Response to Arguments
Applicant remarks dated 1/22/2026 have been considered and are moot in view of arguments presented.
As to applicant remarks to Claim 1, “Thus, Han's "ID of a slice" does NOT explicitly teach Applicant's "slice information" which is created (when the control device 100 joins the 5G network), for connecting to the same number of user plane functions (UPFs) as the total number of emergency stop groups.”
Claim 1 limitation is about slice information which can be interpreted many ways and in Han it has been interpreted as Slice ID.
Claim 1 limitation does not mention applicant argument of this “slice information” being “created” is described by Han in [227]- Therefore, in this application, a virtual extensible local area network (virtual extensible local area network, VXLAN) tunneling technology is used to allocate a VNI to a tunnel between a UPF network element and a network device (for example, a switch) connected to a LAN in the target group, to identify the tunnel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,5,6,10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Han et al.( US20220182804A1) in view of Ueda et al. (US20170075336A1)
Regarding Claim 1,Han teaches, A communication control system including a plurality of control devices that communicate via a fifth-generation mobile communication system (5G) network and a plurality of controlled devices respectively controlled by the plurality of control devices, Fig 2B [13]- a process of providing the service of the 5GVN(=fifth-generation mobile communication system (5G) network) for the terminal device in the target group is provided: The SMF network element determines, based on the PDU session establishment request initiated by the terminal device( =control devices, fig 2b terminal devices 1/2/3 and UPF, the second UPF network element at which the terminal device is anchored and delivers the third routing information to the second UPF network element. Fig 2B has terminal devices(=control devices) 1 and 2 part of LAN1 and LAN2.
wherein each control device of the plurality of control devices comprises processing circuitry to: calculate a total number of ,[222]- The first UPF network element determines a first group session(=(=calculate a total number of groups)) corresponding to the target group. [223]- when the first LAN is a group member that is in the target group(=based on group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each group) and that is first anchored at the first UPF network element, the first UPF network element allocates the first group session of the target group
Table 2 shows the Group ID of target group and IP address (=group number assigned to each emergency stop group) and node id.
and create slice information for connecting to the same number of user plane functions (UPFs) as the total number of [227]- start addresses and destination addresses of tunnels connecting UPF network elements and LANs in the target group each are different (for example, as shown in FIG. 2B, the UPF 1 is connected to the LSW 1 in the LAN 1, a UPF 2 is connected to an LSW 2 in a LAN 2, and start addresses and destination addresses of the two tunnels are different).Fig 2B has terminal devices(=control devices) 1 and 2 part of LAN1 and LAN2.[230]- the second application request further carries attribute information of the target group, for example, the ID of the slice(=create slice information) and a second DNAI of the second LAN. See also [332] for slice information.
register the control device with the 5G network, and acquire UPF destination information, which is destination information of the UPFs; and [227]- To be specific, tunnels between network devices and UPF network elements may be identified by using a same VXLAN network identifier (VXLAN network identifier, VNI). the first routing information (=register the control device with the 5G network) indicating the route to the LAN 1 may be represented as shown in Table 3.
associate, based on the UPF destination information, each and store information in which each 227]- as shown in FIG. 2B, the VNI is used to identify a tunnel between the first tunnel interface and the fifth tunnel interface, and is also used to identify a tunnel between a fourth tunnel interface of the LSW 2 in the LAN 2 and a seventh tunnel interface of the UPF 2(=associate, based on the UPF destination information, each group number with a destination UPF). See table 3 for IP address and VNI(=association between UPF and control device (part of LAN))
Han does not teach, total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined based on a range to be affected by an anomaly in each controlled device.
Ueda teaches, total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined based on a range to be affected by an anomaly in each controlled device
[59] Group information 185 is information (=emergency stop group information ) that controls a group as one control unit by grouping plural devices used in the control system 1(=total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information). The group information 185 will be described in detail later.
[79]- The control system of the embodiment is configured to be able to group the plural devices (control target devices) each of which exchanges the data with the PLC 100 (=emergency device)
[106]- For example, in the configuration in which the plural devices used in one mechanism are set to one group (=emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined), the operation stop is selected as the behavior of the abnormal group when the serious abnormality (=range of anomaly) occurs in one of the plural devices.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Han, total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined based on a range to be affected by an anomaly in each controlled device as taught by Ueda to use characteristic of emergency devices to assign group priorities.
Regarding Claim 2,Han teaches, The communication control system according to claim 1, wherein when data is to be transmitted to another control device, the processing circuitry of each control device of the plurality of control devices converts destination information of the data so as to cause the data to be transmitted to a UPF corresponding to the .[226] The route to the destination node includes the IP address of the LSW 1, the IP address of the UPF 1, the tunnel identifier of the first tunnel interface, and the tunnel identifier of the second tunnel interface of the UPF 1. According to Table 2.
Han does not teach, emergency stop group to which the control device belongs
Ueda teaches, emergency stop group to which the control device belongs [59] Group information 185 is information (=emergency stop group information ) that controls a group as one control unit by grouping plural devices used in the control system 1(=total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information). The group information 185 will be described in detail later.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Han, emergency stop group to which the control device belongs as taught by Ueda as taught by Ueda to use characteristic of emergency devices to assign group priorities.
Regarding Claim 5, Han teaches, A control device included in a communication control system, the communication control system including a plurality of control devices that communicate via a 5G network and a plurality of controlled devices respectively controlled by the plurality of control devices, the control device comprising processing circuitry to: , Fig 2B [13]- a process of providing the service of the 5GVN(=fifth-generation mobile communication system (5G) network) for the terminal device in the target group is provided: The SMF network element determines, based on the PDU session establishment request initiated by the terminal device( =control devices fig 2b terminal devices 1/2/3 and UPF, the second UPF network element at which the terminal device is anchored and delivers the third routing information to the second UPF network element. Fig 2B has terminal devices(=control devices) 1 and 2 part of LAN1 and LAN2.
calculate a total number of emergency stop groups based on [222]- The first UPF network element determines a first group session(=(=calculate a total number of groups)) corresponding to the target group. [223]- when the first LAN is a group member that is in the target group (=based on group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each group) and that is first anchored at the first UPF network element, the first UPF network element allocates the first group session of the target group
Table 2 shows the Group ID of target group and IP address (=emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group) and node id.
register the control device with the 5G network, and acquire UPF destination information, which is destination information of the UPFs; and [227]- To be specific, tunnels between network devices and UPF network elements may be identified by using a same VXLAN network identifier (VXLAN network identifier, VNI). the first routing information (=register the control device with the 5G network) indicating the route to the LAN 1 may be represented as shown in Table 3.
associate, based on the UPF destination information, each emergency stop group number with a destination UPF without duplication of a destination UPF between the
[227]- as shown in FIG. 2B, the VNI is used to identify a tunnel between the first tunnel interface and the fifth tunnel interface, and is also used to identify a tunnel between a fourth tunnel interface of the LSW 2 in the LAN 2 and a seventh tunnel interface of the UPF 2(=associate, based on the UPF destination information, each emergency stop group number with a destination UPF). See table 3 for IP address and VNI(=association between UPF and control device (part of LAN))
Han does not teach, total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined based on a range to be affected by an anomaly in each controlled device.
Ueda teaches, total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined based on a range to be affected by an anomaly in each controlled device
[59] Group information 185 is information (=emergency stop group information ) that controls a group as one control unit by grouping plural devices used in the control system 1(=total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information). The group information 185 will be described in detail later.
[79]- The control system of the embodiment is configured to be able to group the plural devices (control target devices) each of which exchanges the data with the PLC 100 (=emergency device)
[106]- For example, in the configuration in which the plural devices used in one mechanism are set to one group (=emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined), the operation stop is selected as the behavior of the abnormal group when the serious abnormality (=range of anomaly) occurs in one of the plural devices.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Han, total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined based on a range to be affected by an anomaly in each controlled device as taught by Ueda to use characteristic of emergency devices to assign group priorities.
Regarding Claim 6,Han teaches, The control device according to The control device according to wherein when data is to be transmitted to another control device, the processing circuitry converts destination information of the data so as to cause the data to be transmitted to a UPF corresponding to the .[226] The route to the destination node includes the IP address of the LSW 1, the IP address of the UPF 1, the tunnel identifier of the first tunnel interface, and the tunnel identifier of the second tunnel interface of the UPF 1. According to Table 2.
Han does not teach, emergency stop group to which the control device belongs
Ueda teaches, emergency stop group to which the control device belongs [59] Group information 185 is information (=emergency stop group information ) that controls a group as one control unit by grouping plural devices used in the control system 1(=total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information). The group information 185 will be described in detail later.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Han, emergency stop group to which the control device belongs as taught by Ueda as taught by Ueda to use characteristic of emergency devices to assign group priorities.
Regarding Claim 10, Han teaches, A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a communication control program used in a communication control system including a plurality of control devices that communicate via a fifth-generation mobile communication system (5G) network and a plurality of controlled devices respectively controlled by the plurality of control devices, the communication control program causing a computer to execute: Fig 2B [13]- a process of providing the service of the 5GVN(=fifth-generation mobile communication system (5G) network) for the terminal device in the target group is provided: The SMF network element determines, based on the PDU session establishment request initiated by the terminal device( =control devicesfig 2b terminal devices 1/2/3 and UPF, the second UPF network element at which the terminal device is anchored and delivers the third routing information to the second UPF network element. Fig 2B has terminal devices(=control devices) 1 and 2 part of LAN1 and LAN2.
an information creation process of calculating a total number of emergency stop groups based on [222]- The first UPF network element determines a first group session(=(=calculate a total number of groups)) corresponding to the target group. [223]- when the first LAN is a group member that is in the target group (=based on group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each group) and that is first anchored at the first UPF network element, the first UPF network element allocates the first group session of the target group.
Table 2 shows the Group ID of target group and IP address (=emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group) and node id.
storing information in which each emergency stop group number is associated with a destination UPF in a destination conversion table.[406]- In addition, the LSW 2 in the second LAN stores routing information indicating a route to the UPF 2. Specifically, the NEF network element may send the routing information indicating the route to the UPF 2 to the LSW 2
A 5G connection process of registering a control device of the 5G connection process itself with the 5G network, and acquiring UPF destination information, which is destination information of the UPFs; and a destination information acquisition process of, based on the UPF destination information, associating each [227]- as shown in FIG. 2B, the VNI is used to identify a tunnel between the first tunnel interface and the fifth tunnel interface, and is also used to identify a tunnel between a fourth tunnel interface of the LSW 2 in the LAN 2 and a seventh tunnel interface of the UPF 2(=associate, based on the UPF destination information, each emergency stop group number with a destination UPF). See table 3 for IP address and VNI(=association between UPF and control device (part of LAN))
Han does not teach, total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined based on a range to be affected by an anomaly in each controlled device.
Ueda teaches, total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined based on a range to be affected by an anomaly in each controlled device
[59] Group information 185 is information (=emergency stop group information ) that controls a group as one control unit by grouping plural devices used in the control system 1(=total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information). The group information 185 will be described in detail later.
[79]- The control system of the embodiment is configured to be able to group the plural devices (control target devices) each of which exchanges the data with the PLC 100 (=emergency device)
[106]- For example, in the configuration in which the plural devices used in one mechanism are set to one group (=emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined), the operation stop is selected as the behavior of the abnormal group when the serious abnormality (=range of anomaly) occurs in one of the plural devices.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Han, total number of emergency stop groups based on emergency stop group information in which each emergency stop group number assigned to each emergency stop group that is determined based on a range to be affected by an anomaly in each controlled device as taught by Ueda to use characteristic of emergency devices to assign group priorities.
Claim(s) 3,4,7,8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Han et al.( US20220182804A1) in view of Ueda et al. (US20170075336A1) in further view of Lim et al. (US20160345203A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Han in view of Ueda does not teach, The communication control system according to claim 1 The communication control system according to wherein the processing circuitry of each control device of the plurality of control devices acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers.
Lim teaches, The communication control system according to The communication control system according to claim 1 wherein the processing circuitry of each control device of the plurality of control devices acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers.[12]- FIG. 2 is a schematic representation of a policy tree showing a set of parameters for a UE group indication that can be applied for traffic steering policies in ANDSF according to an example (=emergency group of devices)[27]- For example, UEs 107 a-c can be pre-assigned as members of group 109. UEs 107 b, 107 d and 107 e can be pre-assigned to be members of group 111(=acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information,) (note that UE 107 b is therefore a member of multiple groups), and UE 107 f is the sole member of group 113. A group can therefore include one or more UEs.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Han in view of Ueda The communication control system according to The communication control system according to wherein the processing circuitry of each control device of the plurality of control devices acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers as taught by Lim to use characteristic of emergency devices to assign group priorities.
.
Regarding Claim 4, Han in view of Ueda does not teach, The communication control system according to claim 1 The communication control system according to wherein the processing circuitry of each control device of the plurality of control devices acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers.
Lim teaches, The communication control system according to claim 1 The communication control system according to wherein the processing circuitry of each control device of the plurality of control devices acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers. [31]- The list of groups a UE belongs to can be embedded in a policy (using the MAPCON policy for example;[33]- Alternative ways of taking into consideration of the list of groups the UE belongs to in the ANDSF are not precluded (such as part of routingCriteria or routingRules etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Han in view of Ueda, The communication control system according to The communication control system according to wherein the processing circuitry of each control device of the plurality of control devices acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers as taught by Lim to use characteristic of emergency devices to assign group priorities.
Regarding Claim 7, Han in view of Ueda does not teach, The control device according to claim 5, The control device according to wherein the processing circuitry acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers.
Lim teaches, The control device according to claim 5, The control device according to wherein the processing circuitry acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers..[12]- FIG. 2 is a schematic representation of a policy tree showing a set of parameters for a UE group indication that can be applied for traffic steering policies in ANDSF according to an example (=emergency group of devices)[27]- For example, UEs 107 a-c can be pre-assigned as members of group 109. UEs 107 b, 107 d and 107 e can be pre-assigned to be members of group 111(=acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information,) (note that UE 107 b is therefore a member of multiple groups), and UE 107 f is the sole member of group 113. A group can therefore include one or more UEs.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Han in view of Ueda, The control device according to claim 5, The control device according to wherein the processing circuitry acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers as taught by Lim to use characteristic of emergency devices to assign group priorities.
Regarding Claim 8, Han in view of Ueda does not teach, The control device according to claim 5 The control device according to wherein the processing circuitry acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers.
.
Lim teaches, The control device according to claim 5 The control device according to wherein the processing circuitry acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers. [31]- The list of groups a UE belongs to can be embedded in a policy (using the MAPCON policy for example;[33]- Alternative ways of taking into consideration of the list of groups the UE belongs to in the ANDSF are not precluded (such as part of routingCriteria or routingRules etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Han in view of Ueda, The control device according to claim 5 The control device according to wherein the processing circuitry acquires emergency stop group numbers that are set in the emergency stop group information, and calculates the total number of emergency stop groups, based on the emergency stop group numbers as taught by Lim to use characteristic of emergency devices to assign group priorities.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478