DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 does not end with a period, and is therefore missing proper punction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "optionally includes" in lines 1-2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. For the purpose of compact prosecution, claim 12 will be examined as requiring the burr, rasp or teeth, e.g. “a portion of the decortication tool includes a burr, a rasp or teeth”.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-11, 13 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,871,968 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The table below shows the application claims and the patent claims side by side for direct comparison, with the differences between the claims are highlighted below by bolding all the limitations that differ, italicizing additional limitations, and underlining limitations that will be addressed below.
Application Claims:
Patent Claims:
1. A spinal joint access device for accessing a spinal joint via a posterior access approach, the device comprising a body having a proximal portion and a distal portion; and a chamfered or beveled end feature positioned at the distal portion of the body and configured for insertion at the spinal joint.
8. The access device of claim 1, wherein the spinal joint is a cervical facet joint.
1. A spinal fixation access and delivery system for accessing the cervical facet joint via a posterior access approach, the system comprising an access device comprising a body having a proximal portion and a distal portion; and a chamfered or beveled end feature positioned at the distal portion of the body and configured for insertion at the cervical facet joint, a guide device having access device engagement features; and a spinal fixation member, wherein the access device includes at least one guide device receiving feature complementary to or keyed to the engagement feature of the guide device, and the guide device comprises at least one spinal fixation member engagement feature, and the spinal fixation member includes at least one guide device receiving feature complementary to or keyed to the engagement feature of the guide device.
2. The access device of claim 1, wherein the chamfered or beveled end feature is offset from the body.
2. The system of claim 1 wherein the chamfered or beveled end feature of the access device is offset from the body.
7. The access device of claim 1, wherein the body is an elongated tubular body.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the body is an elongated tubular body.
9. The access device of claim 1, wherein the device further comprises a stop adapted to abut an edge or posterior portion of the spinal joint.
3. The system of claim 1 wherein the chamfered or beveled end feature of the access device further includes a stop adapted to abut a posterior edge or posterior portion of the facet joint.
10. A spinal fixation access and delivery system for accessing the spinal joint via a posterior access approach, the system comprising: a spinal joint access device comprising: a body having a proximal portion and a distal portion; and a chamfered or beveled end feature positioned at the distal portion of the body and configured for insertion at the spinal joint.
13. The system of claim 10, wherein the spinal joint is a cervical facet joint.
1. A spinal fixation access and delivery system for accessing the cervical facet joint via a posterior access approach, the system comprising an access device comprising a body having a proximal portion and a distal portion; and a chamfered or beveled end feature positioned at the distal portion of the body and configured for insertion at the cervical facet joint, a guide device having access device engagement features; and a spinal fixation member, wherein the access device includes at least one guide device receiving feature complementary to or keyed to the engagement feature of the guide device, and the guide device comprises at least one spinal fixation member engagement feature, and the spinal fixation member includes at least one guide device receiving feature complementary to or keyed to the engagement feature of the guide device.
11. The system of claim 10 further comprising a decortication tool.
5. The system of claim 1 further comprising a decortication tool.
As is apparent from the table above, while Patent claim 1 discloses a system, the system includes all of the features of the access device in application claim 1, as well as additional limitations (e.g. a guide device and spinal fixation device) that are not in the application claims. And as is apparent from the table above, Patent claim 1 discloses all of the features of the system in application claim 10, as well as additional limitations (e.g. a guide device and spinal fixation device) that are not in the application claims.
Claim(s) 3-6 and 12 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 5 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,871,968 B2 in view of Marik et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0277801 A1, hereinafter “Marik”).
The table below shows the application claims and the patent claims side by side for direct comparison, with the differences between the claims are highlighted below by bolding all the limitations that differ, italicizing additional limitations, and underlining limitations that will be addressed below.
Application Claims:
Patent Claims:
3. The access device of claim 1, wherein the chamfered or beveled end feature is
positioned at an end of the distal portion.
4. The access device of claim 3, wherein the body is an elongated tubular body.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the body is an elongated tubular body.
11. The system of claim 10 further comprising a decortication tool.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein a portion of the decortication tool optionally includes a burr, a rasp or teeth.
5. The system of claim 1 further comprising a decortication tool.
As is apparent from the table above, Patent claims 1 and 9 disclose all of the features of application claims 1 and 3-4, except regarding claim 3 that the chamfered or beveled end feature is positioned at an end of the distal portion.
Patent claims 1 and 5 disclose all of the features of application claims 1 and 11-12, except regarding claim 12, wherein a portion of the decortication tool optionally includes a burr, a rasp or teeth. Patent claim 1 further fails to disclose, regarding claim 5, wherein the body has a rectangular shaped cross section; regarding claim 6, wherein the proximal portion has a first height and a distal portion has a second height and the first height is greater than the second height.
Marik discloses a spinal joint access device (10, see Fig. 3) having a body having a proximal portion and a distal portion (see annotated Fig. 9 below); and a chamfered or beveled end feature (17) positioned at the distal portion of the body (see Fig. 9) and configured for insertion at the spinal joint (see para. [0036]), wherein the chamfered or beveled end feature is positioned at an end of the distal portion (see annotated Fig. 9 below); wherein the proximal portion has a first height and the distal portion has a second height (see annotated Fig. 9 below) and the first height is greater than the second height (see annotated Fig. 9 below); further comprising a decortication tool (11-12, see Fig. 9, see para. [0027] “cutting faces”); wherein a portion of the decortication tool (15) includes teeth optionally includes a burr, a rasp or teeth (15, see Fig. 9, see para. [0027] “rasp teeth”); wherein the body has a rectangular shaped cross section (see Fig. 9, note that a cross section of the body would be rectangular shaped); and in order to provide a self-distracting leading end and shape to permit the device to enter and push apart portions of the opposing vertebrae (see para. [0036]), in order to provide a stop to restrict advancement of the device into the joint (see para. [0035]), and in order to enable the decortication tool to cut tissue (see para. [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the chamfered or beveled end feature in the Patent claims to be positioned at the distal portion of the body, to modify the body in the Patent claims to have a first height at the proximal portion and a second height at the distal portion, where the first height is greater than the second height; and to modify the body in the Patent claims to have a rectangular shaped cross section in view of Marik in order to provide a self-distracting leading end and shape to permit the device to enter and push apart portions of the opposing vertebrae and to provide a stop to restrict advancement of the device into the joint. And it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify a portion of the decortication tool in the Patent claims to include a burr, a rasp or teeth in view of Marik in order to enable the decortication tool to cut tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marik et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0277801 A1, hereinafter “Marik”).
Marik discloses regarding claim 1, a spinal joint access device (10, see Fig. 3) for accessing a spinal joint (FJ) via a posterior access approach (see Fig. 3), the device comprising a body having a proximal portion and a distal portion (see annotated Fig. 9 below); and a chamfered or beveled end feature (17) positioned at the distal portion of the body (see Fig. 9) and configured for insertion at the spinal joint (see para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the chamfered or beveled end feature is offset from the body (see annotated Fig. 9 above).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the chamfered or beveled end feature is
positioned at an end of the distal portion (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the body has a rectangular shaped cross section (see Fig. 9, note that a cross section of the body would be rectangular shaped).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the proximal portion has a first height and the distal portion has a second height (see annotated Fig. 9 above) and the first height is greater than the second height (see annotated Fig. 9 above).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the spinal joint is a cervical facet joint (see para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the device further comprises a stop (16) adapted to abut an edge or posterior portion of the spinal joint (see para. [0029]).
Marik discloses, regarding claim 10, a spinal fixation access and delivery system (10, see Fig. 3) for accessing the spinal joint (FJ) via a posterior access approach (see Fig. 3), the system comprising: a spinal joint access device (10) comprising: a body having a proximal portion and a distal portion (see annotated Fig. 9 above); and a chamfered or beveled end feature (17) positioned at the distal portion of the body and configured for insertion at the spinal joint (see Fig. 9, see para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 11, further comprising a decortication tool (11-12, see Fig. 9, see para. [0027] “cutting faces”).
Regarding claim 12, wherein a portion of the decortication tool optionally
includes a burr, a rasp or teeth (15, see Fig. 9, see para. [0027] “rasp teeth”).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the spinal joint is a cervical facet joint (see para. [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marik, as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and in view of Nelson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0071527 A1, hereinafter “Nelson”).
Marik discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, as previously set forth above, except regarding claims 4 and 7, wherein the body is an elongated tubular body.
Nelson discloses a spinal joint access device (100, see Fig. 1A) a body (102, see Fig. 1A), wherein the body is an elongated tubular body (112, 148, see Fig. 3A) in order to provide a suction opening and suction pathway to funnel excised tissue (see para. [0037]) enabling removal of bone fragments or other tissues through the elongated body (see para. [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the elongated body in Marik to be an elongated tubular body in view of Nelson in order to provide a suction opening and suction pathway to funnel excised tissue enabling removal of bone fragments or other tissues through the elongated body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The following references disclose spinal joint access devices e.g. distractors / rasps:
/M.C.G/ Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773