col 4 lines 42-43, Col 4 lines 58-66, Fig. 1A-1B]. Additionally, new art Morton also teaches the above.
Lewis teaches determining whether each user is a collaborator with the creator of the video by determining connections, viewed videos, subscribed to videos, interacted with social networks, or interacted with groups associated with the creator. Each user has a representation displayed in the group interface [Lewis Col 6 lines 37-43, Col 4 lines 58-66, Fig. 1A-1B, Col 6 lines 37-43, Fig. 1A-1B]. Additionally, new art Morton also teaches the above. See rejection below for more details.
Argument 3: Applicant argues on page 18 that “Gorny's historical activities associated with customers (e.g., phone calls from customers) are not the claimed content information comprising published task information about collaborative tasks” in claim 1.
Response to Argument 3: Respectfully, Gorny teaches the above. Gorny Fig. 12 teaches a historical list of communications that includes a ticket displaying posted ticket information. A helpdesk ticket is a collaborative task with Jane and the ticket creator. See rejection below for more details.
This meets the claim limitations as currently claimed, and Applicant's Arguments 1 filed on 9/3/2025 is moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendment; Applicant’s Arguments 2-3 are not persuasive. Applicant’s remaining statements regarding the remaining independent and dependent claims are moot or not persuasive for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morton, Patent Application Publication Number US 20150363092 A1 (hereinafter “Morton”), in view of Lewis et al., Patent Application Publication number US 9768974 B1 (hereinafter “Lewis”), in view of Gorny, Patent Application Publication number US 20250173731 A1 (hereinafter “Gorny”), in view of Wu et al., Patent Number US 9477945 B2 (hereinafter “Wu”).
Claim 1: Morton teaches “A method of creating communication groups based on selected collaborative task information (Morton Fig. 16 shows a collaborative rooms screen and a chat interface), comprising:
displaying content information… in a first region of a current interface, wherein the content information comprises published task information about collaborative tasks (Morton Fig. 16 element 1610 shows published task information about collaborative tasks “Test Room” and “UI Room.” From instant specification 0061, the term “published” appears to mean “posted”)…
determining first content information in response to a first operation event for selecting certain information from the content information displayed in the first region of the current interface, wherein the first content information comprises information of a first task among the collaborative tasks (i.e. FIG. 16, region 1620 displays content associated with the Room selected in region 1610… including Details 1622 (information regarding the Room configuration) [Morton 0087]);
displaying an interface element in a second region of the current interface (Morton Fig. 16’s chat tab) in response to determining the information of the first task (i.e. Header buttons 1622, 1624, 1626, 1628 and 1630 display various types of content within the selected Room, including Details 1622 (information regarding the Room configuration), Chat 1624 (chronological unstructured messaging), Posts 1626 (topic-based content contributions with associated discussion) [Morton 0087] note: “in response to the determining the information of the first task” is in response to the first operation in the limitation above. Morton displays a chat tab in response to the first operation of selecting a room), wherein the interface element is configured to enable creations of communication groups associated with the information of the first task, and wherein the interface element is a single interface element (i.e. In the context of the group chat pane of FIG. 16, a user can select a user interface element associated with another user whose chat message is displayed in region 1620, such as avatars 1651 and 1652. Selection of user 1651 initiates user-specific sliding pane 2300, partially overlaying region 1620, as illustrated in FIG. 23 [Morton 0098, Fig. 16, 23] note: the avatars are interface elements configured to enable creation of communication groups. The avatars are users associated with the information of Test Room);
displaying a group creation interface in response to a second operation event performed on the interface element (i.e. In the context of the group chat pane of FIG. 16, a user can select a user interface element associated with another user whose chat message is displayed in region 1620, such as avatars 1651 and 1652. Selection of user 1651 initiates user-specific sliding pane 2300, partially overlaying region 1620, as illustrated in FIG. 23 [Morton 0098, Fig. 16, 23] note: group of 2 members. This element creates a chat interface, so it’s a chat creation interface);
determining a first user based on a collaborative relationship (i.e. Member 1630 (specifying users having access to the selected Room) [Morton 0087] Morton Fig. 16’s shows that Test Room’s chat is between the members having access to Test Room)…, and displaying a representation corresponding to the first user in the group creation interface (Morton Fig. 23 shows “John Doe” in the group chat creation interface, who is a collaborator of Test Room);…
displaying a session of the first communication group in a third region of the current interface (Morton Fig. 23 shows another chat session displayed in another region, region 2300, of the interface).”
Morton is silent regarding “between the first user and an owner of the information of the first task.”
Lewis teaches “determining first content information in response to a first operation event for selecting certain information from the content information displayed in the first region of the current interface (i.e. An individual message [notification] (such as message [notification] 104) can include any suitable content. For example, as shown in FIG. 1A [Lewis Col 4 lines 42-43, Fig. 1A-1B]… [notification] message 104 can be selectable, and selection (e.g., touching, clicking, etc.) of [notification] message 104 can cause a second user interface to be presented. In instances where [notification] message 104 includes an indication that a new video is available for viewing and/or has been shared, the second user interface can include a video player window for presenting the new video, and/or a communication interface for a group conversation and/or chat with one or more other users who have also received message 104 [Lewis Col 4 lines 58-66, Fig. 1A-1B]), wherein the first content information comprises information of a first task among the collaborative tasks (Lewis Fig. 1A-1B shows the task of checking Animal Trainers videos);…
determining a first user based on a collaborative relationship between the first user and an owner of the information of the first task (i.e. whether each user is connected to a creator of the new video (e.g., has viewed videos created by the content creator in the past, has subscribed to videos associated with the content creator, has subscribed to social networking posts and/or a group associated with the content creator on a social networking site, and/or any other suitable criteria) [Lewis Col 6 lines 37-43]), and displaying a representation corresponding to the first user in the group… interface (i.e. chat with one or more other users who have also received message 104 [Lewis Col 4 lines 58-66, Fig. 1A-1B]… whether each user is connected to a creator of the new video (e.g., has viewed videos created by the content creator in the past, has subscribed to videos associated with the content creator, has subscribed to social networking posts and/or a group associated with the content creator on a social networking site, and/or any other suitable criteria) [Lewis Col 6 lines 37-43] note: Fig. 1B shows chat participants listing names, which are a representation of a first user, and these first users have a relationship between themselves and the owner of the content);”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton to include the feature of having the ability to determine users associated with content owners as disclosed by Lewis.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to more accurately identify relevant recipients to bring into the chat, which keeps the chat on topic and more relevant, and reduces errors when manually inviting recipients.
Morton and Lewis are silent regarding displaying content information “within a selected time segment,” and “and wherein the first region is configured to display a time segment selection control through which the time segment is selected.”
Gorny teaches “displaying content information (Gorny Fig. 12 shows a historical list of communication 1232) within a selected time segment (Gorny Fig. 12 element 1223 is a lookback period dropdown, with “last week” selected) in a first region of a current interface (i.e. history lookback period dropdown 1223… activity history panel 1230, selected activity channel information 1231, and selected channel information 1232. Selection of history lookback period dropdown 1223 permits a user to select one or more time periods which causes activity history panel 1230 to display all activity history for the selected time period. For example, when the history lookback period is “last week,” the activity history displayed in the activity history panel 1230 are activities which occurred during the last week [Gorney 0200, Fig. 12]), wherein the content information comprises published task information about collaborative tasks (Gory Fig. 12 element 1232 displays posted ticket information. A helpdesk ticket is a collaborative task with Jane and the ticket creator. From instant specification 0061, the term “published” appears to mean “posted”), and wherein the first region is configured to display a time segment selection control through which the time segment is selected (i.e. lookback period dropdown 1223 permits a user to select one or more time periods [Gorny 0200 Fig. 12]);”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis to include the feature of having the ability to filter a list of messages by time period as disclosed by Gorny.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of filtering and sorting messages, to more clearly and easily find the message a user is looking for.
Morton and Lewis and Gorny are silent regarding “determining a second user based on second content information that comprises information of a second task among the collaborative tasks, and displaying a representation corresponding to the second user in the group creation interface, wherein the second task has an association relationship with the first task;
creating a first communication group associated with the information of the first task based on the first user and the second user, the created first communication group being a new group; and”
Wu teaches “determining a second user based on second content information that comprises information of a second task among the collaborative tasks (i.e. FIG. 3 shows… a new context is generated when a live chat request is accepted… a new chat entry 302 is displayed in the navigation bar… thus creating… a new instance of a real-time interaction setting 304 is formed [Wu Col 8 lines 51-58, Fig. 3-4] note: Fig. 3 shows chat between the user (Agent 1’s console, Fig. 4) and Leslie Hann/Kingos), and displaying a representation corresponding to the second user in the group creation interface (Wu Fig. 3, element 302 shows that each chat session includes a representation of a user within their respective chat session. When chats are merged in [Wu Col 13, lines 29-33, below] the chats themselves are the group creation interface), wherein the second task has an association relationship with the first task (i.e. Agents can have the option to further merge multiple chat sessions into a group chat, or multiple phone calls into a teleconference (e.g., in the case that they are talking [or chatting] about the same issue) [Wu Col 13, lines 29-33] note: there are multiple chat sessions where the task/issues are the same, or associated. These are merged together into a new chat session);
creating a first communication group associated with the information of the first task based on the first user and the second user, the created first communication group being a new group (i.e. Agents can have the option to further merge multiple chat sessions into a group chat, or multiple phone calls into a teleconference (e.g., in the case that they are talking [or chatting] about the same issue) [Wu Col 13, lines 29-33] note: there are multiple chat sessions where the task/issues are the same, or associated. These are merged together into a new chat session); and”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny to include the feature of having the ability to create group chat groups as disclosed by Wu.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to more easily and more quickly invite users to a chat group.
Claim 19: Morton teaches “An information processing method, comprising:
displaying content information… in a first region of a current interface, wherein the content information comprises published task information about collaborative tasks (Morton Fig. 16 element 1610 shows published task information about collaborative tasks “Test Room” and “UI Room.” From instant specification 0061, the term “published” appears to mean “posted”),…;
determining first content information in response to a first operation event for selecting certain information from the content information displayed in the first region of the current interface, wherein the first content information comprises information of a first task among the collaborative tasks (i.e. FIG. 16, region 1620 displays content associated with the Room selected in region 1610 [Morton 0087]… including Details 1622 (information regarding the Room configuration) [Morton 0087]);
displaying an interface element in a second region of the current interface (Morton Fig. 16’s chat tab) in response to determining the information of the first task (i.e. Header buttons 1622, 1624, 1626, 1628 and 1630 display various types of content within the selected Room, including Details 1622 (information regarding the Room configuration), Chat 1624 (chronological unstructured messaging), Posts 1626 (topic-based content contributions with associated discussion) [Morton 0087] note: “in response to the determining the information of the first task” is in response to the first operation in the limitation above. Morton displays a chat tab in response to the first operation of selecting a room), wherein the interface element is configured to enable to identify communication groups associated with the information of the first task, and wherein the interface element is a single interface element (i.e. In the context of the group chat pane of FIG. 16, a user can select a user interface element associated with another user whose chat message is displayed in region 1620, such as avatars 1651 and 1652. Selection of user 1651 initiates user-specific sliding pane 2300, partially overlaying region 1620, as illustrated in FIG. 23 [Morton 0098, Fig. 16, 23] note: the avatars are interface elements configured to enable creation of communication groups. The avatars are users associated with the information of Test Room);
determining and displaying group information associated with the first content information in response to a second operation performed on the interface element (i.e. In the context of the group chat pane of FIG. 16, a user can select a user interface element associated with another user whose chat message is displayed in region 1620, such as avatars 1651 and 1652. Selection of user 1651 initiates user-specific sliding pane 2300, partially overlaying region 1620, as illustrated in FIG. 23 [Morton 0098, Fig. 16, 23] note: group of 2 members. This element creates a chat interface, so it’s a chat creation interface);
determining a first user based on a collaborative relationship (i.e. Member 1630 (specifying users having access to the selected Room) [Morton 0087] Morton Fig. 16’s shows that Test Room’s chat is between the members having access to Test Room)…;
displaying a session of a corresponding communication group comprising the first user and the second user in a third region of the current interface (Morton Fig. 23 shows another chat session displayed in another region, region 2300, of the interface) in response to a selection operation on the group information (i.e. In the context of the group chat pane of FIG. 16, a user can select a user interface element associated with another user whose chat message is displayed in region 1620, such as avatars 1651 and 1652. Selection of user 1651 initiates user-specific sliding pane 2300, partially overlaying region 1620, as illustrated in FIG. 23 [Morton 0098, Fig. 16, 23] note: group of 2 members. This element creates a chat interface, so it’s a chat creation interface).”
Morton is silent regarding a collaborative relationship “between the first user and a user who possesses the information of the first task.”
Lewis teaches “determining first content information in response to a first operation event for selecting certain information from the content information displayed in the first region of the current interface (i.e. An individual message [notification] (such as message [notification] 104) can include any suitable content. For example, as shown in FIG. 1A [Lewis Col 4 lines 42-43, Fig. 1A-1B]… [notification] message 104 can be selectable, and selection (e.g., touching, clicking, etc.) of [notification] message 104 can cause a second user interface to be presented. In instances where [notification] message 104 includes an indication that a new video is available for viewing and/or has been shared, the second user interface can include a video player window for presenting the new video, and/or a communication interface for a group conversation and/or chat with one or more other users who have also received message 104 [Lewis Col 4 lines 58-66, Fig. 1A-1B]), wherein the first content information comprises information of a first task among the collaborative tasks (Lewis Fig. 1A-1B shows the task of checking Animal Trainers videos);…
determining a first user based on a collaborative relationship between the first user and a user who possesses the information of the first task (i.e. whether each user is connected to a creator of the new video (e.g., has viewed videos created by the content creator in the past, has subscribed to videos associated with the content creator, has subscribed to social networking posts and/or a group associated with the content creator on a social networking site, and/or any other suitable criteria) [Lewis Col 6 lines 37-43]);”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton to include the feature of having the ability to determine users associated with content owners as disclosed by Lewis.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to more accurately identify relevant recipients to bring into the chat, which keeps the chat on topic and more relevant, and reduces errors when manually inviting recipients.
Morton and Lewis are silent regarding displaying content information “within a selected time segment,” and “and wherein the first region is configured to display a time segment selection control through which the time segment is selected.”
Gorny teaches “displaying content information (Gorny Fig. 12 shows a historical list of communication 1232) within a selected time segment (Gorny Fig. 12 element 1223 is a lookback period dropdown, with “last week” selected) in a first region of a current interface (i.e. history lookback period dropdown 1223… activity history panel 1230, selected activity channel information 1231, and selected channel information 1232. Selection of history lookback period dropdown 1223 permits a user to select one or more time periods which causes activity history panel 1230 to display all activity history for the selected time period. For example, when the history lookback period is “last week,” the activity history displayed in the activity history panel 1230 are activities which occurred during the last week [Gorney 0200, Fig. 12]), wherein the content information comprises published task information about collaborative tasks (Gory Fig. 12 element 1232 displays posted ticket information. A helpdesk ticket is a collaborative task with Jane and the ticket creator. From instant specification 0061, the term “published” appears to mean “posted”), and wherein the first region is configured to display a time segment selection control through which the time segment is selected (i.e. lookback period dropdown 1223 permits a user to select one or more time periods [Gorny 0200 Fig. 12]);”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis to include the feature of having the ability to filter a list of messages by time period as disclosed by Gorny.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of filtering and sorting messages, to more clearly and easily find the message a user is looking for.
Morton and Lewis and Gorny are silent regarding “determining a second user based on second content information that comprises information of a second task among the collaborative tasks (, wherein the second task has an association relationship with the first task; and”
Wu teaches “determining a second user based on second content information that comprises information of a second task among the collaborative tasks (i.e. FIG. 3 shows… a new context is generated when a live chat request is accepted… a new chat entry 302 is displayed in the navigation bar… thus creating… a new instance of a real-time interaction setting 304 is formed [Wu Col 8 lines 51-58, Fig. 3-4] note: Fig. 3 shows chat between the user (Agent 1’s console, Fig. 4) and Leslie Hann/Kingos), wherein the second task has an association relationship with the first task (i.e. Agents can have the option to further merge multiple chat sessions into a group chat, or multiple phone calls into a teleconference (e.g., in the case that they are talking [or chatting] about the same issue) [Wu Col 13, lines 29-33] note: there are multiple chat sessions where the task/issues are the same, or associated. These are merged together into a new chat session); and”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny to include the feature of having the ability to create group chat groups as disclosed by Wu.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to more easily and more quickly invite users to a chat group.
Claim 20: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach an electronic device, comprising:
at least one memory and at least one processor; wherein the memory is configured to store program codes, and wherein the program codes, when executed by the processor (i.e. one or more microprocessors and digital memory for, inter alia, storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the server to perform methods and operations [Morton 0101]), cause the electronic device to perform operations corresponding to the method of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 2-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morton, in view of Lewis, in view of Gorny, in view of Wu, in view of Barzilay et al., Patent Application Publication Number US 20210173493 A1 (hereinafter “Barzilay”).
Claim 2: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “wherein the content information displayed by the current interface belongs to a third user, and the creating the first communication group in the current interface based on the first user and/or the second user comprises: creating a first communication group in the current interface based on the first user and/or the second user, and the third user; or the content information comprises first-type information and second-type information, wherein the second-type information has a correspondence relationship with the first-type information.”
Barzilay teaches “wherein the content information displayed by the current interface belongs to a third user (Barzilay Fig. 5A-5B shows a group conversation interface capable of including third user “Sam South.” The term “belongs” is extremely broad and encompasses merely including a third user. E.g. a third user “belongs” to this conversation), and
the creating the first communication group in the current interface based on the first user and/or the second user comprises:
creating a first communication group in the current interface based on the first user and/or the second user, and the third user (Barzilay Fig. 5A-5B shows a group conversation interface capable of including third user “Sam South.” The term “belongs” is extremely broad and encompasses merely including a third user. E.g. a third user “belongs” to this conversation); or
the content information comprises first-type information and second-type information, wherein the second-type information has a correspondence relationship with the first-type information.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Claim 3: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “in response to the first content information being first-type information, the first user is determined based on the first content information comprises: obtaining user identity information from the first content information, and determining the first user based on the user identity information; or, in response to the first content information being the second-type information, the first user is determined based on the first content information comprises: obtaining user identity information from third content information and the first content information, and determining the first user based on the user identity information, wherein the third content information and the first content information have a correspondence relationship, and the third content information is the first-type information; or, in response to the first content information being the second-type information, the first user is determined based on the first content information comprises: obtaining user identity information from the first content information and content information having the same correspondence relationship with the first content information, and determining the first user based on the user identity information; or, in response to the first content information being the first-type information, the first user is determined based on the first content information comprises: obtaining user identity information from the first content information and fifth content information corresponding to the first content information, and determining the first user based on the user identity information; or, in response to the first content information being the first-type information, the second user is determined based on second content information comprises: obtaining the second content information establishing an association relationship with the first content information; and determining a user who possesses the second content information as the second user; or, in response to the first content information being the second-type information, the second user is determined based on second content information comprises: determining third content information having a correspondence relationship with the first content information, wherein the third content information is the first-type information; obtaining the second content information establishing an association relationship with the third content information; and determining a user who possesses the second content information as the second user.”
Barzilay teaches “in response to the first content information being first-type information, the first user is determined based on the first content information comprises: obtaining user identity information from the first content information, and determining the first user based on the user identity information (i.e. determines whether the first destination selection indication corresponds to a group-based communication channel or to one or more user recipients [Barzilay 0214]… it is determined that the first destination input corresponds to one or more user recipients… causes rendering of a user identifier tile associated with each user recipient of the one or more selected user recipients in the destination input component 303 [Barzilay 0219, Fig. 5B, 6] note: determines the participants of the group chat including the first user, Mike Smith, from the first content information, “New Message”); or,
in response to the first content information being the second-type information (i.e. determines whether the first destination selection indication corresponds to a group-based communication channel or to one or more user recipients [Barzilay 0214]… in an instance whereupon it is determined that the first destination selection indication corresponds to a group-based communication channel [Barzilay 0215, Fig. 5B] note: e.g. “team-marketing” channel is selected as first content information with channel as the second type), the first user is determined based on the first content information comprises: obtaining user identity information from third content information and the first content information, and determining the first user based on the user identity information (i.e. For purposes of illustration and not of limitation, referring to FIG. 7, in an instance in which the detected first keystroke engagement comprises the phrase “jennifer” which is entered into the destination input component 303 by the user, the draft message circuitry 206 queries the group-based communication suggestions repository for destination suggestion items based upon at least (i.e., associated with) the user identifier received with the compose draft message request and “jennifer.” [Barzilay 0224] note: #team-marketing can be selected as the first content information instead of “New Message” in Fig. 7, and identify Jennifers associated with #team-marketing will populate the suggestions), wherein the third content information and the first content information have a correspondence relationship (Jennifer and “Team-Marketing” have the ability to write and messages, or correspond, with the A1 Marketing company as a relationship), and the third content information is the first-type information (“Jennifer” as third content information is a “user recipients” first-type information); or,
in response to the first content information being the second-type information, the first user is determined based on the first content information comprises: obtaining user identity information from the first content information and content information having the same correspondence relationship with the first content information, and determining the first user based on the user identity information;or,
in response to the first content information being the first-type information, the first user is determined based on the first content information comprises: obtaining user identity information from the first content information and fifth content information corresponding to the first content information, and determining the first user based on the user identity information;or,
in response to the first content information being the first-type information, the second user is determined based on second content information comprises: obtaining the second content information establishing an association relationship with the first content information; and determining a user who possesses the second content information as the second user;or,
in response to the first content information being the second-type information, the second user is determined based on second content information comprises: determining third content information having a correspondence relationship with the first content information, wherein the third content information is the first-type information;
obtaining the second content information establishing an association relationship with the third content information (Barzilay Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 5A-5B, 6, shows company name “A1 Marketing,” which associates channel “#team-marketing” and “Jennifer” associated under the same company); and
determining a user who possesses the second content information as the second user (a plurality of “Jennifer’s are determined who possess the second content information “Jennifer” as a first name).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Claim 4: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “further comprising:
displaying a preset control in an associated region where the second user is displayed, wherein the preset control is configured to represent that the second user is associated with a fourth user, fourth content information corresponding to the fourth user has an association relationship with the second content information, and the fourth content information does not have an association relationship with the first content information.”
Barzilay teaches “further comprising:
displaying a preset control in an associated region where the second user is displayed (Barzilay Fig. 5A shows suggestion interface 308 as a preset control, and its borders include second user Jeff Randall), wherein the preset control is configured to represent that the second user is associated with a fourth user (Barzilay Fig. 5A shows Jeff Randall is associated with fourth topic/user Sam South (2nd in the suggestion box, not 7th in the suggestion box) by being displayed in the same suggestion interface), fourth content information corresponding to the fourth user has an association relationship with the second content information (Barzilay Fig. 5A shows Sam South is also in the 7th suggestion in the suggestion box. Here, topic/user “Sam South” is associated with the group chat with “Jeff Randall, Sam South”), and the fourth content information does not have an association relationship with the first content information (Barzilay Fig. 5A shows Sam South is a recommendation to the New Message, but previous to the user selecting Sam South, it is yet associated to first content information, New Message).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Claim 5: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 4, above.
Barzilay teaches “further comprising: displaying the fourth user in response to a triggering operation to the preset control (i.e. FIG. 5A, the group-based communication apparatus 210 detects a non-keystroke engagement of the destination input component 303, determines a first destination suggestions set by querying the group-based communication suggestion repository based on at least the user identifier, and causes rendering of a destination suggestion interface 308 comprising the first destination suggestions set [Barzilay 0211, Fig. 5A] note: suggestion box displays in response to input on element 303, displaying fourth user Sam South).”
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Claim 6: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “in response to the first content information being first-type information, displaying the first user in front of the second user, wherein the first user is determined based on user identity information in the first content information, the second content information is content information that establishes an association relationship with the first content information, and the second user is a user who belong to the second content information.”
Barzilay teaches “in response to the first content information being first-type information (i.e. in FIG. 5B, the first destination selection indication corresponds to the user identifier “Andrew Peterson” which has been rendered to the destination input component 303 [Barzilay 0221, Fig. 5B] note: although first content information has been identified as ‘new message’ in claim 1, the concept of selecting “Andrew Peterson” as a name type can also be applied here), displaying the first user in front of the second user (Barzilay Fig. 5B shows “Andrew Peterson” displayed in front of a second additional user), wherein the first user is determined based on user identity information in the first content information (i.e. in FIG. 5B, the first destination selection indication corresponds to the user identifier “Andrew Peterson” [Barzilay 0221, Fig. 5B]), the second content information is content information that establishes an association relationship with the first content information, and the second user is a user who belong to the second content information (i.e. The depicted additional user recipient suggestions set in FIG. 5B comprises two suggested additional user recipients… determining the additional user recipient suggestions set is based upon at least the user identifier associated with… the first destination selection indication. For example, if the user corresponds frequently with the selected user recipient corresponding to the first destination selection indication and another specific additional user recipient, one of the additional user recipient suggestion items is the specific additional user recipient [Barzilay 0221-0222] note: the selected user and specific additional user frequently chat together. Thus, the additional user is associated with the first user of the first content information. The additional user recipient as a second user, the suggestion of the second user as second content information).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Claim 7: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “further comprising: creating a communication group corresponding to the first communication group in an instant messaging tool for a third user who possesses the content information.”
Barzilay teaches “further comprising: creating a communication group corresponding to the first communication group in an instant messaging tool for a third user who possesses the content information (Barzilay Fig. 5A-5B shows a group conversation interface being created, including the user behind the computer, Mike Smith, along with the users of the selected MPDM conversation, “Jeff Randall” and “Sam South.” Sam South is a participant in the group conversation, and thus is one of Sam’s conversations).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Claim 8: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “the creating the first communication group comprises: displaying at least one recommended word based on the first content information; and
generating a name of the first communication group according to a selected recommended word in response to a selection operation on the at least one recommended word.”
Barzilay teaches “the creating the first communication group comprises: displaying at least one recommended word based on the first content information (Barzilay Fig. 5A-5B displays 9 rows of recommendations, curated for the New Message first content information); and
generating a name of the first communication group according to a selected recommended word in response to a selection operation on the at least one recommended word (i.e. in an instance whereupon it is determined that the first destination selection indication corresponds to a group-based communication channel, the group-based communication apparatus 210, via the draft message circuitry 206, causes rendering in the destination input component 303 of a channel title tile associated with the selected group-based communication channel. A channel title tile is a user interface component rendered to the destination input component 303 comprising a display of the channel title associated with the selected group-based communication channel in association with a user engageable deletion element [Barzilay 0215]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to organize the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
Claim 9: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 8, above.
Barzilay teaches “wherein the recommended word includes at least one of content sequence number information, content time information, and content detail information (i.e. in an instance whereupon it is determined that the first destination selection indication corresponds to a group-based communication channel, the group-based communication apparatus 210, via the draft message circuitry 206, causes rendering in the destination input component 303 of a channel title tile associated with the selected group-based communication channel. A channel title tile is a user interface component rendered to the destination input component 303 comprising a display of the channel title associated with the selected group-based communication channel in association with a user engageable deletion element [Barzilay 0215] note: a title details the contents of that conversation); or,
combining, if a plurality of recommended words are selected, the selected recommended words, and generating the name of the group based on a combined result.”
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to organize the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
Claim 10: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “a group identity is displayed in the first communication group, and the group identity comprises an identity of the content information and a user identity associated with the content information.”
Barzilay teaches “a group identity is displayed in the first communication group, and the group identity comprises an identity of the content information and a user identity associated with the content information (i.e. in response to keystroke engagement detected in the destination input component 303 (or a first destination selection indication generated upon user selection engagement of a suggested group- based communication channel or group-based communication thread in the destination suggestion interface 308 as discussed below), the identified or selected group-based communication channel or group-based communication thread is assigned as the draft message title 307 [Barzilay 0200, Fig. 5A] note: 6th suggestion “#Anna Green Agreen” includes both the channel title and username)”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Claim 11: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 10, above.
Barzilay teaches “wherein the group identity comprises the identity of the content information and the user identity associated with the content information, comprises:
the group identity comprises a sequence identity of the first-type information for the content information and/or a sequence identity of the second-type information for the content information;
or,
the group identity comprises the identity of the content information and the user identity associated with the content information (i.e. in response to keystroke engagement detected in the destination input component 303 (or a first destination selection indication generated upon user selection engagement of a suggested group- based communication channel or group-based communication thread in the destination suggestion interface 308 as discussed below), the identified or selected group-based communication channel or group-based communication thread is assigned as the draft message title 307 [Barzilay 0200, Fig. 5A-5B] note: 6th suggestion “#Anna Green Agreen” includes both the channel title and username. Users have corresponding avatars in Fig. 5B), comprises:
the group identity comprises an avatar of a user associated with the content information;
or,
the group identity comprises the identity of the content information and the user identity associated with the content information, which comprises that
the group identity comprises a first display region and a second display region; the identity of the content information is displayed in the first display region, and the user identity is displayed in the second display region; the first display region is different from the region occupied by the second display region in the group identity; or the first display region overlaps with the second display region; or the first display region floats on the second display region.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Claim 12: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “further comprising: associating the first content information with at least one existing communication group based on the input information in response to the second operation event for a preset group association identity.”
Barzilay teaches “further comprising: associating the first content information with at least one existing communication group based on the input information in response to the second operation event for a preset group association identity (i.e. in FIG. 5A, the seventh destination suggestion item depicted corresponds to two user recipients, Jeff Randall and Sam Smith, in a MPDM conversation. The names are highlighted and user selection engagement by the user includes clicking on, touching, or otherwise selecting one of the selectable destination suggestion items. In response to such user selection engagement, a first destination selection indication is generated [Barzilay 0212]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat, and/or to better organize the group information.
Claim 13: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 12, above.
Barzilay teaches “the associating the first content information with at least one existing communication group based on the input information in response to the second operation event for the preset group association identity comprises:
displaying a communication group selecting interface in response to a second triggering event for the preset group association identity (i.e. engagement of the destination input component 303 by the user creates a destination suggestion command and… suggestions set for association with the destination suggestion command [Barzilay 0210, Fig. 5A-5B]);
associating the first content information with a selected communication group in response to a selection operation on a communication group in the communication group selecting interface (i.e. in FIG. 5A, the seventh destination suggestion item depicted corresponds to two user recipients, Jeff Randall and Sam Smith, in a MPDM conversation. The names are highlighted and user selection engagement by the user includes clicking on, touching, or otherwise selecting one of the selectable destination suggestion items [Barzilay 0212] note: associates New Message and the existing group conversation);
wherein the communication group selecting interface displays the communication group associated with the first content information (Barzilay Fig. 5A shows suggestion interface with “New Message” and “Jeff Randall, Sam South” group message highlighted).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat, and/or to better organize the group information.
Claim 14: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 13, above.
Barzilay teaches “in response to the selected communication group is configured as that only a target person may add group members and the current user is not the target person (i.e. The group may be defined by common access credentials such as those of an organization or commercial enterprise. Access may further be facilitated by a validated request to join or an invitation to join transmitted by one group member user to another non-member user [Barzilay 0099]), or
in response to a network exception occurs, determining that the first content information fails to be associated with the selected communication group and displaying prompt information.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Claim 15: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “further comprising:
displaying a communication group associated with sixth content information in response to a triggering operation on the sixth content information among the content information displayed at the current interface; and
displaying a session interface for a second communication group in response to a triggering operation on the second communication group among communication groups associated with the sixth content information; or,
the information processing method further comprising:
in response to an unread message is generated in the third communication group associated with seventh content information among the content information, displaying a first preset prompt label at a position corresponding to seventh content information, and/or displaying a second preset prompt label at a position corresponding to a third communication group associated with the seventh content information.”
Barzilay teaches “further comprising:
displaying a communication group associated with sixth content information in response to a triggering operation on the sixth content information among the content information displayed at the current interface (i.e. upon determination that the first destination selection indication corresponds to a group-based communication channel, the group-based communication apparatus 210 is configured to render a list of group-based communication threads for further selection [Barzilay 0215]); and
displaying a session interface for a second communication group in response to a triggering operation on the second communication group among communication groups associated with the sixth content information (Barzilay Fig. 5A-5B shows a group conversation interface being created. A user in Barzilay 0215 is capable of selecting a New Message, a recommended channel title, and a recommended thread name, and generate a conversation interface); or,
the information processing method further comprising:
in response to an unread message is generated in the third communication group associated with seventh content information among the content information, displaying a first preset prompt label at a position corresponding to seventh content information, and/or displaying a second preset prompt label at a position corresponding to a third communication group associated with the seventh content information.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat, and/or to better organize the group information.
Claim 16: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “wherein a communication group created via the interface element is configured as that group entry verification is enabled by default; and
wherein the information processing method further comprises:
updating eighth content information displayed by the current interface correspondingly after the content of the eighth content information is edited, and keeping a name of a communication group associated with the eighth content information unchanged; or,
deleting ninth content information among the content information displayed by the current interface after the ninth content information is deleted; or,
updating an arrangement order of tenth content information among the content information displayed by the current interface correspondingly after the arrangement order of the tenth content information with respect to other content information is adjusted, and keeping a member identity in a communication group associated with the tenth content information unchanged, wherein an information identity of the content information is related to the arrangement order of the content information, and an information identity of the content information associated with members is displayed in the member identity.”
Barzilay teaches “wherein a communication group created via the interface element is configured as that group entry verification is enabled by default (i.e. “private group-based communication channel” refers to a group-based communication channel with restricted access settings such that it is not generally accessible and/or searchable by other members of the group-based communication system… only those users or administrators who have knowledge of and permission to access [Barzilay 0124] note: a private channel has entry verification as its default); and
wherein the information processing method further comprises:
updating eighth content information displayed by the current interface correspondingly after the content of the eighth content information is edited, and keeping a name of a communication group associated with the eighth content information unchanged; or,
deleting ninth content information among the content information displayed by the current interface after the ninth content information is deleted (i.e. upon detection of user selection engagement of the delete interface element 340, the group-based communication apparatus 210 is configured to stop rendering the associated draft message placeholder 302 or draft message title 307 and delete the associated draft messaging communication [Barzilay 0207, Fig. 4C element 340]); or,
updating an arrangement order of tenth content information among the content information displayed by the current interface correspondingly after the arrangement order of the tenth content information with respect to other content information is adjusted, and keeping a member identity in a communication group associated with the tenth content information unchanged, wherein an information identity of the content information is related to the arrangement order of the content information, and an information identity of the content information associated with members is displayed in the member identity.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Claim 17: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu are silent regarding “further comprising: canceling an association relationship between a fourth communication group and associated content information in response to a canceling operation on the fourth communication group.”
Barzilay teaches “further comprising: canceling an association relationship between a fourth communication group and associated content information in response to a canceling operation on the fourth communication group (i.e. render a user-engageable delete interface element 340 in association with the row, i.e., in association with the draft message placeholder 302 or draft message title 307, over which the user is “hovering.” In some embodiments, upon detection of user selection engagement of the delete interface element 340, the group-based communication apparatus 210 is configured to stop rendering the associated draft message placeholder 302 or draft message title 307 and delete the associated draft messaging communication [Barzilay 0207, Fig. 4C] note: deleting the content information cancels the association between a communication group and the content information).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu to include the feature of having the ability to add more specific users to the chat as disclosed by Barzilay.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to correct any errors the user may have made.
Claim 18: Morton and Lewis and Gorny and Wu teach all the limitations of claim 1, above.
Lewis teaches “wherein the first user is a user who belongs with an owner of the first content information (i.e. whether each user is connected to a creator of the new video (e.g., has viewed videos created by the content creator in the past, has subscribed to videos associated with the content creator, has subscribed to social networking posts and/or a group associated with the content creator on a social networking site, and/or any other suitable criteria) [Lewis Col 6 lines 37-43]); or
the first user is a target user who mentions the owner of the first content information in the first-type information or the second-type information, wherein the first-type information or the second-type information in which the owner of the first content information is mentioned belongs to the target user.”
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to find, locate and filter specific users, which makes it easier to add the specific user to the chat.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2179
/TUYETLIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179