DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action responds to reply filed on 5/12/26 regarding application 18/381306 that was initially filed on 10/18/23. Claims 1, 4-9, and 11-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, and 11 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng, US 2020/0057917 A1 (hereinafter Deng) in view of Pan, US 2017/0134754 A1 (hereinafter Pan), and further in view of Budagavi et al., US 2019/0139266 A1 (hereinafter Budagavi).
As for claim 1, Deng discloses a method receiving, from a first processing device ([0046], e.g., target neural network) that executes a neural-network task process ([0046], e.g., neural network) on a basis of an image ([0046], e.g., image), a processing result including one or more parameters ([0046], e.g., boundary, nota a parameter for the boundary) related to an object ([0046], e.g., object) in the image, the one or more parameters including boundary information ([0046], e.g., boundary) indicating a boundary surrounding the object.
Deng does not explicitly disclose, but Pan teaches an image encoding method comprising, by an image encoding device: switching, based on the one or more parameters ([0030], e.g., object detection and encoded and [0038], e.g., compressed and background) between an encoding process ([0037], e.g., first video data representation and [0038], e.g., second video data representation) for (i) a first region ([0036], e.g., segmented into an object) of the image including the object and (ii) a second region ([0036], e.g., background portions) of the image that does not include the object, to produce the encoded image ([0037], e.g., first video data representation and [0038], e.g., second video data representation); generating a bitstream ([0051], e.g., wavelet pyramids and metadata) including the encoded image ([0051], e.g., encodes); and transmitting ([0052], e.g., decoder module, note the transmission to the module) the bitstream to an image decoding device.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Deng and Pan before him/her to modify the object location method, device and storage medium based on image segmentation of Deng with the teaching of efficient video data representation and content based video retrieval framework of Pan with a motivation to rapid retrieval of desired vide information from large stores of video data by using the video data representation and unified compression as taught by Pan ([0024]).
Deng as modified by Pan does not explicitly teach, but Budagavi teaches a bitstream including the one or more parameters ([0112], e.g., metadata parameter set) and flag information ([0112], e.g., flag) indicating whether the one or more parameters are added to a header in the bitstream ([0112], e.g., bitstream).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Deng, Pan, and Budagavi before him/her to modify the object location method, device and storage medium based on image segmentation of Deng with the teaching of point cloud compression using non-orthogonal projection of Budagavi with a motivation to quick and/or efficient processing of the parameter data by using the flag.
As for claim 4, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1.
Deng as modified by Budagavi does not explicitly teach, but Pan teaches the image decoding device receives ([0052], e.g., decoder module, note the transmission to the module) the bitstream from the image encoding device, acquires the one or more parameters ([0030], e.g., object detection and encoded and [0038], e.g., compressed and background) from the bitstream, and switches, based on the one or more parameters, between a decoding process ([0052], e.g., decoder module) for the first region ([0036], e.g., segmented into an object) and the second region ([0036], e.g., background portions).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Deng, Budagavi, and Pan before him/her to modify the object location method, device and storage medium based on image segmentation of Deng with the teaching of efficient video data representation and content based video retrieval framework of Pan with a motivation to rapid retrieval of desired vide information from large stores of video data by using the video data representation and unified compression as taught by Pan ([0024]).
As for claim 5, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 4.
Deng as modified by Budagavi does not explicitly teach, but Pan teaches the image decoding device outputs the one or more parameters ([0030], e.g., object detection and encoded and [0038], e.g., compressed and background) to a second processing device that executes a prescribed task process ([0052], e.g., decoder module).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Deng, Budagavi, and Pan before him/her to modify the object location method, device and storage medium based on image segmentation of Deng with the teaching of efficient video data representation and content based video retrieval framework of Pan with a motivation to rapid retrieval of desired vide information from large stores of video data by using the video data representation and unified compression as taught by Pan ([0024]).
As for claim 9, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1.
Deng as modified by Budagavi does not explicitly teach, but Pan teaches the one or more parameters include at least one of a trust level value of a neural network task that is the prescribed task process, a counter value indicating a number of the object included in the image, category information indicating an attribute of the object included in the image, feature information ([0040], e.g., feature values) indicating a feature of the object included in the image, and boundary information indicating a boundary surrounding the object included in the image.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Deng, Budagavi, and Pan before him/her to modify the object location method, device and storage medium based on image segmentation of Deng with the teaching of efficient video data representation and content based video retrieval framework of Pan with a motivation to rapid retrieval of desired vide information from large stores of video data by using the video data representation and unified compression as taught by Pan ([0024]).
As for claim 11, the claim recites an image processing method of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 12, the claim recites an image encoding device of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 13, the claim recites an image decoding device of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 14, the claim recites an image decoding method of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
2. Claims 6 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng in view of Pan, Budagavi, and further in view of Gomes, US 2013/0279598 A1 (hereinafter Gomes).
As for claim 6, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1.
Deng as modified by Pan and Budagavi does not explicitly teach, but Gomes teaches the encoding process includes at least one of a quantization process ([0051], e.g., For background blocks, the quantizer parameter will be a larger value), a filtering process, an intra prediction process, an inter prediction process, and an arithmetic encoding process.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Deng, Pan, Budagavi, and Gomes before him/her to modify the object location method, device and storage medium based on image segmentation of Deng with the teaching of method and apparatus for video compression of stationary scenes of Gomes with a motivation to provide an efficient bitstream for processing and/or transmission by using the quantization process and one or more parameters.
As for claim 7, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 6.
Deng as modified by Pan and Budagavi does not explicitly teach, but Gomes teaches the image encoding device sets the encoding process such that the first region has higher image quality or higher resolution than the second region ([0051], e.g., For background blocks, the quantizer parameter will be a larger value).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Deng, Pan, Budagavi, and Gomes before him/her to modify the object location method, device and storage medium based on image segmentation of Deng with the teaching of method and apparatus for video compression of stationary scenes of Gomes with a motivation to provide an efficient bitstream for processing and/or transmission by using the quantization process and one or more parameters.
As for claim 8, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 6.
Deng as modified by Pan and Budagavi does not explicitly teach, but Gomes teaches the encoding process includes the quantization process ([0051], e.g., For background blocks, the quantizer parameter will be a larger value) and the image encoding device sets a value of a first quantization parameter for the first region to be smaller than a value of a second quantization parameter for the second region ([0051], e.g., For background blocks, the quantizer parameter will be a larger value).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Deng, Pan, Budagavi, and Gomes before him/her to modify the object location method, device and storage medium based on image segmentation of Deng with the teaching of method and apparatus for video compression of stationary scenes of Gomes with a motivation to provide an efficient bitstream for processing and/or transmission by using the quantization process and one or more parameters.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 5/12/26, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the citations being used in the current rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. US 2003/0108099 discloses picture encoding method and apparatus, picture decoding method and apparatus and furnishing medium.
2. US 2005/0053294 discloses techniques and tools for progressive and interlaced video coding and decoding.
3. US 2006/0126962 discloses methods and systems for reducing blocking artifacts with reduced complexity for spatially-scalable video coding.
Conclusion
Applicant 's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jay Patel can be reached on 571-272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSEPH SUH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485