DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: In lines 7-8, the term “from each” is repeated twice in the limitation of “… signal lines aera separated from each from each other at a boundary …”.
Claims 18-20 are objected to because they depend upon objected claim 17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0399529) in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0293079).
As to claim 1, Shin teaches a light-emitting display device (Fig. 1, 100), comprising:
a display panel (10) including an active area (10) and a non-active area (area outside of display area 10),
a plurality of sub-pixels disposed in the active area (sub-pixels 110 are arranged in the display area 10); and
a gate driver (20) disposed in the non-active area (gate driver 20 is arranged in the non-active area outside of the display area 10), wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels (110) includes:
a first light-emitting diode (LED) (Fig. 12, OLED1) configured to emit light in response to a driving current ([0211], The first anode electrode AE1-1 of the first light-emitting diode OLED1 may be connected to the first electrode or the second electrode of the first light-emission control thin-film transistor T4. The cathode electrode of the first light-emitting diode OLED1 may be connected to a low-potential power voltage VSS. For example, the first light-emitting diode OLED1 may receive power through the first anode electrode AE1-1 and [0213], lines 7-15 mentioning the OLED1 emitting light based on the current flowing); and
a first lens (Lz1) configured to refract the light emitted from the first LED (Each of refractive indices of the first lens Lz1 and the second lens Lz2 may be determined according to a shape of each of the first and second lenses and a thickness [0174], as can be seen in Fig. 12, the lens Lz1 is arranged on the OLED1, therefore it will refract the light emitted from the OLED1).
Shin does not teach the active area including a first active area and a second active area. Kim teaches the active area (110, Fig. 1) including a first active area (112) and a second active area (114);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the first active and second active area and pixel structure of Kim to the light emitting display device of Shin because power consumption of the display device may decrease, [0029], lines 6-7.
As to claim 2, Shin teaches at least some of the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 12, sub-pixel illustrated) further include:
a second LED (OLED2) configured to emit light in response to the driving current ([0212], The second anode electrode AE2-1 of the second light-emitting diode OLED2 may be connected to the first electrode or the second electrode of the second light-emission control thin-film transistor T6. The cathode electrode of the second light-emitting diode OLED2 may be connected to a low-potential power voltage VSS. For example, the second light-emitting diode OLED2 may receive power through the second anode electrode AE2-1. and [0213], lines 7-15 mentioning the OLED2 emitting light based on the current flowing); and
a second lens (Lz2) configured to refract the light emitted from the second LED (Each of refractive indices of the first lens Lz1 and the second lens Lz2 may be determined according to a shape of each of the first and second lenses and a thickness [0174], as can be seen in Fig. 12, the lens Lz2 is arranged on the OLED2, therefore it will refract the light emitted from the OLED2), wherein the second lens has a different shape than the first lens (Fig. 3, the first and second lenses Lz1 and Lz2 have different shapes).
As to claim 3, Shin teaches the first lens (Lz1) is a half-cylindrical lens (Fig. 3 illustrates that the first lenz has a half cylindrical lens), and wherein the second lens (Lz2) is a half-spherical lens (the second lens Lz2 has a half spherical lens).
As to claim 4, Shin teaches the active area includes a plurality of the second LEDs (Fig. 1 illustrates subpixels 110, wherein Fig. 12 shows that each of the sub-pixels have a second LED OLED2) and each of the plurality of sub-pixels includes one of the plurality of second LEDs (As can be seen in Fig. 12, the sub-pixel includes one of the plurality of second LEDs OLED2; [0257], Referring to FIG. 14, in the unit pixel 110 of the display panel 10 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the first light-emission control signal application line EM2 connected to the first light-emitting diode OLED1 disposed in the wide-angle area WAA may be spaced from the second light-emission control signal application line EM3 connected to the second light-emitting diode OLED2 disposed in the narrow-angle area NAA).
As to claim 17, Shin teaches a light-emitting display device (Fig. 1, 100), comprising:
a display panel (10) including an active area (10) and a non-active area (area outside of display area 10),
a plurality of sub-pixels disposed in the active area (sub-pixels 110 are arranged in the display area 10); and
a plurality of emission signal lines (emission lines EM1 and EM2 as shown in Fig. 12) that extend in one direction in the active area (the mission lines aera extending in a horizontal direction in the pixel area, which is located in the active area as shown in Fig. 1) and are configured to apply an emission signal to the plurality of sub-pixels ([0220], lines 1-9 and [0222], lines 1-5),
Shin does not teach the active area including a first active area and a second active area. Kim teaches the active area (110, Fig. 1) including a first active area (112) and a second active area (114); wherein at least some of the plurality of emission signal lines (EML1 and EML2, Fig. 4A) are separated from each from each other at a boundary between the first active area and the second active area (the first emission lines EML1 and second emission lines EML2 are separated from each other at the boundary between the first active area 112 and second active area 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the first active and second active area and pixel structure of Kim to the light emitting display device of Shin because power consumption of the display device may decrease, [0029], lines 6-7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to because the prior art references do not teach the private v. sharing modes with the structure of the pixel mentioned in claims 1, 2, and 4. Wherein the prior art references do not teach at least one of the first active area and the second active area is configured to operate independently in a private viewing mode and a share viewing mode, wherein, in the share viewing mode, the first LED emits light, and the light emitted from the first LED is output with a viewing angle that is limited by the first lens only in a first direction, and wherein, in the private viewing mode, the second LED emits light, and the light emitted from the second LED is output with a viewing angle limited by the second lens in the first direction and a second direction different than the first direction.
Claim 13 is objected to because the prior art references do not teach the structure and arrangement of the display wherein the active area includes a plurality of first LEDs and a plurality of second LEDs, wherein a sub-pixel in the first active area among the plurality of sub-pixels includes only one of the plurality of first LEDs and does not include any of the plurality of second LEDs, and wherein a sub-pixel in the second active area among the plurality of sub-pixels includes one of the plurality of first LEDs and one of the plurality of second LEDs.
Claim 18 is objected to because the prior art references do not teach the sharing versus private viewing mode wherein the prior art references do not teach a first light-emitting diode (LED) configured to emit light in a share viewing mode; a first emission control transistor configured to be turned on in response to one of the emission signals and transfer a driving current to the first LED; a second LED configured to emit light in a private viewing mode; and a second emission control transistor configured to be turned on in response to the emission signal and transfer the driving current to the second LED, wherein the plurality of emission signal lines include: a first emission signal line configured to supply the emission signal to the first emission control transistor; and a second emission signal line configured to supply the emission signal to the second emission control transistor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nam (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0103364) teaches a display having a plurality of LEDs with lenses.
Choi (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0048333) teaches an organic light emitting diode display having a lens over its LEDs.
Inquiry
/PEGEMAN KARIMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623