DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 5/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Drake (US 8,387,953 B2).
Consider claim 1. Drake teaches an article lifting apparatus comprising: a support frame (23); a lift table assembly (2) including a lift frame (frame of 2) configured to move vertically relative to the support frame (via sliding engagement between 5 and 20); wherein the support frame includes a roller (44 and 19; see fig. 4) rotatably connected thereto that rolls against the lift frame as the lift frame moves between raised and lowered positions and interlocks with a locking feature (13) on the lift frame in the raised position. Drake’s apparatus is capable of performing the recited functional language: lifting an exhaust pipe. Please see MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 2. Drake teaches a sliding handle (48) operatively connected to the roller that is configured to move the roller between an engaged position interlocked with the locking feature and a disengaged position unlocked with the locking feature.
Consider claim 3. Drake teaches an actuation device (50) that is operatively connected to the sliding handle, the actuation device configured to be actuated to slide the sliding handle toward a side of the support frame to move the roller between the engaged position interlocked with the locking feature and the disengaged position unlocked with the locking feature.
Consider claim 4. Drake teaches that the lift table assembly comprises: a lift bar that extends horizontally (horizontal bar at “2” in fig. 1); a support strut (5) that intersects the lift bar, the support strut extending vertically from the lift bar; and a lift table (20) that is configured to support an article thereon, the support strut intersecting the lift table such that the support strut extends between the lift bar and the lift table.
Consider claim 5. Drake teaches that the support strut comprises the locking feature (13).
Consider claim 6. Drake teaches that the locking feature comprises an opening (18) through the support strut.
Consider claim 7. Drake teaches that the roller is biased toward the support strut (via 50), such that the roller rolls along the support strut as the lift frame moves between raised and lowered positions.
Consider claim 8. Drake teaches that the lift table comprises an article support (one 24) that is configured to receive an article, the article support comprising a sliding carriage that is configured to slide along a length of the lift table assembly (via sliding engagement between 5 and 20).
Consider claim 9. Drake teaches that the article support is a second article support (one 24), the lift table assembly further comprising a first article support (other 24) comprising a support cradle that is configured to receive the article, the second article support being slidable relative to the first article support (via sliding engagement between 23 and 25).
Consider claim 10. Drake teaches a retracting device (34) mounted to the support frame, the retracting device comprising a cable (36) that is connected to the lift bar, the retracting device configured apply a lift force to the lift table assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The attached PTO-892 lists references which teach various article lifting apparatus with roller/lift frame structures.
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652