DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s remarks received on 02/17/2026 with respect to the amended independent claims have been acknowledged but not found persuasive. Currently claims 1-11 and 15-25 are rejected and claims 12-14 are cancelled.
With respect to 101 rejection, Applicant argues that “for each of the one or more test samples, using the classification model to generate one or more confidence scores for said test sample, wherein each confidence score is indicative of a confidence that said test sample belongs to a corresponding class of the predetermined set of classes” could not be practically performed in human mind. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Given the broadest and reasonable interpretation on a classification model that is lack of specifics, a human brain can construct any suitable process/model to access test sample/image with scores aligned with predetermined criteria which determines how the test sample/image is differentiated and classified to a predetermined class. No specifics involved in model generation, practical application, or any unexpected result. No technological improvement is recited. Even if phrases like convolutional neural network or machine learning were to be added, they would only be extra solution activity like general computer implementation without significantly more.
With respect to 103 rejection, Applicant argues Gao does not teach “providing a result, wherein the result comprises an indication that the input sample will trigger the misclassification functionality if there is at least one confidence score for at least one test sample that exceeds a predetermined threshold.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gao’s DNN output is probability distribution over classes, where each y_i is the probability that input belongs to class i. Perturbed test input is generated and fed to deployed model with softmax output and detection boundary applied. So Gao uses classifier output probabilities as confidence scores and determine a trojaned input by a predetermined boundary. Chou already uses confidence scores from generated test images and Gao simply supplies motivation to use a threshold based rule for runtime trojan detection. Therefore, an ordinary skilled in the art would have applied Gao’s threshold runtime detection method to Chou’s test images and confidence values so as to flag the input if generated test image produces a confidence score beyond threshold.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding claims 1-11 and 15-25 under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claims are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skilled in the art. See MPEP 2111.
The claimed invention generates test samples from input and preserve a subset of components, evaluate the test samples through the model, and decides that the input triggers misclassification when the test samples’ confidence exceeds a threshold.
The claims are directed mental process and do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea).
The claims do not have any limitations that are indicative of integration of the judicial exception into a practical application such as improvements to functioning of a computer or a technical field, using any particular machine, effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply the judicial exception in any meaningful way beyond generally linking the use to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
A patent may be obtained for “any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof," 35 U.S.C. § 101, but “laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are not patentable.”
Step 1
Claims 1-11 and 15-25 are directed to one of the four statutory categories of eligible subject matter (process): thus, the claim pass Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test.
Step 2A, prong 1 analysis
Claims 1-11 and 15-25 direct to a judicial exception in terms of mental processes which can be performed by human being with aids of simple tools like pen, ruler and paper or a computer.
In claims 1-11 and 15-25, given the broadest and reasonable interpretation on a classification model that is lack of specifics, a human brain can construct any suitable process/model to access test sample/image with scores aligned with predetermined criteria which determines how the test sample/image is differentiated and classified to a predetermined class. For instance, a person receiving an input image of a dog makes a several copies of the input image and masks a portion of each copy that has dog fur with patterns of cat fur so that the masked pattern and location on each copy differs from the rest. Then the person looks at each masked copy to decide whether a dog can be recognized from the masked copy and assign a score from 1-5 as 5 being a highly recognizable dog and 1 being animal other than a dog. The person decides that the input will potentially trigger misclassification if at least one masked copy is assigned a score of 1 or will not trigger misclassification if all the masked copies are assigned a score above 1. Repeat the process for 10 dog images to decide how many inputted dog images trigger misclassification by the person and decide whether the person should continue inspect or not based on the number of misclassified input images.
Step 2A, prong 2 analysis
Other than retrieving information, defining information, or classify information, the claims do not have any limitations that are indicative of integration of the judicial exception into a practical application such as improvements to functioning of a computer or a technical field, using any particular machine, effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply the judicial exception in any meaningful way beyond generally linking the use to a particular technological environment. No specifics involved in model generation, practical application, or any unexpected result. No technological improvement is recited.
Step 2B
Further, the claims do not include other additional elements that are beyond what is well-understood, routine, conventional activities in the field and sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Conclusion:
The claims do not include additional elements amount to significantly more in terms of improving functionalities of a computer/device itself, improving another technology or technical field, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, adding unconventional steps that confine claim to a particular useful application or by use of a particular machine that is unconventional. In conclusion, the claims 1-11 and 15-25 do not comply with the current standards for patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
51066.. Claims 1-10 and 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (Detecting Localized Universal Attacks Against Deep Learning Systems, 05/09/2020) and in further view of Gao et al (A Defence Against Trojan Attacks on Deep Neural Networks, 01/17/2020) (Applicant submitted reference).
Regarding claim 1 (previously presented), Chou et al teaches: A method of identifying whether an input sample, for input to a classification model for classification by the classification model according to a predetermined set of classes for the classification model, will trigger a misclassification functionality of the classification model, the misclassification functionality due to the classification model having been trained, at least in part, on mislabeled samples [page 1: I (p02, p03)], the method comprising:
obtaining the input sample, the input sample comprising a first number of input sample components [page 3: III];
generating, based on the input sample, one or more test samples, wherein, for each test sample of the one or more test samples, said test sample comprises a corresponding plurality of test sample components, wherein a second number of test sample components of the plurality of test sample components are set to match a corresponding input sample component, the second number being less than the first number [page 3: p04, page 4: B (Test generation) (The subset of localized region is smaller than the original.)].
for each of the one or more test samples, using the classification model to generate one or more confidence scores for said test sample, wherein each confidence score is indicative of a confidence that said test sample belongs to a corresponding class of the predetermined set of classes; and providing a result, wherein the result comprises an indication that the input sample will trigger the misclassification functionality if there is at least one confidence score for at least one test sample that exceeds a predetermined threshold [page 5: p01, p02, Alg 4/Decision Boundary].
Chou et al applies quantitative decision boundary for adversarial determination. In the same field of endeavor, Gao et al teaches: providing a result, wherein the result comprises an indication that the input sample will trigger the misclassification functionality if there is at least one confidence score for at least one test sample that exceeds a predetermined threshold [page 4: A Detection System Overview].
Gao’s DNN output is probability distribution over classes, where each y_i is the probability that input belongs to class i. Perturbed test input is generated and fed to deployed model with softmax output and detection boundary applied. So Gao uses classifier output probabilities as confidence scores and determine a trojaned input by a predetermined boundary. Chou already uses confidence scores from generated test images and Gao simply supplies motivation to use a threshold based rule for runtime trojan detection. Therefore, an ordinary skilled in the art would have applied Gao’s threshold runtime detection method to Chou’s test images and confidence values so as to flag the input if generated test image produces a confidence score beyond threshold for identifying triggering of adversarial model/condition.
Regarding claim 2 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Chou et al further teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein for at least one test sample of the one or more test samples, generating said test sample comprises modifying and/or deleting the input sample components of the input sample other than the input sample components corresponding to the second number of test sample components of said test sample [page 4: 1) Test Generation (keep partial unchanged and modify the rest)].
Regarding claim 3 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 2 has been incorporated herein. Chou et al further teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein modifying an input sample component comprises one of:(a) setting that input sample component independently of the input sample; (b) setting that input sample component to a predetermined value; (c) setting that input sample component to a random value [page 4: 1) Test Generation (Gaussian noise is random, inert pattern is independent of input sample.)].
Regarding claim 4 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Chou et al further teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein for at least one test sample of the one or more test samples, generating said test sample comprises setting the second number test sample components of said test sample to match the corresponding input sample components [page 4: 1) Test Generation (Keep some region from input unchanged.)].
Regarding claim 5 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 4 has been incorporated herein. Claim 5 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 3.
Regarding claim 6 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Chou et al further teaches: The method of claim1, wherein, for each test sample of the one or more test samples, each of said second number of test sample components of said test sample matches the corresponding input sample component if:(a) said test sample component matches said corresponding input sample component in value and/or if said test sample component equals said corresponding input sample component in value; and/or (b) said test sample component matches said corresponding input sample component in location and/or if said test sample component equals said corresponding input sample component in location [page 4: 1) Test Generation (Salient region from input is overlaid onto benign image.)].
Regarding claim 7 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Chou et al further teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein, for each test sample of the one or more test samples, using the classification model to generate one or more confidence scores for said test sample comprises:(a) generating, for each class of the predetermined set of classes, a confidence score indicative of a confidence that said test sample belongs to that class; or (b) generating a single confidence score, said single confidence score being indicative of a confidence that said test sample belongs to a most likely class for said test sample [Chou: page 5: p01, p02, Alg 3 and Alg 4 (Returned prediction score is used to count fooled cases. Confidence is a metric for output of classifier, determining how confident the model is when test sample such as images overlaid with inert patterns is classified.)].
Regarding claim 8 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Chou et al further teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the result comprises: (a) an indication that the input sample will not trigger the misclassification functionality if there is not at least one confidence score for at least one test sample that exceeds a predetermined threshold; and/or (b) a classification for the input sample generated using the classification model [page 5: p01, p02].
Regarding claim 9 (previously presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Chou et al further teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein: (a) the input sample is a first image, each of the input sample components comprises one or more pixels of the first image, and for each test sample of the one or more test samples, said test sample is a corresponding second image and each of the test sample components of said test sample comprises one or more pixels of that second image; or (b) the input sample is a first amount of text, each of the input sample components comprises one or more words and/or characters of the first amount of text, and for each of the one or more test samples, said test sample is a corresponding second amount of text and each of the test sample components of said test sample comprises one or more words and/or characters of that second amount of text; or (c) the input sample is an amount of audio representable as a first image, each of the input sample components comprises one or more pixels of the first image, and for each test sample of the one or more test samples, said test sample is a corresponding second image and each of the test sample components of said test sample comprises one or more pixels of that second image; or (d) the input sample is a first array, each of the input sample components comprises one or more elements of the first array, and for each test sample of the one or more test samples, said test sample is a corresponding second array and each of the test sample components of said test sample comprises one or more elements of that second array [page 1: Introduction].
Regarding claim 10 (previously presented), The method according to claim 1, comprising determining, based on the least one test sample, a characteristic of the input sample that triggers the misclassification functionality [page 3: III, fig. 2].
Claims 15-24 (previously presented) have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 1-10 respectively.
61066.. Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (Detecting Localized Universal Attacks Against Deep Learning Systems, 05/09/2020) and Gao et al (A Defence Against Trojan Attacks on Deep Neural Networks, 01/17/2020) (Applicant submitted reference); and in further view of Wang et al (Neural Cleanse: Identifying and Mitigating Backdoor Attacks in Neural Networks, 2019).
Claim 11 (previously presented) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1. Chou et al in view of Gao et al does not specify a predetermined number of input samples that trigger misclassification functionality of a model. In the same field of endeavor, Wang et al teaches: in response to the provision, for at least a predetermined number of input samples of the plurality of input samples, of an indication that that input sample will trigger the misclassification functionality, identifying that the classification model comprises the misclassification functionality [page 711: Detect Backdoor via Outlier Detection; page 713: p02 (attack success rate)]. Therefore, given Wang et al’s prescription on determining percent of adversarial images classified into a target label, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all classify model adversary based on amount of input sample triggering for setting determination criteria.
Claim 25 (previously presented) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 11.
Conclusion
7. There is no new ground of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682