DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of specie 1 in the reply filed on 3/6/26 is acknowledged. Claim 3 is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 was amended in the response filed 6/16/26. Claim language was deleted from the claim however, the deleted language is not shown in the amended claims of 6/16/26.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS6428918 in view of Malgorn et al. US 2018/0369733.
Claim 1, JP teaches a filter element comprising: a cylindrical filtration section (63) and annular elastic members (65) provided at both ends of the filtration section, wherein the filtration section comprises a net (mesh), each of the annular elastic members has a groove into which an end of the net of the filtration section is inserted, the groove forming a cylindrical space (the filter being cylindrical and therefore the groove is also cylindrical), defined between an inner side surface extending in an axial direction and an outer side surface extending in the axial direction, the groove formed continuously along the entire circumference of the annular elastic member (the groove being cylindrical will, by definition, be continuous) (fig. 1-2, pg. 2-3). JP does not teach reinforcing plates.
Malgorn teaches a filter element (100) with a filtration section (110) and annular elastic members (130, 150) provided at both ends of the filtration section, wherein a reinforcing plate (140) is provided inside each elastic member and the reinforcing plate has an annular shape when viewed along an axis of the filtration section (fig. 1-5, par 24-26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the reinforcing plates of Malgorn in the filter element of JP because the reinforcing plate allows for the flexibility of the sealing portion to be maintained in order to provide sufficient radial compression force (par 26). Providing the reinforcing plate of Malgorn would necessarily have the reinforcing plate intersecting with a center line of the groove of JP, when the annular elastic member is cut on a cross sectional surface along the axis of the filtration section as the reinforcing plate of Malgorn extends between positions very close to the radial inner and outer edges of the elastic members and thus would intersect with a radial center of the elastic member, where the groove of JP is located.
Claim 5, JP in view of Malgorn teaches the filter element of claim 1 where the filtration section includes a cylindrical first filtration section but does not teach a second cylindrical filtration section on an outer side of the first filtration section. Providing a second filtration section is a recitation of providing a second layer of filter media on the outer side if the first filter media. This is a very common technique in the art as a way to provide different levels of filtration within one filter element while ensuring a compact design and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 6, JP further teaches a strainer comprising a filter element and a case (6) inside of which the filter element is provided, wherein an end face and an outer peripheral surface of the elastic member on a side where the filtration section is not provided is pressed by the case and thereby deformed (fig. 1).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS6428918 in view of Malgorn et al. US 2018/0369733 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of JP 55-133257.
JP ‘918 in view of Malgorn further teaches the case includes a tubular portion into which the filter element is inserted and an axis of the filtration section and an axis of the tubular portion coincide (fig. 1). JP ‘918 does not teach a rectifying member.
JP ‘257 teaches a strainer with a filter element within a case, where the case includes a tubular portion into which the filter element is inserted, an axis of the filtration section and an axis of the tubular portion coincide, the filtration section includes a rectifying member (5) that closes a hollow portion of the filtration section and the is provided at a center in a longitudinal direction of the filtration section (fig. 1). The use of a rectifying member is a common technique in the art as demonstrated by JP ‘918 and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that JP ‘918 does not disclose any reinforcing plate, a groove forming a cylindrical space or a net. JP ‘918 clearly shows the recited groove and net in figure 1-2 as well as stating the filter material is a mesh (dictionary.com defines mesh as a knit, woven or knotted fabric of open texture and identifies a synonym as netting) and states the filter being cylindrical and fitted with a U-shaped groove (pg. 2-3). The office does not put forth that JP ‘918 discloses a reinforcing plate as JP ‘918 does not teach this feature. However, the prior art to Malgorn teaches this feature and providing a reinforcing plate would have been obvious for the reasons stated in the rejection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record to JP in view of Malgorn teaches the filter element of claim 1 where there is a distance between a bottom surface of the groove and the reinforcing plate (par 28). Malgorn does not teach the distance between a bottom surface of the groove and the reinforcing plate is larger than a pitch of the net nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779