DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6-7, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: at line 14, “the total aperture area” should be amended to read “a total aperture area”
Claim 6:
“an average cross-sectional substrate area” should be amended to read “the average cross-sectional substrate area”
“Ax” should be amended to read “Ax”
Claim 7: “the total sheet area” should be amended to read “a total sheet area”
Claim 9: “the transparency” should be amended to read “a transparency”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonard (US 4984365) in view of Floter (US 20120276826), and further in view of Hahn (US 5669144).
Regarding claim 1, Leonard discloses a skin treatment sheet (foil 20; see fig. 1) comprising a substrate with a plurality of apertures (26 total circular apertures 22 are shown; see fig. 2), wherein: the sheet has a first surface (top surface of foil 20, see annotated portion of fig. 3) and an opposing second surface (opposite bottom surface of foil 20, see annotated portion of fig. 3), the apertures have a first inner perimeter at the first surface (see annotated portion of fig. 3) and a second inner perimeter at the opposing second surface (see annotated portion of fig. 3), at least two apertures have a cutting edge along at least a portion of the first inner perimeter (the plurality of edges 24 are sharpened shaving edges, see col. 2, lines 25-26), each aperture has a closest adjacent aperture which is connected by a shortest distance line b1i on the first surface (apertures 22 are about 2mm in diameter with a center distance of about 3 mm, therefore the space between apertures is approximately 1 mm, see col. 2, lines 41-45) with a vertical cross-sectional substrate area axi along the distance line b1i (assuming a cutting angle of 30°, the area of the triangular portion of the cross-section can be calculated to equal 0.01 mm2; the rectangular portion has an area of 0.06 mm2; therefore, the area axi = 0.06 + 2(0.01), which results in a total area of 0.08 mm2), the skin treatment sheet has an average cross-sectional substrate area Ax defined as the average of all cross-sectional substrate areas axi (apertures 22 are uniformly spaced apart such that they all have approximately the same cross-sectional area, which is 0.08 m2), the skin treatment sheet has a stability ST (= 0.00098), defined by the ratio of the average cross-sectional substrate area Ax (0.08 mm2) and the total aperture area A1 (= 26 x (3.14 x 12) which is 81.64 mm2), the skin treatment sheet has a total cutting length L1 (= 26 x (3.14 x 2) which is 163.28 mm), wherein the product of stability and total cutting length ST×L1 ranges from 0.01 to 10 mm (= 0.16 mm).
Leonard does not explicitly disclose wherein the skin treatment sheet is rigid and does not deform in use to provide consistent blade geometry; wherein the sheet comprises a first material and a second material adjacent to the first material, the second material exhibiting a hardness of at least 20 GPa; wherein the first material is selected from the group consisting of: ceramics comprising at least one element selected from the group consisting of carbon, nitrogen, boron, oxygen or combinations thereof, glass ceramics, composite materials made from ceramic materials in a metallic matrix (cermets), silicon or germanium, single crystalline materials, glass or sapphire, polycrystalline or amorphous silicon or germanium, mono- or polycrystalline diamond, diamond like carbon (DLC), adamantine carbon and combinations thereof.
Floter discloses wherein the skin treatment sheet is rigid and does not deform in use to provide consistent blade geometry (including a diamond layer on top of a reinforcing substrate results in a rigid structure that does not deform during normal use; see paragraphs [0033-0034]); wherein the sheet comprises a first material or a first material and a second material adjacent to the first material (a diamond layer (second material) may be disposed on a substrate material (first material); see paragraph [0032]); wherein the first material is selected from the group consisting of: ceramics comprising at least one element selected from the group consisting of carbon, nitrogen, boron, oxygen or combinations thereof, glass ceramics, composite materials made from ceramic materials in a metallic matrix (cermets), silicon or germanium, single crystalline materials, glass or sapphire, polycrystalline or amorphous silicon or germanium, mono- or polycrystalline diamond, diamond like carbon (DLC), adamantine carbon and combinations thereof (the substrate may be made of carbon- and/or nitrogen- or boron-containing ceramics, specifically silicon carbine, silicon nitride, boron nitride, TiAlN, TiCN and/or TiB2, glass ceramics, composites made of ceramic materials in a metallic matrix/cermets, silicon or germanium, glass or sapphire, mono- or polycrystalline diamond and/or diamond-like carbon layers; see paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Leonard in view of Floter to select the first material from one of those listed above. Floter discloses that the above-mentioned materials can improve the reinforcing capability of the blade, and that coating a substrate with a layer of diamond results in cost savings since the diamond layer is expensive and complex to produce (see paragraph [0033]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the same benefits by using the same materials in the device of Leonard. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (see In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416). Lastly, as modified to include the above materials, it is understood that the treatment sheet will be rigid such that it does not deform in use since it will be made from a strong, reinforcing material (see paragraph [0032]) and a layer of diamond.
Hahn discloses the second material exhibiting a hardness of at least 20 GPa (a diamond-like carbon material includes a hardness of at least thirteen gigapascals; see col. 2, lines 11-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Leonard in view of Hahn to make the second material have a hardness of at least 20 GPa. Hahn discloses a razor blade including a layer made from diamond or diamond-like carbon, displaying a hardness of at least thirteen gigapascals, which encompasses the recited range of “at least 20 GPa” (see col. 2, lines 11-13). Such a modification would have been obvious since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, it appears Applicant places no criticality on the claimed range, instead indicating that the second material “preferably” has a hardness of at least 20 GPa (see instant specification pg. 14, line 27]).
Regarding claim 2, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the product of stability and total cutting length ST×L1 is from 0.05 to 5 mm (= 0.16 mm).
Regarding claim 3, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the stability ST is in the range from 1×10-4 to 1×10-1 (0.16 is within the range of 0.0001 and 0.1).
Regarding claim 4, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the closest adjacent apertures have a shortest distance b1i which is in the range of 0.1 to 3.5 mm (apertures 22 are in rows where the centers are spaced about 3 mm from each other; see col. 2, lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 5, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the closest adjacent apertures are connected by a shortest distance line b2i on the second surface and the ratio b1i:b2i is in the range of 1.0 to 10.0 (= 1/0.6 which equals 1.67).
Regarding claim 6, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the skin treatment sheet has an average cross-sectional substrate area Ax in the range from 0.01 to 1 mm2 (0.08 mm2).
Regarding claim 8, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the total aperture area A1 is from 10 to 400 mm² (= 26 x (3.14 x 12) which is 81.64 mm2; 26 uniform apertures with individual areas of 3.14 mm2).
Regarding claim 9, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the transparency of the sheet is from 5 to 60 % (= 81.64/516, which equals approximately 16%).
Regarding claim 10, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the skin treatment sheet has an outer perimeter R with a rim width W1 (see annotated portion of fig. 2).
Leonard as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the rim width W1 is in a range from 0.1 to 5.0 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Leonard to have a rim width W1 in a range of 0.1 to 5.0 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” See In re Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Leonard as modified would not perform differently if modified such that the rim width W1 is in a range of 0.1 to 5.0 mm.
Regarding claim 11, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the first inner perimeter is smaller than the second inner perimeter (see annotated portion of fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 12, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the sheet has a thickness of 20 to 1000 µm (foil 20 is about 0.1 mm thick which is 100 µm; see col. 2, lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 13, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the substrate has from 5 to 200 apertures (foil 20 contains 26 total apertures, see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Floter further discloses wherein the cutting edge has a tip radius TR of 1 to 200 nm (the rounded radius r of the diamond layer at the cutting edge is between 3 and 100 nm; see paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Leonard in view of Floter to include wherein the cutting edge has a tip radius TR of 1 to 200 nm. Floter further discloses that it is advantageous to have the radius coordinated to the average grain size of the diamond layer (see paragraph [0030]), which is preferably between 5 and 100 nm (see paragraph [0026]). In the instant case, the average grain size is most preferably from 10 to 20 nm (see pg. 15, lines 14-16 instant specification). As modified, the device of Leonard includes a diamond layer – thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to also include the coordinated tip radius.
Regarding claim 17, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Floter further discloses a second material (diamond layer; see paragraphs [0032-0033]), wherein the second material is selected from the group consisting of: oxides, nitrides, carbides, borides, boron aluminum magnesium, carbon, diamond, poly-crystalline diamond, nano-crystalline diamond, diamond like carbon (DLC) like tetrahedral amorphous carbon, and combinations thereof (a diamond layer is disposed on a substrate material, see paragraphs [0032-0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Leonard in view of Floter to select the first material from one of those listed above. Floter discloses that the above-mentioned materials can improve the reinforcing capability of the blade, and that coating a substrate with a layer of diamond results in cost savings since the diamond layer is expensive and complex to produce (see paragraph [0033]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the same benefits by using the same materials in the device of Leonard. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (see In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Regarding claim 19, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses wherein the apertures have a shape which is selected from the group consisting of circular, ellipsoidal, square, triangular, rectangular, trapezoidal, hexagonal, octagonal and combinations thereof (apertures 22 are circular in shape, see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified further discloses a skin treatment device (razor 8; see fig. 1) comprising the skin treatment sheet of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonard (US 4984365) in view of Floter (US 20120276826), in view of Hahn (US 5669144), and further in view of Lazarchik (WO 9202342).
Regarding claim 7, Leonard as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Leonard as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the total sheet area S is from 100 to 800 mm².
Lazarchik discloses wherein the total sheet area S is from 100 to 800 mm² (metal foil strip 16 is 4.3 cm long and 1.2 cm wide and therefore has an area of 5.16 cm2 or 516 mm2; see pg. 5, lines 11-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Leonard in view of Lazarchik since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Lazarchik discloses length and width values which can be used to calculate the total sheet area (see pg. 5, lines 11-14). Further modifying Leonard to include a sheet area as taught by Lazarchik would not impede the function of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14, 17, and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 5799549 to Decker, drawn to an amorphous diamond coating of blades.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724