DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/380,851 is presented for examination by the examiner. Claims 46-65 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 46, 48, 49, 53, and 55-61 in the reply filed on 1/29/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 57 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a period before the last limitation of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 46, 48, 49, 53, and 55-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USP Application Publication 2020/0162434 to Tang et al., hereinafter Tang in view of USP Application Publication 2019/0333395 to Borshchova et al., hereinafter Borshchova.
As per claim 46, Tang teaches a controller mounted to a UAV to facilitate secure communications between the UAV and a flight management system (0028), the controller comprising:
a communications module, for communication with the flight management system (0030);
a memory (0030); and
a processor configured to:
encrypt, using an encryption key, one or more outgoing communications, the outgoing communication comprising at least a secret key [receiver’s public key used to encrypt a session key; 0037, 0038, 0040] ; and
transmit, via the communications module, the one or more outgoing communications to the flight management system [UAV acting as sender, sends the communication containing the new session key receiver; 0040].
Tang teaches a UAV that flies an authorized flight pattern but does not explicitly teach an autopilot input-output module. Analogous prior art Borshchova teaches an autopilot input-output module in the UAV (0047). It is obvious that the UAV of Tang could have used an autopilot module to control its automated flight along the flight path. This is precisely the function of autopilots. The claim is obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art can combine methods known before the effective filing date which produce predictable results.
As per claim 48, Tang teaches a modem for cellular (0030), very high frequency (VHF), ultra-high frequency (UHF), or satellite communication with the flight management system.
As per claim 49, Tang teaches at least one of a polling system, a heartbeat module (0045 and 0046), an alert module, a compression module, a log-shipping module, and a key-request and encryption module.
As per claim 53, this module was presented as one optional member in a group. The prior art did not need to teach this module as it taught another one of the alternatives. Therefore, additional limitations directly solely to one of the alternatives in the group, are not afforded patentable weight.
As per claim 55, Tang teaches the one or more outgoing communications further comprises information to the flight management system in respect of one or more of the following: the operation of the controller and the operation of the autopilot [location information of where the controller is; 0046].
As per claim 56, Tang teaches the one or more outgoing communications further comprises one or more measurements from one or more sensors, wherein the sensors comprise at least one of a temperature sensor, current sensor, velocity sensor, airspeed sensor, altitude sensor (0046), and inertial measurement unit.
As per claim 57, Tang teaches the heartbeat module is operable to generate instructions for the processor for periodically transmitting heartbeat messages to the flight management system, wherein the heartbeat messages include information about one or more of the following: sensor status, status of one or more batteries, status of one or more sensors, battery reading field, GPS data, relative altitude, and altitude (0046);
the one or more outgoing communications further comprises the heartbeat messages (0045 and 0046).
As per claim 58, this module was presented as one optional member in a group. The prior art did not need to teach this module as it taught another one of the alternatives. Therefore, additional limitations directly solely to one of the alternatives in the group, are not afforded patentable weight.
As per claim 59, this module was presented as one optional member in a group. The prior art did not need to teach this module as it taught another one of the alternatives. Therefore, additional limitations directly solely to one of the alternatives in the group, are not afforded patentable weight.
As per claim 60, this module was presented as one optional member in a group. The prior art did not need to teach this module as it taught another one of the alternatives. Therefore, additional limitations directly solely to one of the alternatives in the group, are not afforded patentable weight.
As per claim 61, this module was presented as one optional member in a group. The prior art did not need to teach this module as it taught another one of the alternatives. Therefore, additional limitations directly solely to one of the alternatives in the group, are not afforded patentable weight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the enclosed PTO-892 form.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL R. VAUGHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7316. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 9:30am - 5:30pm, EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lynn Feild can be reached on (571) 272-2092. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL R VAUGHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431