DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2023 and 05/18/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a portion of the adjacent weld bead overlapping the previously formed weld bead” in lines 8-9. However, claim 1 already recites “a portion of the adjacent weld bead overlapping the previously formed weld bead” in line 13. Therefore, the limitation in claim 5 should be changed to “[[a]] the portion of the adjacent weld bead overlapping the previously formed weld bead” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a portion not overlapping the previously formed weld bead” in lines 9-10. However, claim 1 already recites “a portion not overlapping the previously formed weld bead” in line 14. Therefore, the limitation in claim 5 should be changed to “[[a]] the portion not overlapping the previously formed weld bead” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “an optical diffraction grating” in line 3. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 5 depends on claim 2; however, claim 2 already recites “an optical diffraction grating” in lines 2-3. Therefore, it is unclear if they are the same optical diffraction grating or different optical diffraction grating. For examination purposes, the limitation “an optical diffraction grating” recited in claim 5 (line 3) will be interpreted as to refer to “an optical diffraction grating” recited previously in claim 2 (lines 2-3).
Claim 5 recites the limitation “an optical diffraction grating” in line 7. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 5 already recites the limitation “an optical diffraction grating” previously in line 3; furthermore, claim 5 depends on claim 2, however, claim 2 already recites “an optical diffraction grating” in lines 2-3. Therefore, it is unclear whether the limitation “an optical diffraction grating” recited in claim 5 (line 7) refers to “an optical diffraction grating” recited previously in claim 2 (lines 2-3), or “an optical diffraction grating” recited previously in claim 5 (line 3), or a different optical diffraction grating. For examination purposes, the limitation “an optical diffraction grating” recited in claim 5 (line 7) will be interpreted as to refer to “an optical diffraction grating” recited previously in claim 2 (lines 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruck et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0072438 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bruck discloses an overlay welding method (Bruck Abstract and Bruck overlay welding method using Bruck laser welding/cladding system 100 as shown in Bruck Fig.4), comprising:
irradiating a surface of a metal member (top surface of turbine blade 20, Bruck Fig.4) (Bruck Par.0009 discloses: “superalloy turbine blade 20”) with a laser beam (laser beam 180, Bruck Fig.4) while supplying a weld metal powder (filler powder 136, Bruck Fig.4) (Bruck Par.0021 discloses: “These and other objects are achieved in accordance with the present invention by laser beam welding of superalloy substrates, such as a turbine blades or vanes, to clad one or more layers on the substrate for structurally building up surface area and/or volume with superalloy filler material.”; therefore, Bruck discloses the filler powder is superalloy); and
performing overlay welding on the surface of the metal member (top surface of turbine blade 20, Bruck Fig.4) (Bruck discloses performing overlay welding on the top surface of turbine blade 20 because Bruck Par.0043 discloses: “When operating the welding system 100 the output beam 180 of the laser 140 is reflected off mirror 160 (or multiple mirrors) and in turn on to the turbine blade 20 work piece, which transfers optical energy to the turbine blade 20 and filler material 135. Both the turbine blade substrate 20 and filler material 136 absorb the transferred optical energy, to melt the filler material, wet the substrate surface and fuse the melted filler and substrate surface to each other. The substrate 20 and laser beam 180 are moved relative to each other along a translation path by the control system engagement of the work table drive system 125 and/or the moveable mirror system 150 drives 162, 164, 166 to form a continuous welded cladding layer 200 … Relative motion between the laser beam 180 and the substrate 20/filler material 136 maintains a continuous melted weld line at the leading edge of translation motion (e.g., the right leading edge of the weld line in FIG. 4) for fusion uniformity that is not possible with known unoscillated laser cladding systems.”, and as shown in Bruck Figs.4-5),
wherein a weld bead formation step of melting and solidifying the weld metal powder (filler powder 136, Bruck Fig.4) with the laser beam (laser beam 180, Bruck Fig.4) to form a weld bead on the surface of the metal member (top surface of turbine blade 20, Bruck Fig.4) is repeatedly performed to form a plurality of weld beads on the surface of the metal member (top surface of turbine blade 20, Bruck Fig.4) (Bruck discloses a weld bead formation step of melting and solidifying the filler powder 136 with the laser beam 180 to form a weld bead on the top surface of turbine blade 20 is repeatedly performed to form a plurality of weld beads on the top surface of turbine blade 20 because as shown in Bruck Fig.5 and indicated by Bruck Pars.0043, 0045; specifically, Bruck Par.0043 discloses: “When operating the welding system 100 the output beam 180 of the laser 140 is reflected off mirror 160 (or multiple mirrors) and in turn on to the turbine blade 20 work piece, which transfers optical energy to the turbine blade 20 and filler material 135. Both the turbine blade substrate 20 and filler material 136 absorb the transferred optical energy, to melt the filler material, wet the substrate surface and fuse the melted filler and substrate surface to each other. The substrate 20 and laser beam 180 are moved relative to each other along a translation path by the control system engagement of the work table drive system 125 and/or the moveable mirror system 150 drives 162, 164, 166 to form a continuous welded cladding layer 200.”, and Bruck Par.0045 discloses: “As shown in FIGS. 4 and 5, a cladding layer may comprise a single raster linear weld 210 or a two-dimensional weld array of multiple adjoining linear welds 210-230. Translation directions for each pass may be sequentially reversed as shown. Oscillation directions for each pass may be purely transverse to the translation direction as 211, 221 and 231 for each pass 210, 220 and 230 respectively. Duration of oscillation against the side of previous passes may be increased to ensure fusion. Multiple cladding layers 200, 300, 400 may be applied on each other by sequentially alternating layers in directions in and out of FIG. 5, or even changing directions of translation to other than left to right e.g. to 90 degrees from left to right.”),
each of the plurality of weld beads has one portion in a width direction overlapping each other (Bruck discloses each of the plurality of weld beads has one portion in a width direction overlapping each other as shown in Bruck Fig.3 and indicated by Bruck Par.0038; specifically, Bruck Par.0038 discloses: “the next laser cladding pass 90 is intended to overlap the prior deposit 80 at reference point 82 extending in width to point 85 and progress into the plane of this figure. The laser focus spot is rapidly oscillated from 82 to, e.g., 85 to create a line source of energy. Progression of this line source of energy into/out of the plane of this figure relative to substrate 70 produces a clad deposit 90 adjacent to existing deposit 80”), and
in a case of forming an adjacent weld bead, which is a weld bead (90, Bruck Fig.3) adjacent to a previously formed weld bead (80, Bruck Fig.3), an energy density of the laser beam is adjusted to be higher at a portion of the adjacent weld bead overlapping the previously formed weld bead than at a portion not overlapping the previously formed weld bead (Bruck Par.0038 discloses that, when forming the next laser cladding pass adjacent to the previously applied clad deposit, the laser optical energy transfer rate is ramped up in the overlapping portion 92 of the new cladding layer laser pass, reaching a plateau power spike 94 at the transition corner between the deposit 80 edge 84 and the bare substrate 70, and is lowered when the laser beam is directed at the flat substrate portion, see the power distribution graph in Bruck Fig.3. Thus, Bruck discloses adjusting the laser energy such that the overlapping portion of the adjacent weld bead receives a higher amount of the laser energy than the non-overlapping portion of the adjacent weld bead.).
Regarding claim 6, Bruck discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Bruck also discloses:
wherein the adjacent weld bead (90, Bruck Fig.3) overlaps the previously formed weld bead (80, Bruck Fig.3) to avoid a thickest portion of a surface of the previously formed weld bead (80, Bruck Fig.3) (Bruck Fig.3 shows that 90 overlaps 80 at 82 to avoid the thickest portion of the surface of the 80), and
the energy density of the laser beam of the overlapping portion of the adjacent weld bead shows a distribution which increases toward a side of the non-overlapping portion (see the power distribution graph P in Bruck Fig.3, Bruck Fig.3 teaches the energy density of the laser beam of the overlapping portion of the adjacent weld bead shows a distribution which increases toward a side of the non-overlapping portion).
Regarding claim 7, Bruck discloses a method for repairing a metal member (Bruck discloses a method for repairing superalloy component such as turbine blade by laser cladding to restore damaged portion of the component, Bruck Abstract & Pars.0003-0008), the method comprising:
a damaged portion removal step of removing a damaged portion in the metal member (Bruck discloses a damaged portion removal step of removing a damaged portion in the turbine blade because Bruck Par.0009 discloses: “Original integrally-cast tip cap and squealer (not shown) are often damaged and eroded in service and require remnant cleanup removal to achieve a rework plane 23 at top of body 22. New separate tip cap 24 is machined from new matching cast material and placed on rework plane 23. The blade 20 then requires structural repair filling of the missing portion 28 along and to the right of the tip cap side 26 with a volume of superalloy filler, in order to restore the original structural dimensions of the tip cap and to fuse to both the tip cap side 26 and blade body 22 over rework plane 23. A two-dimensional filler weld array 30 of individually-applied laser clad deposits or passes 31-36 is formed by known laser cladding methods. The laser beam focus position and substrate surface are moved relative to each other after a single deposit (e.g., 31, etc.), formation to weld the next deposit (e.g., 32, etc.).”); and
an overlay welding step of performing the overlay welding method according to Claim 1 with respect to a surface of the metal member, from which the damaged portion is removed (Bruck discloses an overlay welding step of performing the overlay welding method according to Claim 1 with respect to a surface of the metal member, from which the damaged portion is removed because Bruck discloses that after the damaged portion has been removed to form the rework plane 23, powdered filler material is supplied while a laser beam irradiates the repaired surface to melt the filler material and fuse it to the substrate, thereby rebuilding the removed portion by laser cladding (overlay welding), as indicated and explained in details in Bruck Pars.0008-0011 & 0035-0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruck et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0072438 A1) in view of Kondo (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0168454 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Bruck discloses the method set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the energy density of the laser beam is adjusted using an optical diffraction grating.
Kondo teaches a method:
wherein the energy density of the laser beam is adjusted using an optical diffraction grating (Kondo Par.0008 teaches: “a laser additive manufacturing apparatus according to an aspect of the present disclosure includes an irradiation unit that irradiates an irradiation region with a laser beam having a light intensity distribution converted by a diffractive optical element”, and Kondo Par.0040 discloses: “a diffractive optical element (DOE) 12 which has a diffraction pattern for forming a light intensity distribution (a dog-ear type) in which light intensity in an outer peripheral portion is higher than light intensity in a central portion”. Accordingly, Kondo teaches changing the spatial distribution of the laser intensity, i.e., the laser energy delivered per unit area, using optical diffraction grating. Therefore, Kondo teaches the energy density of the laser beam is adjusted using optical diffraction grating.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bruck, by adding the teaching of using optical diffraction grating to adjust the energy density of the laser beam, as taught by Kondo, in order to shape and control the spatial energy-density distribution of the laser beam, thereby delivering a higher laser energy density to the overlap region requiring greater heat input while reducing laser energy delivered to the remaining portion of the weld bead. The modification would improve fusion at the overlap region, reduce unnecessary melting and thermal distortion of the surrounding substrate, and provide more precise control of the laser energy distribution during overlay welding.
Regarding claim 5, Bruck in view of Kondo teaches the method set forth in claim 2, and also teaches:
wherein, in a case of forming a first weld bead, which is an initially formed weld bead among the plurality of weld beads, an optical diffraction grating is used in which the energy density of the laser beam of the first weld bead in the width direction is adjusted to be uniform (Kondo Par.0034 teaches: “The laser beam source apparatus 50 emits a laser beam that has a light intensity distribution of a Gaussian distribution as illustrated in FIG. 2A. When the diffractive optical element (DOE) 12 according to the present embodiment receives the laser beam having a light intensity distribution of a Gaussian distribution, a diffraction grating pattern is formed thereon such that the diffractive optical element (DOE) 12 emits a so-called top-hat type laser beam having a light intensity distribution with uniform light intensity as illustrated in FIG. 2B.” and see Fig.2B of Kondo. Therefore, by adding the teaching of Kondo, in combination, Bruck in view of Kondo teaches in a case of forming a first weld bead, which is an initially formed weld bead among the plurality of weld beads, an optical diffraction grating is used in which the energy density of the laser beam of the first weld bead in the width direction is adjusted to be uniform), and
in a case of forming a weld bead excluding the first weld head among the plurality weld beads an optical diffraction grating is used in which the energy density of the laser beam is adjusted to be higher at a portion of the adjacent weld bead overlapping the previously formed weld bead than at a portion not overlapping the previously formed weld bead (It is noted that the primary reference Bruck Par.0038 discloses that, when forming the next laser cladding pass adjacent to the previously applied clad deposit, the laser optical energy transfer rate is ramped up in the overlapping portion 92 of the new cladding layer laser pass, reaching a plateau power spike 94 at the transition corner between the deposit 80 edge 84 and the bare substrate 70, and is lowered when the laser beam is directed at the flat substrate portion, see the power distribution graph in Bruck Fig.3. Thus, Bruck discloses adjusting the laser energy such that the overlapping portion of the adjacent weld bead receives a higher amount of the laser energy than the non-overlapping portion of the adjacent weld bead, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 1 above. The secondary reference Kondo Par.0040 discloses: “a diffractive optical element (DOE) 12 which has a diffraction pattern for forming a light intensity distribution (a dog-ear type) in which light intensity in an outer peripheral portion is higher than light intensity in a central portion”. Accordingly, Kondo teaches changing the spatial distribution of the laser intensity, i.e., the laser energy delivered per unit area, using optical diffraction grating. Therefore, Kondo teaches the energy density of the laser beam is adjusted using optical diffraction grating. Thus, in combination, Bruck in view of Kondo teaches in a case of forming a weld bead excluding the first weld head among the plurality weld beads an optical diffraction grating is used in which the energy density of the laser beam is adjusted to be higher at a portion of the adjacent weld bead overlapping the previously formed weld bead than at a portion not overlapping the previously formed weld bead.).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruck et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0072438 A1) in view of Kondo (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0168454 A1), and further in view of Mega et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0300094 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bruck in view of Kondo teaches the method set forth in claim 2, Bruck in view of Kondo does not teach:
wherein a tab disposition step of providing tab along an edge of the metal member before the weld bead formation step is performed, and an unnecessary portion removal step of removing a portion of the weld bead formed on the tab together with the tab, after the plurality weld beads are formed, are performed.
Mega teaches an overlay welding method (Mega Abstract):
wherein a tab disposition step of providing tab (tabs 21, 22, Mega Fig.4) along an edge of the metal member (article 1 comprising turbine rotor blade 1A, blade portion 2, platform 3, shank 4, and blade root 5, Mega Fig.4 & Par.0088) (Mega Par.0088 teaches: “the unidirectionally solidified article 1 is a turbine rotor blade 1A and is provided with a blade portion 2, a platform 3, a shank 4, and a blade root 5”) before the weld bead formation step is performed (Mega teaches a tab disposition step of providing tab along an edge of the metal member before the weld bead formation step is performed because Mega Par.0094 discloses: “he unidirectionally solidified article repair method according to several embodiments includes a tab forming step S10, a groove part forming step S30, a preheating step S50, a welding step S100, a tab removing step S70 and a heat treatment step S90.”, Mega Par.0096 teaches: “The tab forming step S10 is a step of forming a pair of tabs 21, 22, one at either end of a region (welding region) 55 of a base material 13 to be repaired where a welded part is formed with respect to a growth direction of the columnar crystals 6 in the base material 13 as shown in FIG. 4 prior to the welding step S100”), and an unnecessary portion removal step (tap removing step S70, Mega Pars.0173-0175) of removing a portion of the weld bead formed on the tab together with the tab, after the plurality weld beads are formed, are performed (Mega teaches performing an unnecessary portion removal step of removing a portion of the weld bead formed on the tab together with the tab, after the plurality weld beads are formed because Mega Par.0174 teaches: “The tab removing step S70 is a step of removing the pair of tabs 21, 22 from the turbine rotor blade 1A after the welding step S100 is finished.”, and Mega Par.0175 teaches: “In the tab removing step S70, the tabs 21, 22 and the welded part 50 formed on the tabs 21, 22 are removed from the turbine rotor blade 1A”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bruck in view of Kondo, by adding the teaching of performing a tab disposition step of providing tab along an edge of the metal member before the weld bead formation step is performed, and an unnecessary portion removal step of removing a portion of the weld bead formed on the tab together with the tab, after the plurality weld beads are formed, as taught by Mega, in order to move the welding start and end locations outside the repair region, thereby improving the quality and strength of the repaired region by preventing weld start/end defects from occurring within the repaired portion of the workpiece.
Regarding claim 4, Bruck in view of Kondo and Mega teaches the method set forth in claim 3, Mega also teaches:
wherein a first weld bead (“the first layer 51 having one bead 61”, Mega Par.0127 & Fig.7), which is an initially formed weld bead among the plurality of weld beads, is formed to straddle the metal member (article 1 comprising turbine rotor blade 1A, blade portion 2, platform 3, shank 4, and blade root 5, Mega Fig.7 & Par.0088) (Mega Par.0088 teaches: “the unidirectionally solidified article 1 is a turbine rotor blade 1A and is provided with a blade portion 2, a platform 3, a shank 4, and a blade root 5”) and the tab (tabs 21 & 22, Mega Fig.7) (Mega Fig.7 shows a first weld bead, which is an initially formed weld bead among the plurality of weld beads, is formed to straddle the metal member 1 and the tabs 21, 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bruck in view of Kondo and Mega, by adding the teaching of a first weld bead, which is an initially formed weld bead among the plurality of weld beads, is formed to straddle the metal member and the tab, as taught by Mega, in order to initiate and terminate the overlay welding operation on the tab instead of directly on the edge of the metal member, thereby reducing metallurgical defects associated with starting and stopping the repair welding process and improving the quality and integrity of the completed overlay weld.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Marchione (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0334936 A1) discloses a laser cladding method for repairing a rotor wheel including an airfoil using a blade repair assembly.
Goncharov et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0366996 A1) discloses a method of cladding and fusion welding of superalloys. The method can be used for joining, manufacturing and repair of articles, especially turbine engine components, manufactured of conventional polycrystalline, single crystal and directionally solidified superalloys utilizing fusion welding processes.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 08/03/2026