DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharifi (20160027439) in view of Lyren (20140195345) .
As per claim 21, Sharifi (20160027439) teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving input data corresponding to a natural language command; processing the input data to determine first data representing a natural language response to the natural language command (as receiving a first utterance –para 0020; and generating a transcript of the first audio data – para 0021;);
determining context data corresponding to the natural language command; processing the context data to determine second data representing supplemental information unsolicited by the natural language command (as, associating the confirmation message with the initial utterance – para 00057-0058, then sending the compounded information to the second device – para 0062-0063, wherein the compounded information initiates the search of the information; in the example of “where do I buy a computer”, supplemental information tied to the word “where” is derived/gleaned, in the form of determining the location of the user – para 0019));
determining output data using the first data and the second data, wherein the output data includes the supplemental information
As seen above, the supplemental information provided, in Sharifi (20160027439), uses the ‘where’ to locate a nearby store that sells computers, wherein the location is derived from the user’s profile. Sharifi (20160027439) does not expand upon, providing other suggestions, not related to the inquiry, that may be of interest to the user. Lyren (20140195345) teaches displaying, not only items related to the command (see para 0111, 0116), but also, other items not tied to the current user search (such as, analyzing historical or previous purchases and suggesting to the user, purchasing the same item during the current time frame – see para 0121, “historical or previous purchases), that may be of interest to the user, based on the users preferences – para 00220. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of content providing to modify the display action of Sharifi (20160027439) with providing other suggestions to the user, based on previous preferences, as taught by Lyren (20140195345), because it would advantageously provide suggestions to the user (and previously preferred by the user) to remind the user about purchasing/participating in something that the user has forgotten in the moment (see Lyren (20140195345), para 0121 – e.g., a daughter’s birthday).
As per claim 22, the combination of Sharifi (20160027439) in view of Lyren (20140195345) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising:
determining a first user profile corresponding to the input data; determining user profile data corresponding to the first user profile; and further processing the user profile data to determine the second data representing the supplemental information (as, Sharifi (20160027439), in the attempt to determine “where” in the query, as noted above, extracting locale information based on the user profile – para 0019).
As per claim 23, the combination of Sharifi (20160027439) in view of Lyren (20140195345) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising: further processing historical information related to at least one prior user command to determine the second data representing the supplemental information (as, Sharifi (20160027439), the vocabulary database stores and updates subword-hotword associations – para 0031, 0033; and using pre-computed associations – para 0038, para 0053).
As per claim 24, the combination of Sharifi (20160027439) in view of Lyren (20140195345) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein: the input data is received from a first device; and determining the context data comprises receiving the context data from the first device (as, Sharifi (20160027439), receiving input towards “computer” and “start my car” – para 0020, then determining/distinguishing the context, versus, “start my computer – para 0033).
As per claim 25, the combination of Sharifi (20160027439) in view of Lyren (20140195345) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising: determining a first condition is satisfied, wherein determination of the second data representing the supplemental information is based at least in part on the first condition being satisfied (as, Sharifi (20160027439), satisfying the first condition of “buy my computer”, determining the supplemental condition of ‘where’ – para 0019).
As per claim 26, the combination of Sharifi (20160027439) in view of Lyren (20140195345) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising: determining third data representing a rule, wherein determination of the second data representing the supplemental information is based at least in part on the third data (as, Sharifi (20160027439), applying the rule of, generating a query back to the user, which is in the form of, including the recognized utterance of the user -- and, as noted in para 0061, the third data, in the form of a query to the user, is based on the interpreted hotword phrase ‘go gadget go’ – para 0060, and 0061).
As per claim 27, the combination of Sharifi (20160027439) in view of Lyren (20140195345) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein processing the context data to determine the second data representing the supplemental information is performed by a first component configured to select supplemental information for a user input (as, Sharifi (20160027439), generating a first and second hotword model – para 0047, and choosing the appropriate one based on a priority – para 0047).
As per claim 28, the combination of Sharifi (20160027439) in view of Lyren (20140195345) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising: determining the natural language command corresponds to a registered account for a particular application, wherein determination of the second data representing the supplemental information is based at least in part on the registered account (as, Sharifi (20160027439), using the hotwords to access applications on the device for the user – para 0074; examiner notes that Sharifi (20160027439) discloses “secure applications”, which, to one of ordinary skill in the art of speech activated applications, that ‘a secure application’, by definition, requires a registration of the user, or verified users).
As per claim 29, the combination of Sharifi (20160027439) in view of Lyren (20140195345) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising: determining third data representing text of the natural language command (as, Sharifi (20160027439), determining a rephrasing of the recognition into a query, back to the user – para 0061), wherein determination of the second data representing the supplemental information is based at least in part on the third data (and, as noted in para 0061, the third data, in the form of a query to the user, is based on the interpreted hotword phrase ‘go gadget go’ – para 0060, and 0061).
As per claim 30, the combination of Sharifi (20160027439) in view of Lyren (20140195345) teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the input data comprises audio data representing audio of the natural language command, and wherein the method further comprises:
processing the audio data to determine third data representing one or more factors extracted from the audio data, wherein determination of the second data representing the supplemental information is based at least in part on the third data (as, Sharifi (20160027439), receiving additional information via the third gui, and using that information to confirm the compounded data sent to a device – para 0062).
Claims 31-40 are system claims that perform the steps found in method claims 21-30 above and as such, claims 31-40 are similar in scope and content to claims 21-30 above; therefore, claims 31-40 are rejected under similar rationale as presented against claims 21-30 above. Furthermore, Sharifi (20160027439) teaches a processor accessing stored instructions to perform the disclosed steps (para 0071 – 0077).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants arguments, the crux of which, are found on pages 9-11 of the response, are toward the amended claim language that specifies the provided supplemental information is not tied to the natural language command. Examiner notes the introduction of the Lyren (20140195345) reference, to teach the concept of making further suggestions, not related to the current user query, tied to the profile of the user. Examiner further notes, in the Powe (20140032223) reference, in the application of pharmaceutical recommendations, based on a user profile different from a voice profile, and different from the current request of the user (see para 0052, reflecting back on para 0013, 0015).
In other words, prior art references such as Lyren (20140195345) and Powe (20140032223) teach the concept of anticipating what the user may be interested in, based on the user profile, even though the user does not necessarily specify in that current query.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see related art listed on the PTO-892 form.
Powe (20140032223) reference, in the application of pharmaceutical recommendations, based on a user profile different from a voice profile, and different from the current request of the user (see para 0052, reflecting back on para 0013, 0015).
Jagatheesan (20150025890) teaches information handoff between multiple devices to perform the function (para 0006, 0007, including transcription of the translation -- para 0085-0089).
Garmark (20150199122) teaches arbitrating multiple devices including inter-device communication -- fig. 1b, 2, 5, 6 -- last half of diagram).
Sharma (20150213355) teaches command control of external devices using the context of the query (figs. 3a-3b,4; para 0016).
Sundaresan et al (20160112240) teaches context derivation with command interpretation (fig. 4)
Nemala et al (20160063997) teaches multi-device control for audio ASR noise reduction (Fig. 4)
Mozer (20090204410), para 0006,00009, 0086-0087 teaches similar messaging protocols between devices.
Orr (20150348554), teaches a virtual assistance continually interacting with a user via voice interface -- para 0025; utilizing a second device from the primary device to perform the functions -- para 0032-0034, 0073-0074); performing the commands with the secondary device to the other electronic devices (Orr, para 0073, Fig. 5).
Khan et al (20160155443) teaches the concept of the second device can be awoken with a simple prompt when receiving the prompt at that device, while the first device acknowledges the wake phrase has been recognized (ie, the second device accepts the supplemental information gathered at the second device – the recognized audio prompt along with the handoff information from the first device, while the first device provides the user with acknowledgement – para 0129).
Sharifi (20170032257) teaches a first and second entity identification (para 0005), along with first/second/multiple categories based on the particular user – para 0008).
/Michael N Opsasnick/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658
05/06/2026