FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10, 13 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ashraf et al. (US 2015/0126949).
As to claims 1 and 21, Ashraf discloses a method of forming a nonwoven fabric (abstract), comprising: (a) forming or providing a first intermediate spunmelt (para 35) nonwoven layer (para 28, “nonwoven” “sheet or web”) including a first plurality of spunmelt fibers said spunmelt fibers being spunbond fibers (para 35), wherein the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer comprises a first plurality of discrete thermal bond sites (para 28); and (b) subjecting the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer to a through-air-bonding (TAB) (para 46) operation to provide the nonwoven fabric (para 46, abstract, para 27-28, 35-50, figs 1, 4)).
As to claim 6-8, Ashraf discloses the first plurality of spunmelt fibers comprises bi-component fibers including a first component comprising a first biopolymer composition and a second component comprising a second biopolymer composition (para 17 – two discreet components), and wherein the first biopolymer composition and the second biopolymer composition each comprise at least a poly(lactic) acid (PLA) (para 37, 44), polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA), a poly(hydroxycarboxylic) acids, or any combination thereof, wherein the first plurality of spunmelt fibers comprise bi-component fibers wherein the first component comprises a core component and the second component comprises a sheath component (para 4, 39-40, claim 8).
As to claim 10, Ashraf discloses the first biopolymer composition comprises a first PLA or first PLA composition and the second biopolymer composition comprises a second PLA or a second PLA composition, (para 4, 17 39-40).
As to claim 13, Ashraf discloses the first plurality of spunmelt fibers comprise spunbond fibers, meltblown fibers, staple fibers, or combinations thereof (para 28, 35-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 22, 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf, as applied to claims 1, 21 and 8 above, and further in view of Foss et al. (US 2012/0051672).
As to claims 2 and 22, Ashraf discloses the first plurality of spunmelt fibers comprises bi-component fibers comprising a core component including a first biopolymer or first biopolymer composition and a sheath component including a second biopolymer or second biopolymer composition (para 4, 17, 25-27, 33-40, claim 8); wherein the first biopolymer or first biopolymer composition has a first melting temperature and the second biopolymer or second biopolymer composition has a second melting temperature (para 4, 17, 25-27, 33-40, claim 8).;
Ashra does not disclose a method wherein the first melting temperature is larger than the second melting temperature. Foss discloses a method making a non-woven web with at least two components, wherein the first component has a larger melting point than the second component (para 14, 20, 27-28, 44 claim 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ashraf such that the first component has a larger melting point than the second component as taught by Foss above as doing such enables greater bond strength, and better control over fiber orientation and heating time (para 2, 11-17).
As to claim 5, Foss disclose that the percentage of bonding sites effects the strength of the nonwoven (para 27). ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the percentage of bond site in Ashraf to be between 3 to 30% as one would have achieved such by performing routine experimentation to obtain only the expected results.
As to claim 9, Foss discloses the sheath component comprises an at least partially deformed configuration associated with the softening, at least partial flowing, and re-solidification into the at least partially deformed configuration, and wherein a thickness of the sheath component in the at least partially deformed configuration varies (para 20, 26-28 44). Additionally, varying the dimensions is obvious absent criticality demonstrated by the applicant. MPEP 2114.04.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Everhart et al. (US 2003/0114071).
As to claim 3, Ashraf discloses the method wherein the nonwoven fabric comprises a composite nonwoven fabric, and wherein the method further comprises (i) depositing at least one layer of fibers onto the first plurality of spunmelt fibers after subjecting the intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer to the TAB operation, and (ii) physically entangling the first plurality of spunmelt fibers and the at least one layer of fibers (figs 1, 4, discussion of said figs, para 4, 17, 25-27, 33-40, 43-59, claim 8).
Ashraf does not disclose the at least one layer of fibers comprises cellulosic fibers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ashraf such that the at least one layer of fiber comprises cellulosic fiber as taught by Everhart (para 7, 16, 17, 30, 98) as such improves absorption and is economically and environmentally desirable.
As to claims 4 and 12, Everhart discloses the claimed wt% of cellulosic fibers (para 30)
As to claim 11, Ashraf discloses nonwoven fabric comprises a composite nonwoven fabric, and wherein the method further comprises (i) forming or providing a second intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer including a second plurality of spunmelt fibers, wherein the second intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer comprises a second plurality of discrete thermal bond sites; (ii) positioning at least one layer of fibers between the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer and the second intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer, and (iii) physically entangling the first plurality of spunmelt fibers, at least one layer of a plurality of fibers. and the second plurality of spunmelt fibers together (figs 1, 4, discussion of said figs, para 4, 17, 25-27, 33-40, 43-59, claim 8).
Everhart discloses and renders obvious use of a plurality of cellulosic fibers for the at least one layer of fibers as detailed above.
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Topolkaraev et al. (US 2010/0318050).
As to claim 14, Ashraf does not disclose annealing as claimed in claim 14. However, Topolkaraev discloses subjecting a first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer to an annealing operation prior subjecting the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer to the TAB (para 37) operation (para 44, 84-89, 154-161). fibers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ashraf by subjecting the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer to an annealing operation prior subjecting the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer to the TAB operation as taught by Topolkaraev above as such improves tenacity and thermal bonding (para 6)
As to claim 15, Topolkaraev discloses heating to the below the melting point (para 4). Topolkaraev does not expressly disclose the annealing operation comprises heating the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer to a temperature to within, but not at or exceeding, about 7°C below a highest melting point component of the intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer. However, such would have been obvious, as Topolkaraev discloses that the annealing temperature effects the bonding strength (para 161). As such, one of ordinary skill would have achieved the claimed temperature through routine optimization.
As to claims 16-17, Topolkaraev discloses the annealing operation further comprises maintaining the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer under physical constraint during heating of the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer, said constraint comprising physically constraining the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer between two belts, between a belt and a drum, or via a stenter constraint (fig 2, para 78-87).
As to claim 18, Topolkaraev discloses prior to releasing the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer from the physical constraint, the temperature of the first intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer is reduced to about 20° C. to about 35° C (para 173).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Clark et al. (US 2005/0136776).
As to claims 19-20, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Ashraf by intermixing abrasive particles in a co-forming operation with the first plurality of spunmelt fibers as taught by para 42 of Clark as such is known and preferable (para 42) in the art and has a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf and Foss, as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Isele et al. (US 2011/0196325).
As to claim 23, the first and second biopolymers of Ashraf as modifed by Foss inherently have and a melt index. Ashraf and Foss, do not, however, disclose the melt index difference recited in claim 23. Para 79 of Isele discloses the MFI effects the fiber diameter, strength and throughput. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use first and second biopolymers with the MFI difference recited in claim 23, as a POSTIA would have readily achieved such by performing routine experimentation to optimize the above variables.
As to claims 24-25, para 28 of Foss discloses a melting temperature difference between the first melting temperature and the second melting temperature is from 5 to 20°C.
As to claim 26, Ashraf discloses the limitations of the claim for the reasons detailed in the rejection of claims 6 and 10 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/26 have been fully considered but are either not persuasive or moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
As to claim 1 and Ashraf, the applicant asserts Ashraf does not disclose “consolidating the spunmelt web via a bonding process other than through-air-bonding, such as by thermal calendering, to provide an intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer, wherein the intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer”. This argument is not commensurate with scope of the claims since claim 1 does not require thermal calendaring, nor does it exclude through-air-bonding. Ashraf clearly discloses subjecting the intermediate spunmelt nonwoven layer to TAB in para 46. See body of rejection above.
Applicant cites para 37 and 16 of the specification and asserts Ashrtaf does not disclose such limitations. The limitations disclosed in these paragraphs are not recited in the claim, and limitations recited in the specification are not read into the claims. MPEP 2111.
The applicant asserts the secondary references do not make up for the alleged deficiencies of Ashraf. This argument is not persuasive because Ashraf is not deficient as it discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 6-8, 10 and 13 as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746