Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otsubo et al. (US2017/0077897 A1, Reference of Record).
In regards to claim 1, Otsubo et al. teaches in Fig. 1A and 1B an acoustic wave device comprising:
A support substrate (2);
An intermediate layer (combination of 3, 4, 5a, 5b and 7) on the support substrate;
A piezoelectric layer (6) on the intermediate layer;
A bonding layer (3) located between the support substrate and the piezoelectric layer;
A low-resistivity layer (7) made from Aluminum (see Paragraphs [0043]-[0044]) between the support substrate and the piezoelectric layer; and
An IDT electrode (8) on the piezoelectric layer and including a pair of busbars and a plurality of electrode fingers;
Wherein the low-resistivity layer (7) is closer to the piezoelectric layer than the bonding layer (3) and the low-resistivity layer includes Al as a main component (see Paragraphs [0043]-[0044]).
In regards to claim 2, based on Fig. 1A, the bonding layer (3) and the low-resistivity layer (7) are provided within the intermediate layer (combination of 3, 4, 5a, 5b and 7).
In regards to claim 4, based on Paragraphs [0043]-[0044], the low-resistivity layer is made from Aluminum which will necessarily have a sheet resistance that is less than 1 ohms square.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-19 are allowed. See office action mailed on 7/15/2025 for reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 3-4 of the applicants made the following remark:
As shown in Figs.1A and 1B of Otsubo (reproduced above), paragraphs [0043] and [0044] of Otsubo, referred to by the Examiner, disclose:
[0043] As is clear from a non-limiting example of a production method described below, the bonding layer 7 is a portion formed by metal diffusion bonding and is prefer- ably formed of Ti oxide in the present preferred embodiment.
[0044] A metal other than Ti may also be used. An example of such a metal is Al. Alternatively, the bonding layer 7 may be made of a metal, such as Ti or Al, instead of metal oxides. To achieve electrical insulation, a metal oxide or a metal nitride is preferable. In particular, an oxide or nitride of Ti is preferably used in order to achieve high bonding strength.
That is, paragraphs [0043]-[0044] of Otsubo merely refer to materials of the bonding layer 7 of Otsubo.
Further, paragraph [0035] of Otsubo discloses that "the low-acoustic-velocity film 5 has a structure in which a low-acoustic-velocity layer 5a and a low-acoustic-velocity layer 5b are bonded to each other by a bonding layer 7."
Thus, in view of the disclosure of Otsubo quoted and described above, it is readily apparent that Otsubo does not teach, suggest, or even mention that the bonding layer 7 of Otsubo is or could possibly have been or properly corresponded to the feature of "the low- resistivity layer includes Al as a main component" as recited in Applicant's Claim 1. Instead, at best, Otsubo clearly discloses that the bonding layer 7 bonds the low-acoustic-velocity layer 5a and the low-acoustic-velocity layer 5b to each other.
The examiner finds this remark unpersuasive. As disclosed above, Otsubo et al. teaches in paragraphs [0043]-[0044], that layer (7) is made from aluminum, in which aluminum is a type of “low-resistivity layer” since it made from a conductive metal, hence layer (7) of Otsubo et al. can be interpreted as the claimed “low-resistivity layer”. Furthermore, even though layer (7) is located between two low acoustic velocity layers (5a and 5b), the claim doesn’t exclude such layer from being a “low-resistivity layer” (i.e. the claim merely states that the “low resistivity layer” is located “between the support substrate and piezoelectric” and that the low resistivity layer “is closer to the piezoelectric layer than the bonding layer”, which as discussed above, the low-resistivity layer of Otsubo et al. is located in a position as claimed). Therefore, the examiner has maintained the rejection of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843