DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages2-5, filed November 13, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kumar et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0132806 in view of Fang et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0239699.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (Kumar), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0132806 in view of Fang et al. (Fang), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0239699.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Kumar discloses a method and system for transmit power adjustment in a wireless communication network which comprises a plurality of radio access entities, the method comprising the steps of: obtaining, for one radio access entity of the plurality of radio access entities: information on received signal strengths of a first wireless test signal which is transmitted from at least some radio access entities of the plurality of radio access entities and received by the one radio access entity (the spatial RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 may correspond to a set of temporal RSSI metrics of radio node 110-1 received from neighboring radio nodes 110, where the set of temporal RSSI metrics may correspond to RSSI measurements of radio node 110-1 as a function of time at neighboring radio nodes 110. For example, neighboring radio nodes 110 may perform measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 (i.e., neighboring radio nodes 110 may measure the signal strength of the signal from radio node 110-1 at neighboring radio nodes 110), and a given neighboring radio node may compute a temporal RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 (such as the median, a weighted mean or a filtered value) using the measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 as a function of time that were performed by the given neighboring radio node.) (0045); analyzing the obtained information; and adjusting a signal transmit power of the one radio access entity on the basis of said analysis (Thus, the communication technique may allow radio nodes 110 to dynamically adjust their transmit powers in a coordinated, yet independent manner (i.e., on a small cell-by-small cell basis) using local information in small-cell network 108. Notably, the communication technique may provide situational awareness to radio nodes 110 to allow radio nodes 110 to adjust their transmit powers to reduce interference (as indicated by the spatial RSSI metrics from neighboring radio nodes 110), while maintaining coverage (as indicated by the RSSI measurements provided by electronic devices 112).) (0052).
Kumar, however, fails to disclose wherein the analysis is based solely on the obtained information on received signal strengths and does not require client data or position information.
In a similar field of endeavor Fang discloses spatial-reuse classification in a mesh network. Fang, further describes a method wherein adjusting the transmission power of access points is based solely on received signal strength between the access points (More specifically, the spatial reuse feature in Wi-Fi 6 only considers the AP-to-AP (access point to access point) RSSI (received signal strength indication) to adjust the power of the transmitter (i.e., Tx power), and it does not consider the SR SINR (signal-to-interference plus noise ratio) on an existing link between an access point and a station in the mesh network.) (0006).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kumar with the teachings of Fang. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Kumar as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first wireless test signal is transmitted from the at least some radio access entities with first signal transmit powers; and wherein the first signal transmit powers is taken into account during the analysis of the obtained information (the spatial RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 may correspond to a set of temporal RSSI metrics of radio node 110-1 received from neighboring radio nodes 110, where the set of temporal RSSI metrics may correspond to RSSI measurements of radio node 110-1 as a function of time at neighboring radio nodes 110. For example, neighboring radio nodes 110 may perform measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 (i.e., neighboring radio nodes 110 may measure the signal strength of the signal from radio node 110-1 at neighboring radio nodes 110), and a given neighboring radio node may compute a temporal RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 (such as the median, a weighted mean or a filtered value) using the measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 as a function of time that were performed by the given neighboring radio node.) (0045)
Regarding claim 3, Kumar as modified discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the first signal transmit powers are known from a configuration of the radio access entities which transmit a respective wireless test signal; and/or wherein a radio access entities which transmits a respective wireless test signal is configured to communicate its signal transmit power together with the wireless test signals (In some embodiments, the RSSIs measured by each of radio nodes 110 may include reference signal receive powers (RSRPs), where the RSRP is a measurement of the received power level in, e.g., an LTE network (such as small-cell network 108). For example, each small cell in an LTE radio network may transmit a cell-specific reference signal. The RSRP may be a type of RSSI measurement. Notably, it may be the power of the LTE reference signals spread over the full bandwidth and narrowband.) (0050).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Kumar as modified discloses the method of claims 1 and 12, wherein the step of analyzing the obtained information comprises calculating a metric on the basis of the obtained information (For example, neighboring radio nodes 110 may perform measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 (i.e., neighboring radio nodes 110 may measure the signal strength of the signal from radio node 110-1 at neighboring radio nodes 110), and a given neighboring radio node may compute a temporal RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 (such as the median, a weighted mean or a filtered value) using the measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 as a function of time that were performed by the given neighboring radio node.) (0045).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Kumar as modified discloses the method of claims 4 and 13, wherein the metric is calculated as a sum or a weighted sum of: received signal strength values of the first wireless test signal which is transmitted from the at least some radio access entities and received by the one radio access entity (Moreover, radio node 110-1 may use the set of temporal RSSI metrics of radio node 110-1 to compute the spatial RSSI metric (such as a weighted mean). This spatial RSSI metric may represent the environment of radio node 110-1, i.e., it may incorporate the spatial context.) (0046).
Regarding claim 6, Kumar as modified discloses the method of claim 5, wherein, when calculating the metric, a received signal strength value of the first wireless test signal is limited to a maximum value (threshold value) (The adjustment may include reducing the transmit power when a spatial received signal strength indication (RSSI) metric of the radio node is greater than a first threshold value and a coverage criterion is met. Note that the spatial RSSI metric of the radio node may correspond to a set of temporal RSSI metrics of the radio node received from the neighboring radio nodes, where the set of temporal RSSI metrics may correspond to RSSI measurements of the radio node at the neighboring radio nodes. Moreover, the coverage criterion may be that less than a portion of RSSI measurements of the radio node associated with electronic devices, which are communicatively attached with the radio node, is less than a second threshold value. Alternatively, the adjustment may include increasing the transmit power when the spatial RSSI metric is less than the first threshold value.) (0007).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Kumar as modified discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the step of analyzing the obtained information further comprises mapping the calculated metric to a target signal transmit power based on a mapping function; and wherein the signal transmit power of the one radio access entity is set to the target signal transmit power (Then, the radio node may adjust the transmit power within a range of values. The adjustment may include reducing the transmit power when a spatial received signal strength indication (RSSI) metric of the radio node is greater than a first threshold value and a coverage criterion is met. Note that the spatial RSSI metric of the radio node may correspond to a set of temporal RSSI metrics of the radio node received from the neighboring radio nodes, where the set of temporal RSSI metrics may correspond to RSSI measurements of the radio node at the neighboring radio nodes. Moreover, the coverage criterion may be that less than a portion of RSSI measurements of the radio node associated with electronic devices, which are communicatively attached with the radio node, is less than a second threshold value. Alternatively, the adjustment may include increasing the transmit power when the spatial RSSI metric is less than the first threshold value.) (0007).
Regarding claim 8, Kumar as modified discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the mapping function is a monotone function or a step function (Note that the spatial RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 may correspond to a set of temporal RSSI metrics of radio node 110-1 received from neighboring radio nodes 110, where the set of temporal RSSI metrics may correspond to RSSI measurements of radio node 110-1 as a function of time at neighboring radio nodes 110. For example, neighboring radio nodes 110 may perform measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 (i.e., neighboring radio nodes 110 may measure the signal strength of the signal from radio node 110-1 at neighboring radio nodes 110), and a given neighboring radio node may compute a temporal RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 (such as the median, a weighted mean or a filtered value) using the measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 as a function of time that were performed by the given neighboring radio node.) (0045).
Regarding claim 9, Kumar as modified discloses the method of claim 7, comprising the further step of: inherently adjusting a boundary, a shape and/or an offset of the mapping function (Note that the spatial RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 may correspond to a set of temporal RSSI metrics of radio node 110-1 received from neighboring radio nodes 110, where the set of temporal RSSI metrics may correspond to RSSI measurements of radio node 110-1 as a function of time at neighboring radio nodes 110. For example, neighboring radio nodes 110 may perform measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 (i.e., neighboring radio nodes 110 may measure the signal strength of the signal from radio node 110-1 at neighboring radio nodes 110), and a given neighboring radio node may compute a temporal RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 (such as the median, a weighted mean or a filtered value) using the measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 as a function of time that were performed by the given neighboring radio node.) (0045).
Regarding claim 10, Kumar as modified discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the adjustment of the mapping function is inherently dependent on the frequency and/or bandwidth of the first test signal (Note that the spatial RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 may correspond to a set of temporal RSSI metrics of radio node 110-1 received from neighboring radio nodes 110, where the set of temporal RSSI metrics may correspond to RSSI measurements of radio node 110-1 as a function of time at neighboring radio nodes 110. For example, neighboring radio nodes 110 may perform measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 (i.e., neighboring radio nodes 110 may measure the signal strength of the signal from radio node 110-1 at neighboring radio nodes 110), and a given neighboring radio node may compute a temporal RSSI metric of radio node 110-1 (such as the median, a weighted mean or a filtered value) using the measurements of the RSSI of radio node 110-1 as a function of time that were performed by the given neighboring radio node.) (0045).
Regarding claim 11, Kumar as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the number of the at least some radio access entities which transmit the first wireless test signal is limited to a first number (A radio node may transmit a signal using a transmit power. Then, the radio node may adjust the transmit power within a range of values. The adjustment may include reducing the transmit power when a spatial received signal strength indication (RSSI) metric of the radio node is greater than a first threshold value and a coverage criterion is met. Note that the spatial RSSI metric of the radio node may correspond to a set of temporal RSSI metrics of the radio node received from neighboring radio nodes, where the set of temporal RSSI metrics may correspond to RSSI measurements of the radio node at the neighboring radio nodes. Moreover, the coverage criterion may be that less than a portion of RSSI measurements of the radio node associated with electronic devices, which are communicatively attached with the radio node, is less than a second threshold value. Alternatively, the adjustment may include increasing the transmit power when the spatial RSSI metric is less than the first threshold value.) (0026).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646