DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or
under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 24, 2025; May 29, 2025; July 28, 2025; August 06, 2025; September 11, 2025; September 30, 2025; and October 29, 2025 were considered by the examiner. The IDS submitted on July 19, 2024 was considered by the examiner, except foreign patent document cite number 12, which was not included in the file wrapper; with corrections made to US Patent Application Publication cite number 17, foreign patent document cite number 1, and NPL cite numbers 2 and 6-7. The IDS submitted on October 28, 2024 was considered by the examiner, with a correction made to NPL cite number 5.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figs. 6D, 7B-7G, 13A-13B, and 16-16 contain photographs; however, photographs are not the only practicable medium to show the depicted elements, see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(b)(1); and
Figs. 2D, 4B, 7F, 9D-9E, 10B-10F, 12A-12D, and 14E-14I contain aberrational letters, lead lines without reference characters, are not clear, and other artifacts.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: “317” shown in Fig. 3D. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities.
In the specification ¶[0124]-[0125], the reference character for the pocket should be changed to “317”. Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the subject matter of claims 10 and 21 are not recited in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claims 6-8 and 16-18, “electrodes” should be “microelectrodes”;
in claim 6, line 1: “that” should be deleted;
in claim 9, line 2: “channel arrays” should be “channels”;
in claim 16, line 1: “that” should be deleted; and
in claim 19, line 2: “channel arrays” should be “channels”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the microelectrode arrays” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the recitation to “the plurality of modules” would overcome this rejection. The claim is being read as such for the purposes of examination. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the plurality microelectrode arrays” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the recitation to “the plurality of modules” would overcome this rejection. The claim is being read as such for the purposes of examination. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the microelectrode arrays” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the recitation to “the plurality of modules” would overcome this rejection. The claim is being read as such for the purposes of examination. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the plurality microelectrode arrays” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the recitation to “the plurality of modules” would overcome this rejection. The claim is being read as such for the purposes of examination. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 recites the term “semi-rigid” in line 1, which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “semi-rigid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear to what extent something should be rigid to be considered “semi-rigid”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, 16-18, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/148,656 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding Claims 1, 6-8, 11, 16-18, and 20, copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 have all of the features of claims 1, 6-8, 11, 16-18, and 20 of the present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 9 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/148,656 in view of Kipke et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0144365 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Kipke.
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 have all of the features of claims 9 and 19 of the present application, except that each of the plurality of microelectrode arrays comprises 1,024 channel arrays.
Kipke teaches an apparatus comprising a flexible substrate including a modular electrode array (see abstract and Figs. 1-2). Kipke teaches a neural interface for intradural implantation (see abstract, ¶[0002]-[0003], and ¶[0024] modular electrode array of the neural device is intended for use with the surface of the brain, such as electrocorticography, ECoG), the neural interface comprising:
a flexible substrate (¶[0015]-[0016] and ¶[0021] the flexible substrate and/or the flexible backing 470; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein the flexible substrate comprises a first bioinert material (¶[0016] the substrate may be a polymer, such as polyimide, since the device is implanted into the brain (i.e., ECoG), it is inherent that the microelectrodes would be bioinert, the present application also indicates that polyimide is bioinert, so the polyimide taught by Kipke would be bioinert; Figs. 1-2 and 4);
a plurality of modules disposed on a second side of the flexible substrate (¶[0015]-[0021] the modular electrode arrays, each array comprising multiple electrodes; Figs. 1-2 and 4), and
a first side of the flexible substrate, wherein the second side opposes the first side (¶[0015]-[0021] the side of the module without the electrodes, the opposite side; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein each of the modules comprises a plurality of microelectrodes (¶[0015]-[0021] the modular electrode arrays, each array comprising multiple electrodes; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein the modules are removably connected together (¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive; Figs. 1-2 and 4), and
wherein the microelectrodes do not penetrate a surface of a brain against which the microelectrodes are positioned and comprise a second bioinert material (¶[0018] the electrode modules may include penetrating electrodes in some embodiments, indicating that the standard microelectrodes do not penetrate, since the device is implanted into the brain (i.e., ECoG), it is inherent that the microelectrodes would be bioinert); and
wherein the plurality of microelectrode arrays comprises 1,024 channel arrays (¶[0019]-[0020] various pluralities of microelectrodes are contemplated, comparison of the modules to traditional ECoG at 1024 to 64 electrodes, in similar sized area).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the 1024 channel electrode array of Kipke with the modules of copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 require a channel amount, and Kipke teaches one such channel amount.
As an alternative interpretation, the plurality of modules may be considered a module itself (i.e., a bigger module could still be combined, it would still be considered a module), thus comprising 1024 channels. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the module (i.e., two modules with 1024 channels each) because this would be a mere duplication of parts that has no patentable significance because there is no new and unexpected result (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). In this case, the two modules would be able to sample a larger area, which would not be new or unexpected.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 2-5 and 12-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/148,656 in view of Kipke, and in view of Wijesundara et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0078586 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Wijesundara.
Regarding Claims 2-5 and 12-15, copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 have all of the features of claims 2-5 and 12-15 of the present application, except that each of the modules are aligned via guides/holes and adhered to one another.
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 have all of the features of claims 9 and 19 of the present application, except that each of the plurality of microelectrode arrays comprises 1,024 channel arrays.
Kipke teaches an apparatus comprising a flexible substrate including a modular electrode array (see abstract and Figs. 1-2). Kipke teaches a neural interface for intradural implantation (see abstract, ¶[0002]-[0003], and ¶[0024] modular electrode array of the neural device is intended for use with the surface of the brain, such as electrocorticography, ECoG), the neural interface comprising:
a flexible substrate (¶[0015]-[0016] and ¶[0021] the flexible substrate and/or the flexible backing 470; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein the flexible substrate comprises a first bioinert material (¶[0016] the substrate may be a polymer, such as polyimide, since the device is implanted into the brain (i.e., ECoG), it is inherent that the microelectrodes would be bioinert, the present application also indicates that polyimide is bioinert, so the polyimide taught by Kipke would be bioinert; Figs. 1-2 and 4);
a plurality of modules disposed on a second side of the flexible substrate (¶[0015]-[0021] the modular electrode arrays, each array comprising multiple electrodes; Figs. 1-2 and 4), and
a first side of the flexible substrate, wherein the second side opposes the first side (¶[0015]-[0021] the side of the module without the electrodes, the opposite side; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein each of the modules comprises a plurality of microelectrodes (¶[0015]-[0021] the modular electrode arrays, each array comprising multiple electrodes; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein the modules are removably connected together (¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive; Figs. 1-2 and 4), and
wherein the microelectrodes do not penetrate a surface of a brain against which the microelectrodes are positioned and comprise a second bioinert material (¶[0018] the electrode modules may include penetrating electrodes in some embodiments, indicating that the standard microelectrodes do not penetrate, since the device is implanted into the brain (i.e., ECoG), it is inherent that the microelectrodes would be bioinert); and
wherein the plurality of microelectrode arrays comprises 1,024 channel arrays (¶[0019]-[0020] various pluralities of microelectrodes are contemplated, comparison of the modules to traditional ECoG at 1024 to 64 electrodes, in similar sized area).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the adjacent adhesive adjoining of Kipke with the modules of copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 require a module connection modality, and Kipke teaches one such module connection modality.
The modified copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 does not teach that the adjacent modules are aligned with holes/guides.
Wijesundara teaches an apparatus for stimulating and/or monitoring a nerve involving a top and bottom substrate layer, with electrodes disposed therebetween (see abstract and 1A-3C), in which a spacing layer 150 may be utilized involving polyimide film and adhesive (see ¶[0039] and ¶[0055]-[0056]; Figs. 1A-2), and that the top and bottom portions may be aligned with guidance markings (holes) 170 (see ¶[0051] and Figs. 4A-4C). The alignment holes are the alignment guides.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the alignment holes of Wijesundara at the proximal and distal regions of the modules of the modified copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 require that the modules be aligned for attachment to one another and Wijesundara teaches one such modality of alignment; and/or (3) the alignment holes would provide visual confirmation that the modules are properly aligned.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 10 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/148,656 in view of Kipke, and in view of Pianca et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0100586 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Pianca.
Regarding Claims 10 and 21, copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 have all of the features of claims 10 and 21 of the present application, except that the first bioinert material comprises a polyimide and the second bioinert material comprises at least one of titanium or platinum.
Kipke teaches an apparatus comprising a flexible substrate including a modular electrode array (see abstract and Figs. 1-2). Kipke teaches a neural interface for intradural implantation (see abstract, ¶[0002]-[0003], and ¶[0024] modular electrode array of the neural device is intended for use with the surface of the brain, such as electrocorticography, ECoG), the neural interface comprising:
a flexible substrate (¶[0015]-[0016] and ¶[0021] the flexible substrate and/or the flexible backing 470; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein the flexible substrate comprises a first bioinert material (¶[0016] the substrate may be a polymer, such as polyimide, since the device is implanted into the brain (i.e., ECoG), it is inherent that the microelectrodes would be bioinert, the present application also indicates that polyimide is bioinert, so the polyimide taught by Kipke would be bioinert; Figs. 1-2 and 4);
a plurality of modules disposed on a second side of the flexible substrate (¶[0015]-[0021] the modular electrode arrays, each array comprising multiple electrodes; Figs. 1-2 and 4), and
a first side of the flexible substrate, wherein the second side opposes the first side (¶[0015]-[0021] the side of the module without the electrodes, the opposite side; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein each of the modules comprises a plurality of microelectrodes (¶[0015]-[0021] the modular electrode arrays, each array comprising multiple electrodes; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein the modules are removably connected together (¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive; Figs. 1-2 and 4), and
wherein the microelectrodes do not penetrate a surface of a brain against which the microelectrodes are positioned and comprise a second bioinert material (¶[0018] the electrode modules may include penetrating electrodes in some embodiments, indicating that the standard microelectrodes do not penetrate, since the device is implanted into the brain (i.e., ECoG), it is inherent that the microelectrodes would be bioinert); and
wherein the plurality of microelectrode arrays comprises 1,024 channel arrays (¶[0019]-[0020] various pluralities of microelectrodes are contemplated, comparison of the modules to traditional ECoG at 1024 to 64 electrodes, in similar sized area).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the polyimide first bioinert material of Kipke as the material for the flexible substrate of the copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 require a flexible substrate material and Kipke teaches one such material.
The modified copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 are silent that the second bioinert material comprises at least one of titanium or platinum.
Pianca teaches various embodiments of an insertion tool for a paddle-style electrode (see abstract), which may utilize a longitudinal ridge 49 opposite the electrode side for receiving an insertion stylet 40 within a lumen 46 and an enclosed distal portion 48 (see ¶[0062] and Figs. 8A-8C), and that the electrode contacts may comprise platinum or platinum-iridium as known in the art (see ¶[0053]),
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the platinum or platinum-iridium electrode contact of Pianca as the material for the electrodes of the modified copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the copending claims 1-3 and 13-16 require an electrode material and Pianca teaches one such material known in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipke et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0144365 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Kipke, and in view of Pianca et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0100586 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Pianca.
Regarding Claim 1, Kipke teaches an apparatus comprising a flexible substrate including a modular electrode array (see abstract and Figs. 1-2). Kipke teaches a neural interface for intradural implantation (see abstract, ¶[0002]-[0003], and ¶[0024] modular electrode array of the neural device is intended for use with the surface of the brain, such as electrocorticography, ECoG), the neural interface comprising:
a flexible substrate (¶[0015]-[0016] and ¶[0021] the flexible substrate and/or the flexible backing 470; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein the flexible substrate comprises a first bioinert material (¶[0016] the substrate may be a polymer, such as polyimide, since the device is implanted into the brain (i.e., ECoG), it is inherent that the microelectrodes would be bioinert, the present application also indicates that polyimide is bioinert, so the polyimide taught by Kipke would be bioinert; Figs. 1-2 and 4);
a plurality of modules disposed on a second side of the flexible substrate (¶[0015]-[0021] the modular electrode arrays, each array comprising multiple electrodes; Figs. 1-2 and 4), and
a first side of the flexible substrate, wherein the second side opposes the first side (¶[0015]-[0021] the side of the module without the electrodes, the opposite side; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein each of the modules comprises a plurality of microelectrodes (¶[0015]-[0021] the modular electrode arrays, each array comprising multiple electrodes; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein the modules are removably connected together (¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive; Figs. 1-2 and 4), and
wherein the microelectrodes do not penetrate a surface of a brain against which the microelectrodes are positioned and comprise a second bioinert material (¶[0018] the electrode modules may include penetrating electrodes in some embodiments, indicating that the standard microelectrodes do not penetrate, since the device is implanted into the brain (i.e., ECoG), it is inherent that the microelectrodes would be bioinert).
Kipke is silent regarding a pocket disposed on the first side of the flexible substrate.
Pianca teaches various embodiments of an insertion tool for a paddle-style electrode (see abstract), which may utilize a longitudinal ridge 49 opposite the electrode side for receiving an insertion stylet 40 within a lumen 46 and an enclosed distal portion 48 (see ¶[0062] and Figs. 8A-8C). Here, as the end of the longitudinal ridge is enclosed, it is a pocket.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the pocket and stylet insertion modality of Pianca with the neural device of Kipke because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) Kipke requires an implantation/insertion modality for the neural device and Pianca teaches one such modality; and/or (3) the pocket and stylet combination provide steering for the neural device (see Pianca ¶[0062]).
Alternatively and/or additionally, Pianca further teaches that the electrode contacts may comprise platinum or platinum-iridium as known in the art (see ¶[0053]),
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the platinum or platinum-iridium electrode contact of Pianca as the material for the electrodes of the modified Kipke because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Kipke requires an electrode material and Pianca teaches one such material known in the art.
Regarding Claim 6, Kipke in view of Pianca teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Kipke further teaches the electrodes that are distributed evenly in the microelectrode arrays (¶[0017] the microelectrodes may be arranged in a regular pattern, such as an approximately rectangular grid; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 8, Kipke in view of Pianca teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Kipke further teaches the electrodes are configured for at least one of recording or stimulation (¶[0024] the neural device is capable of recording (i.e., the mapping) and/or stimulation).
Regarding Claim 9, Kipke in view of Pianca teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Kipke further teaches of the plurality of microelectrode arrays comprises 1,024 channel arrays (¶[0019]-[0020] various pluralities of microelectrodes are contemplated, comparison of the modules to traditional ECoG at 1024 to 64 electrodes, in similar sized area).
The modified Kipke does not specifically teach that each module may comprise 1024 channels.
As an alternative interpretation, the plurality of modules may be considered a module itself (i.e., a bigger module could still be combined, it would still be considered a module), thus comprising 1024 channels. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the module (i.e., two modules with 1024 channels each) because this would be a mere duplication of parts that has no patentable significance because there is no new and unexpected result (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). In this case, the two modules would be able to sample a larger area, which would not be new or unexpected.
Regarding Claim 10, Kipke in view of Pianca teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. The modified Kipke further teaches the first bioinert material comprises a polyimide (see Kipke ¶[0016] the substrate may be a polymer, such as polyimide; Figs. 1-2 and 4) and the second bioinert material comprises at least one of titanium or platinum (see Pianca ¶[0053] the electrode contacts may comprise platinum or platinum-iridium as known in the art).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipke in view of Pianca as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Wijesundara et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0078586 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Wijesundara.
Regarding Claim 2, Kipke in view of Pianca teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Kipke further teaches each of the modules comprises proximal regions and distal regions; and the modules are removably coupled together by aligning the proximal region of a preceding module with the distal region of a succeeding module of the plurality of modules (¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, the adjoining surfaces are the proximal/distal regions joined in the modules, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive; Figs. 1-2 and 4).
The modified Kipke does not specifically teach that the modules are aligned via holes at the proximal and distal regions.
Wijesundara teaches an apparatus for stimulating and/or monitoring a nerve involving a top and bottom substrate layer, with electrodes disposed therebetween (see abstract and 1A-3C), in which a spacing layer 150 may be utilized involving polyimide film and adhesive (see ¶[0039] and ¶[0055]-[0056]; Figs. 1A-2), and that the top and bottom portions may be aligned with guidance markings (holes) 170 (see ¶[0051] and Figs. 4A-4C).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the alignment holes of Wijesundara at the proximal and distal regions of the modules of the modified Kipke because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) Kipke requires that the modules be aligned for attachment to one another and Wijesundara teaches one such modality of alignment; and/or (3) the alignment holes would provide visual confirmation that the modules are properly aligned.
Regarding Claim 3, Kipke in view of Pianca and Wijesundara teaches the device of claim 2 as stated above. The modified Kipke further teaches an adhesive is applied to an overlapping region of the proximal holes of the preceding module and the distal holes of the succeeding module of the plurality of modules (see Kipke ¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, the adjoining surfaces are the proximal/distal regions joined in the modules, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive, Figs. 1-2 and 4; see Wijesundara ¶[0051] the top and bottom portions may be aligned with guidance markings (holes) 170 the top and bottom portions may be aligned with guidance markings (holes) 170, Figs. 4A-4C).
Regarding Claim 4, Kipke in view of Pianca and Wijesundara teaches the device of claim 3 as stated above. Kipke further teaches the adhesive comprises cyanoacrylate (¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive).
Regarding Claim 5, Kipke in view of Pianca teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Kipke further teaches each of the modules comprises proximal regions and distal regions; and the modules are removably coupled together by aligning the proximal region of a preceding module with the distal region of a succeeding module of the plurality of modules (¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, the adjoining surfaces are the proximal/distal regions joined in the modules, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive; Figs. 1-2 and 4).
The modified Kipke does not specifically teach that the modules are aligned via a first alignment guide in a preceding module with a second alignment guide in a succeeding module.
Wijesundara teaches an apparatus for stimulating and/or monitoring a nerve involving a top and bottom substrate layer, with electrodes disposed therebetween (see abstract and 1A-3C), in which a spacing layer 150 may be utilized involving polyimide film and adhesive (see ¶[0039] and ¶[0055]-[0056]; Figs. 1A-2), and that the top and bottom portions may be aligned with guidance markings (holes) 170 (see ¶[0051] and Figs. 4A-4C). The alignment holes are the alignment guides.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the alignment holes of Wijesundara at the proximal and distal regions of the modules of the modified Kipke because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) Kipke requires that the modules be aligned for attachment to one another and Wijesundara teaches one such modality of alignment; and/or (3) the alignment holes would provide visual confirmation that the modules are properly aligned.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipke in view of Pianca as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Brinkmann et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0150774 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Brinkmann.
Regarding Claim 7, Kipke in view of Pianca teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. The modified Kipke does not specifically teach that the electrodes have a diameter of 20–200 µm.
Brinkmann teaches about multiscale brain electrodes and their applications (see abstract) in which the microelectrodes may have a diameter of 10-100 µm with a spacing of 100-1000 µm (see ¶[0056] and ¶[0154]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the small microelectrode diameter of Brinkmann with the microelectrodes of the modified Kipke because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the smaller size would enable higher resolution given a neural device of the same size with an increased number of microelectrodes capable of fitting.
The 10-100 µm range of the modified Kipke suggests the range of the present claim because 20–200 µm overlaps with the range of 10-100 µm. See MPEP 2144.05: “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Claims 11, 16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipke in view of Pianca, and in view of Sage (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0331856 – cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 11, Kipke teaches an apparatus comprising a flexible substrate including a modular electrode array (see abstract and Figs. 1-2). Kipke teaches a surgical system comprising: a neural interface for intradural implantation (see abstract, ¶[0002]-[0003], and ¶[0024] modular electrode array of the neural device is intended for use with the surface of the brain, such as electrocorticography, ECoG), the neural interface comprising:
a flexible substrate (¶[0015]-[0016] and ¶[0021] the flexible substrate and/or the flexible backing 470; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein the flexible substrate comprises a first bioinert material (¶[0016] the substrate may be a polymer, such as polyimide, since the device is implanted into the brain (i.e., ECoG), it is inherent that the microelectrodes would be bioinert, the present application also indicates that polyimide is bioinert, so the polyimide taught by Kipke would be bioinert; Figs. 1-2 and 4);
a plurality of modules disposed on a second side of the flexible substrate (¶[0015]-[0021] the modular electrode arrays, each array comprising multiple electrodes; Figs. 1-2 and 4), and
a first side of the flexible substrate, wherein the second side opposes the first side (¶[0015]-[0021] the side of the module without the electrodes, the opposite side; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein each of the modules comprises a plurality of microelectrodes (¶[0015]-[0021] the modular electrode arrays, each array comprising multiple electrodes; Figs. 1-2 and 4),
wherein the modules are removably connected together (¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive; Figs. 1-2 and 4), and
wherein the microelectrodes do not penetrate a surface of a brain against which the microelectrodes are positioned and comprise a second bioinert material (¶[0018] the electrode modules may include penetrating electrodes in some embodiments, indicating that the standard microelectrodes do not penetrate, since the device is implanted into the brain (i.e., ECoG), it is inherent that the microelectrodes would be bioinert).
Kipke is silent regarding a pocket disposed on the first side of the flexible substrate.
Pianca teaches various embodiments of an insertion tool for a paddle-style electrode (see abstract), which may utilize a longitudinal ridge 49 opposite the electrode side for receiving an insertion stylet 40 within a lumen 46 and an enclosed distal portion 48 (see ¶[0062] and Figs. 8A-8C), in which the insertion stylet 40 may be a flexible metal wire (see ¶[0060]). Here, as the end of the longitudinal ridge is enclosed, it is a pocket.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the pocket and stylet insertion modality of Pianca with the neural device of Kipke because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) Kipke requires an implantation/insertion modality for the neural device and Pianca teaches one such modality; and/or (3) the pocket and stylet combination provide steering for the neural device (see Pianca ¶[0062]).
Alternatively and/or additionally, Pianca further teaches that the electrode contacts may comprise platinum or platinum-iridium as known in the art (see ¶[0053]),
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the platinum or platinum-iridium electrode contact of Pianca as the material for the electrodes of the modified Kipke because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Kipke requires an electrode material and Pianca teaches one such material known in the art.
The modified Kipke does not specifically teach that the stylet is a paddle type stylet (see present application specification ¶[0138], the stylet is generic to the specific genus paddle).
Sage teaches a combined dissection tool and blank for implanting a paddle lead including electrodes (see abstract), in which the distal portion 154 of the guide wire 152 (paddle type stylet) may be flattened to achieve specific desired steering movements (see ¶[0057]-[0059] and Figs. 5A-5B).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the flattened (paddle) stylet of Sage with the stylet of the modified Kipke because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the flattened (paddle) stylet can help to steer in the specific desired steering movement of Sage (see Sage ¶[0057]-[0058]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kipke in view of Pianca and Sage teaches the device of claim 11 as stated above. Kipke further teaches the electrodes that are distributed evenly in the microelectrode arrays (¶[0017] the microelectrodes may be arranged in a regular pattern, such as an approximately rectangular grid; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 18, Kipke in view of Pianca and Sage teaches the device of claim 11 as stated above. Kipke further teaches the electrodes are configured for at least one of recording or stimulation (¶[0024] the neural device is capable of recording (i.e., the mapping) and/or stimulation).
Regarding Claim 19, Kipke in view of Pianca and Sage teaches the device of claim 11 as stated above. Kipke further teaches of the plurality of microelectrode arrays comprises 1,024 channel arrays (¶[0019]-[0020] various pluralities of microelectrodes are contemplated, comparison of the modules to traditional ECoG at 1024 to 64 electrodes, in similar sized area).
The modified Kipke does not specifically teach that each module may comprise 1024 channels.
As an alternative interpretation, the plurality of modules itself is a module, thus comprising 1024 channels. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the module (i.e., two modules with 1024 channels each) because this would be a mere duplication of parts that has no patentable significance because there is no new and unexpected result (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). In this case, the two modules would be able to sample a larger area, which would not be new or unexpected.
Regarding Claim 20, Kipke in view of Pianca and Sage teaches the device of claim 11 as stated above. The modified Kipke further teaches the insertion paddle comprises a semi-rigid material (see Pianca ¶[0060] the insertion stylet 40 may be a flexible metal wire; see Sage ¶[0057]-[0059] and Figs. 5A-5B, the flattened (paddle) stylet bends easier perpendicular to the flattened surface 162, but to resist bending generally in direction 160 parallel to the flattened surface 162).
Regarding Claim 21, Kipke in view of Pianca and Sage teaches the device of claim 11 as stated above. The modified Kipke further teaches the first bioinert material comprises a polyimide (see Kipke ¶[0016] the substrate may be a polymer, such as polyimide; Figs. 1-2 and 4) and the second bioinert material comprises at least one of titanium or platinum (see Pianca ¶[0053] the electrode contacts may comprise platinum or platinum-iridium as known in the art).
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipke in view of Pianca and Sage as applied to claim 11 above, and in view of Wijesundara.
Regarding Claim 12, Kipke in view of Pianca and Sage teaches the device of claim 11 as stated above. Kipke further teaches each of the modules comprises proximal regions and distal regions; and the modules are removably coupled together by aligning the proximal region of a preceding module with the distal region of a succeeding module of the plurality of modules (¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, the adjoining surfaces are the proximal/distal regions joined in the modules, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive; Figs. 1-2 and 4).
The modified Kipke does not specifically teach that the modules are aligned via holes at the proximal and distal regions.
Wijesundara teaches an apparatus for stimulating and/or monitoring a nerve involving a top and bottom substrate layer, with electrodes disposed therebetween (see abstract and 1A-3C), in which a spacing layer 150 may be utilized involving polyimide film and adhesive (see ¶[0039] and ¶[0055]-[0056]; Figs. 1A-2), and that the top and bottom portions may be aligned with guidance markings (holes) 170 (see ¶[0051] and Figs. 4A-4C).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the alignment holes of Wijesundara at the proximal and distal regions of the modules of the modified Kipke because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) Kipke requires that the modules be aligned for attachment to one another and Wijesundara teaches one such modality of alignment; and/or (3) the alignment holes would provide visual confirmation that the modules are properly aligned.
Regarding Claim 13, Kipke in view of Pianca, Sage, and Wijesundara teaches the device of claim 12 as stated above. The modified Kipke further teaches an adhesive is applied to an overlapping region of the proximal holes of the preceding module and the distal holes of the succeeding module of the plurality of modules (see Kipke ¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, the adjoining surfaces are the proximal/distal regions joined in the modules, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive, Figs. 1-2 and 4; see Wijesundara ¶[0051] the top and bottom portions may be aligned with guidance markings (holes) 170 the top and bottom portions may be aligned with guidance markings (holes) 170, Figs. 4A-4C).
Regarding Claim 14, Kipke in view of Pianca, Sage, and Wijesundara teaches the device of claim 13 as stated above. Kipke further teaches the adhesive comprises cyanoacrylate (¶[0032] the adhesive may be cyanoacrylate adhesive).
Regarding Claim 15, Kipke in view of Pianca and Sage teaches the device of claim 11 as stated above. Kipke further teaches each of the modules comprises proximal regions and distal regions; and the modules are removably coupled together by aligning the proximal region of a preceding module with the distal region of a succeeding module of the plurality of modules (¶[0030] the modules may be coupled together via epoxy/adhesive at the adjoining surfaces, the adjoining surfaces are the proximal/distal regions joined in the modules, ¶[0032] the adhesive may be