Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20170366242 A1 (Domestic Priority June 16, 2016) in view of Parkvall et al. US 20170331577 A1 (Domestic Priority May 13, 2016), and in further view of Zhu et al. US 20210058131 A1 (Domestic Priority August 21, 2019), and in further view of Farajidana et al. US 20100255790 A1 (Domestic Priority April 2, 2009).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Lee discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: accessing, at a transmitter, a regular codebook (see, RF beamforming unit may include a memory that stores a codebook containing a plurality of codewords, section 0041) configured to utilize multiple beams on a resource unit (see, codebook configuration contains codewords for steering antenna array beams in particular directions, section 0051) as part of a coded beam sweep (see, control circuit may be configured to select an appropriate codeword index that approximately matches a desired beam steering angle and indicate the selected codeword index to codebook circuit for subsequent deployment, section 0051) for spatial channel sounding; transmitting, from the transmitter to a receiver, a steering sound signal utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook (see, RF beamforming unit may include a memory that stores a codebook containing a plurality of codewords, section 0041), wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions that identifies multiple beams for transmission on the resource unit (see, codewords of the codebook may each collectively specify a particular beam pattern that will be generated by the attached antenna array upon application of the corresponding phase shifts by the RF phase shifters, section 0041); and receiving, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword (see, modular beamformer may utilize the modular beamforming architecture to create multiple steered beams while only utilizing a single-module steering codebook, section 0080; noted, single-module codebook contains optimized codewords, section 0084).
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: for spatial channel sounding; transmitting, from the transmitter to a receiver, a steering sound signal utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook, wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; and receiving, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: for spatial channel sounding (see, reciprocity reference signals for channel sounding channel sounding as part of CSI-R acquisition, section 0863 Parkvall); transmitting, from the transmitter to a receiver, a steering sound signal (see, during Directional Sounding and Sensing Interval (DSSI), each transmitter transmits one link-specific beam-formed sounding signal over the configured Sounding Resource Unit (SRU) in its link direction, and each receiver keeps a sensing state in its link direction for all possible sounding signals over all SRUs, section 0611 Parkvall) utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook, wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; and receiving, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver (see, Reciprocity reference signals (RRS) are uplink reference signals and used to obtain CSI-R (receiver-side CSI), section 0851 Parkvall), the channel state information being determined at the receiver (see, UEs measure on dynamically scheduled reference signals such as CSI-RS, mobility RS, and beam-RS, section 0604 Parkvall) based on a strength of the steering sound signal (see, requesting the UE to report the received signal strength from multiple beams, section 01734 Parkvall) when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
The combination of Lee and Parkvall discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: a steering sound signal utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook, wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; and receiving, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword.
However Zhu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: a steering sound signal utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook (see, simultaneously probed analog beams may correspond to a single beam codeword from a given analog beam codebook, section 0406 Zhu; noted, UE may select the receive beam from the beam codebook, whose steering direction is the closest to the angular direction or the relative position with respect to the steering directions of the measurement beams among one or more other beam codewords in the beam codebook, section 0196 Zhu; noted, a better beam whose steering direction matches with the desired direction can be selected, section 0176 Zhu), wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; and receiving, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lee and Zhu with the single beam codeword of Zhu. The motivation would have been to determining, based on a channel condition, whether to use an adaptive selection method or a cycling selection method to select a subset of a plurality of beams for a beam measurement.
The combination of Lee, Parkvall, and Zhu discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; and receiving, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword.
However Farajidana from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit (see, each codeword is mapped to two beam directions or layers, section 0036 Farajidana); and receiving, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword (see, each codeword is mapped to two beam directions or layers, section 0036 Farajidana).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lee, Parkvall, and Zhu with the codeword of Farajidana. The motivation would have been to improve beamforming.
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2 (Original), the method of claim 1, wherein the regular codebook is a sparsity codebook.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the regular codebook is a sparsity codebook (see, Physical data channel can be configured differently to support various payload types and transmission modes such as tail-biting convolutional codes for simple decoding, section 0777 Parkvall; noted, spatially-coupled LDPC (SC-LDPC) codes achieve the capacity universally for a large class of channels with low-complexity encoding and decoding, section 0797 Parkvall).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3 (Original), the method of claim 1, wherein the regular codebook is a convolution codebook.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the regular codebook is a convolution codebook (see, Physical data channel can be configured differently to support various payload types and transmission modes such channel coding for MBB may be based on spatially-coupled LDPC codes, section 0777 Parkvall; noted, LTE tail-biting convolutional codes—even if used together with a decoder that is optimized for decoding speed rather than performance—achieve very low block error rates, section 0805 Parkvall).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4 (Original), the method of claim 1, wherein the regular codebook is a polarity codebook.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the regular codebook is a polarity codebook (see, Physical data channel can be configured differently to support various payload types and transmission modes such channel coding for MBB may be based on polar codes, section 0777 Parkvall; noted, polar code comprises sending information bits over the good channels, while freezing the input to the bad channels with fixed values (typically zeros) known to the receiver, section 0798 Parkvall).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Lee discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, from the transmitter to a receiver, a second steering sound signal on a second resource unit (see, second codeword to steer the other beam towards the second user, section 0054; noted, codeword is composed of elements, section 0132) utilizing a second beam codeword of the regular codebook (see, second codeword to steer the other beam towards the second user, section 0054) that identifies multiple beams for transmission on the second resource unit (see, modular beamformer performs beam broadening to allow multiple steered beams, sections 0131-0133); wherein the channel state information received from the receiver is additionally based on a strength of the second steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the second beam codeword (see, second codeword to steer the other beam towards the second user, section 0054).
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: wherein the channel state information received from the receiver is additionally based on a strength of the second steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the second beam codeword.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the channel state information received from the receiver (see, uplink CSI-RS from UE antenna, section 1251 Parkvall) is additionally based on a strength of the second steering sound signal (see, the UE can report the received signal strength from multiple beams, section 1734 Parkvall) when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the second beam codeword (see, the UE can report the received signal strength from multiple beams, section 1734 Parkvall).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the resource unit is a time interval (RF beamforming unit may be realized as an array of analog phase shifters; noted, control circuit may continuously track the location of each target point (e.g. receiver or transmitter) in order to periodically adjust steering angles, section 0079).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the resource unit is a frequency bandwidth unit (see, beamforming systems use millimeter wave and frequencies such as GHz, section 0029).
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Original), the method of claim 1, further comprising: verifying, at the transmitter, at least one beam pair comprising a transmission beam and a reception beam based on the received channel state information.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: verifying, at the transmitter, at least one beam pair comprising a transmission beam (see, Frequency selective CSI acquisition at the UE within a DL beam, section 0834 Parkvall) and a reception beam based on the received channel state information (see, UE transmit beam-forming in UL assuming reciprocity, section 0834 Parkvall).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Lee discloses a wireless communication apparatus comprising; a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: access a regular codebook (see, RF beamforming unit may include a memory that stores a codebook containing a plurality of codewords, section 0041) configured to utilize multiple beams (see, codebook configuration contains codewords for steering antenna array beams in particular directions, section 0051) on a resource unit as part of a coded beam sweep (see, control circuit may be configured to select an appropriate codeword index that approximately matches a desired beam steering angle and indicate the selected codeword index to codebook circuit for subsequent deployment, section 0051) for spatial channel sounding; transmit, to a receiver, a steering sound signal utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook (see, RF beamforming unit may include a memory that stores a codebook containing a plurality of codewords, section 0041), wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit (see, codewords of the codebook may each collectively specify a particular beam pattern that will be generated by the attached antenna array upon application of the corresponding phase shifts by the RF phase shifters, section 0041); and receive channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword (see, modular beamformer may utilize the modular beamforming architecture to create multiple steered beams while only utilizing a single-module steering codebook, section 0080; noted, single-module codebook contains optimized codewords, section 0084).
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: for spatial channel sounding; transmit, to a receiver, a steering sound signal utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook, wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; and receive channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: for spatial channel sounding (see, reciprocity reference signals for channel sounding channel sounding as part of CSI-R acquisition, section 0863 Parkvall); transmit, to a receiver, a steering sound signal (see, during Directional Sounding and Sensing Interval (DSSI), each transmitter transmits one link-specific beam-formed sounding signal over the configured Sounding Resource Unit (SRU) in its link direction, and each receiver keeps a sensing state in its link direction for all possible sounding signals over all SRUs, section 0611 Parkvall) utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook, wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; and receive channel state information from the receiver (see, Reciprocity reference signals (RRS) are uplink reference signals and used to obtain CSI-R (receiver-side CSI), section 0851 Parkvall), the channel state information being determined at the receiver (see, UEs measure on dynamically scheduled reference signals such as CSI-RS, mobility RS, and beam-RS, section 0604 Parkvall) based on a strength of the steering sound signal (see, requesting the UE to report the received signal strength from multiple beams, section 01734 Parkvall) when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
The combination of Lee and Parkvall discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: a steering sound signal utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook, wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; and receive, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword
However Zhu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: a steering sound signal utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook (see, simultaneously probed analog beams may correspond to a single beam codeword from a given analog beam codebook, section 0406 Zhu; noted, UE may select the receive beam from the beam codebook, whose steering direction is the closest to the angular direction or the relative position with respect to the steering directions of the measurement beams among one or more other beam codewords in the beam codebook, section 0196 Zhu; noted, a better beam whose steering direction matches with the desired direction can be selected, section 0176 Zhu), wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; and receive, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lee and Zhu with the single beam codeword of Zhu. The motivation would have been to determining, based on a channel condition, whether to use an adaptive selection method or a cycling selection method to select a subset of a plurality of beams for a beam measurement.
The combination of Lee, Parkvall, and Zhu discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; and receive, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword.
However Farajidana from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit (see, each codeword is mapped to two beam directions or layers, section 0036 Farajidana); and receive, at the transmitter, channel state information from the receiver, the channel state information being determined at the receiver based on a strength of the steering sound signal when received at the receiver over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword (see, each codeword is mapped to two beam directions or layers, section 0036 Farajidana).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lee, Parkvall, and Zhu with the codeword of Farajidana. The motivation would have been to improve beamforming.
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Lee discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: accessing, at a receiver, a regular codebook (see, RF beamforming unit may include a memory that stores a codebook containing a plurality of codewords, section 0041) configured to utilize multiple beams (see, codebook configuration contains codewords for steering antenna array beams in particular directions, section 0051) on a resource unit as part of a coded beam sweep (see, control circuit may be configured to select an appropriate codeword index that approximately matches a desired beam steering angle and indicate the selected codeword index to codebook circuit for subsequent deployment, section 0051) for spatial channel sounding; receiving, at the receiver, a steering sound signal that was transmitted utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook (see, RF beamforming unit may include a memory that stores a codebook containing a plurality of codewords, section 0041), wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit (see, codewords of the codebook may each collectively specify a particular beam pattern that will be generated by the attached antenna array upon application of the corresponding phase shifts by the RF phase shifters, section 0041); measuring, at the receiver, a strength of the steering sound signal when received over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword (see, modular beamformer may utilize the modular beamforming architecture to create multiple steered beams while only utilizing a single-module steering codebook, section 0080; noted, single-module codebook contains optimized codewords, section 0084); calculating channel state information, at the receiver, based on the measured strength of the steering sound signal; and transmitting the channel state information from the receiver to the transmitter.
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: for spatial channel sounding; receiving, at the receiver, a steering sound signal that was transmitted utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook, wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; measuring, at the receiver, a strength of the steering sound signal when received over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword; calculating channel state information, at the receiver, based on the measured strength of the steering sound signal; and transmitting the channel state information from the receiver to the transmitter.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: for spatial channel sounding (see, reciprocity reference signals for channel sounding channel sounding as part of CSI-R acquisition, section 0863 Parkvall); receiving, at the receiver, a steering sound signal (see, during Directional Sounding and Sensing Interval (DSSI), each transmitter transmits one link-specific beam-formed sounding signal over the configured Sounding Resource Unit (SRU) in its link direction, and each receiver keeps a sensing state in its link direction for all possible sounding signals over all SRUs, section 0611 Parkvall) that was transmitted utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook, wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; measuring, at the receiver, a strength of the steering sound signal when received over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword; calculating channel state information, at the receiver, based on the measured strength of the steering sound signal (see, requesting the UE to report the received signal strength from multiple beams, section 01734 Parkvall); and transmitting the channel state information from the receiver to the transmitter (see, Reciprocity reference signals (RRS) are uplink reference signals and used to obtain CSI-R (receiver-side CSI), section 0851 Parkvall).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
The combination of Lee and Parkvall discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: a steering sound signal that was transmitted utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook, wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; measuring, at the receiver, a strength of the steering sound signal when received over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword; calculating channel state information, at the receiver, based on the measured strength of the steering sound signal; and transmitting the channel state information from the receiver to the transmitter.
However Zhu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: a steering sound signal utilizing a single beam codeword of the regular codebook (see, simultaneously probed analog beams may correspond to a single beam codeword from a given analog beam codebook, section 0406 Zhu; noted, UE may select the receive beam from the beam codebook, whose steering direction is the closest to the angular direction or the relative position with respect to the steering directions of the measurement beams among one or more other beam codewords in the beam codebook, section 0196 Zhu; noted, a better beam whose steering direction matches with the desired direction can be selected, section 0176 Zhu), wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; measuring, at the receiver, a strength of the steering sound signal when received over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword; calculating channel state information, at the receiver, based on the measured strength of the steering sound signal; and transmitting the channel state information from the receiver to the transmitter.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lee and Zhu with the single beam codeword of Zhu. The motivation would have been to determining, based on a channel condition, whether to use an adaptive selection method or a cycling selection method to select a subset of a plurality of beams for a beam measurement.
The combination of Lee, Parkvall, and Zhu discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit; measuring, at the receiver, a strength of the steering sound signal when received over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword; calculating channel state information, at the receiver, based on the measured strength of the steering sound signal; and transmitting the channel state information from the receiver to the transmitter.
However Farajidana from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the single beam codeword identifies multiple beams with different beam directions for transmission on the resource unit (see, each codeword is mapped to two beam directions or layers, section 0036 Farajidana); measuring, at the receiver, a strength of the steering sound signal when received over the multiple beams identified in the single beam codeword (see, each codeword is mapped to two beam directions or layers, section 0036 Farajidana); calculating channel state information, at the receiver, based on the measured strength of the steering sound signal; and transmitting the channel state information from the receiver to the transmitter.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lee, Parkvall, and Zhu with the codeword of Farajidana. The motivation would have been to improve beamforming.
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Lee discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the resource unit is a time interval (RF beamforming unit may be realized as an array of analog phase shifters; noted, control circuit may continuously track the location of each target point (e.g. receiver or transmitter) in order to periodically adjust steering angles, section 0079).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Lee discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the resource unit is a frequency bandwidth unit (see, beamforming systems use millimeter wave and frequencies such as GHz, section 0029).
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13 (Original), the method of claim 10, wherein the regular codebook is a sparsity codebook.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 10, wherein the regular codebook is a sparsity codebook (see, Physical data channel can be configured differently to support various payload types and transmission modes such as tail-biting convolutional codes for simple decoding, section 0777 Parkvall; noted, spatially-coupled LDPC (SC-LDPC) codes achieve the capacity universally for a large class of channels with low-complexity encoding and decoding, section 0797 Parkvall).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Original), the method of claim 10, wherein the regular codebook is a convolution codebook.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 10, wherein the regular codebook is a convolution codebook (see, Physical data channel can be configured differently to support various payload types and transmission modes such channel coding for MBB may be based on spatially-coupled LDPC codes, section 0777 Parkvall; noted, LTE tail-biting convolutional codes—even if used together with a decoder that is optimized for decoding speed rather than performance—achieve very low block error rates, section 0805 Parkvall).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15 (Original), the method of claim 10, wherein the regular codebook is a polarity codebook.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 10, wherein the regular codebook is a polarity codebook (see, Physical data channel can be configured differently to support various payload types and transmission modes such channel coding for MBB may be based on polar codes, section 0777 Parkvall; noted, polar code comprises sending information bits over the good channels, while freezing the input to the bad channels with fixed values (typically zeros) known to the receiver, section 0798 Parkvall).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
Regarding claim 16 (Original), Lee discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving, at the receiver, a second steering sound signal that was transmitted on a second resource unit (see, second codeword to steer the other beam towards the second user, section 0054; noted, codeword is composed of elements, section 0132) utilizing a second beam codeword of the regular codebook (see, second codeword to steer the other beam towards the second user, section 0054) that identifies multiple beams for transmission on the second resource unit (see, modular beamformer performs beam broadening to allow multiple steered beams, sections 0131-0133); and measuring, at the receiver, a strength of the second steering sound signal when received over the multiple beams identified in the second beam codeword (see, second codeword to steer the other beam towards the second user, section 0054); wherein the channel state information is calculated additionally based on the strength of the second steering sound signal.
Lee discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: and measuring, at the receiver, a strength of the second steering sound signal when received over the multiple beams identified in the second beam codeword; wherein the channel state information is calculated additionally based on the strength of the second steering sound signal.
However Parkvall from a similar field of endeavor discloses: and measuring, at the receiver, a strength of the second steering sound signal when received over the multiple beams identified in the second beam codeword (see, the UE can report the received signal strength from multiple beams, section 1734 Parkvall); wherein the channel state information (see, uplink CSI-RS from UE antenna, section 1251 Parkvall) is calculated additionally based on the strength of the second steering sound signal (see, the UE can report the received signal strength from multiple beams, section 1734 Parkvall).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the codebook of Lee with the CSI of Parkvall. The motivation would have been to enable a truly networked society.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473