DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 16 October 2023 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 16 October 2023, 22 October 2024, and 11 July 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Priority
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSes) submitted on 16 October 2023, 22 October 2024, and 11 July 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 6 — line 2, a comma appears to be missing between “carriers” and “when”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,841,789 (hereinafter ‘789). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 14 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1 and 16 of ‘789 as further detailed below.
Regarding Claim 1, claim 1 of ‘789 is encompassed by claim 1 of the instant application as provided in the table and explanation below.
1. A transmission method, comprising:
1. A method of relay transmission, comprising:
receiving, by a relay terminal as a terminal device, a first message from a first remote terminal and…
receiving, by a relay terminal device, an ADPtive (ADP)-layer Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sent to a network device by a remote terminal device, the ADP-layer PDU containing identifier information of the remote terminal device and the ADP-layer PDU being obtained through performing, by the remote terminal device, encapsulation processing on data contained in the ADP-layer PDU in an ADP layer of layer 2;
determining, by the relay terminal, a first user identity of the first remote terminal corresponding to the first message.
acquiring, by the relay terminal device, the identifier information, contained in the ADP-layer PDU, of the remote terminal device in an ADP layer of layer 2; and
… transmitting the first message to a network device; and
forwarding, by the relay terminal device according to the acquired identifier information of the remote terminal device, the data contained in the ADP-layer PDU to the network device.
Apparent differences between claim 1 of ‘789 and claim 1 of the instant application include: (a) receiving the first message “as a terminal device”, (b) reception of a first message instead of an ADPtive (ADP)-layer Protocol Data Unit (PDU), (c) from a first remote terminal instead of “sent to a network device by a remote terminal device,” (d) determining a first user identity of the first remote terminal instead of “acquiring…the identifier information”, and (e) transmitting instead of “forwarding”.
With respect to (a) — the term “as a terminal device”, claim 1 of ‘789 requires the relay terminal to be a relay terminal device.
With respect to (b) — an ADP PDU is understood to be a type of first message.
With respect to (c) — a received ADP PDU sent to a network device by a remote terminal device is understood to be a message sent from the remote terminal device.
With respect to (d) — claim 1 of ‘789 requires the claimed identifier information to be “of the remote terminal device”, making it a type of first user identity.
With respect to (e) — forwarding is a type of transmitting.
Therefore, claim 1 of the instant application completely encompasses the scope of claim 1 of ‘789.
Regarding Claim 14, the scope of claim 16 of ‘789 is encompassed by claim 14 of the instant application under the same reasoning that claim 1 of ‘789 is encompassed by claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang (US 2019/0166486, the Pre-Grant Publication of '789 cited in the Double Patent Rejection above, previously made of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Tang discloses a transmission method, comprising:
receiving, by a relay terminal as a terminal device, a first message from a first remote terminal (Abstract, Figs. 3, 5, ¶¶ 96, 99 and 133 discloses a remote terminal device sending an adaptation (i.e., ADPtive, ADP)-layer PDU to a relay terminal device) and transmitting the first message to a network device (Abstract, Figs. 3, 5, ¶¶ 99 and 135 disclose the relay terminal forwarding the data contained in the ADP-layer PDU to a network device); and
determining, by the relay terminal, a first user identity of the first remote terminal corresponding to the first message (Abstract, Figs. 3, 5, ¶¶ 90, 99, 133-134 disclose the relay terminal device acquiring identifier information, such as a user identifier of the remote terminal device, from the received ADP-layer PDU).
Regarding Claim 14, though of a different scope, the limitations of claim 14 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 1, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Regarding Claim 20, Tang discloses a network device, comprising:
a transceiver, configured to receive a first message from a relay terminal as a terminal device (Abstract, Fig. 3, Fig. 7, ¶¶ 99 and 163-164 disclose a network device, including a receiving unit, receiving an ADP-layer PDU sent by a relay terminal device), wherein the first message is transmitted to the relay terminal by a first remote terminal (Abstract, Figs. 3, 7, ¶¶ 99 and 165 disclose the ADP-layer PDU as indicating that it was ultimately from a remote terminal device and was forwarded to the network device by the relay terminal device),
wherein a first user identity of the first remote terminal corresponding to the first message is determined by the relay terminal (Note: a function solely of a device other than the claimed network device does not appear to define the claimed network device in the instant claim; Fig. 3 ¶¶ 90 and 100 disclose the relay terminal device analyzing the acquired identifier, which may be embodied as a user identifier of the remote terminal device).
Claims 1-3, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0100088, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a transmission method, comprising:
receiving, by a relay terminal as a terminal device, a first message from a first remote terminal (Fig. 16 and ¶¶ 528-529 disclose an eRemote-UE sending a NAS service request including an identifier of the eRemote-UE, such as a subscriber identifier (S-TMSI) to an eRelay UE, which delivers it to an eNB, which delivers it to an eRemote MME) and transmitting the first message to a network device (Id.); and
determining, by the relay terminal, a first user identity of the first remote terminal corresponding to the first message (Id.).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the relay terminal, a second message from a second remote terminal (Fig. 16 and ¶ 533 disclose the eRelay-UE receiving uplink data from the eRemote-UE).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
transmitting, by the relay terminal, the second message to the network device (Fig. 16 and ¶ 533 disclose the eRelay-UE delivering the uplink data to the eNB).
Regarding Claims 14-16, though of varying scope, the limitations of claims 14-16 are substantially similar or identical to those of claims 1-3, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Regarding Claim 20, Kim discloses a network device, comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 24 and ¶¶ 887-889 disclose a network node, such as a base station (eNB), as implementing the method of Fig. 16, includes a communication module including a radio frequency unit for transmitting/receiving a radio signal), configured to receive a first message from a relay terminal as a terminal device (Fig. 16 and ¶¶ 528-529 disclose an eNB receiving a NAS service request message), wherein the first message is transmitted to the relay terminal by a first remote terminal (Fig. 16 and ¶¶ 528-529 disclose the NAS service request message as originating from an eRemote-UE and including an identifier of the eRemote-UE, such as a subscriber identifier (e.g., S-TMSI)),
wherein a first user identity of the first remote terminal corresponding to the first message is determined by the relay terminal (Note: a function solely of a device other than the claimed network device does not appear to the scope of the claimed network device in the instant claim; Fig. 16 and ¶¶ 528-529).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2019/0239284, previously made of record, hereinafter Xu).
Regarding Claim 4, Tang discloses the method of claim 1.
Tang may not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, by the relay terminal, a first report related to the first remote terminal to the network device.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses:
transmitting, by a relay terminal, a first report related to a first remote terminal to a network device (Fig. 6 and ¶ 203 disclose a relay UE sending a notification message to a base station (BS) including a layer 2 ID of the remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Tang in order to have the relay terminal report on the remote terminal to the BS. One would have been motivated to do this, because such a report may help a base station identify specific UE from which data is received from a relay UE (Xu ¶ 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Tang-Xu disclose the method of claim 4.
Tang may not explicitly disclose:
receiving, by the relay terminal, the first user identity of the first remote terminal from the network device.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses:
receiving, by the relay terminal, the first user identity of the first remote terminal from the network device (Fig. 6 and ¶ 204 disclose the base station allocating an index to the remote UE, and returns, to the relay UE, a response message that includes the index of the remote UE and a mapping relationship between the index and the layer 2 ID of the remote UE, where the response message is used to instruct the relay UE to provide a connection for the remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Tang in order to have the relay terminal report on the and receive an identifier for the remote terminal from the base station. One would have been motivated to do this, because such a report may help a base station identify specific UE from which data is received from a relay UE (Xu ¶ 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Tang-Xu disclose the method of claim 5.
Tang discloses wherein an adaptation layer header is carried in the first message carries when the first message is transmitted by the relay terminal to the network device, the adaptation layer header containing the first user identity of the first remote terminal (Abstract, Figs. 3, 5, ¶¶ 99 and 135 disclose the relay terminal forwarding the data contained in the ADP-layer PDU to a network device).
Tang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first remote terminal is received from the network device.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses the first user identity of the first remote terminal received from the network device (Fig. 6 and ¶ 204 disclose the base station allocating an index to the remote UE, and returns, to the relay UE, a response message that includes the index of the remote UE and a mapping relationship between the index and the layer 2 ID of the remote UE, where the response message is used to instruct the relay UE to provide a connection for the remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Tang in order to have the relay terminal report on the and receive an identifier for the remote terminal from the base station. One would have been motivated to do this, because such a report may help a base station identify specific UE from which data is received from a relay UE (Xu ¶ 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Tang discloses the method of claim 1.
Tang may not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, by the relay terminal, a second report related to a second remote terminal to the network device.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses:
transmitting, by the relay terminal, a second report related to a second remote terminal to the network device (Fig. 1 and ¶ 108 disclose a plurality of remote UEs connected to a relay UE; Fig. 3a and ¶ 135 disclose the relay UE sending data to a base station (BS) including a remote UE index and an LCID of the radio bearer corresponding to the data sent to the BS; Figs. 4a-d and ¶¶ 149, 158, 168, and 176 disclose the data as including information on two remote UEs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Tang in order to have the relay terminal report on and receive an identifier for the second remote terminal from the base station. One would have been motivated to do this, because such a report may help a base station identify specific UE from which data is received from a relay UE (Xu ¶ 4).
Regarding Claim 8, Tang-Xu disclose the method of claim 7.
Tang may not explicitly disclose:
receiving, by the relay terminal, a second user identity of the second remote terminal from the network device.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses:
receiving, by the relay terminal, a second user identity of the second remote terminal from the network device (¶¶ 137 and 180 disclose the base station configuring the relay with radio bearers for each data flow of each remote UE being served by the relay UE, and the BS using identifiers of the remote UEs and their respective radio bearer(s) when communicating data to the remote UEs via the relay UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Tang in order to have the relay terminal report on and receive an identifier for the second remote terminal from the base station. One would have been motivated to do this, because such a report may help a base station identify specific UE from which data is received from a relay UE (Xu ¶ 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Tang-Xu disclose the method of claim 8.
Tang discloses wherein an adaptation layer header is carried in a message when the message is transmitted by the relay terminal to the network device, the adaptation layer header containing the user identity of the remote terminal (Abstract, Figs. 3, 5, ¶¶ 99 and 135 disclose the relay terminal forwarding the data contained in the ADP-layer PDU to a network device).
Tang may not explicitly disclose wherein the message is a second message and the remote terminal is a second remote terminal, and wherein the user identity of the remote terminal is received from the network device.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses a second message and a second remote terminal (Fig. 1 and ¶ 108 disclose a plurality of remote UEs connected to a relay UE; Fig. 3a and ¶ 135 disclose the relay UE sending data to a base station (BS) including a remote UE index and an LCID of the radio bearer corresponding to the data sent to the BS; Figs. 4a-d and ¶¶ 149, 158, 168, and 176 disclose the data as including information on two remote UEs), and wherein the user identity of the remote terminal is received from the network device (Fig. 6 and ¶ 204 disclose the base station allocating an index to the remote UE, and returns, to the relay UE, a response message that includes the index of the remote UE and a mapping relationship between the index and the layer 2 ID of the remote UE, where the response message is used to instruct the relay UE to provide a connection for the remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Tang in order to have the relay terminal report on and receive an identifier for the second remote terminal from the base station. One would have been motivated to do this, because such a report (Xu ¶ 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Tang-Xu disclose the method of claim 4.
Tang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first report comprises: ID information of the first remote terminal.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses wherein the first report comprises: ID information of the first remote terminal (Fig. 6 and ¶ 203 disclose a relay UE sending a notification message to a base station (BS) including a layer 2 ID of the remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Tang in order to have the relay terminal report on the remote terminal to the BS. One would have been motivated to do this, because such a report may help a base station identify specific UE from which data is received from a relay UE (Xu ¶ 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Tang-Xu disclose the method of claim 7.
Tang may not explicitly disclose wherein the second report comprises ID information of the second remote terminal.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses wherein the second report comprises ID information of the second remote terminal (Fig. 1 and ¶ 108 disclose a plurality of remote UEs connected to a relay UE; Fig. 3a and ¶ 135 disclose the relay UE sending data to a base station (BS) including a remote UE index and an LCID of the radio bearer corresponding to the data sent to the BS; Figs. 4a-d and ¶¶ 149, 158, 168, and 176 disclose the data as including information on two remote UEs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Tang in order to have the relay terminal report on and receive an identifier for the second remote terminal from the base station. One would have been motivated to do this, because such a report may help a base station identify specific UE from which data is received from a relay UE (Xu ¶ 4).
Regarding Claim 12, Tang discloses the method of claim 1.
Tang may not explicitly disclose wherein the first user identity is obtained by the first remote terminal through a signaling from a network.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses wherein the first user identity is obtained by the first remote terminal through a signaling from a network (Fig. 3a and ¶¶ 137-138 disclose a base station configuring the radio bearers and their identifiers for each data flow of each remote UE being served by the relay UE, and the relay UE using the radio bearer IDs when communicating data to the base station for either of the remote UEs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Tang in order to have the relay terminal use identifiers configured by a base station. One would have been motivated to do this, because such a report may help a base station identify specific UE from which data is received from a relay UE (Xu ¶ 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Tang discloses the method of claim 1.
Tang may not explicitly disclose wherein an adaptation layer header is not carried in at least one of the first message or a second message when transmitted.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses wherein an adaptation layer header is not carried in at least one of the first message or a second message when transmitted (¶¶ 143, 146, 152, 161, and 170 disclose a MAC PDU including a MAC subheader as including the remote UE index, which is understood to not be an adaptation layer header).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Tang in order to use a MAC header and MAC subheader as opposed to an ADP-layer header to convey the remote UE index. One would have been motivated to do this, because the MAC subheader can support including information for a plurality of remote UEs (Xu ¶¶ 144-145), and thereby avoid a problem in the prior art related to the limits of using a logical channel identifier (LCID) (Xu ¶ 139).
Regarding Claims 17-19, though of varying scope, the limitations of claims 17-19 are substantially similar or identical to those of claims 4-5 and 7, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Conclusion
/Thomas R Cairns/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468