DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 6 be found allowable, claim 2 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 10 recite wherein the lid and base comprise plastic, pulp, paper, metal, or a combination thereof. It is unclear if this is in addition to the molded fiber previously claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ott et al. (US-4883195-A).
Ott discloses a container (Fig. 5) for holding contents therein, the container comprising: a base (20) comprising a rim (22, 22a, 24) extending around a perimeter of the base, the base defining a first opening (36’) at the rim at a first side of the base, the base defining a second opening (36’) at the rim at a second side of the base, wherein the second side of the base is opposite to the first side of the base (Fig. 5); and a lid (10) comprising a trim extending outwardly along a perimeter of the lid, the lid also comprising a first tab (34’) extending outwardly from the trim at a first side of the lid and the lid also comprising a second tab (34’) extending outwardly from the trim at a second side of the lid, wherein the second side of the lid is opposite to the first side of the lid (Fig. 5); and wherein the first tab is configured to be received in the first opening and the second tab is configured to be received in the second opening (col. 5, lines 1-4), and wherein the lid comprises a handle (32’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13-29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US-3984027-A) in view of .
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses:
1. A container (Fig. 3) for holding contents therein, the container comprising: a first part (12) comprising a trim (36) extending outwardly along a perimeter of the first part, the first part also comprising a first tab (38) extending outwardly from the trim at a first side of the first part and the first part also comprising a second tab (40) extending outwardly from the trim at a second side of the first part, wherein the second side of the first part is opposite to the first side of the first part (Fig. 2); and a second part (10) comprising a rim (16) extending around its perimeter, the second part defining a first opening (20) at the rim at a first side of the second part, the second part defining a second opening (22) at the rim at a second side of the second part, wherein the second side of the second part is opposite to the first side of the second part (Fig. 1), wherein the first tab is configured to be received in the first opening and the second tab is configured to be received in the second opening thereby providing a snap fit closure between the first part and the second part (col. 4, lines 3-9).
Smith fails to teach wherein the first and second part comprise molded fiber.
Simmons teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a container out of molded fiber that is renewable, compostable, or recycled material (col. 2, lines 54-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the container out of molded fiber, in order to adjust cost and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claims 2-10, 15, 17-20, 22, 24-29 and 31 , the modified container of Smith teaches:
2. The container of claim 1, wherein the first part is a base and the second part is a lid (Fig. 3).
3. The container of claim 1, wherein the first part is a lid and the second part is a base (Fig. 3, based on orientation).
4. The container of claim 1, wherein the first opening, the second opening, or both is a slot (Figs. 4, 5).
5. The container of claim 1, wherein the first opening, the second opening, or both has an oblong shape, a circular shape, a semi-circular shape, a polygonal shape, an asymmetrical shape, or other geometrical shape (Figs. 4, 5).
6. A container (Fig. 3) for holding contents therein, the container comprising: a base (12) comprising a trim (36) extending outwardly along a perimeter of the base, the base also comprising a first tab (38) extending outwardly from the trim at a first side of the base and the base also comprising a second tab (40) extending outwardly from the trim at a second side of the base, wherein the second side of the base is opposite to the first side of the base (Fig. 2); and a lid (10) comprising a rim (16) extending around its perimeter, the lid defining a first opening (20) at the rim at a first side of the lid, the lid defining a second opening (22) at the rim at a second side of the lid (Fig. 1), wherein the second side of the lid is opposite to the first side of the lid, wherein the first tab is configured to be received in the first opening and the second tab is configured to be received in the second opening thereby providing a snap fit closure between the base and the lid (col. 4, lines 3-9), wherein the base and lid both comprise molded fiber (Simmons, col. 2, lines 54-55).
7. The container of claim 6, wherein the first opening, the second opening, or both is a slot (Figs. 4, 5).
8. The container of claim 6, wherein the first opening, the second opening, or both has an oblong shape, a circular shape, a semi-circular shape, a polygonal shape, an asymmetrical shape, or other geometrical shape (Figs. 4, 5).
9. The container of claim 6, wherein the lid comprises a material selected from the group consisting of plastic, pulp, paper, fiber, metal, and a combination thereof (col. 2, lines 45-50).
10. The container of claim 6, wherein the base comprises a material selected from the group consisting of plastic, pulp, paper, fiber, metal, and a combination thereof (col. 2, lines 45-50).
15. The container of claim 6, wherein the second tab is oversized relative to the second opening so that, when the second tab is received in the second opening, the second tab extends through the second opening and past an outer surface of the rim of the lid (Fig. 7).
17. The container of claim 6, wherein the lid has a rectangular shape (Fig. 1).
18. The container of claim 6, wherein the lid has rounded corners (Fig. 1).
19. The container of claim 6, wherein the base has a rectangular shape (Fig. 2).
20. The container of claim 6, wherein the base has rounded corners (Fig. 2).
22. The container of claim 6, wherein the lid further comprises a third opening (24).
24. The container of claim 22, wherein the lid has a third side with no openings defined at the third side, the lid has a fourth side with no openings defined at the fourth side (Fig. 1), the base has a third side with no tabs defined at the third side, and the base has a fourth side with no tabs defined at the fourth side (Fig. 2).
25. The container of claim 22, wherein the lid has two openings defined at the first side of the lid and one opening defined at the second side of the lid (Fig. 1), and wherein the base comprises two tabs at the first side of the base and one tab at the second side of the base (Fig. 2).
26. The container of claim 6, wherein the container is configured to form a seal or locking when in a closed state, with the container being in a closed state when the first tab is received in the first opening and when the second tab is received in the second opening (col. 4, lines 3-9).
27. The container of claim 26, wherein the seal or the locking is configured to reduce leakage of the material from the container (col. 3, ll. 11).
28. The container of claim 6, wherein the container is configured to hold food therein (col. 1, lines 5-6).
29. The container of claim 6, wherein the base comprises a first handle (44) configured to be grasped to assist in separating the base from the lid.
31. A container (Fig. 3) for holding contents therein, the container comprising: a lid (10) comprising a rim (16) extending around a perimeter of the lid, the lid defining a first opening (20) at the rim at a first side of the lid, the lid defining a second opening (22) at the rim at a second side of the lid, wherein the second side of the lid is opposite to the first side of the lid (Fig. 1); and a base (12) comprising a trim (36) extending outwardly along a perimeter of the base, the base also comprising a first tab (38) extending outwardly from the trim at a first side of the base and the base also comprising a second tab (40) extending outwardly from the trim at a second side of the base, wherein the second side of the base is opposite to the first side of the base (Fig. 2); and wherein the first tab is configured to be received in the first opening and the second tab is configured to be received in the second opening (col. 4, lines 3-9), wherein the base and lid both comprise molded fiber (Simmons, col. 2, lines 54-55)..
Regarding claims 13, 14, 16, 21 and 23:
The modified container of Smith teaches wherein the base and lid are manufactured out of molded fiber that is renewable, compostable, or recycled material (Simmons, col. 2, lines 54-55), but fails to teach wherein the lid comprises a material selected from the group consisting of plastic, pulp, paper, metal, and a combination thereof, wherein the base comprises a first plurality of tabs including the first tab extending outwardly from the trim at the first side of the base, the base comprises a second plurality of tabs including the second tab extending outwardly from the trim at the second side of the base, the lid defines a first plurality of openings including the first opening at the rim at the first side of the lid, and the lid defines a second plurality of openings including the second opening at the rim at the second side of the lid, wherein the first opening, the second opening, or both is positioned at one of the rounded corners, and wherein the lid defines the third opening at the rim at a third side of the lid, the lid defines a fourth opening at the rim at a fourth side of the lid, the third side of the lid is opposite to the fourth side of the lid, the base comprises a third tab extending outwardly from the trim at a third side of the base, the base comprises a fourth tab extending outwardly from the trim at a fourth side of the base, the fourth side of the base is opposite to the third side of the base, the third tab is configured to be received in the third opening, and the fourth tab is configured to be received in the fourth opening.
Simmons teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a container out of pulp[ and paper (col. 2, lines 53-55), and wherein the container can include 4 tabs and four slots at corners of the container (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the container out of the claimed materials, in order to adjust cost and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice
It would be obvious to have manufactured the container with additional tabs and openings, in order to create a more secure connection and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the tabs and openings at corners since such modification would be locating components at known locations and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant's remaining arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733