DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2023, 8/14/2024, 4/8/2025, and 9/17/2025 were filed prior to the mailing date of this action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 10-14, 20-21 and 26-27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 3, “to move in a direction transverse to” should read “to move in a first direction transverse to” to provide increased clarity
Claim 11, “causing the first hub to follow the profiling surface of the template without rolling as the rotating abrasive belt removes material from the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades” should read “causing the first hub to follow the [[profiling surface]] profile of the template without rolling as the rotating abrasive belt removes the material from the at least [[a]] the portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades” to provide increased clarity and avoid the antecedent basis issues.
Claim 12, “wherein the method further comprises causing the first hub to roll along the entire profiling surface of the template once the abrasive belt no longer removes material from the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades and the profile of the template has been copied onto the at least a portion of the one or more ice skate blades” should read “wherein the method further comprises causing the first hub to roll along the entire [[profiling surface]] profile of the template once the abrasive belt no longer removes the material from the at least [[a]] the portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades and the profile of the template has been copied onto the at least [[a]] the portion of the one or more ice skate blades” to provide increased clarity and avoid the antecedent basis issues.
Claim 13, last line, “the profiling operation” should read “the profiling [[operation]]” to remain consistent in terminology and provide increased clarity.
Claim 14, “remove material from the at least a portion” should read “remove the material from the at least [[a]] the portion” to provide increased clarity and avoid the antecedent basis issues.
Claim 20, “to the longitudinal direction of the apparatus as the first hub contacts and follows the profiling surface of the template” should read “to the longitudinal direction [[of the apparatus]] as the first hub contacts and follows the [[profiling surface]] profile of the template” to provide increased clarity and avoid the antecedent basis issues.
Claim 21, “along the second transverse direction to the longitudinal direction of the apparatus as the second hub moves in conjunction with the first hub” should read “along the second transverse direction to the longitudinal direction [[of the apparatus]] as the second hub moves in conjunction with the first hub” to provide increased clarity and avoid the antecedent basis issues.
Claim 26, “the profiling surface” should read “the profile [[profiling surface]]” to avoid the antecedent basis issue and provide increased clarity.
Claim 27, “the profiling surface” should read “the profile [[profiling surface]]” to avoid the antecedent basis issue and provide increased clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, line 11, the language recites “material from the ice-contacting surface”. However, the term “the ice-contacting surface” lacks proper antecedent basis because this term has not yet been introduced. For purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the limitation will be interpreted as “material from [[the]] an ice-contacting surface”
Claims 11-30 are rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 10, lines 12-13, the language recites “at least a portion of an ice-contacting surface”. However, in combination with the above 35 USC 112(b) rejection, the term “an ice-contacting surface” lacks proper antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the limitation will be interpreted as “at least a portion of [[an]] the ice-contacting surface”.
Claims 11-30 are rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 15, the language recites “wherein the preparation operation comprises reciprocating the blade holder along the longitudinal direction of the apparatus to obtain a visual indication of an amount of the material to be removed from the ice- contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling operation”. However, the terms “blade holder”, “the longitudinal direction of the apparatus”, “an amount” and “the profiling operation” lack proper antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “wherein the preparation operation comprises reciprocating [[the]] a blade holder along the longitudinal direction [[of the apparatus]] to obtain a visual indication of [[an]] the amount of the material to be removed from the ice- contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling [[operation]]”.
Claims 16-17 are rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 16, the language recites “wherein the first hub does not to roll along the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades to denote that material will be removed from said portion during the profiling operation as a visual indication of an amount of the material to be removed from the ice- contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling operation”. However, as best understood by the examiner, the first hub 424 works in combination with the template and not the blade. Therefore, it is not precisely clear what is required by the language of “wherein the first hub does not to roll along the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades to denote”. Additionally, the terms material, profiling operation, visual indications, amount and profiling operation lack proper antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “wherein the first hub does not [[to]] roll along the profile of the template [[at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades]] to denote that the material will be removed from said portion during the profiling [[operation]] as [[a]] the visual indication of [[an]] the amount of the material to be removed from the ice- contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling [[operation]]”.
Regarding claim 17, the language recites “wherein the first hub rolls along a remaining portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades to denote that material will not be removed from said remaining portion during the profiling operation as a visual indication of an amount of the material to be removed from the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling operation”. However, as best understood by the examiner, the first hub 424 works in combination with the template and not the blade. Therefore, it is not precisely clear what is required by the language of “wherein the first hub rolls along a remaining portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades to denote”. Additionally, the terms material, profiling operation, visual indication, amount and profiling operation lack proper antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “wherein the first hub rolls along the profile of the template [[a remaining portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades]] to denote that the material will not be removed from said [[remaining]] portion during the profiling [[operation]] as [[a]] the visual indication of [[an]] the amount of the material to be removed from the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling [[operation]]”.
Regarding claim 18, the language recites “wherein the method further comprises restricting motion of the blade holder along the longitudinal direction of the apparatus as the blade holder is reciprocated”. However, as best understood by the examiner, the motion is not restricted along the longitudinal direction but rather restricted to the longitudinal motion. Overall, it is not precisely clear how the motion is restricted along the longitudinal direction. Additionally, the term “the blade holder” and “longitudinal direction of the apparatus” lacks proper antecedent basis because the terms have not yet been introduced. For purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “wherein the method further comprises restricting motion of [[the]] a blade holder [[along]] to the longitudinal direction [[of the apparatus]] as the blade holder is reciprocated”.
Claim 19 is rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 23, the language recites “adjusting a position of the template in the template holder in at least one of the longitudinal direction of the apparatus and the second transverse direction of the apparatus with a positioning mechanism”. However, the term “the template holder” and “longitudinal direction of the apparatus” lacks proper antecedent basis because the terms have not yet been introduced. For purpose of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “adjusting a position of the template in [[the]] a template holder in at least one of the longitudinal direction [[of the apparatus]] and the second transverse direction of the apparatus with a positioning mechanism”.
Regarding claim 24, the language recites “adjusting a position of the template in the template holder in both the longitudinal direction of the apparatus and the second transverse direction of the apparatus with a positioning mechanism”. However, the term “the template holder” and “longitudinal direction of the apparatus” lacks proper antecedent basis because the terms have not yet been introduced. For purpose of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “adjusting a position of the template in [[the]] a template holder in both the longitudinal direction [[of the apparatus]] and the second transverse direction of the apparatus with a positioning mechanism”
Regarding claim 25, the language recites “locking the position of the template in the template holder”. However, the terms “the position” and “the template holder” lack proper antecedent basis because the terms have not yet been introduced. For purpose of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “locking [[the]] a position of the template in [[the]] a template holder”.
Regarding claim 28, the language recites “pivoting the blade holder about the longitudinal axis of the apparatus”. However, the terms “the blade holder” and “the longitudinal axis of the apparatus” lack proper antecedent basis because these terms have not yet been introduced. For purpose of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “pivoting [[the]] a blade holder about the longitudinal axis [[of the apparatus]]”
Claim 29 is rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 30, the language recites “the blade holder”. However, the term “the blade holder” lacks proper antecedent basis because the term has not yet been introduced. For purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “[[the]] a blade holder”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 18-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatomir (US PGPUB 20170320184) in view of Hollingshead et al. (CA 2217783), hereinafter Hollingshead.
Regarding claim 10, Tatomir teaches a method of profiling one or more ice skate blades held by a profiling apparatus (fig. 1a), the method comprising:
- causing a first hub (see annotated fig. 1a below, guide bearing 50) of the profiling apparatus to move in a direction transverse (horizontal direction via knob 38 [0020]) to a longitudinal direction of the one or more ice skate blades (direction into and out of the page in fig. 1a) to contact and to follow at least a profile of a template held by the profiling apparatus (fig. 1a, [0024]);
- causing a second hub (grinding wheel 24 is interpreted as the second hub) of the profiling apparatus to move in conjunction with the first hub (as the blade 70R is sharpened, the second hub and the first hub move in conjunction relative to the blade [0025]), the second hub being in a spaced apart relationship relative to the first hub in a second direction transverse to the longitudinal direction of the one or more ice skate blades (fig. 1a, wherein the vertical direction of fig. 1a is interpreted as the second direction transverse to the longitudinal direction); and
- causing the grinding wheel 24 to rotate to remove ice-contacting material from the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades [0016] to apply the profile of the template onto at least a portion of an ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades as the one or more ice skate blades move in the longitudinal direction of the one or more ice skate blades [0037].
Tatomir does not explicitly teach causing an abrasive belt to rotate about the second hub to remove ice-contacting material.
However, Hollingshead teaches a belt type skate sharpening apparatus which includes an abrasive belt 18 (fig. 2) which rotates about a hub 24 via motor 26 (fig. 2). Overall, Hollingshead teaches an abrasive belt as the abrasive tool to remove material from the blade, wherein the abrasive belt rotates about a hub 24.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tatomir to incorporate the teachings of Hollingshead to provide an abrasive belt to rotate about the second hub to remove ice-contacting material. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate Hollingshead’s abrasive belt assembly for the grinding wheel assembly of Tatomir. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known abrasive tool configuration for another known abrasive tool configuration in order to obtain the predictable results of abrading the surface of the blade.
Regarding claims 18-19, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10. Tatomir, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises restricting motion of the blade holder along the longitudinal direction of the apparatus as the blade holder is reciprocated, wherein the motion of the blade holder is restricted by a guiding mechanism.
However, Hollingshead additionally teaches wherein the blade sharpener comprises restricting motion of the blade holder (figs. 1-2, skate mount 48) along the longitudinal direction of the apparatus (via belt 94 and motor 92) as the blade holder is reciprocated (via motor 92), wherein the motion of the blade holder is restricted by a guiding mechanism (fig. 2, the belt 94 and associated structures are interpreted as the guiding mechanism).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tatomir, as modified, to incorporate the additional teachings of Hollingshead to provide wherein the method further comprises restricting motion of the blade holder along the longitudinal direction of the apparatus as the blade holder is reciprocated, wherein the motion of the blade holder is restricted by a guiding mechanism. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the guiding mechanism (belt 94, motor 92 and associated structures) of Hollingshead into the apparatus of Tatomir such that the blade and holder of Tatomir is restricted along the longitudinal direction as the blade holder is reciprocated via the guiding mechanism of Hollingshead. Doing so would decrease the burden on the operator by automating the reciprocating action. Additionally, doing so would promote increased quality of the workpiece by promoting repeatability of the sharpening process via the automated reciprocating.
Regarding claim 20, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises restricting motion of the first hub (50 of Tatomir) along the second transverse direction to the longitudinal direction of the apparatus (wherein the vertical direction of fig. 1a was interpreted as the second transverse direction, wherein the motion of the first hub is restricted along the vertical direction via knob 48 and is restricted to relative motion in the longitudinal direction with respect to the blade during sharpening operations) as the first hub contacts and follows the profiling surface of the template [0037 of Tatomir].
Regarding claim 21, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 20. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises restricting motion of the second hub along the second transverse direction to the longitudinal direction of the apparatus (fig. 1a of Tatomir, wherein the second hub (as modified) is also restricted along the vertical direction and is restricted to relative motion in the longitudinal direction with respect to the blade during sharpening operations) as the second hub moves in conjunction with the first hub ([0037 of Tatomir], wherein the second hub and first hub move in conjunction relative to the workpiece).
Regarding claim 22, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 21. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the motion of the first hub and the second hub are restricted by a guiding mechanism (fig. 1a of Tatomir, wherein the knob 48 is interpreted as the guiding mechanism which directly or indirectly restricts the motion of the hub 50 and abrading tool (as modified)).
Regarding claim 23, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises adjusting a position of the template (70T of Tatomir) in the template holder (fig. 1a) in at least one of the longitudinal direction of the apparatus and the second transverse direction of the apparatus with a positioning mechanism (fig. 1a-1c of Tatomir, [0033-0034], the couplers 72 and clamp portions 64/66 are used to adjust a position of the template in the longitudinal direction and the vertical direction).
Regarding claim 24, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises adjusting a position of the template (70T of Tatomir) in the template holder (fig. 1a) in both the longitudinal direction of the apparatus and the second transverse direction of the apparatus with a positioning mechanism (fig. 1a-1c of Tatomir, [0033-0034], the couplers 72 and clamp portions 64/66 are used to adjust a position of the template in the longitudinal direction and the vertical direction).
Regarding claim 25, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises locking the position of the template in the template holder with a positioning mechanism (knob 68 of fig. 1a of Tatomir, [0027]).
Regarding claim 26, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises adjusting a position of the first hub relative to the profiling surface of the template with an adjustment mechanism ([0036] of Tatomir, knob 38).
Regarding claim 27, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises adjusting a position of the profiling surface of the template relative to the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades with an adjustment mechanism (fig. 1c of Tatomir, wherein the couplers 72 are interpreted as the adjustment mechanism, [0033]).
Regarding claim 30, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises clamping the one or more ice skate blades in the blade holder with a clamping mechanism (fig. 1a of Tatomir, clamping mechanism 68 of Tatomir).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatomir (US PGPUB 20170320184) in view of Hollingshead et al. (CA 2217783), hereinafter Hollingshead, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Norris et al. (US Patent 3789551), hereinafter Norris.
Regarding claim 11, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10. Tatomir, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises causing the first hub to follow the profiling surface of the template without rolling as the rotating abrasive belt removes material from the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades.
However, Norris teaches a skate sharpening device which includes guide wheels 44 (fig. 3), wherein for changing the effective distance between a clamped blade edge and a grinding path determined by the wheels 44, and hence the maximum depth of cut in a series of passes with respect to the wheel 12, an adjusting screw 60 is provided (col. 3, line 63- col. 4, line 5). Overall, Norris teaches setting a maximum depth of cut for a series of passes of the blade with respect to the abrading tool via the alignment of the guide wheels 44.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tatomir, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Norris to provide setting a maximum depth of cut for a series of passes of the blade with respect to the abrading tool via the alignment of the guide bearing 50 of Tatomir. Specifically, it would have been obvious to set a configuration such that the guide bearing 50 of Tatomir sets a maximum depth of cut for a series of passes of the blade with respect to the abrading tool (of Tatomir, as modified). Doing so would promote quality of the workpiece by preventing under or over sharpening of the blade. Additionally, doing so would prevent damage of the workpiece by setting a maximum cut depth via the guide bearing 50.
In summary, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises causing the first hub to follow the profiling surface of the template without rolling (during the initial passes when the blade is being sharpened and the depth of cut has not reached the maximum depth of cut, the bearing 50 of Tatomir follows the profiling surface of the template without rolling) as the rotating abrasive belt removes material from the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades (the rotating abrasive belt removes material from the blade until the maximum cut depth is reached).
Regarding claim 12, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 11. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises causing the first hub to roll along the entire profiling surface of the template once the abrasive belt no longer removes material from the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades and the profile of the template has been copied onto the at least a portion of the one or more ice skate blades (see above rejection of claim 11 for more details. Once the maximum cut depth has been reached, the bearing 50 of Tatomir rolls along the profile surface of the template and the abrasive tool no longer removes material from the blade and the profile of the template has been copied onto the blade).
Regarding claim 13, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 11. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the method further comprises a preparation operation [0032 of Tatomir] preceding the profiling of the one or more ice skate blades to determine an amount of the material to be removed from the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling operation (The action of the operator selecting the desired template from among a plurality of templates [0032 of Tatomir] determines an amount of the material to be removed from the blade during the profiling operation in order to copy the desired template).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatomir (US PGPUB 20170320184) in view of Hollingshead et al. (CA 2217783), hereinafter Hollingshead, and further in view of Norris et al. (US Patent 3789551), hereinafter Norris, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Nishide (US PGPUB 20140148081), hereinafter Nishide.
Regarding claims 14-15, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 13. Tatomir, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein, during the preparation operation, a motor configured for driving the abrasive belt is deactivated such that the abrasive belt does not remove material from the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades, wherein the preparation operation comprises reciprocating the blade holder along the longitudinal direction of the apparatus to obtain a visual indication of an amount of the material to be removed from the ice- contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling operation.
However, Nishide teaches a grinding machine and method, wherein at the time of switching workpiece settings, setting of a positional relationship between a grinding wheel and a workpiece may be performed. The workpiece is set on a spindle and then a teaching operation is performed in which an infeed shaft is manually operated to bring the grinding wheel provided on the infeed shaft into contact with the workpiece [0003]. Overall, Nishide teaches at the time of switching workpiece settings, conducting a manual teaching operation of bringing the grinding tool into contact with the workpiece to set the positional relationship between the grinding wheel and workpiece.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tatomir, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Nishide to provide conducting a manual teaching operation, at the time of switching workpiece settings, of bringing the grinding tool into contact with the workpiece to set the positional relationship between the grinding wheel and workpiece along the entire length of the workpiece. Specifically, it would have been obvious to conduct a test/teaching operation of the grinding process in order to set the workpiece processing settings along the entire length of the workpiece. Doing so would promote quality of the workpiece by ensuring the desired parameters are appropriately set. Additionally, doing so would promote preventing damage of the workpiece due to incorrect parameters.
In summary, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the preparation operation comprises reciprocating the blade holder along the longitudinal direction of the apparatus (see above combination wherein a manual teaching operation was included which includes bringing the workpiece into contact with the abrading tool in order to set the processing parameters along the entire length of the workpiece) to obtain a visual indication of an amount of the material to be removed from the ice- contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling operation (the incorporated manual teaching operation provides a visual indication of an amount of the material to be removed from the blade and allows the operator to confirm or adjust the parameters).
Tatomir, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein, during the preparation operation, a motor configured for driving the abrasive belt is deactivated such that the abrasive belt does not remove material from the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades. That is, Tatomir, as modified, does not explicitly teach if the abrading tool motor is on or off during the teaching mode.
However, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the abrading tool includes a motor for driving the abrasive belt (motor 26 of Hollingshead), wherein during the manual teaching operation, there are a finite number of states of the motor which includes a first state of being activated and a second state of being deactivated.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of attempting either state since both states perform the same function of providing a teaching operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to deactivate the abrasive belt motor during the teaching operation since it has been held that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that is was obvious under 103” (MPEP 2143 E).
Therefore, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein, during the preparation operation, a motor configured for driving the abrasive belt is deactivated (see immediately above) such that the abrasive belt does not remove material from the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades (with the motor deactivated, the belt does not remove material from the blade during the teaching operation).
Regarding claim 16, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 15. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the first hub does not to roll along the at least a portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades to denote that material will be removed from said portion during the profiling operation as a visual indication of an amount of the material to be removed from the ice- contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling operation (see above rejection of claim 11 for more details, wherein setting a maximum cut depth for a series of passes was incorporated, wherein in the initial passes, the first hub does not roll along the template to denote that material will be removed which provides a visual indication during the teaching operation of an amount of material to be removed during profiling).
Regarding claim 17, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 15. Additionally, Tatomir, as modified, teaches wherein the first hub rolls along a remaining portion of the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades to denote that material will not be removed from said remaining portion during the profiling operation as a visual indication of an amount of the material to be removed from the ice-contacting surface of the one or more ice skate blades during the profiling operation (see above rejections of claims 11 and 15 for more details. The first hub rolls along the template to denote that material will not be removed and does not roll along the template to denote that material will be removed, thereby providing a visual indication of the amount of material to be removed).
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatomir (US PGPUB 20170320184) in view of Hollingshead et al. (CA 2217783), hereinafter Hollingshead, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Blach et al. (US Patent 6422934), hereinafter Blach.
Regarding claims 28-29, Tatomir, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 10. Tatomir, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the method comprises pivoting the blade holder about the longitudinal direction of the apparatus between a first position for loading the one or more ice skate blades in the blade holder or unloading the one or more ice skate blades from the blade holder and a second position for profiling the one or more ice skate blades, wherein the method further comprises locking the blade holder in the second position.
However, Blach teaches a skate sharpener wherein a blade holder pivots in order to clamp. Specifically, Blach teaches pivoting the blade holder (fig. 7, pivot arms 76) about the longitudinal direction of the apparatus (the pivot arms pivot about the longitudinal direction) between a first position for loading the one or more ice skate blades in the blade holder or unloading the one or more ice skate blades from the blade holder (the open position is interpreted as the first position of the blade holder of Blach) and a second position for profiling the one or more ice skate blades (the closed position is interpreted as the second position of the blade holder of Blach), wherein the method further comprises locking the blade holder in the second position (fig. 7, wherein the position of the cam 108 and handle 112 during the closed position is interpreted as locking the blade holder in the second position).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tatomir, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Blach to provide wherein the method comprises pivoting the blade holder about the longitudinal direction of the apparatus between a first position for loading the one or more ice skate blades in the blade holder or unloading the one or more ice skate blades from the blade holder and a second position for profiling the one or more ice skate blades, wherein the method further comprises locking the blade holder in the second position. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the pivoting blade holder of Blach for the blade holder of Tatomir. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known blade holder for another known blade holder to obtain the predictable results of holding the blade in order to process the blade. Additionally, doing so would continue to allow the device to function as intended and securely hold the blade.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakcriska (US Patent 5897428) teaches a device for sharpening ice skate blades pertinent to the claimed invention and pivoting holder (fig. 2)
Sakcriska (US Patent 4294043) teaches an ice skate sharpener which uses a template and a guide (fig. 2) which is similar to the claimed invention
/MICHAEL A GUMP/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723