DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Per claim 1, “the intermediate portion includes a plurality of corrugations, each corrugation having alternating raised regions and lowered regions.”
As shown in the figures each corrugation only has either 1 raised region or 1 lowered region. As shown, each corrugation does not have both plural raised and lowered regions.
The drawings are objected to for not being black and white and using solid black lines as required by 37 CFR 1.84.
Correction is required in response to this Office action and corrections may not be held in abeyance. Applicant is required to submit acceptable corrected drawings within the time period set in the Office action. See 37 CFR 1.185(a). Failure to take corrective action within the set (or extended) period will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, and 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reedy US 12294171. Per claim 1, Reedy discloses an electrical terminal 100 comprising:
a receptacle portion 102 formed from an electrically conductive material and including at least one engagement arm having a support surface (at lead line 102 in figure 2) that defines a receptacle space; and
at least one spring portion 114’ (col. 5, line 35, elastic deformation means that the protrusion is a “spring”) supported on the support surface of the at least one engagement arm of the receptacle portion and formed from an electrically conductive material,
the at least one spring portion including a first end portion (labeled EP1 in annotated figure 4 below), a second end portion (labeled EP2), and an intermediate portion (labeled IP) extending between the first end portion and the second end portion,
wherein the intermediate portion includes a plurality of corrugations 120, each corrugation having alternating raised regions (labeled RP) and lowered regions (labeled LP) in a first direction extending between the first end portion and the second end portions portion, and wherein the plurality of corrugations are arranged such that each raised region and lowered region of the plurality of corrugations alternate through at least a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Per claim 3, the support surface of the at least one engagement arm is generally planar in shape.
Per claim 10, the at least one engagement arm comprises a first engagement arm and a second engagement arm spaced from the first engagement arm.
Per claim 11, the receptacle portion is formed from a single piece of material that is bent to define the first engagement arm and the second engagement arm.
Per claim 12, Reedy discloses an electrical terminal comprising (see claim 1 for identification of claimed elements):
a receptacle portion comprising an engagement arm defining a receptacle space;
a spring portion supported on a support surface of the engagement arm; and
wherein the spring portion comprises an intermediate portion having a plurality of
corrugations, each corrugation comprising alternating raised regions and lowered regions between respective end portions of the corrugation, and wherein the plurality of corrugations is arranged such that raised regions of one corrugation are adjacent to lowered regions of an
adjacent corrugation.
Per claim 13, the support surface of the engagement arm is planar in shape.
Per claim 14, each corrugation comprises one or more first contact points and one or more second contact points, and wherein the plurality of corrugations is arranged such that the first contact points and the second contact points alternate throughout the length and the width of the spring portion.
Per claim 17, Reedy discloses an electrical terminal comprising (see claim 1 for identification of claimed elements):
a receptacle portion comprising a first engagement arm and a second engagement arm defining a receptacle space;
a spring portion supported on a support surface of the first engagement arm; and wherein the spring portion comprises an intermediate portion having a plurality of corrugations, each corrugation comprising one or more first contact points and one or more second contact points, the plurality of corrugations is arranged such that the first contact points and the second contact points alternate throughout the length and the width of the spring
portion.
Per claim 18, the one or more first contact points face toward the support surface of the first engagement arm and the one or more second contact points face toward a support surface of the second engagement arm.
Claim Rejections - and 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Reedy.
Regarding claim 5, Reedy discloses that at least one engagement arm comprises a first engagement arm and a second engagement arm having respective support surfaces that define the receptacle space, and wherein the at least one spring portion comprises a first spring portion 114’ and a second spring portion 112, the first spring portion and the second spring portion are respectively supported on the first engagement arm and the second engagement arm of the receptacle portion. Reedy does not show the form of the inward facing spring elements of spring 112. It would have been obvious to form the inward facing spring elements of spring 112 facing spring 114’ to have the same structure as the spring 114’, including corrugated strips 120. Note that the material of the spring 112 would remain as stainless steel. The reason would have been to provide the normal connection force against mating inserted terminal (col. 5, lines 44-50).
As modified per claim 6, each of the first spring portion and the second spring portion includes a first end portion, a second end portion, and an intermediate portion extending between the first end portion and the second end portion, and wherein each the intermediate portion includes a plurality of corrugations, each corrugation having alternating raised and lowered regions between the first and second end portions.
Per claim 7 each of the support surfaces of the engagement arms is planar in shape.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reedy in view of Zhang et al. US 12107359 (“Zhang”). Reedy does not mount the springs with protrusions and openings. Zhang mounts springs 40 by protrusions 15 interference fit into holes 401. It would have been obvious to mount the Reedy springs (114’, 112) using well known protrusions and holes on the support surfaces and springs as taught in Zhang. The reason would have been to simplify mounting of the springs. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements by known methods and each element would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ.2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 12, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsey, Jr. et al. US 11139600 (“Kinsey”) in view of Reedy. Regarding claim 12, Kinsey discloses an electrical terminal comprising :
a receptacle portion 10 comprising an engagement arm defining a receptacle space;
a spring portion 50 supported on a support surface of the engagement arm; and
wherein the spring portion comprises an intermediate portion (see figure 3) having a plurality of corrugations, each corrugation comprising alternating raised regions and lowered regions between respective end portions of the corrugation.
To the extent that arguably Kinsey does not show that the plurality of corrugations is arranged such that raised regions of one corrugation are adjacent to lowered regions of an
adjacent corrugation (see Kinsey figure 7), Reedy discloses such a configuration on spring 114’. It would have been obvious to replace the pattern of raised and lowered regions taught in Kinsey with the pattern of raised and lowered regions as taught in Reedy on spring 114’. The reason would have been to increase the number of contact points on the spring. The substituted components and their functions were known in the art. One with ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ.2d 1385 (2007).
Per claim 15, the Kinsey engagement arm is a hollow cylindrical arm and the support surface of the engagement arm is cylindrical in shape.
Per claim 16, as modified per claim 12, each corrugation comprises one or
more first contact points and one or more second contact points, and wherein the plurality of
corrugations is arranged such that the first contact points and the second contact points alternate throughout the axial length and the radial length of the spring portion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSS N GUSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834