under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on October 17, 2023.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C.
119 (a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
Title is objected to for failure to be sufficiently descriptive.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the
presence of all possible minor errors. The applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which the applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 24-25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10
In line 4, “the other one” should be --an other--
In lines 6 and 8, “the first material layer” should be --the one of the at least one first material layer--
In lines 6 and 8, “the first material layer” should be --the other of the at least one first material layer--
Claim 24
In line 2, “the second electrode” should be --the second electrode layer--
Claim 25
In line 4, “at least one third material layer” should be --the at least one third material layer--
In lines 4-5, “the at least two or more third material layers” should be --at least two or more third material layers--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 17, and 19-30 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as
being anticipated by Ohta et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20190088851; hereinafter “Ohta”).
Regarding claim 1, Ohta discloses a piezoelectric device comprising: a piezoelectric device layer (Fig. 3, 2); a first electrode layer (Fig. 3, some layers of 4-9) at a first surface (Fig. 3, first surface of 2) of the piezoelectric device layer (Fig. 3, 2); and a second electrode layer (Fig. 3, other layers of 4-9) at a second surface (Fig. 3, second surface of 2) different (Fig. 3) from the first surface (Fig. 3, first surface of 2) of the piezoelectric device layer (Fig. 3, 2), wherein the piezoelectric device layer (Fig. 3, 2) comprises a first vibration portion (Fig. 3, layer of 20 made of ; [0056]) and a second vibration portion (Fig. 3, 50; [0056]) overlapping each other (Fig. 3) in a thickness direction (Fig. 3) of the piezoelectric device layer (Fig. 3, 2), and wherein the first (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) and second vibration portions (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) have different characteristics (Fig. 3; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 2, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 1, wherein the different characteristics (Fig. 3; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.) comprise one or more of a curie temperature (Tc), a piezoelectric constant (d33), a coercive field (Ec), a relative density (%), a theoretical density or specific gravity, and a dielectric constant (s) (Fig. 3; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 3, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 1, wherein one of the first vibration portion (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the second vibration portion (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises one or more of a relative density of about 90% or more and a curie temperature of about 170 °C or more (Fig. 3; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 4, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 3, wherein the one of the first vibration portion (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the second vibration portion (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises a piezoelectric constant of about layer of 4-950 pC/N to about 800 pC/N (Fig. 3; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers omprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 5, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 1, wherein one of the first vibration portion ((Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the second vibration portion (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises one or more of a relative density (Fig. 3; [0031]; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.) of about 95% or more (Fig. 3; [0031]) and a piezoelectric constant of about 700 pC/N or more (Fig. 3; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 6, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 1, wherein one of the first vibration portion (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the second vibration portion (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises one or more of a coercive field (Fig. 3; [0054]) of about 10 kV/cm or more (Fig. 3; [0054] – “3.5 kV/mm” = 30.5kV/cm) and a piezoelectric constant of about 20 pC/N to about 500 pC/N (Fig. 3; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 7, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 1, wherein the first vibration portion (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the second vibration portion (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprise different materials of a potassium sodium niobate (KNN)-based material (Fig. 3; [0031]), a barium titanate (BT)-based material (Fig. 3; [0031]), and a bismuth (Bi)-based material (Fig. 3; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 8, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric device layer (Fig. 3, 2) further comprises one or more middle electrode layers (Fig. 3, 6-7) disposed between the first vibration portion (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the second vibration portion (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 1, wherein the first vibration portion (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]), and wherein the second vibration portion (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) having a characteristic which differs from a characteristic (Fig. 3; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.) of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]).
Regarding claim 10, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 9, wherein the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) has a thickness (Fig. 3, thickness of material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) which differs (Fig. 3) from a thickness (Fig. 3, thickness of material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]), or has a thickness (Fig. 3, thickness of material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) which is greater than or equal to a thickness (Fig. 3, thickness of material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]), or one of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, one material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) contacts (Fig. 3) the first electrode layer (Fig. 3, some layers of 4-9), the other one of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) contacts (Fig. 3) the second electrode layer (Fig. 3, other layers of 4-9), the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) between the first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) contacting (Fig. 3) the first electrode layer (Fig. 3, some layers of 4-9) and the first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) contacting (Fig. 3) the second electrode layer (Fig. 3, other layers of 4-9), and the other one of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, an other material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) is between (Fig. 3) the first material layer contacting (Fig. 3) the first electrode layer (Fig. 3, some layers of 4-9) and the first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) contacting (Fig. 3) the second electrode layer (Fig. 3, other layers of 4-9).
Regarding claim 11, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 9, wherein the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) includes at least two second material layers (Fig. 3, material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]), and the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) is disposed between (Fig. 3) the at least two second material layers (Fig. 3, material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 9, wherein the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) includes at least two first material layers (Fig. 3, material of at least two adjacent layers of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) that are adjacent to each other (Fig. 3), or the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) includes at least two second material layers (Fig. 3, material of at least two adjacent layers of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) that are adjacent to each other (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 9, wherein a number (Fig. 3) of at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) is equal to (Fig. 3) or different from (Fig. 3) a number (Fig. 3) of at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]).
Regarding claim 14, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 9, wherein each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) comprises one or more of a higher curie temperature (Fig. 3; [0031]) and a less piezoelectric constant (Fig. 3; [0031]) than (Fig. 3; [0031]) each of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 15, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 14, wherein each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) comprises a potassium sodium niobate (KNN)-based material (Fig. 3; [0031]), and wherein each of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) comprises a barium titanate (BT)-based material (Fig. 3; [0031]).
Regarding claim 17, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 9, wherein each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) comprises one or more of a higher piezoelectric constant (Fig. 3; [0031]), a lower curie temperature (Fig. 3; [0031]), and a lower relative density (Fig. 3; [0031]) than (Fig. 3; [0031]) each of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 19, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric device layer (Fig. 3, 2) further comprises a third vibration portion (Fig. 3, remaining of five layers of 20; [0056]) having a characteristic which differs from a characteristic of each of the first vibration portion (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the second vibration portion (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]).
Regarding claim 20, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 19, wherein the first vibration portion (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]), wherein the second vibration portion (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises at least one second material layer having a characteristic which differs from a characteristic of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]), and wherein the third vibration portion (Fig. 3, remaining of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) having a characteristic (Fig. 3; [0031]) which differs (Fig. 3; [0031]; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.) from a characteristic (Fig. 3; [0031]) of each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) and the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 21, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 2, wherein each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) has a thickness (Fig. 3, thickness of material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) which differs (Fig. 3; [0056]) from a thickness (Fig. 3, thickness of others of five layers of 20; [0056]) of each of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]), or has a thickness (Fig. 3, thickness of material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) which is greater than or equal to (Fig. 3; [0056]) a thickness (Fig. 3, thickness of others of five layers of 20; [0056]) of each of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]), or wherein each of the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) has a thickness (Fig. 3, thickness of material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) which is less than (Fig. 3; [0056]) a thickness of each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) and the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]).
Regarding claim 22, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 2, wherein one of the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) has a thickness (Fig. 3, thickness of material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) contacts (Fig. 3) the first electrode layer (Fig. 3, some layers of 4-9), one of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) contacts (Fig. 3) the second electrode layer (Fig. 3, other layers of 4-9), and the at least one second material layer is between the at least one third material layer contacting (Fig. 3) the first electrode layer (Fig. 3, some layers of 4-9) and the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) contacting (Fig. 3) the second electrode layer (Fig. 3, other layers of 4-9).
Regarding claim 23, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 2, wherein one of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) includes two first material layers (Fig. 3, material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]), a first of the two first material layer (Fig. 3, first material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) contacts (Fig. 3) the first electrode layer (Fig. 3, some layers of 4-9), a second (Fig. 3, second material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) of the two first material layers (Fig. 3, material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) contacts (Fig. 3) the second electrode layer (Fig. 3, other layers of 4-9), and the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) are disposed between (Fig. 3) the first of the two first material layers (Fig. 3, first material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) contacting (Fig. 3) the first electrode layer (Fig. 3, some layers of 4-9) and the second (Fig. 3, second material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) of the two first material layers (Fig. 3, material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) contacting (Fig. 3) the second electrode layer (Fig. 3, other layers of 4-9).
Regarding claim 24, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 23, wherein the second (Fig. 3, second material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) of the two first material layers (Fig. 3, material of at least two of the five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) is disposed between (Fig. 3) the at least one third material layer and the second electrode (Fig. 3, other layers of 4-9), or wherein the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) is disposed (Fig. 3) at a center (Fig. 3) of the piezoelectric device layer (Fig. 3, 2) between the first electrode layer (Fig. 3, some layers of 4-9) and the second electrode layer (Fig. 3, other layers of 4-9).
Regarding claim 25, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 24, wherein, when the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) is disposed at (Fig. 3) the center (Fig. 3) of the piezoelectric device layer (Fig. 3, 2), the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) is disposed between (Fig. 3) two second material layers (Fig. 3, two of the others of five layers of 20; [0056]), or (Fig. 3; Examiner’s Note: The use of “or” here limits the claim language that needs to be addressed because it reduces the language at issue to either the language on one side of the “or” or the language on the other side of the “or.” Therefore not every element on both sides of the “or” needs to be addressed to satisfy 102.) wherein, when at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) is provided (Fig. 3), the at least two or more third material layers (Fig. 3, adjacent material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) are adjacent to each other (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 26, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 2, wherein a number (Fig. 3) of at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) is equal to (Fig. 3) or different from (Fig. 3) each of a number (Fig. 3) of at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) and a number (Fig. 3) of at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]).
Regarding claim 27, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 2, wherein each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises one or more of a curie temperature (Fig. 3; [0031]) which is higher than (Fig. 3; [0031]) each of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) and is lower than (Fig. 3; [0031])each of the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) and a piezoelectric constant (Fig. 3; [0031])which is less than each of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) and is greater than (Fig. 3; [0031]) each of the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]), and wherein each of the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) comprises a coercive field (Fig. 3; [0054]) which is higher than (Fig. 3; [0031]) each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) and the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 28, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 27, wherein each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, some of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises a potassium sodium niobate (KNN)-based material (Fig. 3; [0031]), wherein each of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, others of five layers of 20; [0056]) comprises a barium titanate (BT)-based material (Fig. 3; [0031]), and wherein each of the at least one third material layer (Fig. 3, material of remaining of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) comprises a bismuth (Bi)-based material (Fig. 3; [0031] – “The piezoelectric element body 2 includes a piezoelectric ceramic material (piezoelectric material). Examples of the piezoelectric ceramic material are PZT [Pb (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], PT (PbTiO.sub.3), PLZT [(Pb, La) (Zr, Ti) O.sub.3], barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3), BNT (bismuth sodium titanate), and KNN (potassium sodium niobate).”; Examiner’s Note: Different layers comprise different materials and therefore have different characteristics. Applicant discloses BT, BNT, and KNN satisfy these requirements. Here, prior art discloses layers comprise BT, BNT, and KNN.).
Regarding claim 29, Ohta discloses an apparatus, comprising: a vibration member (Fig. 5, 50); and at least one vibration apparatus (Fig. 5, 10) configured to vibrate (Fig. 5, 10) the vibration member (Fig. 5, 50), wherein the at least one vibration apparatus (Fig. 5, 10) comprises the piezoelectric device (Fig. 5, 1) of claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, Ohta discloses the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the vibration member (Fig. 5, 50) comprises one or more of a display panel (Fig. 5, 50; [0051]) including a plurality of pixels configured to display an image, a screen panel on which an image is to be projected from a display apparatus, a light emitting diode illumination panel, an organic light emitting illumination panel, an inorganic light emitting illumination panel, a signage panel, a vehicular interior material, a vehicular exterior material, a vehicular glass window, an interior material of a vehicular seat, a ceiling material of a building, an interior material of a building, a window of a building, an interior material of an aircraft, a glass window of an aircraft, and a mirror, or (Fig. 5, 50; [0051]; Examiner’s Note: The use of “or” here limits the claim language that needs to be addressed because it reduces the language at issue to either the language on one side of the “or” or the language on the other side of the “or.” Therefore not every element on both sides of the “or” needs to be addressed to satisfy 102.) wherein the vibration member (Fig. 5, 50; [0051]) comprises one or more materials among metal (Fig. 5, 50; [0051]), plastic (Fig. 5, 50; [0051]), fiber, leather, wood, cloth, rubber, carbon, glass (Fig. 5, 50; [0051]), mirror, and paper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta in
view of Khaliq et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220158075; hereinafter “Khaliq”).
Regarding claim 16, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 15, wherein each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) further comprises a first additive (Fig. 3; [0031]) added to (Fig. 3; [0031]) the KNN-based material (Fig. 3; [0031]), wherein the first additive (Fig. 3; [0031]) comprises one or more of CuO, Fe2O3, La2O3, ZrO2, ZnO, SnO2, CdO, MnO2, CuNbO6, Gd2O3, Al2O3, CaO, BaO, HfO, TiO2 (Fig. 3; [0031]), Co2O3, NiO, MgO, B2O3, and SiO2, wherein each of the at least one second material layer (Fig. 3, material of others of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) further comprises one or more of the first additive (Fig. 3; [0031]) added to the BT-based material (Fig. 3; [0031]). Ohta does not teach wherein the second additive comprises one or more of CaCl2, AlF3, BaCl2, LiF, MgF2, CaF2, NaF, KF, NaCl, MgCl2, KCl, ZnCl2, LiCl2, AlCl3, CaSO4, CaSO3, Na2SO4, Na2SO3, and Na2S.
Khaliq, however, does teach wherein the second additive ([0012]; [Claim 5]) comprises one or more of CaCl2 ([0012]; [Claim 5]), AlF3, BaCl2 ([0012]; [Claim 5]), LiF ([0012]; [Claim 5]), MgF2 ([0012]; [Claim 5]), CaF2 ([0012]; [Claim 5]), NaF ([0012]; [Claim 5]), KF ([0012]; [Claim 5]), NaCl ([0012]; [Claim 5]), MgCl2 ([0012]; [Claim 5]), KCl ([0012]; [Claim 5]), ZnCl2, LiCl2 ([0012]; [Claim 5]), AlCl3, CaSO4 ([0012]; [Claim 5]), CaSO3 ([0012]; [Claim 5]), Na2SO4 ([0012]; [Claim 5]), Na2SO3 ([0012]; [Claim 5]), and Na2S ([0012]; [Claim 5]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the additive of Ohta to include the additive of Khaliq because it would enable orientation at a low electric polarization voltage thereby improving efficiency and cost of orientation (Khaliq [0012]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta in
view of Ahn et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20170356101; hereinafter “Ahn”).
Regarding claim 18, Ohta discloses the piezoelectric device of claim 17, wherein each of the at least one first material layer (Fig. 3, material of some of five layers of 20; [0031]; [0056]) comprises a potassium sodium niobate (KNN)-based material, and wherein each of the at least one second material layer comprises a KNN-based material to which the TGG process is not applied. Ohta does not teach a templated grain growth (TGG) process is applied.
Ahn, however, does teach a templated grain growth (TGG) process is applied ([0037]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the growth process of Ohta to include the TGG process of Ahn because it would facilitate production thereby improve production cost, speed, and efficiency (Ahn [0037]).
Conclusion
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
22 August 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837