DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 & 4 are amended. Claims 12-13 are canceled. Claims 1-11 & 14-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 14, 16 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egashira (US 20210265700 A1) in view of Kim (US 2021/0075075 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Egashira teaches a battery module comprising: a plurality of battery cells (1) including a plurality of vent portions (15) and arranged in a first direction (Fig. 5; [0047]-[0049]); a first module case (50) extending in the first direction and supporting the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 5; [0067]); wherein the first module case comprises: a first vent flow path (61) in communication with the plurality of vent portions, the first vent flow path projecting away from the plurality of battery cells and extending in the first direction (Figs. 4B & 5; [0072]-[0073]), and a plurality of second vent flow paths (62) spaced from each other in a second direction traversing the first direction, the plurality of second vent flow paths extending in the first direction to support the battery cells, and directly communicating with the first vent flow path, wherein the first vent flow path is between the plurality of second vent flow paths (Figs. 4B & 5; [0074]-[0075]). However, Egashira is silent as to (1) a battery insulating sheet between the plurality of battery cells and the first module case and comprising a plurality of sheet through-holes corresponding to a plurality of vent portions of the battery cells, (2) a heat insulation sheet between the battery insulating sheet and the first module case and which is attached to the first vent flow path and (3) a first cover covering each second vent flow path of the plurality of second vent flow paths and supporting the battery cell, wherein the first vent flow path is uncovered by the first cover, and through-holes in the first cover facing the plurality of battery cells, the though-holes communicating with the second vent flow path. Kim teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells (120), a first module case (160), a battery insulating sheet (150) between the plurality of battery cells and the first module case and comprising a plurality of sheet through-holes corresponding to a plurality of vent portions of the battery cells, and a heat insulation sheet (150A) between the battery insulating sheet and the first module case and which is attached to the first vent flow path (140+141) ([0054]-[0057], [0061]-[0062] & [0071]-[0078]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to include a battery insulating sheet and heat insulating sheet as described above, in order to extinguish fire which may generate from high temperature gas originating from one the battery cells as taught by Kim ([0072] & [0077]). As to (3), figs. 3 & 4A-B of Egashira shows that the plurality of vent portions are only facing the first gas flow path, wherein the first gas flow path is uncovered to allow gas to reach the first gas flow path from the plurality of vent portions through through-holes formed on the bottom surface of the holder 56 (equated to the presently claimed first cover) whereas the bottom surface of holder entirely covers the plurality of second gas flow paths such that gas exhausted from the plurality of vent portions only reaches the second gas flow path via the first gas flow path since. Accordingly, the bottom surface of holder 56 of Egashira reads on the presently claimed first cover covering each second vent flow path of the plurality of second vent flow paths and such that the first vent flow path of Egashira is uncovered by the first cover (i.e bottom surface of holder 56) to allow gas to reach the first vent flow path via the plurality of vent portions. The through-holes in the first cover facing the plurality of battery cells allow the vent portions to communicate with the plurality of second vent flow paths via the first vent flow path (figs. 4A-B and annotated fig. 5 below). While Egashira is silent as to the first cover supporting the battery cells, it is noted that the claimed configuration results by reorienting Egashira’s battery module illustrated in figs. 1 & 3 upside/down (i.e rotating the battery module in figs. 1 & 3 by 180°). See MPEP 2144.04 VI (C).
Regarding claims 2-4, Egashira teaches each second vent flow path of the plurality of second vent flow paths comprising a first sub flow path (62A) directly communicating with the first vent flow path and extending in the first direction; a second sub flow path (62B) spaced from the first sub flow path in the second direction, the second sub flow path extending in the first direction and directly communicating with the first sub flow path; a first cell barrier between the first vent flow path and the first sub flow path; and a second cell barrier between the first sub flow path and the second sub flow path, wherein the first cell barrier comprises first through-holes (64A) connecting the first vent flow path and the first sub flow path and the second cell barrier comprises second through-holes (64B) connecting the first sub flow path and the second sub flow path (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 5, Egashira teaches the first through holes being provided such that they do not overlaps with the second through-holes in the second direction (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 6, Egashira teaches the first cover (i.e bottom surface of the holder 56) covering the first sub-flow path and the second sub-flow path (Figs. 3 & 4A-B).
Regarding claim 14, Egashira teaches a second module case (40+44) coupled to the first module case, wherein the plurality of battery cells are between the first module case and the second module case (Fig. 5; [0064]).
Regarding claim 16, Egashira teaches a first end plate (3) and a second end plate (3) coupled to the first module case and the second module case, wherein the plurality of battery cells are between the first end plate and the second end plate (Figs. 5-6; [0058]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 18, Egashira teaches the plurality of battery cells further comprising long sides and short sides, wherein the plurality of vent portions are on the long sides of the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 5).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egashira (US 20210265700 A1) and Kim (US 2021/0075075 A1), as applied to claims 1-6, 14, 16 & 18 above, and further in view of Li (US 2023/0231263 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8, Egashira as modified by Kim teaches the battery module of claim 1. Egashira further teaches each second vent flow path of the plurality of second vent flow paths comprising a gas flow path directly communicating with the first vent flow path, and extending in the first direction (Fig. 4B) but is silent as to a cooling flow path spaced from the gas flow path in a third direction traversing the first direction and the second direction, extending in the first direction, and not communicating with the first vent flow path and the gas flow path. Li teaches a battery module comprising: a plurality of battery cells (111) including a plurality of vent portions (1111) and arranged in a first direction (Fig. 5; [0084]) and a cooling flow path (117) spaced from the gas flow path in a third direction traversing the first direction and the second direction, extending in the first direction, and not communicating with the first vent flow path and the gas flow path, wherein the cooling flow path is between the gas flow path and the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 5; [0108]).
Regarding claim 9, Egashira as modified by Kim and Li teaches the battery module of claim 7. Egashira further teaches each second vent flow path of the plurality of second vent flow paths further comprising a third cell barrier between the first vent flow path and the gas flow path, wherein the third cell barrier comprises through-holes (64A) connecting the first vent flow path and the gas flow path (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 10, Egashira as modified by Kim and Li teaches the battery module of claim 7. When the vent flow path configuration of Egashira is applied to Li’s vent flow path, a plate of a water-cooled plate which can be used as the cooling flow path in Li would read on a barrier separating the gas flow path and the cooling flow path (Figs. 4-5; [0110]).
Regarding claim 11, Egashira as modified by Kim and Li teaches the battery module of claim 7. Li further teaches a second cover (i.e bottom surface of the thermal management component 117 within which the cooling path is provided) covering the vent flow path and supporting the battery cells (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide a second cover in order to prevent mixing of the gas discharged from the plurality of vent portions and the cooling fluid circulating in the thermal management component.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egashira (US 20210265700 A1) and Kim (US 2021/0075075 A1), as applied to claims 1-6, 14, 16 & 18 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2023/0361402 A1, hereinafter cited as Lee’402).
Regarding claim 15, Egashira as modified Kim teaches the battery module of claim 1 but is silent as to a heat transmitting sheet between the plurality of battery cells and a second module case. Lee’402 teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells, a module case and a heat transmitting adhesive sheet provided between the plurality of battery cells and the module case (Fig. 2; [0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to include a heat transmitting adhesive sheet provided between the plurality of battery cells and the module case in order to dissipate heat generated inside the battery module while fixing the battery cells to the module case as taught by Lee’402 ([0042]).
Claims 17 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egashira (US 20210265700 A1) and Kim (US 2021/0075075 A1), as applied to claims 1-6, 14, 16 & 18 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2023/0223649 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Egashira as modified by Kim teaches the battery module of claim 16 but is silent as to one of the first end plate or the second end plate including a first module vent portion communicating with one of the plurality of second vent flow paths, and the other of the first end plate or the second end plate including a second module vent portion communicating with another of the plurality of second vent flow path. Lee teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells (110) including a plurality of vent portions (H1a) and arranged in a first direction (i.e x direction in fig. 13) (Figs. 11A & 13); a first module case (151+160+155) extending in the first direction and supporting the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 13); wherein the first module case comprises a first vent flow path in communication with the plurality of vent portions, the first vent flow path projecting away from the plurality of battery cells and extending in the first direction (see annotated fig. 11A below), and a plurality of second vent flow paths spaced from each other in a second direction traversing the first direction, the plurality of second vent flow paths extending in the first direction to support the battery cells, and directly communicating with the first vent flow path, wherein the first vent flow path is between the plurality of second vent flow paths (see annotated fig. 11A below). Lee teaches a first end plate (145) or a second end plate (145) including a first module vent portion communicating with one of the plurality of second vent flow paths, and the other of the first end plate or the second end plate including a second module vent portion communicating with another of the plurality of second vent flow paths (Figs. 11A & 13-14; [0052]-[0053]). While figs. 13-14 illustrate one embodiment of the vent flow path shown in fig. 6A, it is noted that when the embodiment of the vent flow path shown in fig. 11A is used instead, Lee’s configuration reads on the presently claimed subject matter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide a first end plate and a second plate as described above as a suitable arrangement for discharging gas from the plurality of battery cells.
Regarding claim 19-20, Egashira as modified by Kim teaches the battery module of claim 18 but is silent as to the plurality of battery cells further comprising terminals on the short sides of the plurality of battery cells and wherein the battery module further comprises a busbar connecting the terminals of the plurality of battery cells (claim 19) and further comprising a busbar cover covering the busbar (claim 20). Lee further teaches the plurality of battery cells further comprising terminals (125) on the short sides of the plurality of battery cells, wherein the battery module further comprises a busbar (131) connecting the terminals of the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 13-14; [0056]-[0057]) and a busbar cover (135) covering the busbar (Fig. 14; [0056] & [0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide the terminals on the short sides of the plurality of battery cells with a busbar connecting the terminals of the plurality of battery cells along with a busbar cover covering the busbar as a suitable arrangement of the terminals in a battery module as taught by Lee.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s arguments that Egashira and Kim does not fairly teach or suggest “through-holes in the first cover facing the plurality of battery cells, the though-holes communicating with the second vent flow path”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the above updated rejection of claim 1 and contrary to applicant’s assertions, annotated fig. 5 of Egashira shown in the body of the updated rejection of claim 1 above illustrates through-holes on the bottom surface of holder (56) (equated to the presently claimed first cover) for communicating gas that is exhausted from the plurality of battery cells with the first vent flow path as shown with the arrows in figs. 4A and 4B. The first vent flow path is in fluid communication with the plurality of second vent flow paths such that the through-holes in the first cover facing the plurality of battery cells communicate with the second vent flow path (i.e via the first vent flow path). Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-11 & 14-20 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727