DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The outstanding rejections of Claims 1 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) and Claims 2-9 and 11-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1 and 10 filed December 31, 2025.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 10, and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0076251 A1) in view of Nemavat et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2016/0269932 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ho et al. teach a control method of a wireless communication module circuit (Fig(s).1-2) comprising:
obtaining a plurality of media access control protocol data units (MPDUs) (read as “enable flexible, dynamic, and proactive reporting of low latency parameters or QoS metrics on a per-MPDU basis, not only as part of an initial negotiation between STAs, or between STAs and APs.”(Paragraph [0028])),
wherein each MPDU comprises a packet mark or a transmission descriptor with the packet mark (read as “The low latency parameters or QoS metrics can be included in the Media Access Control (MAC) header of MAC protocol data units (MPDUs), …”(Paragraph [0028]) For example, “Low latency parameters or QoS metrics can include, but not be limited to, low latency metrics, timing metrics, buffer metrics, end-to-end latency, delay, jitter, packet loss, user-experienced data rate, target transmission time, target reception time, periodicity of packet inter-arrival time, buffer unit aging timer, buffer overflow flag, buffer increase rate, and the like.”(Paragraph [0028]));
aggregating the plurality of MPDUs to generate a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (read as “A PPDU may include one or more PLCP service data units (PSDUs). The PSDUs are media access control (MAC) protocol data units (MPDUs) that have been provided from the MAC layer to the PHY layer to form the PPDU.”(Fig(s).3 @ 300 and 4 @ 400; Paragraph [0030])); and
However, Ho et al. fail to explicitly teach determining a final transmission rate setting for the PPDU according to statistics of the packet marks of the aggregated plurality of MPDUs prior to a wireless transmission of the PPDU,
wherein the final transmission rate setting is used for [[a]] the wireless transmission of the PPDU.
Nemavat et al. teach a method for determining a final transmission rate setting for the PPDU according to statistics of the packet marks of the aggregated plurality of MPDUs prior to a wireless transmission of the PPDU (read as “the capacity estimator 130 estimates an achievable transmission rate by the transmitter based on the determined capabilities and the collected information by using the rate from one of the previous AMPDUs assuming the rate has not changed more than a threshold.”(Paragraph [0062])),
wherein the final transmission rate setting is used for the wireless transmission of the PPDU. (read as achievable transmission rate (Paragraph(s) [0052] and [0062]) For example, “the capacity estimator 130 estimates transmission opportunities available for the transmitter to transmit wireless communications to the receiver based on the obtained capabilities and the collected information, estimates an achievable transmission rate by the transmitter based on the determined capabilities and the collected information, and estimates the capacity of at least one wireless stream of the wireless link based on the estimated transmission opportunities and the estimated achievable transmission rate.”(Paragraph [0052]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the capacity estimator as taught by Nemavat et al. with the wireless node(s) as taught by Ho et al. for the purpose of enhancing frame aggregation by devices in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 10, Ho et al. teach a wireless communication module circuit of an electronic device (Fig(s).1-2), comprising:
a media access control protocol data units (MPDU) aggregation module circuit (Fig.2 @ 205), configured to perform steps of:
obtaining a plurality of media access control protocol data units (MPDUs) (read as “enable flexible, dynamic, and proactive reporting of low latency parameters or QoS metrics on a per-MPDU basis, not only as part of an initial negotiation between STAs, or between STAs and APs.”(Paragraph [0028])),
wherein each MPDU comprises a packet mark or a transmission descriptor with the packet mark (read as “The low latency parameters or QoS metrics can be included in the Media Access Control (MAC) header of MAC protocol data units (MPDUs), …”(Paragraph [0028]) For example, “Low latency parameters or QoS metrics can include, but not be limited to, low latency metrics, timing metrics, buffer metrics, end-to-end latency, delay, jitter, packet loss, user-experienced data rate, target transmission time, target reception time, periodicity of packet inter-arrival time, buffer unit aging timer, buffer overflow flag, buffer increase rate, and the like.”(Paragraph [0028])); and
aggregating the plurality of MIPDUs to generate a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (read as “A PPDU may include one or more PLCP service data units (PSDUs). The PSDUs are media access control (MAC) protocol data units (MPDUs) that have been provided from the MAC layer to the PHY layer to form the PPDU.”(Fig(s).3 @ 300 and 4 @ 400; Paragraph [0030])); and
a mark-aware transmission rate adjustment module circuit (Fig.2 @ 245);
wherein the MPDU aggregation module circuit (Fig.2 @ 205) and/or the mark-aware transmission rate adjustment module circuit (Fig.2 @ 245).
However, Ho et al. fail to explicitly teach a method to perform the steps of:
determining a final transmission rate setting for the PPDU according to statistics of the packet marks of the aggregated plurality of MPDUs prior to a wireless transmission of the PPDU,
wherein the final transmission rate setting is used for [[a]] the wireless transmission of the PPDU.
Nemavat et al. teach a method to perform the steps of:
determining a final transmission rate setting for the PPDU according to statistics of the packet marks of the aggregated plurality of MPDUs prior to a wireless transmission of the PPDU (read as “the capacity estimator 130 estimates an achievable transmission rate by the transmitter based on the determined capabilities and the collected information by using the rate from one of the previous AMPDUs assuming the rate has not changed more than a threshold.”(Fig(s).1A @ 130 - 1B @ 130, 2 @ 130, and 3 @ 130; Paragraph [0062])),
wherein the final transmission rate setting is used for the wireless transmission of the PPDU. (read as achievable transmission rate (Fig(s).1A @ 130 - 1B @ 130, 2 @ 130, and 3 @ 130; Paragraph(s) [0052] and [0062]) For example, “the capacity estimator 130 estimates transmission opportunities available for the transmitter to transmit wireless communications to the receiver based on the obtained capabilities and the collected information, estimates an achievable transmission rate by the transmitter based on the determined capabilities and the collected information, and estimates the capacity of at least one wireless stream of the wireless link based on the estimated transmission opportunities and the estimated achievable transmission rate.”(Paragraph [0052]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the capacity estimator as taught by Nemavat et al. with the wireless node(s) as taught by Ho et al. for the purpose of enhancing frame aggregation by devices in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, and as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, Ho et al, as modified by Nemavat et al., teach a control method and a wireless communication module circuit (Fig(s).1-4) wherein the packet mark of the MPDU represents a reliability requirement of the MPDU. (read as QoS metric(s) (Paragraph [0028]))
Regarding claims 4 and 13, and as applied to claims 3 and 12 above, Ho et al, as modified by Nemavat et al., teach a control method and a wireless communication module circuit (Fig(s).1-4) further comprising:
obtaining a plurality of media access control service data units (MSDUs) (Fig.2 @ 230);
analyzing a type of each MSDU to determine the reliability requirement of the MSDU to determine the corresponding packet mark (Fig.2 @ 240), and
adding the packet mark into the MSDU or the transmission descriptor of the MSDU (Fig.2 @ 245); and
generating the plurality of MPDUs according to the plurality of MSDUs. (Fig.2 @ 205)
Regarding claims 5 and 14, and as applied to claims 3 and 12 above, Ho et al, as modified by Nemavat et al., teach a control method and a wireless communication module circuit (Fig(s).1-4) wherein the step of determining the final transmission rate setting for the PPDU according to the statistics of the packet marks of the aggregated plurality of MPDUs prior to the wireless transmission of the PPDU (Fig.2 @ 205) comprises:
determining the final transmission rate setting according to a distribution of values of the packet marks of the MPDUs (read as control information (e.g.: QoS metric) (Fig.4; Paragraph [0028])),
a count of the MPDUs with the packet marks indicating a lower reliability requirement (read as control information (e.g.: QoS metric) (Fig.4; Paragraph [0028])),
total bytes of the MPDUs with the packet marks indicating the lower reliability requirement (read as control information (e.g.: QoS metric) (Fig.4; Paragraph [0028])),
a count of the MPDUs with the packet marks indicating a higher reliability requirement (read as control information (e.g.: QoS metric) (Fig.4; Paragraph [0028])),
total bytes of the MPDUs with the packet marks indicating the higher reliability requirement (read as control information (e.g.: QoS metric) (Fig.4; Paragraph [0028])),
a ratio of the count of the MPDUs with the packet marks indicating the higher reliability requirement to the count of the MPDUs with the packet marks indicating the lower reliability requirement (read as control information (e.g.: QoS metric) (Fig.4; Paragraph [0028])), or
a ratio of the total bytes of the MPDUs with the packet marks indicating the higher reliability requirement to the total bytes of the MPDUs with the packet marks indicating the lower reliability requirement. (read as control information (e.g.: QoS metric) (Fig.4; Paragraph [0028]))
Regarding claims 6 and 15, and as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, Ho et al. teach “enable flexible, dynamic, and proactive reporting of low latency parameters or QoS metrics on a per-MPDU basis, not only as part of an initial negotiation between STAs, or between STAs and APs.”(Fig(s).1-4; Paragraph [0028])
However, Ho et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the step of determining the final transmission rate setting for the PPDU according to the statistics of the packet marks of the aggregated plurality of MPDUs prior to the wireless transmission of the PPDU comprises:
determining a first transmission rate setting;
determining a second transmission rate setting according to the first transmission rate setting and the statistics of the packet marks of the plurality of MPDUs; and
determining the final transmission rate setting according to the second transmission rate setting.
Nemavat et al. teach a method wherein the step of determining the final transmission rate setting for the PPDU according to the statistics of the packet marks of the aggregated plurality of MPDUs prior to the wireless transmission of the PPDU (read as capacity estimator (Fig(s).1A @ 130 - 1B @ 130, 2 @ 130, and 3 @ 130; Paragraph(s) [0052] and [0062])) comprises:
determining a first transmission rate setting (read as pre-specified transmission rate (Paragraph [0069]));
determining a second transmission rate setting according to the first transmission rate setting and the statistics of the packet marks of the plurality of MPDUs (read as achievable transmission rate (Paragraph [0062])); and
determining the final transmission rate setting according to the second transmission rate setting. (read as achievable transmission rate (Paragraph [0069]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the capacity estimator as taught by Nemavat et al. with the wireless node(s) as taught by Ho et al. for the purpose of enhancing frame aggregation by devices in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, and as applied to claims 6 and 15 above, Ho et al. teach “enable flexible, dynamic, and proactive reporting of low latency parameters or QoS metrics on a per-MPDU basis, not only as part of an initial negotiation between STAs, or between STAs and APs.”(Fig(s).1-4; Paragraph [0028])
However, Ho et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the second transmission rate setting is more reliable than the first transmission rate setting.
Nemavat et al. teach a method wherein the second transmission rate setting is more reliable than the first transmission rate setting. (read as achievable transmission rate (Paragraph [0062]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the capacity estimator as taught by Nemavat et al. with the wireless node(s) as taught by Ho et al. for the purpose of enhancing frame aggregation by devices in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, and as applied to claims 6 and 15 above, Ho et al. teach “enable flexible, dynamic, and proactive reporting of low latency parameters or QoS metrics on a per-MPDU basis, not only as part of an initial negotiation between STAs, or between STAs and APs.”(Fig(s).1-4; Paragraph [0028])
However, Ho et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the step of determining the second transmission rate setting according to the first transmission rate setting and the statistics of the packet marks of the plurality of MPDUs comprises:
determining the second transmission rate setting according to the first transmission rate setting,
the statistics of the packet marks of the plurality of MPDUs and a mark-aware transmission rate table,
wherein the mark-aware transmission rate table records a plurality of transmission rate settings and corresponding packet error rates.
Nemavat et al. clearly shows and discloses a wireless communication module circuit wherein the step of determining the second transmission rate setting according to the first transmission rate setting and the statistics of the packet marks of the plurality of MPDUs (Fig(s).1A @ 130 - 1B @ 130, 2 @ 130, and 3 @ 130; Paragraph(s) [0052] and [0062])) comprises:
determining the second transmission rate setting according to the first transmission rate setting (read as achievable transmission rate (Paragraph [0069])),
the statistics of the packet marks of the plurality of MPDUs and a mark-aware transmission rate table (Fig(s).1A @ 130 - 1B @ 130, 2 @ 130, and 3 @ 130),
wherein the mark-aware transmission rate table records a plurality of transmission rate settings and corresponding packet error rates. (read as packet error rates (PER) are based on RSSI/rate (Paragraph [0065]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the capacity estimator as taught by Nemavat et al. with the wireless node(s) as taught by Ho et al. for the purpose of enhancing frame aggregation by devices in a wireless communication network.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, and as applied to claims 8 and 17 above, Ho et al. teach “enable flexible, dynamic, and proactive reporting of low latency parameters or QoS metrics on a per-MPDU basis, not only as part of an initial negotiation between STAs, or between STAs and APs.”(Fig(s).1-4; Paragraph [0028])
However, Ho et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the mark-aware transmission rate table records a plurality of modulation coding scheme (MCS) indexes and corresponding packet error rates.
Nemavat et al. teach a method wherein the mark-aware transmission rate table records a plurality of modulation coding scheme (MCS) indexes and corresponding packet error rates. (read as a supported MCS based on an estimated RSSI (Paragraph [0082]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the capacity estimator as taught by Nemavat et al. with the wireless node(s) as taught by Ho et al. for the purpose of enhancing frame aggregation by devices in a wireless communication network.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0076251 A1), in view of Nemavat et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2016/0269932 A1), and Nishibayashi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2005/0238016 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, and as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, Ho et al. teach “enable flexible, dynamic, and proactive reporting of low latency parameters or QoS metrics on a per-MPDU basis, not only as part of an initial negotiation between STAs, or between STAs and APs.”(Fig(s).1-4; Paragraph [0028])
Nemavat et al. teach “the capacity estimator 130 estimates transmission opportunities available for the transmitter to transmit wireless communications to the receiver based on the obtained capabilities and the collected information, estimates an achievable transmission rate by the transmitter based on the determined capabilities and the collected information, and estimates the capacity of at least one wireless stream of the wireless link based on the estimated transmission opportunities and the estimated achievable transmission rate.”(Paragraph(s) [0052]) For example, Nemavat et al. teach “the capacity estimator 130 estimates an achievable transmission rate by the transmitter based on the determined capabilities and the collected information by using the rate from one of the previous AMPDUs assuming the rate has not changed more than a threshold.”(Paragraph [0062])
However, Ho et al. and Nemavat et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein for each MPDU:
when the MPDU comprise
voice over internet protocol (VoIP) signaling and data packets,
gaming control and data packets,
multimedia streaming packets,
multimedia conferencing packet or
real-time interactive packets,
the MPDU has the packet mark with a first value; and
when the MPDU comprise file transfer protocol (FTP) packets or a browser control and data packets,
the MPDU has the packet mark with a second value.
Nishibayashi et al. teach a method wherein for each MPDU (Fig.8):
when the MPDU comprise
voice over internet protocol (VoIP) signaling and data packets (read as high priority MPDU (Fig.8)),
gaming control and data packets,
multimedia streaming packets (read as Intermediate priority MPDU),
multimedia conferencing packet or
real-time interactive packets,
the MPDU has the packet mark with a first value (read as window size (Paragraph [0118])); and
when the MPDU comprise file transfer protocol (FTP) packets or a browser control and data packets (read as low priority MPDU (Fig.8; Paragraph [0118])),
the MPDU has the packet mark with a second value. (read as window size (Paragraph [0118]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for assigning priorities to MPDUs as taught by Nishibayashi et al. and the capacity estimator as taught by Nemavat et al. with the wireless node(s) as taught by Ho et al. for the purpose of enhancing frame aggregation by devices in a wireless communication network.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Ahmed et al. (“Super-MAC: Data Duplication and Combining for Reliability Enhancements in Next-Generation Networks”, 2021) teach “the super-MAC attaches a unique sequence number to a group of RLC-PDUs together.”(Abstract; Fig.3, page 54680)
Wentink et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2015/0146700 A1) teach “DEV2 may determine the transmission rate of the received data frames 311 by extracting the MCS information embedded in the PHY header of the PPDU or A-MPDU containing the one or more data frames. The transmission rate of the data frames may be extrapolated (or otherwise derived) from the extracted MCS information.”(Paragraph [0046])
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
January 21, 2026