DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21 recites “it” and should recite “the condensed liquid” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 25 recites “wherein the condenser is at least partially disposed in a recess beneath the tank.” However, there is not appear to be support for this limitations in the originally filed specification. There does appear to be support for “Condenser 230 is also depicted in recess 215 below tank 210” in paragraph 0032.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujiwara et al. (US 2018/0020570).
Per claim 1, Fujiwara teaches a cooling system comprising:
a tank (2a) configured to contain a liquid (3A), with a head space (space above 3a in 2a) above the liquid (3a); and
a first bellows (10A) is gaseously coupled (via 8a) with the head space, and is at least partially disposed below a bottom of the head space (see figure 5 showing 10a below the head space).
Per claim 3, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Fujiwara teaches a condenser (11a) configured to condense heated vapor passing from the head space to the first bellows (see figure 5).
Per claim 27, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 3. Further, Fujiwara teaches wherein the condenser (11a) is fluidly coupled to both the head space (space above 3a in 2a) and the first bellows (10a) (see figure 5) (dielectric fluid contact both 11A, 10A, and the space above 3A in 2A, thus the condenser is fluidly coupled to the head space and first bellows.
Per claim 28, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 3. Further, Fujiwara teaches wherein the condenser (11A) is configured to condense vapor traveling between the head space (space above 3A in 2A) and the first bellows (10A) (the same dielectric fluid is circulated in the closed system, thus the vapor that is condensed in 2A will travel between the head space and the first bellows).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (US 2018/0020570) in view of Keehn et al. (US 2021/0059079).
Per claim 20-21, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 3. Further, Fujiwara fails to explicitly teach a drain coupled to the condenser (claim 20), wherein the drain is configured to remove condensed liquid from the condenser without returning the condensed liquid to the tank (claim 21).
However, Keehn teaches an immersion cooling system comprising a drain (“sump”, para. 0049) coupled to a condenser (218) (claim 20), wherein the drain (“sump”, para. 0049) is configured to remove condensed liquid from the condenser (218) without returning the condensed liquid to a tank (202) (claim 21) for transferring the condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a drain coupled to a condenser (claim 20), wherein the drain is configured to remove condensed liquid from the condenser without returning the condensed liquid to a tank (claim 21), as taught by Keehn in the invention of Fujiwara, in order to advantageously transfer condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049).
Per claim 22, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 3. Further, Fujiwara fails to explicitly teach wherein the condenser is positioned outside the headspace.
However, Keehn teaches an immersion cooling system wherein a condenser (218) is positioned outside a headspace (see figure 2) for transferring the condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a condenser positioned outside a headspace, as taught by Keehn in the invention of Fujiwara, in order to advantageously transfer condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049).
Per claim 23, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 3. Further, Fujiwara fails to explicitly teach wherein the condenser is positioned outside the tank.
However, Keehn teaches an immersion cooling system wherein a condenser (218) is positioned outside a tank (204; see figure 2) for transferring the condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a condenser positioned outside a tank, as taught by Keehn in the invention of Fujiwara, in order to advantageously transfer condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049).
Per claim 24, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 3. Further, Fujiwara fails to explicitly teach wherein the condenser is positioned beneath the tank.
However, Keehn teaches an immersion cooling system wherein a condenser (218) is positioned beneath a tank (“In some embodiments, the supplemental condenser may be positioned underneath the immersion tank”, para. 0015) for transferring the condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a condenser positioned beneath a tank, as taught by Keehn in the invention of Fujiwara, in order to advantageously transfer condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049).
Claim(s) 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (US 2018/0020570) in view of Keehn et al. (US 2021/0059079) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Kolar et al. (US 2019/0357378).
Per claim 25, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 3. Further, Fujiwara fails to explicitly teach wherein the condenser is at least partially disposed in a recess beneath the tank.
Regarding the location of the condenser, Keehn teaches an immersion cooling system wherein a condenser (218) is disposed beneath a tank (“In some embodiments, the supplemental condenser may be positioned underneath the immersion tank”, para. 0015) for transferring the condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a condenser disposed beneath a tank, as taught by Keehn in the invention of Fujiwara, in order to advantageously transfer condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049).
Regarding the recess, Kolar teaches an immersion cooling system including a condenser (136) disposed in a recess (space between 174 and 150) for preventing vapor from passing around the condenser (para. 0041). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide have a condenser disposed in a recess, as taught by Kolar in the combined teachings, in order to advantageously prevent vapor from passing around the condenser (para. 0041).
When the Kolar recess is combined with the condenser being disposed beneath the tank of Fujiwara, as modified, the result is wherein the condenser is at least partially disposed in a recess beneath the tank, as claimed.
Per claim 26, Fujiwara, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 3. Further, Fujiwara, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the condenser is entirely disposed in a recess beneath the tank.
Regarding the location of the condenser, Keehn teaches an immersion cooling system wherein a condenser (218) is disposed beneath a tank (“In some embodiments, the supplemental condenser may be positioned underneath the immersion tank”, para. 0015) (to clarify, there is necessarily a space underneath the tank for the condenser to reside, this “space” is considered a “recess”, thus there is necessarily a “recess” for the condenser underneath the tank) for transferring the condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a condenser disposed beneath a tank, as taught by Keehn in the invention of Fujiwara, in order to advantageously transfer condensed liquid to another immersion cooling system (para. 0049).
Regarding the condenser entire within the recess, Kolar teaches an immersion cooling system including a condenser (136) disposed entirely in a recess (space between 174 and 150) (see figure 5) for preventing vapor from passing around the condenser (para. 0041). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide have a condenser disposed entirely in a recess, as taught by Kolar in the combined teachings, in order to advantageously prevent vapor from passing around the condenser (para. 0041).
When the Kolar condenser entirely disposed in the recess is combined with the condenser being disposed beneath the tank of Fujiwara, as modified, the result is wherein the condenser is at least partially disposed in a recess beneath the tank, as claimed.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (US 2018/0020570).
Per claim 29, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 3. Further, Fujiwara fails to explicitly teach a second condenser configured to provide cooling to the liquid within the tank.
In regards to the second condenser, per MPEP 2144, section VI, paragraph B, a “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a second condenser in order to advantageously provide greater condensation capacity to the immersion cooling system.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (US 2018/0020570) in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0045342).
Per clam 30, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Fujiwara fails to explicitly teach
a valve on a top of the tank, wherein the valve is configured to regulate system pressure (claim 30).
However, Wang teaches an immersion cooling system including a valve (68) on a top of a tank (12), wherein the valve (68) is configured to regulate system pressure (para. 0039) for maintaining a safe pressure in the tank (para. 0039). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a valve on a top of the tank, wherein the valve is configured to regulate system pressure, as taught by Wang in the invention of Fujiwara, in order to advantageously maintain a safe pressure in the tank (para. 0039).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (US 2018/0020570) in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0045342) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Mimberg et al. (US 2025/0167348).
Per claim 31, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 30. Further, Fujiwara, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the valve is configured to admit ambient air into the head space (claim 31).
However, Mimberg teaches an immersion cooling system wherein a valve (90) is configured to admit ambient air into the head space (40) (“a safety valve 90 against underpressure and/or against overpressure”, para. 0201) (claim 31) for preventing the system from being underpressure or overpressure (para. 0201). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a valve a configured to admit ambient air into a head space, as taught by Mimberg in the invention of Fujiwara, in order to advantageously prevent the system from operating underpressure or overpressure (para. 0201).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (US 2018/0020570) in view of Enright et al. (US 2020/0093038).
Per claim 32, Fujiwara meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Fujiwara fails to explicitly teach a pressure regulation valve disposed along a conduit between the head space and the first bellows.
However, Enright teaches an immersion cooling system including a pressure regulation valve (912) disposed along a conduit (“piping”, para. 0242) between a head space (710) and a first bellow (905) (“Dielectric vapor may flow from the tank 710 through piping to one or more bellows 905”, para. 0242) for eliminating pressure buildup in a tank (para. 0242). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a pressure regulation valve disposed along a conduit between a head space and a first bellows, as taught by Enright in the invention of Fujiwara, in order to advantageously eliminate pressure buildup in a tank (para. 0242).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763