DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 11/11/2025. Claims 1-10 remain pending. Claims 1 and 6-8 have been amended. The applicant’s amendment has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection below. This action is Final.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's amendment to recite wherein the securing ring is enabled to be arranged uniformly directly on the waterproofing sheet when the waterproofing sheet is pressing on the adhesive sealing that is arranged exclusively between said discoidal plane and the waterproofing sheet itself without extending beyond said discoidal plane along with the other amendments has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground(s) of rejection is applied to the claims below. As such, applicant's arguments with respect to the 102 rejection over Carroll have not been found persuasive. A new interpretation of Carroll as stated below in the 102 rejection teaches each and every limitation including wherein the securing ring is enabled to be arranged uniformly directly on the waterproofing sheet when the waterproofing sheet is pressing on the adhesive sealing that is arranged exclusively between said discoidal plane and the waterproofing sheet itself without extending beyond said discoidal plane.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have necessitated further search and/or consideration and/or revision of the rejection, and accordingly, this action must be made Final.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 2 and 3 of claim 6, please amend the limitation of “wherein the securing ring incorporates mechanical attachment enabled for…” to instead recite --wherein the securing ring incorporates a mechanical attachment enabled for…--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/11/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carroll et al. (US 2022/0290419, hereafter “Carroll”).
Regarding claim 1, Carroll discloses a system (Fig. 1) for connecting waterproofing with a drain pipe (comprised at least of 30, 20, 50, and 60) in indoor wet areas, suitable for being used in a main part of a drain that is in turn equipped with a discoidal plane wherein and on which a waterproofing sheet (40, 41, 42) is positioned and attached, the system comprising: an adhesive sealing (45) enabled to be interposed between the aforementioned discoidal plane (21) of the main part (20) and the waterproofing sheet and said waterproofing sheet thus being arranged on and pressing on the adhesive sealing (Fig. 1), and a secondary part (60) and a securing ring (50), wherein the secondary part is in turn enabled for connecting and supporting a grid (60 is capable of supporting a grid), wherein the securing ring is enabled to be arranged uniformly directly on the waterproofing sheet when the waterproofing sheet is pressing on the adhesive sealing that is arranged exclusively between said discoidal plane and the waterproofing sheet itself without extending beyond said discoidal plane (50 is at least capable of performing this limitation during installation of 50 when 60 is still positioned above 21 with reference to Fig. 1), both the secondary part and the securing ring being in turn enabled for coupling and interlocking with each other (para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Carroll further discloses the system for connecting the waterproofing with a drain pipe in indoor wet areas according to claim 1, wherein the grid is enabled for carrying and supporting a coating element that is visible in the drain. (note that the grid is not positively recited and the system of Carroll is at least capable of performing this limitation)
Regarding claim 4, Carroll further discloses the system for connecting the waterproofing with a drain pipe in indoor wet areas according to claim 1, wherein the grid itself incorporates a coating that is visible in the drain. (note that the grid is not positively recited and the system of Carroll is at least capable of performing this limitation)
Regarding claim 5, Carroll further discloses the system for connecting the waterproofing with a drain pipe in indoor wet areas according to claim 1, wherein the main part incorporates an adapter (30).
Regarding claim 6, Carroll further discloses the system for connecting the waterproofing with a drain pipe in indoor wet areas according to claim 1 wherein the securing ring incorporates mechanical attachment (51) enabled for assembly thereof on the main part.
Regarding claim 8, Carroll further discloses the system for connecting the waterproofing with a drain pipe in indoor wet areas according to claim 1, wherein the securing ring incorporates at least one through hole (the through hole through 50), which communicates with an inner cavity (the gap between 50 and 20 along the top side of 50 when it is installed) provided between the main part and the securing ring itself.
Regarding claim 9, Carroll further discloses the system for connecting the waterproofing with a drain pipe in indoor wet areas according to claim 1, wherein the inner cavity is filled with adhesive sealing material. (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 11, Carroll further discloses the system for connecting the waterproofing with a drain pipe in indoor wet areas according to claim 1, wherein the securing ring provides uniform compressive force on the waterproofing sheet against the adhesive sealing. (as shown in Fig. 1; when 60 is fully installed and connected to 20, this limitation is met since there is not intended to be any gap left between the waterproofing sheet and 60.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carroll in view of Larson (US 2019/0316334).
Regarding claim 2, Carroll further discloses the system for connecting the waterproofing with a drain pipe in indoor wet areas according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the securing ring incorporates a perimeter gasket enabled for the arrangement and adjustment thereof between the main part and the securing ring itself.
Larson teaches a securing ring (212) that incorporates a perimeter gasket (208) enabled for the arrangement and adjustment thereof between the main part and the securing ring itself. (Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of Carroll to include a perimeter gasket between the main part and the securing ring since this is combining prior art elements (seals) according to known methods to yield predictable results (to provide a proper fluid seal between two parts).
The motivation for doing so is to ensure the connection between the two parts is properly sealed.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carroll in view of Wedi (US 2022/0195712).
Regarding claim 7, Carroll further discloses the system for connecting the waterproofing with a drain pipe in indoor wet areas according to claim 6, but fails to disclose wherein the mechanical attachment have a bayonet type arrangement, and comprise female elements in the securing ring which are mutually complementary with male elements that are incorporated into the main part.
Wedi teaches a mechanical attachment means comprising a bayonet type arrangement, and comprise female elements in the securing ring which are mutually complementary with male elements that are incorporated into the main part. (para. [0033], [0065])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the mechanical attachment means of Carroll to comprise a bayonet type arrangement as taught by Wedi the equivalence of a bayonet connection and any other convention connection means is recognized for their use in the drains art and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. (para. [0033]) The motivation for making such an equivalent substitution would be to provide a simple connection means that is strong and secure. (para. [0033])
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carroll.
Regarding claim 10, Carroll further discloses the system for connecting the waterproofing with a drain pipe in indoor wet areas according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the securing ring has transparent or translucent properties.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the securing ring of Carroll to have transparent or translucent properties since selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for an intended use involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a material that the user can see through to detect any damage after installation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753