Election/Restrictions
Claims 12 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of assembling an electrical cable, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/02/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the minimum diameter of joined inner surfaces being less than a diameter of the dielectric layer, as recited in claim 7, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is noted that paragraph [19] suggests that 220 is a gripping feature and paragraphs [0022] and [0025] discuss the dielectric layer being deformed or extruded leading to the minimum diameter being less than a diameter of the dielectric layer, and the joined inner surfaces of portion 208 are shown in Figures 6-8. However, 220 appears to be a groove that does not alter the diameter of the dielectric layer 222 and in the figures the dielectric layer 222 does not appear deformed. There does not appear to be any portion of 222 which has a larger diameter than the inner diameter of portion 218. It is suggested that some manner of deformation be illustrated in the figures to show the arrangement specific in claim 7.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 10,128,611 (“Rhein”).
Regarding claim 1, Rhein discloses an electrical terminal (150), comprising: a cylindrical inner ferrule (246) having a first portion and a second portion (left and right portions on either side of 256) separated by at least one seam (256) therebetween, wherein an inner surface of the first portion and/or the second portion defines a gripping feature (268) configured to deform a cylindrical dielectric layer surrounding an electrical conductor of an electrical cable (see Fig. 9 and col. 8, lns. 49 – 52); and
a cylindrical outer ferrule (244) surrounding the inner ferrule.
Regarding claim 2, Rhein discloses the gripping feature is a negative gripping feature which is knurling (col. 6, lns. 34 – 41).
Regarding claim 3, Rhein discloses the gripping feature is a positive gripping feature which is a bump (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Rhein discloses wherein the first and second portions are integrally formed with one another (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Rhein discloses wherein the electrical cable is a coaxial cable (see Fig. 3 and col. 9, ln. 24).
Regarding claim 7, Rhein discloses wherein a minimum diameter of joined inner surfaces of the first and second portions is less than a diameter of the cylindrical dielectric layer (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 8, Rhein discloses wherein edges of the first and second portions (258 and 260) are mirrored and congruent (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Rhein discloses wherein portions of edges of the first and second portions are configured to limit deformation of the dielectric layer (see curved edges 252, 254, which curve away from the cable).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhein in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,673,578 (“Lane”).
Regarding claim 5, Rhein discloses that the first and second portions are formed with a shield terminal 240 of the electrical terminal but does not disclose the first and second portions are integrally formed with a shield terminal of the electrical terminal.
However, Lane teaches an electrical connector with an electrical terminal 136 having an inner ferrule 152 comprised of two portions separated by a seam 224, and the first and second portions are integrally formed with a shield terminal portion 150 as seen in Fig. 2 and discussed in col. 6, lns. 23 – 28.
It would have been obvious to integrally form the shield terminal with the first and second portions as taught by Lane, because this simplifies the terminal member by allowing the terminal to be a one-piece structure. In addition, it would have been obvious to integrally form the shield terminal with the first and second portions since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to make plural parts unitary as a matter of engineering design choice. In re Larson, 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockart 90 USPQ 214 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding claim 9, Rhein discloses edges of the first and second portions follow complimentary paths, but the paths are not serpentine.
However, Lane teaches an electrical connector with an electrical terminal 136 having an inner ferrule 152 comprised of two portions separated by a seam 224, and edges of the seam follow a serpentine path (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to make the edges follow a serpentine path as taught by Lane because this reduces the likelihood that other components are pinched within the gap during crimping.
Regarding claim 11, Rhein does not disclose wherein an outer surface of the inner ferrule is knurled. Rhein does disclose the inner ferrule assembly 246/242 being crimped to the outer ferrule 244 to capture a cable shield 226 as seen in Fig. 8.
However, Lane teaches an electrical connector with an electrical terminal 136 having an inner ferrule 152 comprised of two portions separated by a seam 224, and the first and second portions are integrally formed with a shield terminal portion 150 as seen in Fig. 2 and discussed in col. 6, lns. 23 – 28. Lane further teaches an outer ferrule member 140 crimped around 136, and an outer surface 192 of the inner ferrule is knurled as seen in Fig. 4.
It would have been obvious to integrally form the shield terminal with the first and second portions so that the inner ferrule structure was a single ferrule member integrally formed with the terminal portion, and to make the outer surface of the inner ferrule knurled, as taught by Lane, because this simplifies the terminal member by allowing the terminal to be a one-piece structure and because the knurling helps ensure that the shield layer is captured and retained by the crimping of the outer ferrule upon the inner ferrule.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schuster discloses a shield terminal with inner and outer ferrules.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831