DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Ruiz.
Regarding claim 17, Ruiz, see figures 1-2C, discloses a method of illuminating a trailer tow connector 200 comprising: providing a trailer tow connector housing 202 with a body 202 and a cover 204; opening the cover 204 with respect to the body 202; and illuminating electrical terminals 212A-212D within the body 202.
Regarding claim 18, Ruiz discloses the illuminating step is performed when opening a cover 204 pivotally attached to the body 202.
Regarding claim 19, Ruiz discloses further comprising changing a state of illumination based upon a test result when connecting a trailer connector (see column 0002) to the electrical terminals 212A-212D. Intended use of device but no structure recited.
Regarding claim 20, Ruiz discloses further comprising changing colors of an LED (see column 0012).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
None of the references discloses a trailer tow connector for a vehicle used in towing a trailer, comprising: a housing including a body having a cavity with electrical terminals configured to be in communication with a vehicle's electrical system, a cover supported on the body and movable between a closed position in which the cavity is enclosed by the cover and an open position in which the cavity is accessible; and a light arranged in the housing and configured to illuminate the electrical terminals with the cover in the open position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) with the amendment have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831